Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Axe!

• 20-10-2008 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Ok so I've got around two grand to spend on a new axe, but I just don't know what to get! At first I was getting a gibson les paul custom, but now I have cold feet. The reason being because I don't know when I'll have this much to chunk out on a decent guitar again! I have since been thinkin about second hand PRS, some high end ESP's and Music Man. The list goes on..! The strange thing is I don't even have any GAS for anything at the mo! SO has anyone seen anything nice lately...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Keep the money until you know what you want.

When you know what you want, buy two guitars for a grand each instead of one guitar for two. You don't need to compromise on quality, just get over "big" brand names and buy a guitar on its merits instead of a headstock logo, there's a huge amount of options and great guitars out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭munkydanny

Well thats just it you see. Hence why I have cold feet. Don't get me wrong, the LP Custom is a beaut but I just feel wrong shelling out 2 grand for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Theres a fair difference between a PRS, Musicman, ESP etc.

So it sounds like you don't really know what you want. You should wait until you absolutely 100% have your eye on something, don't just go and spend 1000+ just for the sake of it. Maybe narrow down exactly what you want from a guitar - trem, pickups, body-shape, weight, etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Theres a fair difference between a PRS, Musicman, ESP etc.

So it sounds like you don't really know what you want. You should wait until you absolutely 100% have your eye on something, don't just go and spend 1000+ just for the sake of it. Maybe narrow down exactly what you want from a guitar - trem, pickups, body-shape, weight, etc.

Dont spend it just for the sake. If your investing that much money into a guitar I would recomend a trip to Music Store in germany for a day or two and play everything and see what suits ya. Thats what I would do. Alot of money so I would be very picky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Sorry to be an echo, but absolutely hold onto that money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

2 grand is a lot of money to spend these days on a guitar.
    You could get a great top quality guitar for around a €1000 now anyway.
    Second hand PRS Customs for about €1300, Music Man JP for €1100 etc.

Check out this that didn't go.....
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=190258970650&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=009
    So have a think first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Absolutely keep your money for now and try out everything you can get your hands on. Les Pauls are a seductive guitar. I was playing a left hand studio LP and I fell in love. I didn't have near enough spare cash for myself. I almost went and sold a kidney on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

Try out as many models as you can mate.dont go rushing out to buy a LP custom as there over priced and not of the best quailty these days.

2 grand is a lot of money to spend these days on a guitar.
    You could get a great top quality guitar for around a €1000 now anyway.
    Second hand PRS Customs for about €1300, Music Man JP for €1100 etc.

Check out this that didn't go.....
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=190258970650&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=009
    So have a think first.

Thats some pretty solid advice right there. I just can't see me getting over to Germany any time soon!

The thing of it is, I love the look, feel and sound of the customs and I'm dead set on it, but my mind just doesn't justify 2 grand for a second hand guitar. I was thinkin about a PRS because they're supposed to encompas the best bits of a LP without the weight. But that said I've never played one and I've only seen them as more expensive than a LP so I don't know.

With regard the ESP and Music Man, sometime down the line I will want a guitar with a floating trem. I used to own a KH-2 which was great, but I hated the fact that Kirk Hammetts name was on MY guitar, ya know? So I considered leaving the LP for now and just getting a guitar with a Floyd.

I know what i want and I'm open to changing my mind for the right deal so I just wanted to know if anyone seen anything great lately they would recommend as an alternative!

You need to play lots of guitars and find out what you actually want. If you've never played a PRS and you believe they're supposed to be this and that then you really need to play one before you spend money on one, seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭BuddhaJoe

munkydanny wrote: »
    So I considered leaving the LP for now and just getting a guitar with a Floyd.

The two don't have to be exclusive!

IMG_7023.jpg

The Les Paul Axcess. Cost you more then 2k though :(

http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/78104

Haha, seen that before alright. I'm a renaissance man myself, but that just looks.. alien?

Never said I was buying a PRS, said I'd consider it against the LP IF I got the chance to try one out. I think though I'd just stick to the LP, PRS look beautiful but I just want a big dirty guitar. With subtle undertones of class. Like a tuxedo T-shirt.

