Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin Buttrich's studio

• 25-10-2008 2:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭

One of my favourite producers at the moment. Here's one the Electronic Slices features on him and his studio

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Good to see he has all the tools we've spoken about here many times -

Neve, SSL, Manley, Massenburg, NS10s, Phase meters, Eventide, Lexicon, Urei 1178s, LA2s, Millenia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Good to see he has all the tools we've spoken about here many times -

Neve, SSL, Manley, Massenburg, NS10s, Phase meters, Eventide, Lexicon, Urei 1178s, LA2s, Millenia.

yeah his studio is sort of full of 'standard' outboard. i know of one studio with pretty much an identical outboard collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭ICN

Excellent producer.. Loco Dice would have been nothing if he did not get involved IMO.

Seems like a really nice guy as well!

ICN wrote: »
    Excellent producer.. Loco Dice would have been nothing if he did not get involved IMO.

yeah i'd be pretty willing to bet he was responsible for Loco Dice's output in its entirety.

those ES videos are great. There's a good one with Rob Babicz and an alright one with Booka Shade.
    Always seem to be these uber-geeky German guys who seem like the nicest blokes in the world.

Also from what I have seen from studio vids, Logic+Minimonsta+Imposcar = Techno production heaven right now. Coincidentally it's the cornerstone of my setup. hurrah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

and timo maas,carried him too

Never really heard much from Timo - That remix of course.. and some rock / house stuff (I think it was Timo.. I was never a huge fan) - Buttrich was probably involved with that period so??

Butt definitely.. :pac:

I've liked most of what I've heard from him over the last while..

JT - is this the Babicz one you were talking about?

D'Mad German genius!

http://www.eclectro.nl/2008-03-22-robert-babicz-over-mastering

Never really heard much from Timo - That remix of course.. and some rock / house stuff (I think it was Timo.. I was never a huge fan) - Buttrich was probably involved with that period so??

Butt definitely.. :pac:

I've liked most of what I've heard from him over the last while..

JT - is this the Babicz one you were talking about?

D'Mad German genius!

http://www.eclectro.nl/2008-03-22-robert-babicz-over-mastering

That's a nice Fred he's got there!

Re : Babicz

It's interesting that the Electronic boys are coming to the same conclusions as us guitary lads re equipment and processes.

Interesting too is his implementation of parallel compression.

I have noticed, over the years of the 'Universality' of some music recording ideas that cross time and genres.

My observations are that the top guys in any genre and in any decade come to very similar conclusions on how they present music.

For those who care to pay attention it seems like a fast track to making a lot of progress quickly.

Perhaps described as the ability to listen ?

Re : Babicz

It's interesting that the Electronic boys are coming to the same conclusions as us guitary lads re equipment and processes.

Interesting too is his implementation of parallel compression.

I have noticed, over the years of the 'Universality' of some music recording ideas that cross time and genres.

My observations are that the top guys in any genre and in any decade come to very similar conclusions on how they present music.

For those who care to pay attention it seems like a fast track to making a lot of progress quickly.

Perhaps described as the ability to listen ?

Good quality is good quality no matter what genre. Babicz has been mastering records for 20 years in many genres. A lot of the electronic-y guys come from a rock n roll background anyways.

As well as this, Berlin has a very high standard of recorded music in all genres (particularly classical and electronic), and so you get a situation of a bar being raised over many many years.
    The dominance of Berlin in dance music and it's history as a centre of high quality recordings is no coincidence.

As you know yourself, if every band in Ireland is recording at a ****e standard, the chances of anyone doing a great recording is slim. There is no motivation to do it as the competitors aren't.

Babicz take on parallel compression is quite interesting. The wet/dry knobs he installs on the gear means he can have a few compressors in series all adding a little bit of flavour, while having a massive amount of control over the overall sound.
    A lot different than whacking a limiter on an aux and mixing the slammed output with the dry.

Actually if you want to hear audiophile standard electronic music, check out Babicz's releases. Dark Flower on the Audiomatique label is a must-listen.

jtsuited wrote: »

As you know yourself, if every band in Ireland is recording at a ****e standard, the chances of anyone doing a great recording is slim. There is no motivation to do it as the competitors aren't.

I try to tell them but they just won't listen - well most of them, anyway.

I agree with what you're saying except .... their REAL competitors are making good sounding recordings.

I try to tell them but they just won't listen - well most of them, anyway.

I agree with what you're saying except .... their REAL competitors are making good sounding recordings.

the eternal problem i guess. good luck trying to convince a band what they're really up against.

They all find out eventually ....

...Babicz take on parallel compression is quite interesting. The wet/dry knobs he installs on the gear means he can have a few compressors in series all adding a little bit of flavour, while having a massive amount of control over the overall sound.
    A lot different than whacking a limiter on an aux and mixing the slammed output with the dry.

Actually if you want to hear audiophile standard electronic music, check out Babicz's releases. Dark Flower on the Audiomatique label is a must-listen.

Have been looking back at some old issues of Computer Music, where they are talking about compression.. You can definitely hear the difference with parallel.

Checked out that tune.. Steve Mac played the Joris Voorn rmx on this weeks essential mix.

One of the best EM's that I have heard in a while..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/essentialmix/

Paul.. This is good stuff if you want to check it out.

Have been looking back at some old issues of Computer Music, where they are talking about compression.. You can definitely hear the difference with parallel.

