Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to meet genuine nice girls

• 27-10-2008 11:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hi Everyone,

I am 27 originally from Wexford, living and working in Dublin. Is the only way to meet nice genuine girls, going online and paying a site like Match.com. I saying paying as people on free sites seem not be really serious about chatting or dating.

Any suggestions

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

no its not the only way. maybe try taking a class or some social activity that doesnt involve drinking/clubs or pubs. theres plenty to do in dublin, just look up classes online and go from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I know people always say they're sick of meeting people in clubs and pubs, but realistically thats the main place you're going to meet them. When you get chatting to someone in a sports club or a evening class its unlikely they're thinking along the same lines as someone you get chatting to in a pub, the flirtation aspect isn't really there and its not as much fun. Unless of course your one of those naturally flirty people who could pick up at a table quiz! I mean for example, when I'm in the gym I'm concentrating on what I'm doing, not looking around checking out guys, and I wouldn't take too kindly to being interrrupted.

People are more confident on a night out, they have put the effort into looking well and are generally more chatty than usual because everyones out to have the craic, well so I've found anyway. Yes, drink can have alot to do with too, and alot of people are only interested in one nighters, but there are alot of genuine people too that are looking for the same thing as you. Your not going to get to know someone in one night, especially in a noisy club, but its an introduction at least isn't it, so you can swap numbers and arrange to meet up another time.

With regards to dating websites, don't waste your money on a fee paying site, the way I see it those people make money from you being single so I can't see them being too efficent. Try pof or another free site and see how you go.

Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

Hi Everyone,

I am 27 originally from Wexford, living and working in Dublin. Is the only way to meet nice genuine girls, going online and paying a site like Match.com. I saying paying as people on free sites seem not be really serious about chatting or dating.

Any suggestions

Stephen

Look steve were living in different times mate.
    There are just not available good quality woman 30 plus in this country any more!!!!!!!!!!!
    Many over 30,s dont want or feel need for a man in their life.
    Then you have the choices of the stupid woman type who would just drive you to distraction.
    Then we have the seperated with 3 kids type probably with more baggage than ryanair.
    So there you have it steve not great choices.
    And just to brighten your day up more if you do happen to meet a magic "nice girl" chances are she will leave you anyway ,they dont stick around in relationships any more,just let them get a little bit bored and bang straight out the door with them.

I wish you well in your search just dont expect too much :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 StevoFromWex

Hi Guys

Thanks for the responses.

Gráinne I agree to a point with you but as I am shy guy, chatting nice girls like yourself in pubs does not come too easy for me.

The ones I do chat are at that stage seem more pissed than me which is no good.

I would say shy girls out there could say the same.

also I am 27 not 37 so I am really looking to meet someone 21 + :)

I prob just get back to my Xbox and let these things happen if they are to happen.

But if they're more pissed than you then why do you start chatting to them in the first place? Also, it helps if you're not too hammered yourself, its better to be a shy guy than a drunken sleaze.

You don't need to go around throwing out Joey lines all night, just find a girl you like, go up and say hi, thats it. The worst that can happen is nothing. No girl I know would react badly to a sober guy coming up to her in a club and having a normal conversation, its actually refreshing from the drunken twats who think grabbing your arse means hello :)

I meant to say in the last post - alot of the time when people meet up its through other friends - so maybe try to expand your circle of friends a bit and get to know your friends friends etc.. If you meet someone sound get their number and arrange another night out, regardless of whether you like them like that, its still a good way of meeting more people and potentially meeting someone you like.

And don't think about it all the time when you're on a night out, concentrate more on having a laugh, because theres nothing nicer to see in someone than someone whos just chilling and having the craic.

So, away you go and turn of your xbox and head out tonight, you're definitely not going to meet anyone sitting at home in front of it...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 StevoFromWex

Hi Grainne,

Friends . I have very good friends and made a new female friend through them,. Then 1 night she said she wanted us to see and possible date. 48 hours later she said she changed her mind and did not want to loose our friendship?

I would like somebody in life now but I am not desperate ;)

Thanks for that. I wish I could I am in work today but maybe head out this thur night. Have not been out on a proper one for a while.

thanks

Again

Stephen

I would like somebody in life now but I am not desperate ;)

I didn't mean insinuate that at all sorry! As for the chick just wanting to be friends...wait it out..you never know what could happen, some of the best relationships stem from friendships.