That's the thing, you need to try some guitars before you rule anything in or out. There are a lot of guitars for that money and, unlike the Gibson, some of them are actually worth it :pac:

Doctor J wrote: »
    That's the thing, you need to try some guitars before you rule anything in or out. There are a lot of guitars for that money and, unlike the Gibson, some of them are actually worth it :pac:

Major burn on the auld Gibson there folks. Don't like LP's? I've tried a lotta guitars in my time and the LP comes up trumps I have to say. I would consider going for something like a Jem with an ebony board or maybe on of those ESP Edwards RR models, all very nice, all great feeling and sounding..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

I love the Les Paul. Mines a single piece mahogany slab with a beautiful flamed maple cap in Voilin burst with an ebony fretboard. Not too heavy, great hardware and not made by Gibson. Came in around the €1000 mark too. ;) Tokai LS200.

285492330ec457642195f62d7e494ee831402e6.jpg

Well now, that does sound inviting..

This is what I'm talking about! Other recommendations please sir! :D

munkydanny wrote: »
    Other recommendations please sir! :D

Thought I might get this one in before the rest of the lads.

Bacchus:

img1_17841.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Theres one of those on the u-box for the last couple of days. Havent checked the price or run the translation, so it could be terrible :pac: but something for the resident Bacchus fans to have a look at.

If your anywhere near corkcity then you can try out my BFR John Petrucci signature.i sold my LP recently and havent looked back since!

Colinboy wrote: »
    If your anywhere near corkcity then you can try out my BFR John Petrucci signature.i sold my LP recently and havent looked back since!

That's a hell of an offer right there. Would be well worth checking out, I've never played a finer guitar than a BFR. ;)

BFR ya say? No finer instrument ya say? I like the look of that seven string for sale btw Hungus, I have the same in six string form! Never was much a seven stringer though.

I'm in Dublin so I won't get a chance, but I really appreciate the offer! Bacchus? That looks stunning..! How are they? I don't know of any stockists in Dublin so I may have to rely on harmony central user review on that one.

Every day I think about it, 2 G's just seems worse and worse..! There can't just be Gibson!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

A few heads in here with Bacchusessssess. If ya ask nicely they might let ya play around with one :pac:

2K, ya jammy jammy bastid :p

Could be a plan alright!

You don't realize how big the decision is when your saving, but when you actually get the cash together its like "Woahh, horsie! This is a slab of mahogany at the end of the day here..! Gibson can't be better than everything!"

It's just the Prada of guitars really, innit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

No Bacchus stockists in Ireland and I wouldn't bother too much with HC reviews. All sorts of muppets that spend money and don't admit that what they have bought is rubbish so they give great reviews.

I have yet to meet someone who has played or held a Bacchus with something bad to say about them. I know a Japanese seller whoc rates Bacchus as the best made guitars on the market worlwide. This is in regards to the hand made Bacchus but search on ebay for some prime examples and if going Tokai then go no lower than the LS150 model. There are also Edwards to consider. I have no experience with these but some on here have. The other option is a second hand Gibson! Great deals to be had now from the US and your 2k would get you a fairly high end model.

Check out musicman guitars my friend.i was a LP man too originally until i sold it recently and bought a john petrucci signature BFR musicman.these are some of the best guitars on the market and are well finished and setup perfectly to play when you buy.

Theres a few different models with different choices of colours/pick guards and most importantly pickups.

Use the search function on this very forum.

Colinboy wrote: »
    Check out musicman guitars my friend.i was a LP man too originally until i sold it recently and bought a john petrucci signature BFR musicman.these are some of the best guitars on the market and are well finished and setup perfectly to play when you buy.

Theres a few different models with different choices of colours/pick guards and most importantly pickups.

Actually those Petrucci BFR's look mighty nice. I think that's.. wait, maybe.. yes. Yes I definitely have GAS for the 7 string in a nice trans black or light purple flamed top. Hmm. Now I must choose between that and a LP Custom ebony. A guy I found is selling one for 1700 so it's not actually too bad.. but now thanks to Colinboy and Hungus I'm stuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boycey

2k to spend Danny- niiice!!
    I've no doubt those Ernie Balls are fabulous guitars, but being a Bacchus owner (a Duke Standard) I'll give them a big thumbs up too;).
    High end build quality without the high end price tag. They rock!!
    As always though, try as many different guitars as you can before you make any decisions, then try them all again!! It'll probably be a long long time before you have that kind of money to lash out on a guitar again.
    I'd be keeping a good eye on adverts.ie too- you'd walk away with a nice PRS and an SG or Firebird for your 2k right now.

Darn tootin. I think I've made my decision though. I'll post some teaser pics up here when she arrives...!

Just be thankful yer man didn't accept your offer on that LP Custom:pac: