Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protests Today

• 22-10-2008 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭

Any of you with nothing better to do ie. Students and Wrinklies, in town today to capture the action!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i came across the protests in town by chance ,

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/
    the one i posted in Random threads, looks like there was more than protesting going on ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Indeed I was. Well sort-of; I was at the Central Bank 'demonstration':

2964345153_82e59a9ec3.jpg

2964342441_1802e257bb.jpg

2964317219_a5eab49343.jpg

2964338561_77756c1975.jpg

...and my favourite!:
    2964385399_8b7dfd7f2f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

photos from the protest :D

all of them can be seen here
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ncremins/sets/72157608280455005/

say no!
    2965197590_de7aaa6c17.jpg

i could have used this a better way.
    2965198034_38e8923752.jpg

written on the inside of a four-star pizza box
    2964356055_9fda8bd13f.jpg

i shouldn't of laughed but i did (a little)
    2965198674_e297d66692.jpg

biting back
    2964358359_7a80d29af8.jpg

i somehow doubt it...
    2965200968_e4ab4ca165.jpg

as you might guess it's the students one :P

i also saw fajitas there but couldn't go over to him as it was too crowded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Showed me mam the Christopher Reeve's One.
    She couldn't catch her breath laughing. "I'll Fee You" is my favourite, though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Quality Shots, but one wonders about the quality of Irish protests the French set fire to things and all we can muster is a load of pensioners and Students drinking cans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Deadly - sign of the times, can't even afford good car for protest signs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

the funniest thing i saw and disappointed i didn't get it on film(is there a digital term for that?) was a sign made out of cardboard from a samsung lcd screen that said "your not getting my money" on the front of it.

a tad ironic :D

the amount of "down with this sort of thing" signs was a bit predictable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Yep I did the double header... Cant beat a good day of protests..

From the student protest

2964070015_fe08c28418.jpg

2963979733_cba3f56b2d.jpg

2964829922_091e19676e.jpg

2963979223_439d74b78a.jpg

And from Medical cards

2964201643_7ae4cefe89.jpg

2964200757_2e5e87fff6.jpg

2965041440_f8ab4cf8cb.jpg

Not surprised you did the double header shep, you will be in the unique position of having a student card and a pension book at the same time if you dont get your finger out and finish college!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

One more controversial one.. The look of shock on the girls faces when they realised what his banner says.. They were standing getting their picture taken for a good minute before they copped what it said... The can of bavaria in his hand to finish it off..

2964117589_94716f6798.jpg

Thats briliant, he looks like he is worried about the fees!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭reggiethefirst

Quality Shots, but one wonders about the quality of Irish protests the French set fire to things and all we can muster is a load of pensioners and Students drinking cans!

I tried, but doing it on your own is dangerous. As the old saying goes, if everyone is guilty, noone is guilty. If you heard someone shouting "Come on, riot yis cunts!" That was me.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

shepthedog wrote: »
    One more controversial one.. The look of shock on the girls faces when they realised what his banner says.. They were standing getting their picture taken for a good minute before they copped what it said... The can of bavaria in his hand to finish it off..

2964117589_94716f6798.jpg

fabulous shot!

Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I'll have my student protest ones up later on. Was in the middle of it all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭petercox

Ah, wish I was in Dublin for that. Quality shots, all. I particularly like the one with the lone banner on the sheet of foolscap - "fee's me bollix" - clearly the guy needs the education =)

Cheers,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Tarakiwa

petercox wrote: »
    Ah, wish I was in Dublin for that. Quality shots, all. I particularly like the one with the lone banner on the sheet of foolscap - "fee's me bollix" - clearly the guy needs the education =)

Cheers,
    Peter

That one caught my attention too!

I love the one where the student has robbed the road sign and amended it too!! All great stuff!

2965967135_5a9560c0fd.jpg

2965967907_2546f6ff18.jpg

2965969463_79ca4fd708.jpg

2966816034_0b2ea5c770.jpg

2966817252_9432f6bb0f.jpg

2965970829_1ec650c1aa.jpg

Shot in .jpg because I had to keep some space handy for work... So couldn't get away with much exposure wise, but meh - I like some of them. :)

We started off up in NCAD, down the the Garden of Rememberance and on to the Dail from there - I'll tell ye one thing - Seeing O Connell street full on one side, from top to bottom (And more) was an interesting experience. I think the news said it was up to 15,000 students there... Was a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭YogiBear

Unbelievable. I watch "Budget 2009" and on finishing his little Budget speech, Brian Lenihan plonked himself back down on his fat chair grinning and wallowing in the applause from (most) of his party buddies.. Jesus tonight, we are too good natured about this for sure! :mad:
    /rant over.

Great shots, though yeah some real drama wouldn't have gone astray! GRRRRRRRRR!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

shepthedog wrote: »
    Yep I did the double header... Cant beat a good day of protests..

From the student protest

2964829922_091e19676e.jpg

Dublin City Council should have this guy charged with theft & criminal damage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭bmcgrath

Heres more.

I got stuck right in the middle of it at one stage. hehe!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bazzymcg/sets/72157608271582068/

Aha, I know who you are now Bmcgrath :p

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Aha, I know who you are now Bmcgrath :p

Do ya now.... hehe :)

Heh, yep, saw you taking a few of those shots.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Heh, yep, saw you taking a few of those shots.

Jaysiz. hehe

There was a few people who I know quite well through flickr but never met them in person, said they were standing beside me and we didn't know who we were hehe!! Crazy

Btw your website is pretty cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Found myself in there, bmcgrath. Nice shot, but not my best side. :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

bmcgrath wrote: »
    Heres more.

I got stuck right in the middle of it at one stage. hehe!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bazzymcg/sets/72157608271582068/
    Just spotted this one of yours...

Perhaps we should be more concerned with primary education, in particular reading and writing. :pac:

Cheers B!

Dade... Some of the spelling there was ironicly woeful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭YogiBear

That's spelt very ironically! :pac::p