Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE - a complete waste of our money.

• 22-10-2008 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭

The piss-poor standard of programming on RTE disgusts me. I was going to say : "I can't believe we have to pay for that ****e.", but of course it's precisly because we are forced to pay for it that we get such ****e programming.

Take last night's match on RTE2. I couldn't watch it live so I recorded it with sky+, which if you can't watch it live, is a brilliant way to watch a match. I was able to start watching from the start while the second half was nearly over, skip the 45 minutes of pre-match commentary, pause when I needed to pee and skip half time entirely. This would have been perfect if I could have recorded off a decent channel I had to listen to the god-awful commentary on RTE. Lets start at the start.....

45 minutes of pre-match. 45. Even though it's only week 3 of this year's Champion's League I'm full sure that you could spend 45 minutes intelligently analyising the upcoming matchs for the night. I didn't see the pre-match so I'm assuming that (Dunphy, Giles, Brady and that jolly ape O'Herlihy?) they spent 25 minutes talking ****e and 20 minutes showing eircom commercials that somehow try to convince us that *Robbie Keane is a role-model. Who do they think is watching? Even if I'm watching a match live, if it kicks off at 7:45, that's when I'll turn on the TV. I don't want to listen to their ****e and thankfully I didn't have to, but I was still stuck with the match commentary of **Georgie and Ray.

Early in the second half Nani's cross went out of play and he claimed a corner. While the replay is being shown, Ray comments : 'I can't say I see anything there.', and finishes his sentence just as the replay shows the ball hiting the Celtic player on the way out. That's world class commentating - the director is showing him a replay and he can't wait to see what actually happens before opening his gob.

Later in the half Ronaldo loses the ball. He's challenged by one Celtic player who catches his leg and is unable to keep possesion. Ray's comment? 'Ronaldo's touch has been poor all night'. I sometimes wondered if he was watching the same game...

The first "controversial" moment of the night was Berbatov's first goal from an offside position. It was offside. The linesman made a howler. Life moves on. United later had a legitimate goal ruled out for offside and even the Celtic manager didn't think it was important in the context of the game.

Their reaction to Berbatov's second goal shows why Georgie and Ray's quality as professional match commentary. Ronaldo struck a free kick while Berbatov was in an offside position which the keeper saved. Berbatov, in this phase of play, now coming from an onside position scores from the rebound. Because of the rule about phases of play, Beratov was onside. I don't think it's a fair rule myself but it is the rule. A rule that Georgie and Ray seemed to be unaware of and kept harping on about "Celtic's injustice" for the rest of the fecking night. The commentary was something like this :

Ray : I don't understand the offside rule.
    Gerorge : Well I clearly don't understand the offside rule because I think Celtic were hard done-by.
    Ray : I really don't understand the offside rule.

Rooney makes an excellent run from an onside position and has a goal ruled out for offside. Do they talk about balance? Parity being restored? Not a chance....
    George : Oh dear. The linesman has got that wrong again.
    Ray : The referee's getting no assistance from his assitant's tonight. I'll refer to Berbatov's second goal again to show how little I undestand the offside rule.
    George : Well I can't even pronounce "debut" so I certantly can't comment intelligently on anything.
    Ray : I'm a former professional footballer, a national sporting hero, a professionaly football journalist and a professional football commentator on national television and I don't...understand...the ****ing offside rule...

I'm paraphrasing but you get the idea. I'll be so happy the next time the government throw another compulsory license price hike incrase at us that we're paying for such a professional and quality service.

I don't watch RTE much but every time I do the "home-grown" programming seems to have hit a new low. I commented before on that god-awful gameshow they used to have (Starstruck or something) about stalking celebrities. The prize for the winner was to meet the celebrity of their choice. In the episode I saw, the winner from the previous week wanted to meet Naomi Campbell. Now, if it was me, I'd get someone from RTE to call her agent and see if they could set up a meeting, overing free publicity for her. But then, I'm not in the TV business. Apparanlty the done thing is to get the license-payer to pay for a RTE camera crew to follow some horny tool around the streets of Paris knocking on doors where she might be. Then when it turns out she's not even in Paris, (and we're talking the word of some random person at a studio door for this) but in LA, get the license-payer to pay for said horny tool and the camera crew to fly to LA. I don't know did he ever acually meet Naomi Campbell because I had to leave, but at least himself and the camera crew got two nice holidays out of it...

