Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry Katona on This Morning

• 23-10-2008 12:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone heard about this yet? I didn't see a post on it.
    An erratic appearance by former pop star Kerry Katona on ITV1's This Morning caused viewers to call in with concerns about her health.

The singer's slurred words prompted host Phillip Schofield to say: "You don't seem right to me... Your speech is a bit slurred, how are you feeling?"

Katona seemed surprised by the question, but blamed prescription drugs she had taken to help her sleep.

Publicist Max Clifford said he was "increasingly concerned" for Katona.

"There's no way she should have been allowed to do that show," the singer's publicist told Radio 1 Newsbeat.

"Had I been with her, she wouldn't have done," he added.

"I must admit after today and in view of what's gone on over the last couple of months, I am increasingly concerned for her health and happiness."

All it is is my medication. I've never been happier, I swear to God

Katona's appearance was meant to promote a new MTV reality show, Whole Again, which documents her recent cosmetic surgery.

But several minutes into the interview, Schofield said: "Our phone has already gone in the gallery from people in ITV who've said 'is she okay?'

The former Atomic Kitten star insisted she was "absolutely fine".

"All it is is my medication. I've never been happier, I swear to God, healthwise I'm fine."

Katona added she had been taking Chlorpromazine, which is an anti-psychotic drug.

She has previously battled drug addiction and depression, spending time in rehab for both.

Referring to a recent magazine article which suggested Katona had been seen drinking while in Marbella for a photo-shoot, the show's co-host Fern Britton asked whether the star had developed a drink problem.

"A lot of people say when you have an addictive personality and you get rid of one addiction it's replaced with another. Is it alcohol?" she asked.

"No not at all," Katona replied. "I was on holiday in Spain, I'm allowed to have a drink aren't I? So would that mean I'm an alcoholic?"

Schofield said they were "merely pointing out" what viewers would be thinking as Katona appeared so "different to the person we knew a few years ago".

Katona's husband Mark Croft has since posted a statement on the MTV website.

He explained that the slurred speech had been "particularly bad" because Katona had taken her prescription drugs four hours late on Tuesday night.

"Kerry would like to categorically state for the record that that the only thing she drank before the show was cups of tea," he added.

"Having answered the questions to the best of her ability, Kerry was upset at the insinuation that she was on anything other than the prescription drugs which she has always been honest about taking."

An ITV spokesperson said Katona arrived late on set before her live interview.

"Sometimes with live television you don't get a huge amount of time with guests," he said.

He said the few people who had spent time with her before she went on had "no cause for concern" but it was only when she was in the studio that her "speech appeared slurred".

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7684017.stm

I doubt it's medication. She looks completely pissed.

Can you imagine what Frankie Boyle would have made of this? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

She looks like she just left the pub.. Being married to that piece of sh*t Mark Croft is hardly helping her either. She's a knacker with money, surprised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Singer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

There's a thread in Celebrity & Showbiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

From a tv perspective they have to accept some responsibility and should never have let her go on air IMO. She hardly became like that in a matter of minutes, surely the penny should have dropped with someone backstage :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

gotta boost the ratings somehow...
    heard about it today and only seen it now....
    quite shocking to say the least...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Sizzler wrote: »
    From a tv perspective they have to accept some responsibility and should never have let her go on air IMO. She hardly became like that in a matter of minutes, surely the penny should have dropped with someone backstage :confused:

What are they her mother? She's a grown woman who can make her own decisions good or bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

can't see the vid as I'm on mobile but the sooner she's gone the ****ing better tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

kearnsr wrote: »
    She's a grown woman who can make her own decisions good or bad
    Not if shes out of her bin :eek:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Last year when she was on the Late Late show, I was there as a mate works there and got me tickets. I met her and chatted for a few mins, but she drank a whole bottle of wine in about 20 minutes, while heavily pregnant. She also spent quite a lot of time in the bathroom and was apparently very 'sniffiy' when she came out.

Poor girl.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Sizzler wrote: »
    Not if shes out of her bin :eek:

That just leads to bad decisions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Zascar wrote: »
    Last year when she was on the Late Late show, I was there as a mate works there and got me tickets. I met her and chatted for a few mins, but she drank a whole bottle of wine in about 20 minutes, while heavily pregnant. She also spent quite a lot of time in the bathroom and was apparently very 'sniffiy' when she came out.

Poor girl.

Poor ? Shes a millionaire FFS ! Hasn't a bean of talent and is loaded, "writes" an article in a sh*te rag in England and is another one of those Jade Goody type "celebrities" that are a stain on the human race.

My sympathy for her is nil.

The fact that Brian McFadden cant get custody of the kids is a testement to the (still) wonderful British judical system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

BolBill wrote: »
    The fact that Brian McFadden cant get custody of the kids is a testement to the (still) wonderful British judical system.

