Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stung rapid for pullin a sickie!

• 23-10-2008 4:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭

What a feckin eejit! :pac:

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=651937
    Facebook 'sickie' guy facing investigation

15:00 AEST Thu Oct 23 2008

A Sydney call centre worker who "chucked a sickie" only to be caught out on Facebook is now the subject of a formal investigation by his employer.

Kyle Doyle, a 21-year-old resolutions expert for telecommunications firm AAPT, bragged about his day off on the social networking site while telling his employer he was away for "medical reasons".

But he was found out when his boss spotted this Facebook profile update on the day in question, August 21: "Kyle Doyle is not going to work, f*** it I'm still trashed. SICKIE WOO!"

A spokeswoman for AAPT today said the company was aware of the issue and had launched a formal investigation.

"It's unfortunate because it was in the public domain,'' she was quoted as saying in the The Daily Telegraph.

"It involves one of our employees and we're doing an internal investigation, but I can't comment any further because of the nature of what it's about."

According to an email trail now sweeping inboxes, the fuss began when AAPT's workforce operations manager Niresh Regmi contacted Mr Doyle asking him to provide a medical certificate for his sick leave day.

Not knowing his incriminating status post had been uncovered, Mr Doyle tried to argue his way out of trouble.

"1 day leave absences do not require a medical certificate as stated in my contract, provided I have stated that I am on leave for medical reasons," his reply email read.

Mr Regmi: "Usually that is the case… however please note that leave during these occasions is only granted for genuine medical reasons.

"You [sic] line manager has determined that your leave was not due to medical reasons and as such we cannot grant leave on this occasion."

Sticking to his story, Mr Doyle insisted his day off was due to medical reasons and challenged his boss to provide proof otherwise.

In response, Mr Regmi delivered his trump card — a screengrab of Mr Doyle's Facebook page.

Mr Doyle realised his game was up, responding in jest: "HAHAHA LMAO [laughing my arse off] epic fail… no worries man."

Mr Doyle is yet to reply to ninemsn's Facebook message requestinga comment — but he has changed his Facebook status to "trying to hide".

Last night a concerned friend posted a query on Mr Doyle's online message board asking about the fallout and the 21-year-old replied: "lol [laugh out loud] don't know yet".

Link to the evidence

Kudos for using the term 'epic fail' to reply to his boss though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

What a complete fool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

wtf that's not news.
    What other stories do they put up?
    "jimmy smith, 13, was late for school today"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah human interest stories have their place in the daily news segment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

pwd wrote: »
    wtf that's not news.
    He better not have been or ill tell mam on him!
    Proof or it didnt happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

sickener. I work near that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Lollerskates

I put a similar status up on my facebook page once, but I'd actually told a team leader that I was in no state to work after a messy weekend:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

"epic fail" made the story..

duno how it's news tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What a wanker, hope the stupid ass wipe gets the sack.

Let's see his moronic gob then eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Kyle Doyle, a 21-year-old resolutions expert for telecommunications firm AAPT
    What is a "resolutions expert"? Is that the new term for phone monkey or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

The guy is a idiot but I do believe in the right to privacy and the company have no right to be using anything that happens outside work against him.
    There has been other cases where people have sued and won when their employer has used information gather from the facebook/myspace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

stung 'rapid'...

Didn't know kevo made it to Auz xavi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    The guy is a idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

malice_ wrote: »
    What is a "resolutions expert"? Is that the new term for phone monkey or something?

Someone who knows all about 800x600 and 1024x768 etc

"Why is everything on my screen so big?"

"I dunno, I'll call the resolutions expert......ah balls hes sick today"

"Fck it, doesn't matter, I'm just gonna look up the aul facebook anyways"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

pwd wrote: »
    wtf that's not news.
    In Aus the news is so much different. They always have these sort of stories and always leave off with something funny or light hearted.
    Here we get the most depressing 10 or 12 stories in the country and they rattle them off for half an hour.