The last show I saw on RTE was another take on reality TV, 'cos god knows, they couldn't find a decent scrip writer to save their lives. The goal of this show was to help people change careers by finding out what they're good at, finding out what they want to do, getting professional advice and following up on how they got on late. The episode I got featured some soul-less IT-drone, a professional 'Career Consultant', and some guy who runs a website. It went something like this :

Glorified Recruiment Agency Secretary : So what are you good at?
    Drone : Eh, I don't know really.
    GRAS : Well, what would you like to do?
    Drone : Eh, eh, I don't know really.
    GRAS : I'm really going to need some sort of direction here.
    Drone : Eh, eh, I like films...
    GRAS : Great! Somebody's at home.....Well it's very hard to break into the world of professional reviewing, have you tried blogging?
    Drone : No, but I like watching films. I also spend an obscene amount of money on music CDs. I really am a no-talent wannabe.
    GRAS : I'll set up a meeting with an expert in this area.
    Some Guy Who Runs A Website : Well it's very hard to break into the world of professional reviewing, have you tried blogging?
    Drone : No, but I like watching films.

In the end he stayed in his current job and became just what we need - another ****ing blogger. Quality prgramming.

After that I caught about 30 seconds of the Late Late Show. I've never watched the Late Late Show in my life. I'd love to say it's because of my busy and dynamic social life but tbh, if I'm in on a friday night and there's 852 other channels, odds are there are 851 better things on TV. In the 30 seconds I saw there was some guy doing "Deedle-deedle-eye, dee-eye" on stage. Literally. Like scatting in Jazz but more retarded. There was also two people dancing around with yard brushes. Cutting edge stuff.

I've never seen the video for 2 girls/1 cup, but I can't imagine being less disgusted watching that, than watching the shows we have to pay for on RTE. It's worth emphasising - I would rather watch people eat **** than watch Pat Kenny.

Why the **** is a TV license compulsory?

*I'm always disgusted when fans chant "There's only one Keano" when he's playing. There is only one Keano, and he's retired. When Robbie Keane is playing they should be chanting "There's only one alco'."

**For the love of god George, please learn how to pronouch "debut".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Any chance of a short synopsis of your post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

Im not quite sure what you are getting at. Are you happy with the quality of programming on RTE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭jaycen

Couldn't go the whole way through that but guess it's like RTE too, too much like hard work. I could probably count on one hand the amount of programmes that I watch on RTE in a week, they've lost their audience as far as I'm concerned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It was on UTV you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

45 minutes of pre-match. 45. Even though it's only week 3 of this year's Champion's League I'm full sure that you could spend 45 minutes intelligently analyising the upcoming matchs for the night.

No doubt, I mean it took me 45 minutes to read your post so pre-match analysis should be a doddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

words
    Are you happy now you got all that off your chest? I'm sure RTE will look at this and immediately change their commentary, football pundits and chat shows. Just to please you.
    I didn't see the pre-match so I'm assuming that (Dunphy, Giles, Brady and that jolly ape O'Herlihy?) they
    :eek: Bill O'Herlihy is a legend. Thou shalt not speak of him.
    I've never seen the video for 2 girls/1 cup,
    You should., it's very interesting. And I thought the production was wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mickos

It was on UTV you know.
    I think you can't sky + UTV as its not part of skys package. I could be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

My licence fee is worth it just for Podge and Rodge and Ryan Tubridy and, of course, Lucy Kennedy. Other than that, rte is ****ing awful.

I'm also a big fan of fair city, it is one of the funniest things I have ever seen on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭jaycen

mickos wrote: »
    I think you can't sky + UTV as its not part of skys package. I could be wrong

VCR :p Old skool loike lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

OP = Man United fan.

