Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bret Hart On Gerry Ryan

• 23-10-2008 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/2fm/ryanshow/

Click on latest show on the right hand side, interview starts at the 1hr 25 min mark roughly

Also Scotty 2 Hotty and Joe Legend are on the Cafe on RTE 2 at 7pm

Bret Hart is also being interviewed on Corks Red Fm tomorrow morning on the Red Rooster with Kc and lenny

Sorry bout the new post just spreading the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭DenMan

Great stuff mate. Thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

EdK wrote: »
    Bret Hart is also being interviewed on Corks Red Fm tomorrow morning on the Red Rooster with Kc and lenny

The poor bastard. I wish i was there, it's hard enough to listen to that horrid station without having to put up with those two dumbnuts! I really wish I was a fly on the wall so i could see Bret struggle to understand a f*cking word they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Legend EDK, always can rely on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    The poor bastard. I wish i was there, it's hard enough to listen to that horrid station without having to put up with those two dumbnuts! I really wish I was a fly on the wall so i could see Bret struggle to understand a f*cking word they say.

Lucky for him its a phone interview as he will be in Limerick or somewhere haha

Ryan to give him his due did a great job to be fair, he was well informed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Lucky for him its a phone interview as he will be in Limerick or somewhere haha

Ryan to give him his due did a great job to be fair, he was well informed

His researchers and kids did a great job :p

Im aware of researchers and stuff but still he displayed knowledge past a kind of superficial level, eh the msgs in were all stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,412 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

dammit missed this interview

any good ?

Im aware of researchers and stuff but still he displayed knowledge past a kind of superficial level

Oh yeah agree, he was totally opposite of the ISNT ALL FAKE ANYWAY know it all type of interviewer. He was respectful and acknowledged he wasnt an expert on the topic.

any good ?

Nothing new to a hardcore fan but still very interesting. Him explaining himself to an accomdating non fan added a different dynamic that you dont hear from the usual Bret Hart interview on Wrestling radio shows. So yeah it was good.

any good ?

You can listen through the link in the first post

im not that bad :D

i tried that link earliers on

its not valid

The link under the Bret Hart blurb doesnt work, click the link that says latest show on the right hand side and skip in about an hr and 25 mins

that link works but i need real player

rather not have real player

i think its useless

ill get the podcast sometime

thanks anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

He was also on the Last Word on Today FM with Matt Cooper. The interview can be heard here: http://www.todayfm.com/Article.asp?id=949154 (WMA format)

Legend and Scotty on The Cafe was abit of a mess I would have paid to see them beat the piss out of Aidan Power haha

Bard wrote: »
    He was also on the Last Word on Today FM with Matt Cooper. The interview can be heard here: http://www.todayfm.com/Article.asp?id=949154 (WMA format)

do you hear matt cooper
    your still fighting
    bret
    im retired

****ing hell do some homework Matt

also its not fighting lmao

This is why i generally hate radio interviews, although as stated by others earlier, At least Ryan has researchers to prevent him from doing a Cooper (see what i did there?). I remember when Ryan had Austin on around 2005 i think it was and it went relatively smoothly too.

Idiots like Matt Cooper make me cringe and wonder why the hell he still has a job.

This is why i generally hate radio interviews, although as stated by others earlier, At least Ryan has researchers to prevent him from doing a Cooper (see what i did there?). I remember when Ryan had Austin on around 2005 i think it was and it went relatively smoothly too.

Idiots like Matt Cooper make me cringe and wonder why the hell he still has a job.

i was listening more of the interview and Matt actually taught it was real
    wheres the sportsmanship in that

mg thank god i never listen to the radio:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

Cooper has less spoofing skills than Ryan and he didn't seem like he was trying too hard either.

Fair play to Bret though, he handled it all really well.

I've conducted radio interviews on the fly not national radio i know but its hard, if however you know you have guests coming in you do your own research build your questions around what you know and let the guest elaborate

Nothing worse than when the interviewer knows nothing either read up on the guest as much as you can or dont do the interview, leave to to someone who can

Matt Cooper deals with current affairs Bret was out of place on that show to begin with

Nothing worse than when the interviewer knows nothing either read up on the guest as much as you can or dont do the interview, leave to to someone who can

Matt Cooper deals with current affairs Bret was out of place on that show to begin with

Precicely my point, but at the same time he had enough time to find someone to research the points at hand, especially when he knew he was over to promote a tour. It doesn't take long to do a small bit of internet research. Any monkey can do it.

