Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Primary School Tours

• 28-10-2008 2:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭

I know they still have school tours now but years ago they were really something to look forward to 'cos not many of us had cars. Mine were to....
    Ravensdale forest-Dundalk, Junior infants, where my mother told my teacher to hold my hand the whole day in case i got lost. I didn't even get to run around and play.:(
    Another one we were taken to Mellifont Abby, Monasterboice(my sandal strap broke here and again I couldn't run about, ended up sitting with a strange girl in the grass where I told her babies come out of your tummy. She burst into tears said 'no way! My mam said the nurse gives them to ya!' and threatened to tell:eek:, I wouldn't mind but she stayed back about 4 times and was about 14) Proleek to see a dolmen-a stone age monument in a field then to see St Oliver Plunket's head in that church in Drogheda:eek:-All in the one day.
    There were two separate ones to Dublin Zoo, one to see 'Superman' in one of the O'Connell st cinemas. One to Mosney holiday centre (remember the ad on the radio?-Mosney by the sea,tum-ti-tum). One to Carlingford. One to the Dun-Laoghire shopping centre-really enjoyed that one.
    Not to forget the trip down the crypt in St Mitchim's church to look at the skeletons:eek::eek::eek:-only in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Being a country boy in Meath, we went to Newgrange and the "treat" was to stop in Blanchardstown shopping centre as well. Tower of Lloyd was nearby so that was one of the stops too (some of the bauld lads from our class got caught drinking) I'm sure we went to Dublin Zoo as well. We also went to Armagh, probably more caves or something else. Went to Wicklow as well.
    God, looking back on it, was a load of rubbish. :) Ah memories of the bus and the race for the back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

God we went all over the place - museums, the zoo, Newgrange, Blessington, Aras an Uachtarain etc.

My favourite though was probably Fort Lucan! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

clara lara ftw:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

We went to see puppet shows, bogs, forests and a whole load of other things.

The best one was in 6th class when we got to do a day of outdoor adventure sports, some good memories still knocking around from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I used to keep my spending money-for presents and stuff, in a purse on a string around my neck. I never knew what to buy:confused:. In a shop by Melifont Abbey I went in and asked for 6 cadet bottles of coke for my family as presents-daft idea. The shopkeeper was baffled, he suggested I got them all those big sticky dummies and sticks of rock, better idea, tho my ma and pa prob didn't appreciate them:(. I too remember singing 'everywhere we go', also 'stop the bus we wanna wee wee'.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭ASIL1983

On one of my school tours to Dublin one of the girls bought her Mam a Tangle Twister in Dublin and brought it all the way back to Dundalk on the bus, it was just dripping everywhere onto everyone and everything. I still roar laughing now thinking about it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Numerous farms in primary school - which is weird since we lived in the country and half the class lived on farms anyway. We weren't allowed to go to Clara Lara because if I'm not mistaken somebody had an accident and died there.
    Fort Lucan in 5th class which was brilliant. Cannot for the life of me remember 6th class though.

Secondary school involved numerous trips to the Meath area and various monuments but never Newgrange. We went to the bog in 3rd year - that was a popular one. Everywhere we went seemed to involve shopping in Navan, where I remember happily buying a Bon Jovi cassette and Smash Hits magazine.

We also went to the cinema in Naas to see The Waterboy.

My personal favourite was a day in Dublin involving Glasnevin, Trinity and Burger King for lunch. Myself and three others were an hour late coming back from our lunch and "ruined the day for everyone" by forcing the whole class to wait for us and thus miss our tour of the Bank of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Love it, that was the classic line, "ruining the day for everyone". :) Remembering now from that, we went to the Armagh Planetarium and a number of people were howling and roaring throughout the whole show. Even the tour operator was disgusted with us ("...first school in x years he had trouble with..") ;_;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Geology

Dublin Zoo in first class. That was where every first class in my school went for their first tour.

Though the highlight had to be when our religious nut nun teacher brought us to Drogheda to see Oliver Plunkett's head. Also thrown in for fun were Newgrange and Laytown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 gillybeans

Ruu wrote: »
    Being a country boy in Meath, we went to Newgrange and the "treat" was to stop in Blanchardstown shopping centre as well.

you must be quite young?? Blanchardstown shopping centre hasnt been around that long!!

we went good few places but the most memorable has to be to the smelly farms in junior and senior infants
    and in 6th class we went to Delphi (not sure if thats the correct name) but that was special because we were there for a few days and stayed over :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the best place i ever went to was turlough hill power station in wicklow, in 6th class we went to coolure house in westmeath for a week, that was class. my teacher was a strict bastard but he was sound and when we behaved for a few weeks the rewards were there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

The Lambert Puppet Theatre, £4.50 for bus and puppet show in 1988!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Remember:

Lambert Puppet Theatre
    The Zoo (obviously:D)
    National History Museum, Leinster House
    Lullymore Peatland World or some other absolute ****e:mad:
    Carlingford. This was great craic cos we were all about 14 or 15 and there was some Dublin skanger girl's school there as well
    Monaghan - Paddy Kavanagh related. Watched some aul lad do a one man show to do with PK, was actually half decent.

One thing I remember even when I was only 5 or 6 was how ****e some of the buses were. Particularly remember the old Leyland relics from the 60's and 70's that were used to bring us. One time we were up in the Wicklow Mountains and the thing wouldn't go up a hill and we got stranded. Another time I swear the bus we were on had no brakes, so when we were on the way back to the school the driver ran straight over a dog that ran out on the road. Not the best with a bunch of 6 year olds on board. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,398 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

in 6th class the Dail, Stillorgan bowling alley, grafton st shopping!
    historical walking tour of Limerick
    don't remember many other tours but was in Bunratty Castle at least twice
    and there was some bizarre park with life size painted stone animals outside Mitchelstown in junior or senior infants. I remember sitting on a pig in the lashing rain :pac: I definitely didn't dream this one up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Ash-209

the coca-cola factory!
    "give that girl a can of coke!"
    and singing "they're all a pack of wallies down the back!", that was until it became cool to sit down the back, then they were all a pack of wallies up the front. how fickle we were :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shane-1

I live in one of those heritage towns, when we were in first class we went down the street to the heritage centre for our school tour, the excitement continued when we left and were brought across the road to the 'fancy' chipper!

Another year we got a bus to the beach (10 minutes drive away) stopping along the way at our local ice cream factory which gave us all a choc ice (mine knocked my tooth out)

after that the school pulled all the stops out and started sending us on decent tours, Kerry usually, once Athlone, that was a great one, especially when they turned the lights out for us in Athlone castle and one of the lads walked straight into a wall, priceless stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭xbox36016

Parsons Green thatd a great area to go whant thare for my frist 5 years in school