Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what music do you listen to when cycling?

• 20-10-2008 1:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭

yes, i know you shouldnt have your mp3 player on when cycling, but just curious as to what people do listen to if they do have one plugged into their ears while biking around. in the past i just used to listen to the news, then was listening to michel thomas when i was seeing a spanish and then an italian woman, but of late all i ever listened to was minimal techno, i'm going through something of a born-again phase with it at the moment, despite being way too old for that sort of thing... liking electronic music is a lot of hard work (late nights, festivals, dancing, yokes, early houses, etc)

What music do you listen to when cycling? 97 votes

Talk radio/news
    0% 0 votes
    Pop/chart music
    11% 11 votes
    Rap/hip-hop/R+B
    5% 5 votes
    Indie/alternative
    7% 7 votes
    Punk/metal
    16% 16 votes
    Classical/Opera
    21% 21 votes
    Traditional Irish
    4% 4 votes
    Dance/Electronic
    3% 3 votes
    Inuit throat singing
    27% 27 votes
    Royston Brady sings all-time classic easy listening favourites
    3% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

A lot of electronic music myself although anything upbeat so a fair bit of pop in there too. I also have done Michel Thomas (Spanish) although TBH I found it a bit difficult to concentrate on that while cycling, so generally the more mindless the better. Kraftwerk's Tour de France is of course a staple to dig into when encouragement is required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

i only listen to techno/minimal/house so twas the obvious choice for me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Depends on where I'm cycling.... in the Alps, it was all hard rock/metal cos it helps to get the blood flowing and keep the legs turning. In the mornings, it'd be news/ podcasts or something more chilled out, like jazz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

My music of choice would be rock or metal while cycling on my own. I went up Alpes D'huez with System of a Down in my ears ... that made it go much much faster ... I also listen to Matt Cooper when I can if I have to commute, but not while training. As for Innuit Music ... I used to listen to Innuit Black Metal back when I lived in Canada ... :pac: Oh wait no .. that was Barenaked Ladies ... keep getting them mixed up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

The music of knobbly tyres on mountain trails and the wind through pine trees.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I like to listen to my rivals' cries of pain as they struggle to stay on my wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

el tonto wrote: »
    I like to listen to my rivals' cries of pain as they struggle to stay on my wheel.

So you ride in silence then pretty much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

flickerx wrote: »
    yes, i know you shouldnt have your mp3 player on when cycling, but just curious as to what people do listen to if they do have one plugged into their ears while biking around. in the past i just used to listen to the news, then was listening to michel thomas when i was seeing a spanish and then an italian woman, but of late all i ever listened to was minimal techno, i'm going through something of a born-again phase with it at the moment, despite being way too old for that sort of thing... liking electronic music is a lot of hard work (late nights, festivals, dancing, yokes, early houses, etc)

Have actually given up cyclining listening to music to ensure that I have all my wits about me. Although when I did cycle with music it tended to be something like greenday's "Holiday" etc. Or when cycling through Dublin city centre -"The Battle" from the Gladiator soundtrack. Kind of makes you want a sword or a mace or something like that to swing at cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

blorg wrote: »
    Kraftwerk's Tour de France is of course a staple to dig into when encouragement is required.

It was the highlight of their September show in Dublin for me, accompanied by TDF footage of yore. Inner bike geek and inner music geek both very satisifed.

I rarely listen to music while cycling now, but I often listen to something in particular before long spins, and Kraftwerk are great for that. Also like some Rage Against The Machine for urban cycling.

The thing about electronic music is that 120bpm is a very good cadence rhythm to have in your head.

Dissapointed to see that noone has yet voted for Royston, and that the joys of inuit throat singing remains an untapped source of velo-inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I tend to sing/hum rather than listen. This is especially true on difficult climbs, when I need to distract myself.
    Recently I have been humming Dead by the Pixies, Liberty Ship by The La's, and True Colours by Cindi Lauper. But mostly Pixies humming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Little bit of everything really. It's nice to have something to break up the monotony of traffic and spur you on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Nothing - I like to be able to use all my senses when on a bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Mostly 180bpm+ jungle/breakcore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

wow. pleasantly surprised at the prevalence of ravers here.
    but that electronic music category could obviously be subdivided a hundred times (and i was tempted to extend the poll options to include as many of them as possible - "clowncore" anyone? - but tried to keep it broad)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

the reports are accurate. jungle is indeed massive. alternatively i like a bit of metal -the kind of metal you can dance to preferably.

for less strenuous sessions i'm a big podcast listener. god bless the bbc. i don't listen to anything while in heavy traffic though.

i keep meaning to put a perfect 1 hour playlist together. it could eventually help me achieve my long term goal of a sub hour 40k (keep dreaming tom).

ancillary question for bonus credit: favourite cycling track? one that really makes you drop a gear and up the pace etc. etc.

i always seem to respond to pendulum for some reason... if i was a huge black heavy weight boxer it would be my entrance music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

niceonetom wrote: »
    it could eventually help me achieve my long term goal of a sub hour 40k (keep dreaming tom).

