Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feurteventura VS Lanzarote?

• 27-10-2008 1:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭

Ok, so we've kinda decided that we'd like a week (perhaps two) to either Lanzarote or Fuerteventura to shorten the winter this year.

We've been to Lanzarote once before about 5 years ago and liked it (we stayed in Playa Blanca) and we wouldn't mind going back, however we also quite like the idea of going somewhere different as in to Fuerteventura as I think we saw all of Lanzarote the last time and did all there was to do.

We can get flights and accomm. for about the same price to either, so just need to pick where to go!

For those of you who have been to both which would you choose and why?

There's lots of shopping to be had in Lanzarote, what is the shopping like in Fuerteventura?

For reference, we're probably looking for somewhere quieter - we're not big drinkers so not looking for lots of pubs and clubs etc.. and we want to avoid any Leaving Cert type spots too (No offence guys ;) )

On saying we want somewhere quiet, don't want it to be dead either, shopping, excursions, sight seeing etc would be nice to have!

I know a few of you on here have been to Fuerteventura recently so would love to hear how your hols went! :)

Thanks all!

Ok, so Lanzarote VS Fuerteventure - go pick! 27 votes

Lanzarote all the way!
    0% 0 votes
    Fuerteventura for the win!
    55% 15 votes
    Neither, they're both kips!
    44% 12 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

In my experience Fuerteventura was very windy and they're wasn't much to do. We all got a little bit bored if I remember correctly.

I had a much better time in Lanzarote - more thing to do and we had better weather (although that is luck of course)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭lumo22

lanzo is much better, been to both , no contest really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If you like naked sunbathing in sand dunes, then Feurteventura is your best bet, but apart from that there is feck all to do there.

I went about 5 years ago to Correlejo and it was the most boring week of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

two weeks is a long time in Fuerteventura tbh, its very very quiet. Correlejo being the main area, but theres nt much to do there, the beachs are fantastic, you excurison you're going to end back in Lanzarote!
    If you're going for a week great, but honestly two weeks is to much... you said you like quiet holiday , if that what you want, you cant get much quieter.

Lanzarote, its a given , it is popular more to do there, P del carmen be the main area, wanted something quieter try Playa Blanca imo much nicer area to tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Just back from Fuerteventura at the weekend. Had a great week. For a chill out relaxing time its ideal. Beaches are beautiful, golden sand unlike Lanzorate where there is only black volcanic sand. There are the usual things like Water parks and all that if you want. The weather was glorious for the week, about 25-26˚ degrees. Large beer about €2.50. Stay in a great good quality hotel called Las Marismas. Most bars close at 12 but there are late ones if you look around.

I was in Lanzorate about 5 years ago. Its enjoyable but a little too honky tonk for me. Some of the bars in Lanzorate are very expensive, especially the most popular Irish one.

Both islands can be windy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭boardsie08

Thanks for all the info guys, appreciated!

Hadn't realised that Fuerteventura would be so quiet.. The thing that is/was swinging Fuerteventura for us is that you can get cheap flights with Ryanair.. Not really sure where to check for flights to Lanzarote?

Tried Stein Travel, Sunways etc.. Is it just charter flights you can get to Lanzarote?

Last time we went it was a package holiday (Ended up costing nearly 10k for two weeks!!!) so was looking to do a cheaper DIY job this time..

Given that the flights are more accessible to Feurte (well as far as I can see anyhow atm) would it be feasible to fly into and stay in Fuerte but get the ferry across to Lanzarote most days for shopping n stuff.. or would the ferrys be madly expensive?

Thanks again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Lanzarote all the way. Fuerteventura is zzzzzzzzz land tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭sillysocks

We styaed in the Barcelo Fuerteventura this year and last year for a week and really enjoyed it but that was for a kick back, do nothing holiday and there wasn't much to do apart from sunbathing, eating and relaxing! hotel was lovely but def wouldn't go for two weeks. Actually both times I think we did 5 days and that was enough.

Aer Lingus fly to Lanzarote so you might get cheap enough flights with them if you're going outside school hols etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

My personal preference would be for Fuerteventura, but it's really quiet.