For the record I dont think the second United goal was offside. The free kick was direct so berbatov was not interfering with play by running past his defender as it was kicked - it would have been a legitimate goal had it gone in.

When the ball was hit back out he was onside as you cant be offside in that situation ( the other team gives you the ball)

oh wait you said that. I didnt read it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

OP, why didn't you just turn the sound down and do your own commentary, you obviously think you can do a better job than RTE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I admire that rant! While lacking in parts the essentials are there and I do agree with what he's saying. I get angry with RTE, it's a crappy station. Switch to UTV or Setanta sports for less annoying commentary. OR, get down to the pub with the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

my beef with tax RTE is the obscence amount of money its pays some of the employees...
    I mean pat Kenny over €900k a year.... I don't care how good he is or isn't this is a publicly funded company.... thats the hard part to swallow when I have to pay my fee's....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I have to agree with everything the OP said except maybe about the second goal. Berbatov was clearly offside for both goals.

Also I pay an obscene amount of money for Sky that includes RTE as its package, so why do I have to pay again for RTE. Can't RTE broker a deal with sky that they get some money from them and we the customer can the RTE package at an additional cost. We'll see how many people actually take up on it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

The piss-poor standard of programming on RTE disgusts me. I was going to say : "I can't believe we have to pay for that ****e.", but of course it's precisly because we are forced to pay for it that we get such ****e programming.

Take last night's match on RTE2. I couldn't watch it live so I recorded it with sky+, which if you can't watch it live, is a brilliant way to watch a match. I was able to start watching from the start while the second half was nearly over, skip the 45 minutes of pre-match commentary, pause when I needed to pee and skip half time entirely. This would have been perfect if I could have recorded off a decent channel I had to listen to the god-awful commentary on RTE. Lets start at the start.....

45 minutes of pre-match. 45. Even though it's only week 3 of this year's Champion's League I'm full sure that you could spend 45 minutes intelligently analyising the upcoming matchs for the night. I didn't see the pre-match so I'm assuming that (Dunphy, Giles, Brady and that jolly ape O'Herlihy?) they spent 25 minutes talking ****e and 20 minutes showing eircom commercials that somehow try to convince us that *Robbie Keane is a role-model. Who do they think is watching? Even if I'm watching a match live, if it kicks off at 7:45, that's when I'll turn on the TV. I don't want to listen to their ****e and thankfully I didn't have to, but I was still stuck with the match commentary of **Georgie and Ray.

Early in the second half Nani's cross went out of play and he claimed a corner. While the replay is being shown, Ray comments : 'I can't say I see anything there.', and finishes his sentence just as the replay shows the ball hiting the Celtic player on the way out. That's world class commentating - the director is showing him a replay and he can't wait to see what actually happens before opening his gob.

Later in the half Ronaldo loses the ball. He's challenged by one Celtic player who catches his leg and is unable to keep possesion. Ray's comment? 'Ronaldo's touch has been poor all night'. I sometimes wondered if he was watching the same game...

The first "controversial" moment of the night was Berbatov's first goal from an offside position. It was offside. The linesman made a howler. Life moves on. United later had a legitimate goal ruled out for offside and even the Celtic manager didn't think it was important in the context of the game.

Their reaction to Berbatov's second goal shows why Georgie and Ray's quality as professional match commentary. Ronaldo struck a free kick while Berbatov was in an offside position which the keeper saved. Berbatov, in this phase of play, now coming from an onside position scores from the rebound. Because of the rule about phases of play, Beratov was onside. I don't think it's a fair rule myself but it is the rule. A rule that Georgie and Ray seemed to be unaware of and kept harping on about "Celtic's injustice" for the rest of the fecking night. The commentary was something like this :

Ray : I don't understand the offside rule.
    Gerorge : Well I clearly don't understand the offside rule because I think Celtic were hard done-by.
    Ray : I really don't understand the offside rule.

