Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Jaysus this is awkward!!!

• 25-10-2008 6:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭

Social interaction would be so much easier if everybody was either friends or enemies, but instead there is that awkward subset who aren't one or the other. Just when there names are forgotten, along with any detail about their existence, they pop up from nowhere and a excruciating conversation inevitably ensues. Worse still, I met one of these "associates" as I got on the dart there the other day at Blackrock. She sat down directly in front of me, and apart from the hello how are you and other pleasantries, there was pure silence all the way to Clontarf, when we said goodbye to each other like life long friends. It was just awful, I couldn't think of a thing to say and she just stared at me expectantly for the whole journey. Anything similarly awkward happen to any of you lot?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

So, what you're saying is, you don't know the words ''so how are things?''?

Say it with me.... how...are...things? and repeat....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"Are you wearing stockings or tights"?

"My sister hatestights,says they sweat up her yoyo,"What do you think"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭JohnGalt

So, what you're saying is, you don't know the words ''so how are things?''?

Say it with me.... how...are...things? and repeat....

Yes that would be included in the pleasantries, answer with a hearty "Yeah fine" and then......................................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

JohnGalt wrote: »
    Yes that would be included in the pleasantries, answer with a hearty "Yeah fine" and then......................................
    ''what you been up to since i last saw ya? any news?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Yeah I hate moments like that too, I usually just pretend I don't see them...but I guess you didn't have that choice if she sat directly opposite you haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Mick T

network and get out of your comfort zone, it will take you places!
    or buy a balaclava if you are the shy insecure type who doesnt want to seen for fear of being drawn into a conversation!!
    o such fear it is!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Mick T wrote: »

yea the comfort zone is ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭JohnGalt

or buy a balaclava if you are the shy insecure type who doesnt want to seen for fear of being drawn into a conversation!!
    o such fear it is!!

But it's so comfortable!

ha ha, yes i know sometimes i just cant be arsed to chat when i just want my own space, but that person just might cheer ya up a touch and give ya some funny, usefull or useless info.. i just dont like being rude really so i cant help but chatting, each to there own personality traits i suppose!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Saw thread title and thought you were in some sort of awkward sexual position that you couldn't get out of. :o

no l don't know why.:confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

she just stared at me expectantly for the whole journey.

It's clearly obvious she wanted your seed inside her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

o such fear it is!!
    I use a balaclava as a conversation starter and my penis as a conversation closer. 60% of the time it works all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Never feel like you have to be the one to break the silence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I dread those situations.

especially when you're walking down the street and you see someone you knew a few years back but have'nt seen since then. i never know whether to say hello or pretend i have'nt seen them.

it's always bad when they say hello when you've been pretending you have'nt seen them or vice versa.

i actually believe pulling my lad out and shaking it about in front of them would be less awkward.

I use a balaclava as a conversation starter and my penis as a conversation closer. 60% of the time it works all the time

ha ha ha, you could be on to something genius there buddy or on crimewatch/crimecall/crimeline is years since i was last on i cant remember what they call it these days!!:D

i actually believe pulling my lad out and shaking it about in front of them would be less awkward.

ha ha ha, that could be worse for some poor ****ers ,dont give it as advice anyways! ha ha

Social interaction would be so much easier if everybody was either friends or enemies, but instead there is that awkward subset who aren't one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

This would never happen to the real John Galt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

jimbo78 wrote: »

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

worse when your in a bar/restuarant/cafe etc and in the distance you see an old flame and you just say to yourself ooooooohhhhhhhh fuuuuuuuuuucccccccccccckkkkkkkkkkkkkk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I suggest you punch these 'inbetweeny' people in the face. They will then become enemies.

You clearly only want friends or enemies, and as you would feel uncomfortable in the 'inbetweenies' presence, it'd be easier to have them as a direct enemy.

A punch in the face saves how many?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

i never know whether to say hello or pretend i have'nt seen them.

it's always bad when they say hello when you've been pretending you have'nt seen them or vice versa.

People that pretend not too see people they know are **** plain and simple.

A street encounter is fine, a quick nod and a "Alright, how's things?' and be on your merry way, but a long bus/train ride with someone you barely know can be really awkward. It's worse if it's one of the opposite sex, at least if it was a guy I went to school with we could ramble on about some shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Why can't people just be honest?

If this happens to me (and it happens a fair bit - shite memory :rolleyes:) I just 'fess up and say 'sorry, do I know you'... or 'where do I know you from'... and the ice is broken and craic ensues.

The only situation where this approach has failed me is in bed the next morning... ended up with a black eye for some reason.*

*some or all of that may not be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

People that pretend not too see people they know are **** plain and simple.

A lot of people do it though. if they said hello to me i'd always say hello back. sometimes they might see you before you see them and still say nothing so what can you do.