Atleast Cooper didnt play the wrong band after his interview, whoops :p

where else is bret going to lads

the castlebar royal theatre is good distance away from tipp where i am

where else is bret going to lads

the castlebar royal theatre is good distance away from tipp where i am

Not entirely sure, have a ramble through the first few posts in the AWR thread, it'll give all the dates and locations there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Atleast Cooper didnt play the wrong band after his interview, whoops :p

Would be hard for him to do that when he's got no music on his show...

I didn't think Cooper did a bad job interviewing Bret Hart, - he just seemed to have little or no interest as it was, to him, a "fluff" piece - and not 'real news' - and in all fairness, in comparison with the other stories covered on his show today, he was probably right if that's what he thought.

IRISH TOUR
    24th Oct 2008 - University Concert Hall, Limerick, Ireland [Tickets]
    25th Oct 2008 - Royal Theatre, Castlebar, Ireland [Tickets]
    26th Oct 2008 - Basketball Arena, Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland [Tickets]
    27th Oct 2008 - Leisurecentre, Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland [Tickets]
    29th Oct 2008 - NEC, Killarney, Kerry, Ireland [Tickets]
    30th Oct 2008 - Fairways Hotel, Dundalk, Ireland [Tickets]
    31st Oct 2008 - Neptune Stadium, Cork, Ireland [Tickets]
    1st Nov 2008 - Whites Hotel, Wexford, Ireland [Tickets]
    2nd Nov 2008 - St Lawrence GAA Club, Narrowmore, Kildare

Not entirely sure, have a ramble through the first few posts in the AWR thread, it'll give all the dates and locations there. :)

bret was my boyhood hero

have to meet him

thanks
    IRISH TOUR
    24th Oct 2008 - University Concert Hall, Limerick, Ireland [Tickets]
    25th Oct 2008 - Royal Theatre, Castlebar, Ireland [Tickets]
    26th Oct 2008 - Basketball Arena, Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland [Tickets]
    27th Oct 2008 - Leisurecentre, Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland [Tickets]
    29th Oct 2008 - NEC, Killarney, Kerry, Ireland [Tickets]
    30th Oct 2008 - Fairways Hotel, Dundalk, Ireland [Tickets]
    31st Oct 2008 - Neptune Stadium, Cork, Ireland [Tickets]
    1st Nov 2008 - Whites Hotel, Wexford, Ireland [Tickets]
    2nd Nov 2008 - St Lawrence GAA Club, Narrowmore, Kildare

thanks EdK

the show is in limerick
    so will I beable to meet bret there ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Out of interest, how do you know of this show? Agreed, it is one of the worst efforts at a humourous breakfast show that ever there was. Apart from those "people" on 2fm in the morning. They truly sicken me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

gimmick wrote: »
    Out of interest, how do you know of this show? Agreed, it is one of the worst efforts at a humourous breakfast show that ever there was. Apart from those "people" on 2fm in the morning. They truly sicken me.

And they won the PPI award for the best breakfast radio show.

not much competition tbh

i could win that award :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

i just listened to both interviews, and the difference was like night and day, matt cooper must have had stuff written on crumpled pieces of paper to call that a well researched interview

While gerry ryan who really isnt my cup of tea at least admitted he didnt know much about the subject but at least had some inkling of what he was talking about, TODAY FM should be embarassed for putting that out

Shin

To be fair, Ryan is a lot more experienced at this sort of thing than Cooper is, but Cooper should still have gotten some decent research in there.

As for Today FM, they should be embarrassed by claiming that they are a radio station, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

I thought the Gerry Ryan interview was excellent, probably the best mainstream media interview with a wrestler i've heard tbh. Gerry knew a bit about the wrestling business and asked some intelligent questions. I also thought he was very respectful of all of Bret's achievements and what they meant, as well as the sacrifices and hard work it took for Bret to get to where he got.

The Matt Cooper interview on the other hand was one of the most badly conducted interviews i've ever heard on any topic. I've never liked Cooper's style even when interviewing political figures and have heard him ask many the stupid question, but this was just shocking! Some of the stuff he said to Bret was bordering on insulting to the man. I actually thought some of Cooper's questions and his tone were a bit disrespectful to a man who's achieved as much as Bret and worked as hard for the fans as he has. Fair enough, Cooper may not appreciate or understand what's involved in wrestling but the least he could do is show some respect to one of the greats during an interview.

