Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Shopping...

• 22-10-2008 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭

Have you started ??? When s too early ?? think i might start mine in the next few weeks...

I always thought now would be fairly early, however i saw a guy walking through blanchardstown shopping centre with his christmas tree, there s definately something wrong there !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

The start or middle of december is perfectly enough time to do the shopping. All those who are doing it now and putting trees up before November even starts should seriously have their heads examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Are you fecking kidding me????

It's not even halloween yet!!!!!

It's the bloody recession...

Now off you go and think of something else :a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Are you fecking kidding me????

It's not even halloween yet!!!!!

It's the bloody recession...

Now off you go and think of something else :a

Blame the man with the christmas tree....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Not bought anything yet, but already eyed up a few things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

This year will be a meagre christmas. less presents, more old family values / religious stuff. none of the ridiculous singing santas on roofs + neon lights everywhere. just nice quiet cottages with a few tea lights in the window because they cant afford real candles anymore.

or should I say "T-Lights"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

I have most of the important stuff (stuff for our wee fella) bought already - figured I'd be huge and uncomfortable soon and I'd get it out of the way. I'm not normally this organised, I swear :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

all done. im happy to get it out of the way early

• Moderators Posts: 51,982 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

I used to know people who started buying presents in July!!:eek::eek:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

koth wrote: »
    I used to know people who started buying presents in July!!:eek::eek:

"Used to?" Did you kill them or something over it? Seems a bit harsh to me...

For Christmas shopping in July?? Had it coming, if you ask me.
    They ended up stuffed down a chimney.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

All done apart from 3 , I intend to be stress free this Christmas regarding pressies.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Buy bits and pieces from last week until the day before. Keep stress to a minimum :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No, I have a life to live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I personally havent started shopping yet but anyways

Who here actually is a christian and believes in christianity? eejits who go on calling themselves atheists and continue going on to buy easter eggs and christmas gifts seriously do my head in.
    You either believe in christianity and celebrate Jesus' Birth, Death and Resurrection or you don't.

I personally havent started shopping yet but anyways

Who here actually is a christian and believes in christianity? eejits who go on calling themselves atheists and continue going on to buy easter eggs and christmas gifts seriously do my head in.
    You either believe in christianity and celebrate Jesus' Birth, Death and Resurrection or you don't.
    Fair enough, one less person on my list.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mostly done, thank you Mr.Internet. I'll go and laugh at the last minute shoppers slugging it out in the shopping centre on Christmas Eve.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭chaotic_vr

Started at the end of August because I had to buy a Wii and wanted to get it before it sold out. Everything else can wait to be bought on christmas eve.:)

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Almost done. just need to get the bigger things but pretty much sorted :D my sister, however, finished in September!

koth wrote: »
    Fair enough, one less person on my list.:P
    but.... but

you promised:(

Im a christian btw :pac:

but.... but

you promised:(

Im a christian btw :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Bauldersnatch! :pac:

You can celebrate Christmas because it has a very real meaning for you and your family, as a time of happiness and celebration. Connection and joy with one's family and loved ones is frankly a much better reason for celebration than some nonsense about a magic Jewish zombie, because the date of the festival has origins that predate Christianity. Don't even try to pretend that you have to be Christian to partake in it, because that particular religion just came along and hopped on the bandwagon and added their own mythology to it; an already existing and widespread event. I can take or leave the religious glossary, but don't try and force your religion on people who want to celebrate the festival, because it's as much to do with your cult and prayer as it has to do with commercialism and money; just something else hijacking it for their own end.

Bauldersnatch! :pac:

You can celebrate Christmas because it has a very real meaning for you and your family, as a time of happiness and celebration. Connection and joy with one's family and loved ones is frankly a much better reason for celebration than some nonsense about a magic Jewish zombie, because the date of the festival has origins that predate Christianity. Don't even try to pretend that you have to be Christian to partake in it, because that particular religion just came along and hopped on the bandwagon and added their own mythology to it; an already existing and widespread event. I can take or leave the religious glossary, but don't try and force your religion on people who want to celebrate the festival, because it's as much to do with your cult and prayer as it has to do with commercialism and money; just something else hijacking it for their own end.

Cult?
    How the hell is Christianity a cult??? Anyway regardless of that fact it doesnt matter what the festival used to be for 2000 years ago in the Roman Empire, what matters is today even the name is Christmas which is short for Christ's Mass, celebrating Christmas aka Christs Mass means your celebrating Jesus' Birth which unless you believe in christianity (I couldnt care less if you didnt) it means nothing and basically your a sheep that just goes with the flow without putting any thought in

Anyway lets get out of this before it gets messy....
    Christmas shopping

CuLT basically your a sheep that just goes with the flow without putting any thought in
    /runs.

uh oh

:(

the almighty ban stick is a coming

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Seen a digital photo frame going cheap which would suit my sister down to the ground so I got one for her for christmas. Unless I see a present that is perfect for someone then it'll be getting left to christmas eve like every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I know this sounds stupid. But unless it's for young children, I always buy people their christmas presents after christmas, when they're bored of everything else, the present is more memorable, and it's cheaper on your pocket for the exact same present.