You do realise that the Irish Legal System is just as bad when it comes to farther's rights, and if you're an unmarried father, forget about it, the state considers you a stain on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Didn't he dump her by text message, or something? Fine committment that is.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭lady_j

Poor ? Shes a millionaire FFS !

Didn't she declare herself bankrupt due to major tax bill?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

descry wrote: »
    Didn't she declare herself bankrupt due to major tax bill?

Mums can only go to Iceland if they don't snort the shopping money first....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

This was carcrash tv at it's best. The clown was clearly off her head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Max Clifford was on the afternoon show and said that she, husband & Rep turned up late for interview so she wasnt spoken to before interview. Seems relations with Clifford and her now are a little strained ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Looks like she has all the symtoms of somebody on anti depressents who's not long woke up ,slurred voice and that but i have seen her look worse so she got the image make over right i suppose .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I still would..

Saw this this morning, tbh once she said it was just because of her medication they should have left it at that. They had no right to keep going on about it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭bettedavis

as phil schofield says, you would have to question the motives of someone (mark Croft) who came to the studio in the car with her while she was obviously in a state. He's an exploitative parasite, and as they say all publicity is good publicity. she'll be on the cover of every other mag in a week talking about 'how that incident turned her life around' and be back on this morning selling her story and promoting her new book on drug dependancy. she's a media prostitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

The woman is an absolute mess. I'd say there's not a day that goes by where McFadden asks himself what was he thinking.

She was on Tubridy a couple of years back and there was a thread asking if she was off her head on coke cos she certainly looked like she was. After reading Zascar's post I'm sure she was now. You just feel sorry for her kids.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

A mate of mine is very good mates with Brian McFaddan. He was delighted to see this whole Fiasco cause more things like this will mean a better chance of Brian getting his kids back. Aparently despite all this sh1t the kids are little angels - so well behaved and lovely childern - such a shame they are exposed to their mother in such a state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

A mate of mine is very good mates with Brian McFaddan. He was delighted to see this whole Fiasco cause more things like this will mean a better chance of Brian getting his kids back. Aparently despite all this sh1t the kids are little angels - so well behaved and lovely childern - such a shame they are exposed to their mother in such a state.
    Yeah but it's a real catch 22. She has to really really mess up for him to get custody. But it's not nice for kids to have to go through something like that, especially with it being so public.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Yeah but it's a real catch 22. She has to really really mess up for him to get custody. But it's not nice for kids to have to go through something like that, especially with it being so public.

Could be a short term solution to a potentially long term problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Haven't watched the vid yet, but I honestly feel really sorry for her. When she's sober/clean, she actually comes across as a genuinely nice, bubbly down-to-earth girl. By all accounts, her own mother was an absolute bitch and she had a really difficult childhood. I wouldn't be surprised if she committed suicide at some point - she is not mentally right and needs help.

Oh and Brian McFadden's an absolute dick. (imo ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

MASSIVE jabs though!!

There is a video on the net where one of her boyfriends video'd her just out of the shower... Massive jabs indeed

dedon wrote: »
    MASSIVE jabs though!!
    This is true. If it came to it I'd probably have to give her one..just out of sympathy like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

He's living in Australia though, he can't drag the kids all the way over there when their family, friends etc are in Ireland and the UK.

I personally think that maybe they should be given to his parents, they seemed to look after them more than Kerry did when she was with Brian. Plus it would be as normal a possible life that they could have. Poor kids, it's them I feel sorry for in all of this. That Mark Croft guy was the worst thing to happen to her.

Philip Scolfield's radio interview afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Aidric wrote: »
    This is true. If it came to it I'd probably have to give her one..just out of sympathy like.

Shes had them reduced, I cant stand the cow but she certainly looks much better bodywise.

Gawd damn fag faced flange!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Only one way to handle people like her, starve her of the oxygen she depends on-the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Only one way to handle people like her, starve her of the oxygen she depends on-the media.

True - it's certainly got people talking about her again !!

dedon wrote: »
    MASSIVE jabs though!!

jabby the hut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

An erratic appearance by former pop star Kerry Katona on ITV1's This Morning caused viewers to call in with concerns about her health

wtf is wrong with some people, jesus fook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

She is being exploited by the likes of mark Croft and others .Her own mother saw her as a cash machine .I can only think of Jorden as somebody else who bores the fcuk outta me whenever they are in the news, which is why i hate this whole phoney celeb culture . Amazes me How anybody would want to read about these people week in, week out ,although car crash tv is amusing at times .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

DarkJager wrote: »
    Mums can only go to Iceland if they don't snort the shopping money first....

My hero DarkJager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Has anyone seen this?

Its a disgrace!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6V_ZLwv_Wew&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

You are abit late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Were you in a coma for the last week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Someone only told me about it today! :P

Does anyone know the result of the Ireland Romania penalty shoot out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

There's a black dude running for the US Presidency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Threads merged.

I love Marathon bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I went into the shop today to buy a bag of tayto for 20p. They wouldn't take it.
    Whats a youroh?