Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goodies on Monday

• 23-10-2008 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭

Given I've cried off the marathon this year (coach reckoned it would detrimental to 09 season) and herself decided not to do it afterall, we'll be out supporting.

Burning question is what sort of goodies to have to give out around mile 18.

What goodies would you like 31 votes

Jelly babies
    0%
    Jelly beans
    29%
    tunneyMaceFaceplodderekevosuWoddlerovers_runnerhawkwingReg'stoyDaithi BC 9 votes
    Mini bags of gummi bears
    3%
    Daithi BC 1 vote
    Bananas
    9%
    Krusty_Clownhawkwingbelcarra 3 votes
    Gels
    19%
    Krusty_ClownMaceFacegeldMarieCWoddlehawkwing 6 votes
    Caffinated gels
    19%
    BambaataZiggyStardustgeldWoddlehawkwingbert911 6 votes
    Chocolate bars
    6%
    geldDaithi BC 2 votes
    Something else
    12%
    geldSumachawkwingtdlynch 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

I wouldn't be taking anything from a randomer at mile 18! The fuelling strategy would be planned beforehand, using my own supplies and the official stations. Counting on receiving goodies from good samaritans would not be a good race strategy. But saying that, such goodies are very much appreciated by some runners.

Also make sure you don't offer any to the top runners - they are only allowed take fuel from the official stations (can leave their own stuff there beforehand) or they may be disqualified.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Can I say everything? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I'm not doing it either but if you were standing at the side of the road with the smorgasbord listed above, I'd grab half a banana off you. Maybe a caffinated gel if I wans't feeling 100%.

Actually, it brings me onto a question that struck me out on the bike recently "what does tunney eat on a long session". I know very little about paleo diets. My understanding is that it is fruit/legume/veg/meat based with little non-fruit sugar and no grains? I would get it very difficult to get enough carbs on a long spin from banana's alone and usually have some sort of energy drink and flapjack type thing with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

Gels
    for my first and last marathon we had friends with a little "goody" bag made up for us at 18 and 21. what i remember from it are grapes! they are easy to eat, no peeling, you get the juiciness of them also. plus they taste lovely with jelly babies!

My sis was out wit chocolate for me and i couldnt even look at it, I just took the banana and ran!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Jelly beans
    I wouldn't be taking anything from a randomer at mile 18! The fuelling strategy would be planned beforehand, using my own supplies and the official stations. Counting on receiving goodies from good samaritans would not be a good race strategy. But saying that, such goodies are very much appreciated by some runners.

Also make sure you don't offer any to the top runners - they are only allowed take fuel from the official stations (can leave their own stuff there beforehand) or they may be disqualified.

If you're running under 4:00 I'm unlikely to offer you anything. Its more for the people who are under-prepared, f*cked, and struggling. I've been there, hit the wall and appreciated any and all help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭Peckham

Jelly babies - easy to chew and full of sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Jelly beans
    Actually, it brings me onto a question that struck me out on the bike recently "what does tunney eat on a long session". I know very little about paleo diets. My understanding is that it is fruit/legume/veg/meat based with little non-fruit sugar and no grains? I would get it very difficult to get enough carbs on a long spin from banana's alone and usually have some sort of energy drink and flapjack type thing with me?

What do I eat on a long session?

Difference between the "Paleo diet" and the Joel Friel "Paleo diet for athletes" is that Friel's diet recognises that fuelling during and after long/intense sessions requires deviation from a strict paleo diet. That being said there are a raft of recommendations of what to eat/drink.

I have to admit that the Paleo diet is difficult. Access to fresh fruit and veg is actually rather difficult and eating salmon and salad for breakfast in work gets strange looks. That being said I believe it will help me:
    * shift the excess well I tend to hold (never got below 10st 8 this year, and 8-9% bodyfat, want to be 10st 4 and 4-6% for one week in July next
    year),
    * improve my fuel effeciency, IM racing can't be done without fat being a significant fuel source
    * reduce injury - more stable levels of cortisol will help reduce tendency for inflammation (biggie for me, my cortisol levels are all over the place)
    * more energy - more stable blood sugar levels

Legumes are out as well unfortunately. Nuts are great though.

Run < 1:45 - nothing
    Run > 1:45 - a gel and some water

Bike < 3:00 - 750ml water with a Nuun tablet
    Bike > 3:00 - 750ml water, 750ml carb drink, a gel or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Caffinated gels
    Gels, its what i take in long training sessions and i've never once had any problems with them. Will aghve 3 to 4 on me for it. I hear they dont agree with some people but thus far i've never felt any bad effects. Fingers crossed Monday isnt the first time i do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

I didn't vote because I should be comfortably under 4 hour pace and am sticking to my own plan. However, fair play to you coming out and supporting like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I'm interested to hear this. Are these race rules, and how is a top runner defined?

In theory, noone should take food from strangers because in theory any of us could be dope tested and disqualified. For most people this doesn't matter because their livelihood and reputation doesn't depend on the marathon.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Some of us would fail the drugs test just from regular prescription stuff, so a couple of jelly babies laced with something else wouldn't be a big issue if they did decide to test me at the finish. :D

robinph, lol, you need to get yourself certified (no, not as a mental patient but a TUE for your medical stuff!)

RoyMcC wrote: »
    I'm interested to hear this. Are these race rules, and how is a top runner defined?

Yes, these are race rules. Fuel must be handed in beforehand (either the night before or on the morning of the race, depending on the race). Most elite athletes will hand in a number of bottles with energy drink or water inside, one for each specified fuel station. The occasional athlete attaches a gel or some other food to the bottle. AFAIK athletes taking fuel from any source other than the official fuel stations can be disqualified.