Checked out that tune.. Steve Mac played the Joris Voorn rmx on this weeks essential mix.

One of the best EM's that I have heard in a while..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/essentialmix/

Paul.. This is good stuff if you want to check it out.
    Yeah the Joris Voorn rmx was massive. Must go get that steve mac essential mix. Did you hear his latest release 'Gotta Have Some Fun'? It's on Sci+Tec I think. Unbelievable track. The remix is amazing too. Good times we live in if you are into techno.

Speaking of essential mixes Shlomi Aber's one is friggin amazing. Coincidentally he plays that Steve Mac track (about a year before it actually came out too).

Will check out that track.. hopefully its better than "Paddy's revenge" - :rolleyes: Haha!

Steve Mac is a legend. Successful & still able to rock it.

Definitely listen to that EM - Calvin Harris was on it last week - Woeful.

Will check out that track.. hopefully its better than "Paddy's revenge" - :rolleyes: Haha!

Steve Mac is a legend. Successful & still able to rock it.

Definitely listen to that EM - Calvin Harris was on it last week - Woeful.

I couldn't believe it when i heard that Paddy's Revenge thingy. When Steve Mac makes an underground record it sounds so underground. When he decides to do a crossover chart-topper he nails it (much to our annoyance though).

Actually the gotta have some fun track (and the remix) are on his Essential Mix. check the tracklist.

jaysus look at this for a production credit list

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Mac

jaysus look at this for a production credit list

Yup.. Its official.. The man is a machine.

Just checked that track on Beatport.. prefer original to rmx. Its got more groove.

Actually listening to the EM again :pac:

All killer..No filler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭tweeky

I couldn't believe it when i heard that Paddy's Revenge thingy. When Steve Mac makes an underground record it sounds so underground. When he decides to do a crossover chart-topper he nails it (much to our annoyance though).

Actually the gotta have some fun track (and the remix) are on his Essential Mix. check the tracklist.

He certainly nails crossover!

"Steve Mac has had 78 consecutive top 20 singles & albums, as a producer and/or writer, worldwide, so far this Century, and 42 of those singles and albums went to No1."

tweeky wrote: »
    He certainly nails crossover!

"Steve Mac has had 78 consecutive top 20 singles & albums, as a producer and/or writer, worldwide, so far this Century, and 42 of those singles and albums went to No1."

and the best thing is his latest release is an acid-y techno track released on Sci+Tec (Dubfire's label). Which will introduce a lot of people to high quality techno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Neurojazz

There were some cool hints on that link - i'd like to know what to use the la2 thing on tho... i've tried it on a few tracks but never really found it useful yet.

That slices Mag is really cool..

I love Adam Beyer.. right since the (near) beginning.

No studio stuff sadly.. but its a cool interview & he's another great guy!!

http://www.vimeo.com/1722644

I love the way he has adapted.

What a legend.. Drumcode 21.5 is such a classic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEuvaDJmoLQ

DC was great back in the day.. The break in this one destroyed dancefloors without mercy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mxDmfGgius

Just thought I'd dig this one up briefly again Lads..

This months Mixmag has an interview with Timo Maas.

He's admits he hasnt really got a clue about the production / engineering side of things. He said he has creative ideas & likes to be able to throw the ideas out to someone else for them to interprete & lay down.

Then collects the paycheck.. Noice!

Sounds like he has an amazing Gaff / Life.

Fair play.

^^^^^^i called it what do i win
    seannash wrote: »
    and timo maas,carried him too

^^^^^^i called it what do i win

Haha!

You win the heads up Man..

Contact him.. tell him you heard he was a Sham & ask if you can move to his Farm in Germany.

He's got some label - studio collab.. yoke going on. Has bought a cottage & put a studio in it for this chap from the UK.

Never know.. He might get you a Gaff. Only problem would be looking at the Cnuts face everyday. Hes no oil painting!! :pac::pac::pac:

Haha!

You win the heads up Man..

Contact him.. tell him you heard he was a Sham & ask if you can move to his Farm in Germany.

He's got some label - studio collab.. yoke going on. Has bought a cottage & put a studio in it for this chap from the UK.

Never know.. He might get you a Gaff. Only problem would be looking at the Cnuts face everyday. Hes no oil painting!! :pac::pac::pac:
    i wont get mixmag over here til next month,ill have to wait til then to read it.seems like theres alot of that carry on going on( topic opener for jtsuited there :D)

Yeah.. Dave Spoon in Furure Music last month or so.. basically said that Pete Tong knew how to turn on a computer.. :pac:

yeah it was easier back in the vinyl days to spot the silent producers as they normally got a studio engineer credit but with digital downloads theres no mention.sasha's earlier stuff wasnt him either,then later he teamed up with charlie may,who did most of his album.hes credited as sashas production partner :D

One which made my smile was Scarlett Etienne - She's pretty hot.. and can DJ - Not sure about her "madskillz" but anyways.. teamed up with AudioFly to do "Loose lips sync ships" - a while back.

Bit of a kitchen sink tune.. but cool enough. Its just another one of those tag team efforts. At least these "Artists / Preformers" are being honest and going for the double bill.

They're still utter shams though! Haha!! :pac::pac:

CANT HIDE FROM THE INTERNET.

seems like theres alot of that carry on going on( topic opener for jtsuited there :D)
    yup there's a lot of it going on. and that's all i'm gonna say on the matter.:D

Ahh, go on...