It would seem based on what you're saying that Lanzarote would be more suited to the holiday your looking for. Just bear in mind, however, that the shopping in Lanzarote isn't all that hot either. In Puerto del Carmen there are a lot of electrical shops selling dodgy gear and the guys in them are very agressive sales people.

After my last trip to Lanzarote, I swore I'd never go there again. While the island is beautiful and unique, I found the resorts to be unpleasant. Of course there were exceptions to this, but not enough to persuade me to return.

If you want something a little better and are travelling independently, go to Fuerteventura and head south to Moro Jable. It's a beatiful resort, there are some good shops, great restaurants and a spectacular beach. Plus it's not full of Brit/Irish package tourists so a walk at night doesn't involve avoiding bars and restaurants hassling you for your custom as you pass by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 maxtiny

Would totally agree with last post, I have been to Lanz... and never will be again - Noddy land with total lack of character.

Fuerteventura is way ahead but most importantly it depends what you are looking for. We loved the quietness, lovely beaches and above all 'the class', We stayed in the south of the island in a place called Jandia. The only downside was that it was quite hard to find authentic Spanish culture as the German influlence is quite strong. Also nudism is very common so watch out for lots of nudie wobbly bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

We love Lanzorote for family holiday, have gone there 3 times and have gone to Fuerteventura once for holiday, thought it was ok.
    Ye could try a week in both considering its only a short boat trip between the two places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Jason Oban-Whit

I agree with the last post, you liked Lanz before you know what you’re getting for your money if you want to try Fuerte out get the ferry across from Playa Blanca for a day trip. Also don’t forget you could get a cheap flight to Fuerte with Ryan Air and get the same ferry across to Lanz try “lineas Armas” or “Fred Olsen” ferries as the flight from Dub gets in at 10am or 10:30am.
    As for the annoying/dodgy electrical shops they are all run by the same families on both islands.
    Personally Lanzarote wins hand down for me, ticks all the boxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭boardsie08

Hey guys!

Well we ended up booking Fuerte - We had been to Playa Blanca before and really liked it, but tbh, we saw and did all we could there, and we didn't really like Puerto Del Carmen, so Fuerte will be something different - plus Ryanair fly there, so that was the biggest advantage for us really.

Wouldn't mind getting the ferry over to Lanzarote for day, however prices seem quite steep as in nearly E50 for a 15 minute trip over and back again, there's 3 of us, so E150 seems like a lot to spend just to go over for the day, so think we'll be giving that a miss.

Does anyone have any recommendations for good restaurants in Fuerteventura? MikeDragon32 - especially interested in hearing from you as I read one of your reviews for El Bribon on Trip Advisor, we want nice, good restaurants, not egg and chip type ones! :)

Thanks again for all the info everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

You'll see on TA I put up two other reviews, one for El Sombrero (superb) and one for Tio Bernabe (stay away!!!).

It's hard going to find good restaurants there and I think outside of the expensive hotels, we found the better places. The problems with commercial resorts is that you'll always get the vast majority pandering to the masses. They have to make their money, particularly in the current climate, so unfortunately, it's chips with everything.

Of the touristy places, Tony Roma's at the top of the strip, is not bad. It's a rib place and to be honest, they were as good as any I've ever had, including the Rib Shack in London and a couple of places in the states. Portions are monsterous, so share a starter, or avoid altogether in preference for the desserts.

There are a bunch of restaurants in a small complex about halfway down with a Steakhouse, Chinese, Mexican, Italian and a pub (the pub is called the 7 Pints). AVOID! The bar is okay, but I only say that because while the Ryder Cup was on on every TV in the place, I asked if there was any chance of sticking the Leinster match on one of the smaller tvs for me. They put it on the biggest one! The mexican was a joke. Food was poor, I've made spicier bowls of Rice Krispies and when my wife asked for sour cream, she got a ramikin of that squirty can cream...

Most of the old town has the same type of restaurant offering Canarian fare. All the same imho and all crap.

There is a fantastic bar near the harbour called Very Cocktail Bar. It's quiet most of the week, but absolutely heaving on Saturdays when they have a house DJ. Great cocktails and worth every penny. I heartily recommend the Caipirissima, a variation on the Caipirinha from Brazil. On Tuesdays they have a Sushi night.