I say celebrate christmas for what it's supposed to be, then celebrate the stupid 'i like your arse by giving you a present, now you give me a present because you have to'....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Haven't started yet, I have no idea what to get for anyone which is annoying :(

To answer the Christianity question, I don't know where I stand with Jesus tbh. I can't honestly call myself a good Christian because I don't agree with a lot of what the Bible says. But I always go to mass Christmas day (and so do my siblings) because our parents are Christians, and going to mass Christmas morning is more of a family thing than a religious thing.
    Oh and athiests and non-Christians should be allowed celebrate Christmas whatever they want. I don't think you need to be a Christian to buy presents for your family and put up a nicely decorated tree in your living room! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

In response to square igloo, i agree.

TBH, disputing over religion is like fighting over who's got the better imaginary friend....

If people want to be productive and their not christian, then go to work, and have a completely stress free/distraction free day....

Haven't started yet, I have no idea what to get for anyone which is annoying :(

To answer the Christianity question, I don't know where I stand with Jesus tbh. I can't honestly call myself a good Christian because I don't agree with a lot of what the Bible says. But I always go to mass Christmas day (and so do my siblings) because our parents are Christians, and going to mass Christmas morning is more of a family thing than a religious thing.
    Oh and athiests and non-Christians should be allowed celebrate Christmas whatever they want. I don't think you need to be a Christian to buy presents for your family and put up a nicely decorated tree in your living room! :D

Fair enough i suppose, giving people gifts and all and having a family get together a nicely decorated tree etc is not a bad thing by any means.
    What gets to me is that these so called atheists go on and can actually say they celebrated Christmas

Confession coming :

I bought a lot of this years Christmas pressies in the sales last year ( using any money l got that year ).
    A necessity not a mean thing.
    But it makes sense to wait and get something that you know someone will appreciate only you could not afford it at the time.
    Got a huge brown bear and its cub standing on a Christmas log for someone ( Original cost 150:00 )
    I got it for 30:00 and l am more excited about giving it this year than l am about what l get.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This thread should be locked till December. Humbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Fair enough i suppose, giving people gifts and all and having a family get together a nicely decorated tree etc is not a bad thing by any means.
    What gets to me is that these so called atheists go on and can actually say they celebrated Christmas

I like celebrating the festival of Christmas 'cause its great fun, presents, family, nice food etc I couldn't care less what it 'stands' for, as its figure of celebration means nothing to me and never will.

Cult?
    How the hell is Christianity a cult???

Cult
    1. a particular system of religious worship, esp. with reference to its rites and ceremonies.

How the hell is Christianity not a cult?
    Anyway regardless of that fact it doesnt matter what the festival used to be for 2000 years ago in the Roman Empire, what matters is today even the name is Christmas which is short for Christ's Mass, celebrating Christmas aka Christs Mass means your celebrating Jesus' Birth which unless you believe in christianity (I couldnt care less if you didnt) it means nothing and basically your a sheep that just goes with the flow without putting any thought in

And a rose by any other name... :rolleyes:

The term Christmas, much like many other christian terms, has worked it's way into common vernacular. Much in the same way that saying "God bless you/bless you" when someone sneezes, or the exclamation of "Oh my god" and many other terms that had ties to religion have been worked into, well, basically all western culture. Does this mean that someone cannot say "Bless you" unless they're a Christian? No, I think that's just preposterous. It's just a preposterous to say that because I celebrate Christmas that I'm celebrating "Christ's Mass", rather using the common and understood word for the Christmas festival.

The point is, you've no right to come along and tell people what they can and can not celebrate, or to celebrate something in the fashion you deem correct or not at all, simpy because your cult has layed claim to it. I'll celebrate Christmas because it means something personal to me, and it's not up to you or any other religious fascist to tell me I can't because I'm not chanting away to some invisible man in the sky and lining the pockets of the church.

What gets to me is that you have the gaul to come into a thread and start giving out about atheists, when it had nothing to do with the thread in the first place, you're just using as a platform for your hatemongering. I've every right to celebrate what I want in whatever fashion I deem meaningful to me, and it's not your place to insult me by calling me a sheep, and saying how I shouldn't be celebrating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Ah forget all this present malarky. Alcohol and chocolate are all you need at Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

christ who would start their Christmas shopping already????:cool:

Kya1976 wrote: »
    christ who would start their Christmas shopping already????:cool:

I knew there was something else I wanted to post on this thread, but I got sidetracked. :pac:

Anyway, yes, Christmas shopping. Who'd start it already? Well, I for one would, and have done. Now before the bah-humbuggers start telling me I need me head examined and saying that 2 days before Christmas is when I should start, let me explain. I don't know about anyone else, but I've never went out and bought all the presents all on one day, I don't think that I could and I don't think I'd have the money to do that either. It makes much more sense to have your shopping staggered over the coming weeks, and one present here and there in a given week isn't going to be a huge burden on the pocket either. So by the time December comes, I've got half (if not more) of it done already without really thinking much about it or getting too stressed.

I don't think it's a big deal to have a present or two bought in October, and it's not as if Christmas shopping is something that's weighing heavily on my agenda either. It's more a case of being in town and seeing something and thinking to yourself might as well grab that now. Buy something this week for a family member, then something else the next week, much simpler in my opinion, than going off on a big stressful spurge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Reports are just coming in that Pirates could threaten our Christmas shopping. :eek:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7686466.stm