Rooney makes an excellent run from an onside position and has a goal ruled out for offside. Do they talk about balance? Parity being restored? Not a chance....
    George : Oh dear. The linesman has got that wrong again.
    Ray : The referee's getting no assistance from his assitant's tonight. I'll refer to Berbatov's second goal again to show how little I undestand the offside rule.
    George : Well I can't even pronounce "debut" so I certantly can't comment intelligently on anything.
    Ray : I'm a former professional footballer, a national sporting hero, a professionaly football journalist and a professional football commentator on national television and I don't...understand...the ****ing offside rule...

I'm paraphrasing but you get the idea. I'll be so happy the next time the government throw another compulsory license price hike incrase at us that we're paying for such a professional and quality service.

I don't watch RTE much but every time I do the "home-grown" programming seems to have hit a new low. I commented before on that god-awful gameshow they used to have (Starstruck or something) about stalking celebrities. The prize for the winner was to meet the celebrity of their choice. In the episode I saw, the winner from the previous week wanted to meet Naomi Campbell. Now, if it was me, I'd get someone from RTE to call her agent and see if they could set up a meeting, overing free publicity for her. But then, I'm not in the TV business. Apparanlty the done thing is to get the license-payer to pay for a RTE camera crew to follow some horny tool around the streets of Paris knocking on doors where she might be. Then when it turns out she's not even in Paris, (and we're talking the word of some random person at a studio door for this) but in LA, get the license-payer to pay for said horny tool and the camera crew to fly to LA. I don't know did he ever acually meet Naomi Campbell because I had to leave, but at least himself and the camera crew got two nice holidays out of it...

The last show I saw on RTE was another take on reality TV, 'cos god knows, they couldn't find a decent scrip writer to save their lives. The goal of this show was to help people change careers by finding out what they're good at, finding out what they want to do, getting professional advice and following up on how they got on late. The episode I got featured some soul-less IT-drone, a professional 'Career Consultant', and some guy who runs a website. It went something like this :

Glorified Recruiment Agency Secretary : So what are you good at?
    Drone : Eh, I don't know really.
    GRAS : Well, what would you like to do?
    Drone : Eh, eh, I don't know really.
    GRAS : I'm really going to need some sort of direction here.
    Drone : Eh, eh, I like films...
    GRAS : Great! Somebody's at home.....Well it's very hard to break into the world of professional reviewing, have you tried blogging?
    Drone : No, but I like watching films. I also spend an obscene amount of money on music CDs. I really am a no-talent wannabe.
    GRAS : I'll set up a meeting with an expert in this area.
    Some Guy Who Runs A Website : Well it's very hard to break into the world of professional reviewing, have you tried blogging?
    Drone : No, but I like watching films.

In the end he stayed in his current job and became just what we need - another ****ing blogger. Quality prgramming.

After that I caught about 30 seconds of the Late Late Show. I've never watched the Late Late Show in my life. I'd love to say it's because of my busy and dynamic social life but tbh, if I'm in on a friday night and there's 852 other channels, odds are there are 851 better things on TV. In the 30 seconds I saw there was some guy doing "Deedle-deedle-eye, dee-eye" on stage. Literally. Like scatting in Jazz but more retarded. There was also two people dancing around with yard brushes. Cutting edge stuff.

I've never seen the video for 2 girls/1 cup, but I can't imagine being less disgusted watching that, than watching the shows we have to pay for on RTE. It's worth emphasising - I would rather watch people eat **** than watch Pat Kenny.

Why the **** is a TV license compulsory?

*I'm always disgusted when fans chant "There's only one Keano" when he's playing. There is only one Keano, and he's retired. When Robbie Keane is playing they should be chanting "There's only one alco'."