There was a pretty good Indian place too, but I can't remember the name. It might have been Jaipur, but I'll confirm with herself and update this post.

DO head south. Hire a car, even for a day, and enjoy the drive. Amazing landscapes as you drive down the middle of the island then amazing dunes as you head from Costa Calma to Moro Jable and Jandia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭black & white

You'll see on TA I put up two other reviews, one for El Sombrero (superb) and one for Tio Bernabe (stay away!!!).

It's hard going to find good restaurants there and I think outside of the expensive hotels, we found the better places. The problems with commercial resorts is that you'll always get the vast majority pandering to the masses. They have to make their money, particularly in the current climate, so unfortunately, it's chips with everything.

Of the touristy places, Tony Roma's at the top of the strip, is not bad. It's a rib place and to be honest, they were as good as any I've ever had, including the Rib Shack in London and a couple of places in the states. Portions are monsterous, so share a starter, or avoid altogether in preference for the desserts.

There are a bunch of restaurants in a small complex about halfway down with a Steakhouse, Chinese, Mexican, Italian and a pub (the pub is called the 7 Pints). AVOID! The bar is okay, but I only say that because while the Ryder Cup was on on every TV in the place, I asked if there was any chance of sticking the Leinster match on one of the smaller tvs for me. They put it on the biggest one! The mexican was a joke. Food was poor, I've made spicier bowls of Rice Krispies and when my wife asked for sour cream, she got a ramikin of that squirty can cream...

Most of the old town has the same type of restaurant offering Canarian fare. All the same imho and all crap.

There is a fantastic bar near the harbour called Very Cocktail Bar. It's quiet most of the week, but absolutely heaving on Saturdays when they have a house DJ. Great cocktails and worth every penny. I heartily recommend the Caipirissima, a variation on the Caipirinha from Brazil. On Tuesdays they have a Sushi night.

There was a pretty good Indian place too, but I can't remember the name. It might have been Jaipur, but I'll confirm with herself and update this post.

DO head south. Hire a car, even for a day, and enjoy the drive. Amazing landscapes as you drive down the middle of the island then amazing dunes as you head from Costa Calma to Moro Jable and Jandia.

I'd agree with most of that. It is the Jaipur restaurant which is half way up the strip on the LHS as you walk away from the harbour ( next to the Orange Project bar ). I eat mostly fish and had some lovely meals around the harbour, can't remember the names of the restaurants but look for places that are busy with a refrigerated display case showing the fresh catch.

Hire a car and ideally book before you go. I got a Kia C'eed for the week for €135 including superduper insurance from Top Car Autoreisen, collect from the airport and drop back to the same. The taxi is about 45/50 each way so it makes sense.

Do go to the south of the island and visit El Cotillo which is a lovely village on the NW of the island. It's in the middle of being turned from a quiet fishing vilklage into a resort and will be ruined in another few years.

Any beach outside the towns are clothing optional with the exception of around Caleta de Fuste. From what I saw, about 50% of people in the north went nude and about 60% in the south. Try it, you might like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Is there internet access? (Need it to send in some work if I dodged over for a couple of weeks - preferably hotel wifi.)

I'd say some of the 4 or 5 star hotels have Wi-Fi ( The Blue Bay Palace def does ) but if where you are staying does not, there is an internet place in Corralejo that we used. As you walk down the strip towards the harbour there is a large roundabout, immediately after that on the RHS there is the entrance to an apartment complex. There are advertising boards for some bars/restaurants and one of those is for a Travel Agency ( Going Places or something like that ) This agency also has 4 or 5 PC's with internet and cheap phone calls home etc. We used it to print our boarding passes for the on-line check in with Ryanair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Do Ryanair not fly to Fuerteventura in February, or do they only fly on specific days? Just checking to see what's available.

Oh, wait, saw that they're having a snit with the authorities on the island and not booking flights after February.

Oh, goodie, they're going to own Aer Lingus too (not).

You're right, Ryanair are having a dispute with the tourism authorities who have stuck an extra tax on all flight into Fuer. Ryanair are not accepting new bookings after 31st Jan. Hopefully it will be sorted out.

Keep an eye on the Ryanair website and also you can get some good info on

www.fuerteventura-forum.com