Interestingly, at Berlin, every runner has the option to do this, but with 40,000 runners, this option is accompanied with the advice that 'it is almost impossible to find your own drinks container'. So where does that leave the rest of us who bring undeclared gels etc. with us - I imagine we must be technically breaking the rules, unless there are separate rules for the non-elite runners in the race.

A blind eye is more than likely turned to this.

The cyclists/triathletes might be able to shed some light - do cyclists have to declare beforehand the gels they carry and food they are handed by support cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Yes, these are race rules. Fuel must be handed in beforehand (either the night before or on the morning of the race, depending on the race). Most elite athletes will hand in a number of bottles with energy drink or water inside, one for each specified fuel station. The occasional athlete attaches a gel or some other food to the bottle. AFAIK athletes taking fuel from any source other than the official fuel stations can be disqualified.

Interestingly, at Berlin, every runner has the option to do this, but with 40,000 runners, this option is accompanied with the advice that 'it is almost impossible to find your own drinks container'. So where does that leave the rest of us who bring undeclared gels etc. with us - I imagine we must be technically breaking the rules, unless there are separate rules for the non-elite runners in the race.

A blind eye is more than likely turned to this.

The cyclists/triathletes might be able to shed some light - do cyclists have to declare beforehand the gels they carry and food they are handed by support cars?

I knew that you weren't permitted to take anything from non-official sources on the race day - ie people on bikes, etc. I didn't realise you weren't allowed to take something you were carrying with you. Technically anyone can be disqualified for taking a drink from an outside source on the day but they'd never pull someone up on that.
    I did see a lad last year on a bike getting warned that they'd disqualify Pauline Curley from the half marathon if he continued cycling with her. He popped up at around the same place on the two laps with a drink. In fairness to him though he only ever gave the drinks to the guy running with her, who then passed it to her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Gels
    Fig-rolls! Easy to hand out, pick up, eat!
    Raisins. Or any of the above (except the gels, which are probably a bad idea (and very expensive).

Good man, that Tunney fella!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I knew that you weren't permitted to take anything from non-official sources on the race day - ie people on bikes, etc. I didn't realise you weren't allowed to take something you were carrying with you. Technically anyone can be disqualified for taking a drink from an outside source on the day but they'd never pull someone up on that.
    I did see a lad last year on a bike getting warned that they'd disqualify Pauline Curley from the half marathon if he continued cycling with her. He popped up at around the same place on the two laps with a drink. In fairness to him though he only ever gave the drinks to the guy running with her, who then passed it to her!

You learn something every day - thanks RF & SP. A good job no one was monitoring me at Longford where I scoffed and drank everything that was going at all the unofficial places that families had set up :pac: I'm possibly not considered elite enough, can't think why :(

Good luck to everone running on Monday clap.gifclap.gifclap.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Chocolate bars
    I always thought that people on the side of the street were allowed to "stand and hand" drinks or food, so long as they weren't running or cycling alongside you.

When I got a cramp in my calf 18 miles into the Boston marathon in April and had to stop to stretch it out, I had two offers of beer and hamburgers. Very tempting....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Mu understanding (and I'm probably wrong!) is that what is available to one must be available to all to guarantee an equal opportunity. So you can carry your own drink since anyone can choose to or not. You can leave your own bottle at an official aid station as - again - everyone has that choice. However if Tunny stands and gives me a gel that perks me up but has none left to give to you then I have recieved external assistance that was not equally available to all and so have had an unfair advantage.

In Paris there is cheese, wine and either cider or beer (I didn't stop to check!) at semi-official aid stations. Now that is how to organise a marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Chocolate bars
    Mu understanding (and I'm probably wrong!) is that what is available to one must be available to all to guarantee an equal opportunity.

Makes sense.

I definitely remember passing beer at about half way in Paris. I'd have taken it with 500m to go, but I think half way is a bit early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Joleigh

This is my first post!

My favourite for an energy boots is Jaffa Cakes. Jelly tots and fruit pastiles are also good. Running my first marathon on Monday so at the moment feeling excited & nervous. Weather is looking good which is a bonus.

Good luck to everyone participating on Monday!! :D

I didn't realise you weren't allowed to take something you were carrying with you.

I'm not sure what the ruling on this is.

Welcome back, buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭plodder

Jelly beans
    I read the terms and conditions when entering, and I don't remember seeing anything about this. I'd guess the elite runners, who are competing for money have to sign a different set of rules to the masses though.

If she did actually drink something that was handed from a coach, then why didn't they disqualify her, rather than just warning the coach? Rules are there to be enforced and all that.

The winnning Ladies team in the Irish Championships on Monday will typically have times like 2.50, 3.00 and 3.10. Those at 3.00 and 3.10 will be relatively far back in the grand scheme of things (a few hundered people ahead of them) so will probably get away with taking fuel from external sources, but from a 'moral' point of view...it's an interesting one.

I think they'll be a bit faster than that. I just checked last couple of years and usually have 3 home by 3:01. I was getting excited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Welcome back, buddy.

Thanks, I'm very weak minded... That's my problem in races and all!!
    If she did actually drink something that was handed from a coach, then why didn't they disqualify her, rather than just warning the coach? Rules are there to be enforced and all that.

I don't know if they saw him handing the drink across (which was given to one of the guys, not to Pauline). He was only warned about the cycling alongside the group. I didn't pay much attention as I was dying trying to keep up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

[QUOTE
    In Paris there is cheese, wine and either cider or beer (I didn't stop to check!) at semi-official aid stations. Now that is how to organise a marathon![/QUOTE]
    #When i finished chicago i was suprised by all the beer i was offered just past the finish line.
    Last thing i wanted at that time was a beer..