Oh and when you do meet someone you can send my cheque in the post... ;)

Good Luck!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 351 ✭✭ron_darrell

Emigrate - Ireland's nice girls must have upped stakes and left years ago. I've yet to meet one, sorry :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Lads it can't be that bad....

I am always cautious with men who approach me. Because i think it takes a lot of balls to chat up a girl.
    1. It's about how you approach the girl, don't chat her up expecting something to come out of it.
    2. Don't treat her like meat, even though she's in a meat market.
    3. Many lads try chat up lines, we know them all... Just be yourself!

All the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 DeiseChick87

Girls like being chatted up by nice ordinary guys, not these drunken leery 'hows it goin' kinda fella's . Its grand to chat up girls in clubs/pubs cause lets face it, girls go out to have a laugh with their friends, do a bit of dancing & with the hope of meeting a nice fella.
    The best place for chatting to people is in the "smoking area", extremely easy to start a conversation & easy to leave if the said person is a bit weird/fabulously drunk or both!! The fact that u may not smoke is irrevelant, lol!
    At last ...we've something to thank the government for :)

Good luck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

decies wrote: »
    Look steve were living in different times mate.
    There are just not available good quality woman 30 plus in this country any more!!!!!!!!!!!
    Then you have the choices of the stupid woman type who would just drive you to distraction.
    Then we have the seperated with 3 kids type probably with more baggage than ryanair.
    And just to brighten your day up more if you do happen to meet a magic "nice girl" chances are she will leave you anyway ,they dont stick around in relationships any more,just let them get a little bit bored and bang straight out the door with them.

I wish you well in your search just dont expect too much :rolleyes:

No offense, but I would hate to have your outlook on life!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Church?

All nice self-respecting girls go to church. I don't go there much, but any time i have I seen nice girls there. real lovely ones. maybe a bit quiet and a lot of them are probably saving themselves for marriage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Question: Where to meet genuine nice girls?
    Answer: Everywhere

Look the worst part of being single is the waiting around. My advise is to stop waiting and just be for a while. Stop counting the days you've been single and just live. Get out there and do things. Make friends, go to events, go to everything and anything in fact, and somewhere, at sometime, you are bound to bump into someone you'd like to bump uglies with and share your life with. Even if you do all of this, there isn't a set amount of time after which you will meet someone. It just happens. Life's kinda sh!te like that :)

Love/life is not an easy formula where a + b = c. Life is a bit of all the alphabet added up/multiplied by/divided by to make the solution.

There are nice girls everywhere but the one/ones, that you like, narrow that number down quite a bit.

A.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

eroo though expressive enough in this case, smileys do not a post make

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm in the same boat if it makes you feel any better. 27 single, but I'm female. I really don't think pubs are the best place to meet people. I suppose it all depends on what your interests are.

I'm really not one to be giving advice :) but I'm gonna anyway! How about taking what interests you and trying to find women with similar interests. Thats my plan of attack for now anyway.

decies wrote: »
    Emigrate - Ireland's nice girls must have upped stakes and left years ago. I've yet to meet one, sorry :p
    That's right, blame all those pesky women.

Seriously, with attitudes likes this, is it any wonder that some guys are meeting the wrong women, or possibly no women at all?

OP, take b3t4's advice. "Nice" women don't live in a special colony on the Aran Islands, there are plenty of pleasant, honest women everywhere. You probably pass them on the street or sit next to them on the train. When women ask similar questions, the same advise comes up again and again. Don't fret so much about meeting somebody, just live your life and make the most of the encounters you have. Desperation doesn't help your cause, neither does assessing every girl to determine whether she's a "nice" one or not. If you put yourself in situations where you're likely to meet people in general, it's quite possible that you'll meet a woman you're compatible with sooner or later. Just make sure you make the most of that opportunity when she does come along.

Try chatting up women during the day time, on the street, in shoppin centres, bookstores etc.. Women are everywhere. Chatting up women is not a crime. You can do it whenever you want. Also don't forget it's not a crime for a woman to ignore you or tell you to f**k off.

Amuse yourself and enjoy the conversation.