I only caught the end of The Cafe interview with Scotty nd Joe, the bit i saw was pretty funny. Aiden Power looked like he was genuinly ****ting it towards the end, funny stuff! Never released Scotty had more depth to him that what we saw on WWE a few years ago, found him quite entertaining on this!

gimmick wrote: »

I don't just limit myself to Dublin, y'know! :)

I have hung out in Cork several times, i still make trips down there. I remember when RedFM started, i think it was around 99 or something. It was horrible then and it's still horrible to this day.

2FM's crew aren't bad by comparison to 98FM, with the additions of the toll trolls and Little Becky, makes you want to cut your ears off. FM104 is the only station to tune into in Dublin between the hours of 7-10, but only if the battery died in your mp3 player.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I thought the Gerry Ryan interview was excellent, probably the best mainstream media interview with a wrestler i've heard tbh. Gerry knew a bit about the wrestling business and asked some intelligent questions. I also thought he was very respectful of all of Bret's achievements and what they meant, as well as the sacrifices and hard work it took for Bret to get to where he got.

Agreed. I've only heard the Ryan interview, but I was amazed. I thought it would be a 5 minute segment in a "lol wrestler? Thats fake!!!" way, as is usually the case. However, instead we got a very good half hour where Ryan was respectful and knowledgable about the show. Perhaps that was down to researchers, but still, it was nice to see him take it seriously. Respect +5 for Ryan.

Was it groundbreaking stuff? No. There was nothing major said, and most of it seemed a plug for the book more than the show (Though, I did laugh at the "This could be the last time you ever see me" ploy). One thing I didn't like was that it also seemed a bit vauge for casual fans as well; they mentioned Owen died, but not exactly how, for example. The messages were cringe worthy as well; Poor Bret must get the same ones every interview he does.

Still, I enjoyed it.

bet Bret never heard the question "Did vince really stab you" as was posed by a texter yesterday on the matt cooper show :eek:

shin

Though, I did laugh at the "This could be the last time you ever see me" ploy

Ive follow this media tour and read his book. I honestly think he is sincere about this. When Bret did his interview with Dave Meltzer he left listeners with the impression that he is getting out of Wrestling pretty much full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

rovert wrote: »
    Ive follow this media tour and read his book. I honestly think he is sincere about this. When Bret did his interview with Dave Meltzer he left listeners with the impression that he is getting out of Wrestling pretty much full stop.

when did he do the interview with meltzer?anyone know where i can listen to it?

he did it about a week and a half ago, its on www.f4wonline.com if your subscribed to it

Shin

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

shinzon wrote: »
    bet Bret never heard the question "Did vince really stab you" as was posed by a texter yesterday on the matt cooper show :eek:

shin

That was on Ryan. I XD'd cause I knew he meant "in the back", but I think Bret took it literally....

He didnt understand the question to begin with because it was badly worded once it was clear he answered it well enough

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Even though i cant really stand Gerry Ryan as a presenter i must say that i surprised me a lot. even though i only got maybe less than half of the interview i enjoyed it very much. And as most people have already said it wasnt your usual so ur a wrestler sure isnt that fake blah blah blah it was obvioulsy very well researched and i really enjoyed it. i never heard the other interview with Cooper but i dont want to.

P.S Gerry Ryan is hosting the late late show tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

P.S Gerry Ryan is hosting the late late show tonight

I hope that he was impressed enough with Bret to call him for a run-in :pac:

I think too that Bret will be leaving wrestling behind soon

I know wrestling isnt a business built on honest but of all the wrestlers I've read and heard interviews with etc i think i'd trust him more than most, Seems like a genuine nice guy

"I respectfully understand my light in wrestling is fading. I can live with that."

Great quote aswell I wish a few others would take note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭RebelRockChick

The interview is available to listen to here for anyone that's interested.

I really feel sorry for Bret for having to deal with those ****ing eejits, i understand its a light entertainment show but cant they do one thing properly/professionally

He has had to put up with less talented people before at Summerslam 1995 for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Here's the Gerry Ryan interview if anyone is interested; http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?m5n0w0wvai4

rovert wrote: »
    He has had to put up with less talented people before at Summerslam 1995 for example.

I saw what you did there! :D