**For the love of god George, please learn how to pronouch "debut".

RTE is an irish state TV channel brodcasting British and foeign football rather than concentrating on promoting Irish football. Shame on you for being so obessed with foreign football. Same old rubbish every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ongarite

If you think the RTE build-up, commentary & analysis of the soccer is bad then you have never watched soccer on ITV1 or Sky Sports.
    RTE coverage of many (not all) sports events is excellent for the budget they are given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

ongarite wrote: »
    If you think the RTE build-up, commentary & analysis of the soccer is bad then you have never watched soccer on ITV1 or Sky Sports.
    RTE coverage of many (not all) sports events is excellent for the budget they are given.
    Thats like saying your sexual performance is excellent for the size of your cock. it still doesn't stop you wishing you were better in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

noblestee wrote: »
    Any chance of a short synopsis of your post?

How about a moan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mickos

Gareth37 wrote: »
    RTE is an irish state TV channel brodcasting British and foeign football rather than concentrating on promoting Irish football. Shame on you for being so obessed with foreign football. Same old rubbish every year
    League of Ireland football is rubbish and it's not RTEs fault no one wants to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I think i remeber the Op being from galway, I got a call from the TV liscense inspector there yesterday, wonder did op get a similar visit?

Also his 2 goals were offside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Have to agree with you OP, I'm not a soccer fan but I'd watch the odd game especially if it's a friends team playing but when I heard them say kick off at 19:45 and saw 19:00 on the clock I almost threw something at the tele. 45 minutes of ****talk complete waste of time. And what ****e did they talk about? How great Celtic where 20 years ago because all their players came from a 30 mile radius of Celticland (I don't know fup all about soccer really).

TTV really annoys me too, their turning the youth of this country in dribbling morons. The presenter is a complete tool bag and talks about such trivial muck it's no wonder the youth of this nation is completely useless.

It's terrible at weekends too, I only have the 4 Irish channels and very often you'll have sport on all of them, sometimes even the same sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

ScumLord wrote: »
    I only have the 4 Irish channels and very often you'll have sport on all of them, sometimes even the same sport.

Ditto! OP your complaining about the quality of the sports coverage, my problem is with the quantity, there is a complete disregard for those of us who have no interest in watching football, soccer or hurling, fortunately I have a decent library, but sometimes you switch on the T.V. and you can watch, either GAA, GAA in Irish, soccer or fair ****ty, wtf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 TheEnforcer

I tell you what, if 1000 famalies threatened to throw out the TV and not pay any licence, BIFFO would be round with a 42" plasma.

The masses would revolt if the brainwashing stopped for a few weeks, and anyway if you are not "new Ireland" sexually confused (open to everything?) 20-30 year old, what has RTE got to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

robtri wrote: »
    my beef with tax RTE is the obscence amount of money its pays some of the employees...
    I mean pat Kenny over €900k a year.... I don't care how good he is or isn't this is a publicly funded company.... thats the hard part to swallow when I have to pay my fee's....
    Pat Kenny like all the rest of them get paid in relation to the amount of advertising revenue they bring in. If they make millions for RTE every year then surely they should get their cut? It costs nearly as much to advertise on the late late as it does to advertise during the superbowl.

If you made your company millions every year and got paid €10 an hour would you stay working there or go somewhere where you are paid what you are worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

mickos wrote: »
    I think you can't sky + UTV as its not part of skys package.

I would have preferred to record it off ITV London, but you can't....
    Wagon wrote: »
    OR, get down to the pub with the lads.

Unfortunatly the local shows RTE :(
    Berbatov was clearly offside for both goals.

asdasd also explained why it wasn't offside.
    Can't RTE broker a deal with sky that they get some money from them and we the customer can the RTE package at an additional cost.

Would be nice if it was an option. Working for RTE must be brilliant - if you do well you get lots of money from commercial interests, if you do badly, you get lots of money from the state.

cooperguy wrote: »
    Pat Kenny like all the rest of them get paid in relation to the amount of advertising revenue they bring in. If they make millions for RTE every year then surely they should get their cut? It costs nearly as much to advertise on the late late as it does to advertise during the superbowl.

If you made your company millions every year and got paid €10 an hour would you stay working there or go somewhere where you are paid what you are worth?