Honestly I noticed this when I came back. Some depressing place at times this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    There has been other cases where people have sued and won when their employer has used information gather from the facebook/myspace.
    Have there? If the guy didn't want certain people to know he was pulling a sickie then he shouldn't have put information out in the public domain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 TheEnforcer

He deserves all he gets. Any fool with a facebook/bebo needs to be put down.

I mean, even in the age of "celebrity" have these people no sense of privacy.

And who wants to hear about another "mad night out".

It's one thing I disliked about England. You'd go out and people will be taking pictures/videos just to "facebook" it. Seriously. If I go out, I do not want to end up on some stupid idiots profile, usually with a caption saying, "omg e iz so drnk" and with mindless drivel afterwards.

Jesus, epic fail. I'm going to say that to my boss during the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Amateur....

Change status to {user_name} is feeling rotten today.

Turn online status and mini/news feeds off.

Proceed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭drunk_monk

It's one thing I disliked about England. You'd go out and people will be taking pictures/videos just to "facebook" it. Seriously. If I go out, I do not want to end up on some stupid idiots profile, usually with a caption saying, "omg e iz so drnk" and with mindless drivel afterwards.

Jesus, epic fail. I'm going to say that to my boss during the weekend.

Why on earth do you think this only happens in England?? This happens everywhere. Or are you now located somewhere where it's impossible to go out on a night out????

That's the name of the game these days.

Back in the good times people just went out ,had a good time, came home,took a dump ,bed,and that was that.

Nowadays the place is infested with cretinous wannabees who go out, but MUST use the occasion to show all their "virtual friends" "OMG!!!lok at me, what a great toooime Oi'm hoving" or " Hoi ,here Oi om at the great wool of Choooina, like hoving a blaaast" When in reality their ballsack is covered in leeches and they are after spending the night in another hovel with equally "fun loving" cretins whos ballsacks are equally under attack from lice/red backed mites/sweat scabs/stale dried piss/insert your own complaint.

Cue pics of gormless idiots with their tongues out and the gel haired morons with obligatory frowns and one or two digit attitudes.

Then the assholes spend the next day checking out their "profile" when they should be working.

What a boring cretinous shower.

As opposed to that other shower who spend their time ranting about it on message boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Xavi6 wrote: »
    As opposed to that other shower who spend their time ranting about it on message boards.

lols.

OT i feel bad for the dumbass

Heh hehhe struck a nerve there Flutter:D

Cue the circlejerk:rolleyes:

Heh hehhe struck a nerve there Flutter:D

Cue the circlejerk:rolleyes:
    No nerve stuck at all. I don't see the harm in social networking as a means of communication, storing photographs etc. Maybe it's just hard for your generation to embrace....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Homer

Xavi6 wrote: »
    No nerve stuck at all. I don't see the harm in social networking as a means of communication, storing photographs etc. Maybe it's just hard for your generation to embrace....

Meeaaaaow! Saucer of milk? :p

Prefer interpersonal contact myself tbh.

Didn't know that you knew me personally by the way, but I don't feel the need to record and photograph my total path thru life and then bore others with it.

But if that's your bag, well away with you;)

Didn't know that you knew me personally by the way, but I don't feel the need to record and photograph my total path thru life and then bore others with it.

From your posts I presume you to be in the more middle aged bracket but feel free to correct me there. Anyhoo, in my own situation I can't really interact with my Irish friends so the internet and its hosted social networking sites allow me to do so. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

You are always stirring sh!t man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭daheff

in fairness if he'd had the balls to deny it to his boss and say he just put that up for the craic, his boss wouldnt have had a leg to stand on.

Information on facebook is not exactly secure....and wouldnt stand up any court...whats to stop me setting up a facebook page in your name with your picture?

dumbass...deserves to be sacked for being stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Why is that news? "Bloke misses work and is caught on facebook", pfft!

That's not even as bad as the time I was going out with a girl who lived with my manager, went back to her house pissed one night, called in sick the next morning and got him. Ended up having to go to work anyway, cos apparently I waved at him through his window when I was on my way into the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

That's what he gets for being on facebook.