There's a plan for the coming weekends if ever I've heard one.
    Got a route in mind?

And just to keep it on topic, I once had "The Killers - Indie Rock & Roll" in my head for 4 hours solid on a recent ride. Very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Speaking of the killers, I have added "All these things that I've done" to my top cycling songs ever since that nike ad.

niceonetom wrote: »
    ancillary question for bonus credit: favourite cycling track? one that really makes you drop a gear and up the pace etc. etc.

this changes but whatever i'm most getting a buzz from at a specific time, its good to hear when you're out on the bike. at the moment i'm totally engrossed with a track from a ricardo villalobos mix, i think its by petre inspirescu. i must have listened to it about a hundred times yesterday. its a bit more subtle than '97 speed garage tracks (which i have a weakness for) but still fires me up.
    edit: here's the link. the first seven minutes or so. actually from 3:30 to 6:30 where all that disjointed melody is time slided all over the place... christ.

(sigh) at least another two weeks before i can cycle again... i really shouldnt be talking about it so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Car drivers tend to avoid me when I play 'Barbie Girl' by Aqua very loudly.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

How about an option for none?

Victor wrote: »
    How about an option for none?
    Now now Victor, we already had a thread on this earlier this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

Don't usually listen to anything on the bike but when I do it's usually podcasts or tech-house :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Techno-trance for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

For me it's usually stuff i wouldn't listen to off the bike.

I challenge anyone to cycle sub-80kph listening to this racket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

The Who! Baba O'reilly is particularly good as i try to reach the top of the hill before the intro ends, then burst over the summit as the track explodes, can't beat it. And Queen too which is great for cycling motivation.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

vektarman wrote: »
    Car drivers tend to avoid me when I play 'Barbie Girl' by Aqua very loudly.:)
    you must be too dam' ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

It's not often I do but when I do I like G'N'R

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Aquinas73 wrote: »
    It's not often I do but when I do I like G'N'R
    There's a great video of fixies in NYC to the tune of Welcome to the Jungle, that hits the spot. Also Bloc party's Skeleton.
    Personally, the commuting soundtrack is Markovich/A.M.P.'s Insane - but that's just me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

For me it's now just snippets of whatever the cagers are listening to as I fly by their bubbles :D

When I used bother bringing MP3 it'd be an eclectic mix - punk, metal, rock, folk-rock, even some trad! Usually plenty of metallica, gnr, tool, pixies, frames,placebo, eels, grandaddy,DMB,system of a down etc. I'll be listening on the trainer though for sure - loud and heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

Oh, and this...

kmick wrote: »
    Nothing - I like to be able to use all my senses when on a bike.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57439845&postcount=38

SetOverSet wrote: »
    Oh, and this...
    Thanks, I had never actually seen the lead up to that before.

noblestee wrote: »
    For me it's usually stuff i wouldn't listen to off the bike.

I challenge anyone to cycle sub-80kph listening to this racket!
    836041.jpg
    My hat goes off to you, this has massively helped my climbing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Poor Beloki - horrific injury...:( and he never really recovered.

he's my latest mix for a website i contribute to and for an upcoming gig if anyone's interested - http://electronicireland.com/web/?p=157

right click the "download" button and click "save target as" or which is equivalent for whichever browser u use

its 128 - 131BPM

am downloading it now. i think i seen you play at electric city a couple of times. will let you know what i think of it. is it done with dex+mixer or constructed on a laptop (and if so, what did you use for it?)

hey, yeah i was once upon a time a resident at EC. Sad times now it has come to and end! Yeah i used a DJM 800, 2 x Technics 1210's and a soundbite XL sampler to trigger/record loops.

Did you visit the beloved EC much in its 5 1/2yrs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

trad or rock. Anything I like except the slow quiet stuff which would be too quiet for the road. I don't think there's anything wrong with listening as long as it isn't so loud that you are made unaware of your surroundings. Most drivers listen to the radio with their windows closed after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

unionman wrote: »

I rarely listen to music while cycling now, but I often listen to something in particular before long spins, and Kraftwerk are great for that. Also like some Rage Against The Machine for urban cycling.

Trans-Wicklow Express

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Bambaata wrote: »
    hey, yeah i was once upon a time a resident at EC. Sad times now it has come to and end! Yeah i used a DJM 800, 2 x Technics 1210's and a soundbite XL sampler to trigger/record loops.

Jaysus - EC was around 5 1/2 years??! Man - i'm feeling old.

Yup twas indeed. Mad to think i've spent 1/5th my life going to the place. Seems like yesterday i went to my first (about Sept 2003) and got the chance to play first

Although the main body of EC is finished theres a few things still in store thank God

Bambaata wrote: »

(sigh) I miss my decks+vinyl... have you ever used any software to make a mix solely from mp3's, e.g. ableton or anything like that? i was thinking of having a go of it, just for something to keep me occupied while i'm recovering. it'd be nice to have my own mixes made up for when i go back on the bike.

i was at EC a good bit, because i didnt work every second friday. simon would know my face enough to give me "the nod" on the way in, but i wouldnt have called myself a regular. i went more when it was on in the metropolitan and traffic.
    i hate wax, that was enough to put me off going to EC - no cloakroom, always queues for the jacks which fashionista girls felt they could skip (i always made sure they didnt if i was in the line, it doesnt make you popular with the girls, but it sure as hell made me popular with my bladder) and a cramped dancefloor awkwardly placed right next to the bar and the entrance. blech.

your mix is a bit more bangin then i'd prefer at the moment... but i like some of the tracks, is there any way you could put the times for each track cued up in the mix on the webpage?

Yeah Wax isn't a great spot. Its fine when its not rammed but it cant cope with 150+ people. I think everyone's fondest memories are from the Metropolitan.

Abelton is probably the best known of those tools. I have ableton here myself as ive been meaning to get into production for ages now. I just dont have the patience yet for it!! Missing many opportunities but sure im enjoying what i have from it. I use Serato to play my tracks. Duno if you know much about it? You basically use control vinyl or cds to play tracks from a laptop/PC on normal decks or cd players etc. I just enjoy the hands on approach so never went the ableton route but many friends have and love it because it opens up many avenues to remix tracks on the fly with multiple layers of loops etc. Theres also Traktor Scratch. they have a PC/Laptop version as well as a version like Serato

I'll get a track time tomorrow for you. Gotta hit the sack now.

Here's the set split out with the time as the first part:

00:00 - 01: Itamar Sagi - Later On [Klap Klap]
    03:31 - 02: Paul Brtschitsch - Sneep [Rootknox]
    07:05 - 03: Marc Antona - Give me Flowers [Mobilee]
    09:43 - 04: Itamar Sagi - A Creamery [Klap Klap]
    11:43 - 05: 1st Class - Beatport (Brendon Moeller aka Beat Pharmacy Deep House Mix) [DJ Friendly Records]
    15:40 - 06: Substance - Relish (Shed Remix) [Scion Versions]
    18:06 - 07: Sensorama - Harz [Ladomat 2000]
    20:55 - 08: Themroc - Dash Shopper [Freude Am Tanzen]
    24:16 - 09: Van Rivers - Spaces I [Stockholm LTD]
    29:52 - 10: Paul Kalkbrenner - Torted [Bpitch Control]
    30:54 - 11: Emmanuel - Lipflap [Be As One Imprint]
    34:09 - 12: Par Grindvik - Continue In My Words (Dettman | Klock Remix) [Spectral Sound]
    36:53 - 13: Shed - Another Wedged Chicken [Ostgut Tonträger]
    40:55 - 14: Pitamidi - Freakwood [11hz Recordings]
    44:09 - 15: T-Quest - [upiter] (Sterac Remix) [Music Man Records]
    46:35 - 16: Shed -Well Done (030-edit) [Soloaction Records]
    50:45 - 17: Djinxx - Black [F... U! FCOM]
    55:59 - 18: Plastikman - Helikopter [NovaMute]
    58:10 - 19: John Thomas - Working Night [Logistic Records]

Its hard to define exact time cos i have samples going for ages after the track is actually finished and some went across the full lengths of tracks and into the track after that but that's the time where i can get that i was using more of the next track if you get me! Enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Girl Talk's Feed The Animals album and Night Ripper. Both fantastic, covering many genres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭steinone

The Mash SF soundtrack is a favorite of mine, gets the legs moving;P