In private companies I agree completely with the above, but this is a publically funded company, so NO.... we ahve to fork out a lot of money each year to keep this afloat, why should we when pat kenny and friends get paid millions... if it was TV3 I would say fair play to pat, but it is unacceptable in RTE...

not sure about the price comparison between late late and superbowl... in 2007 30 secs of advert space in the superbowl cost you 2.6million dollars........ while €17,000 gets you 30 secs advertising space in the late late show, toy show......

lets face it, you could have a hairy arsed baboon presenting the late late show and every Culchie in the country would still think it is the greates show ever.

I remember flicking between Jonathan Ross and the Late Late one night. RTE had a couple of God Botherers banging on about prostitution in thailand, Ross had Sly Stallone

robtri wrote:
    In private companies I agree completely with the above, but this is a publically funded company, so NO.... we ahve to fork out a lot of money each year to keep this afloat, why should we when pat kenny and friends get paid millions... if it was TV3 I would say fair play to pat, but it is unacceptable in RTE...not sure about the price comparison between late late and superbowl... in 2007 30 secs of advert space in the superbowl cost you 2.6million dollars........ while €17,000 gets you 30 secs advertising space in the late late show, toy show......
    Thats the point though! Its only partially publically funded. And his salary reflects the amount of funding he pulls in from private sources. Im not sure on the superbowl comparison to be honest Iv forgotten where I heard that so I could be wrong. But going by your figures that one night show pretty much covered his salary for both his radio and TV show for the year so the point still stands.
    lets face it, you could have a hairy arsed baboon presenting the late late show and every Culchie in the country would still think it is the greates show ever.

I remember flicking between Jonathan Ross and the Late Late one night. RTE had a couple of God Botherers banging on about prostitution in thailand, Ross had Sly Stallone

And Fratton Fred he also has a radio show that is very popular. So saying you could have anybody in the seat pulling in the same numbers isnt the case.

Just for the record im not a big fan of Pat Kenny myself but im sick of the constant complaining about RTE/Licence Fee most of it with very little substance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

You got a point there.
    But.... i dont see why i should pay €160 a year for RTE and still get the same insane amount of commercials thrown at me.
    In Holland we pay a kind of a license fee as well. The equivalent of RTE in Holland also gets money for advertising but the rule is they only send out commercial between programmes, not during.
    They are still broadcasting similar **** as here RTE does but at least it is uninterrupted ****.

inforfun wrote: »
    You got a point there.
    But.... i dont see why i should pay €160 a year for RTE and still get the same insane amount of commercials thrown at me.
    In Holland we pay a kind of a license fee as well. The equivalent of RTE in Holland also gets money for advertising but the rule is they only send out commercial between programmes, not during.
    They are still broadcasting similar **** as here RTE does but at least it is uninterrupted ****.

to be honest, the commercials are some of the best things on RTE

Just for the record im not a big fan of Pat Kenny myself but im sick of the constant complaining about RTE/Licence Fee most of it with very little substance

RTE is on 24x7, can you give me the names of 6 decent programmes that RTE makes?

The Late Late show and Tubridy are both popular, so we can take those two, add Podge and Rodge my favourite then what is there?

Its jobs for the boys, the same recycled crap that is produced to keep the same mediocre presenters in a job.

inforfun wrote: »
    You got a point there.
    I should probably stop defending RTE so much but somebody has to be devils advocate! In fairness RTE ads arent too bad. Compare the ad break length to that of TV3 or Sky or any actual fully comercial station. RTE is much shorter so I can put up with it.

Anybody that tries to compare the ads on RTE funded by 4million people to the no ads on the BBC which is funded by 60million people and the BBC commercial wing which partially owns stations like Dave etc. deserves a punch in the face for not being in touch with reality by the way. That bit of the comment isnt directed at you inforfun but somebody always jumps in with that stupid comparison in these discussions.
    RTE is on 24x7, can you give me the names of 6 decent programmes that RTE makes?
    Some of there one off documentaries or short documentary series are pretty good. Stuff like Fair City I think is Shit but they get huge audiences so they are liked and they are a public service broadcaster and have to service all tastes not just your own. If I thought about it Id be able to come up with 6. But I should probably go back to work! Maybe later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

. In the 30 seconds I saw there was some guy doing "Deedle-deedle-eye, dee-eye" on stage. Literally. Like scatting in Jazz but more retarded. There was also two people dancing around with yard brushes. Cutting edge stuff..

I only happened to see that 30 secs also. the chap was a lad called "duke Special". I felt as bad after it as I did the last time I had a duke special from my local chinese on sheriff st.

Thats the point though! Its only partially publically funded. And his salary reflects the amount of funding he pulls in from private sources. Im not sure on the superbowl comparison to be honest Iv forgotten where I heard that so I could be wrong. But going by your figures that one night show pretty much covered his salary for both his radio and TV show for the year so the point still stands.

And Fratton Fred he also has a radio show that is very popular. So saying you could have anybody in the seat pulling in the same numbers isnt the case.

no the point doesn't stand.... The Late Late Show irrelevant of who's hosting it would still pull in advertising dollars, so Pat Kenny would only be responsible for a very small amout of increased revenue...
    Also in relation to Mr Kenny, sorry hate to be keep using him but all other big earners are same, the shows on telly and the radio are not just down to the presenters at all, not even close, all the reaserchers, script writers etc, do all the work and they just present... so yes I believe I am right in complaining at this waste of taxpayers money....TV3 survive without taxpayers money, Ch.6 are still going with out taxpayers money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Well doesn't the license fee also go to fund the radio stations and the orchestra and other areas of RTE that aren't on TV?

I'm sure the orchestra isn't profitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

watching soccer lol, thats where you went wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Johnny Drama

My main problem is the same overpaid faces we've had to look at for 20+ years: Kenny, Dunphy, Giles, O' Herily, etc, etc. And the netopisim. Give us some new blood, FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

It's ****, we don't watch it and don't want to pay for it. How much more do you need?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I dont really care for sports so I dont know much about the commentary stuff but I do agree that RTE is a pile of ****. They're shows are just plain awful.
    In the last 6 or 7 years I can olnly think of 2 origonal shows that I likes. The David O Doherty one was brilliant cos he is a legend and the first and half of the second series of Podge and Rodge were good but now even that is ruined by their insistance of bringing on these stupid reailty TV show 'stars' that they dont even insult anymore. Its really gone to the shitter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I cant beleive a three page rant about how crap RTE are hasnt mentioned Gerry ****in Ryan once!
    FIVE series of Ryan Confidential with him slobbering and drooling his way through piss-poor interviews with d-list celebrities.
    This programme,by itself is enough to make me walk into montrose with a waistcoat full of dynamite!
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

My licence fee is worth it just for Podge and Rodge and Ryan Tubridy and, of course, Lucy Kennedy. Other than that, rte is ****ing awful.

I'm also a big fan of fair city, it is one of the funniest things I have ever seen on TV.

the licence fee would be worth it if you could download every show from the day before on rte.ie

The Late Late show and Tubridy are both popular, so we can take those two, add Podge and Rodge my favourite then what is there?

Its jobs for the boys, the same recycled crap that is produced to keep the same mediocre presenters in a job.

the only thing i watch on rte is crimeline, and thats only if i happen apon it while flicking through the channels

Degsy wrote: »
    I cant beleive a three page rant about how crap RTE are hasnt mentioned Gerry ****in Ryan once!
    FIVE series of Ryan Confidential with him slobbering and drooling his way through piss-poor interviews with d-list celebrities.
    This programme,by itself is enough to make me walk into montrose with a waistcoat full of dynamite!
    :mad:

his radio show is good, and he's a better charactor than any other rte personality

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

his radio show is good, and he's a better charactor than any other rte personality

No it isnt.
    No he isnt.
    He's a smug,pretentious,condescending,egocentric,pathetic,psuedo-intellectual tub of lard.
    The only people who listen to his radio show are fat owl ones who sit at home all day drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

are fat owl ones who sit at home all day drinking.

like YORE MA.

not a sexual insult I know. Hangs head in shame.