Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Excited about the recession?

• 19-10-2008 6:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭

This will certainly make the older boardsies throw up their hands in despair, but is anyone feeling a twinge of guilty excitement about the current downturn? I'm only 22 and I have spent all my conscious life in booming Ireland. For some reason the prospect of change, of no economic growth is fascinating. Anyone else feeling like this? Or am I just an idiot who has another thing coming to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I reckon you and Roddy Doyle are the only ones excited by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Húrin wrote: »
    This will certainly make the older boardsies throw up their hands in despair, but is anyone feeling a twinge of guilty excitement about the current downturn? I'm only 22 and I have spent all my conscious life in booming Ireland. For some reason the prospect of change, of no economic growth is fascinating. Anyone else feeling like this? Or am I just an idiot who has another thing coming to him?

Oh great - another recession thread.:rolleyes:

I think it's a great thing. People acted like d1cks during the boom and got themselves into a financial mess. They deserve the debt.

I feel sorry for people who are in negative equity with their houses and people who have lost their jobs etc.

But these gobsh1tes that must wear Christian Leboutin shoes but can't afford f*ckin bus fare deserve everything they get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I feel the same way I guess....

Not that I wish for Ireland to be in recession, I'd much prefer if it wasn't. But it's an interesting time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

How would one go about dressing up as the recession for Halloween, apart from donning a Brian Cowen outfit...

Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Anything that makes this country actually think seriously about how it spends it's money has to be a good thing. Plus it'll be nice to see an affordable house again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Anything that makes this country actually think seriously about how it spends it's money has to be a good thing. Plus it'll be nice to see an affordable house again

i think its ironic how we've gone from being able to get mortgages for ridiculously over-priced houses, to not being able to get a mortgage for a more affordable one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Archimedes wrote: »
    How would one go about dressing up as the recession for Halloween, apart from donning a Brian Cowen outfit...

Genuine question.

Go with no money? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

I'm not particularly excited about possibly losing my job and there
    being feck all advertised but there are good things as well.

A few months on the dole for a bit of a rest and living in a hopefully less
    materialistic society would be nice. I'd like to think the government will
    learn to be more prudent in their spending andd people will stop being
    a$$hholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Genuine question.

Go as a 50c piece or a dole cheque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Houses being affordable, and FF getting the holy sh!t kicked out of them..thats it really.

Although if the government collapse, it could be exciting I just want a job, and money, and a roof over my head. A bed would be a great bonus too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

it will be just like the good old days. more bangers on the road as people can't get a loan for a new car.

old stuff that still works will be worth money again as people can't afford to buy the latest and greatest stuff from a big English chain store anymore.

Dubs who have been paying to rid every little inconvenience from their life will have to do stuff like changing lightbulbs themselves again. Before they would pay someone to do everything for them

repairing old mobile phones and iPods will be worth doing again before people would just chuck them in the bin and buy new if there was only a small thing wrong with them.

they won't be building any more of those ugly housing estates that were ruining the countryside and the people who built those yokes would rather knock them down than sell them at a loss so hopefully a load of them will get knocked down

A bed would be a great bonus too

i have a spare one here...

towel401 wrote: »
    would it not have made more sense to say you had room in your bed for her?? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

taidghbaby wrote: »
    would it not have made more sense to say you had room in your bed for her?? :rolleyes:

No that runs the risk of being taken as mysogynistic and offensive and could lead to a massive feedback thread...

I'll bring the car and some rope around....

Explaining it to the police would be a laugh
    ah but he mightn't

If i go around saying things like that i'll get thrown in jail or at least my account sitebanned for stalking. people are so ****ing paranoid..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Your an idiot who has a thing coming for him, not because your excited, because this is the recession you ****ing idiot.

ah but he mightn't

in that case i do
    If i go around saying things like that i'll get thrown in jail or at least my account sitebanned for stalking. people are so ****ing paranoid..

^^^^ thats how us real stalkers men roll

in that case i do

^^^^ thats how us real stalkers men roll

lol....aren't you so kind?

yes, i might even offer ya a cow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

a load of arse tbh.

If all the papers ran with a big front page saying House prices on the up, people would go out and start spending again...scaremongering if ye ask me...

besides, was at Kildare village today...couldn't find a parking space for the life of me!

aaahhh....People living beyond their means...now THAT amuses me...

yes, i might even offer ya a cow!

a cow?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

only1stevo wrote: »
    Your an idiot who has a thing coming for him, not because your excited, because this is the recession you ****ing idiot.
    Banned.

a cow?
    yep, a cow!

Banned.
    Forgot you were a mod here. I so don't pay attention...or have a memory
    yep, a cow!
    Interesting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Not just you.

Most of the 'serious' media is loving it.

It seems that the more jobs they can tell you have been lost, the happier they are. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Mark200 wrote: »
    Go with no money? :D

Thanks for my costume.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

/throws hands up in despair :rolleyes:

Having left school in the 80s and being one of the fortunate ones who managed to find a job and wasn't forced to emigrate, unlike roughly half of those I left school with, I find your attitude somewhat distasteful. Yes, a lot of people have been living beyond their means and a sharp dose of reality may be good for the country, but I can't say I'm excited or fascinated by it. There will be hardship, and I'm not talking about those who can no longer go on 6 holidays a year or buy a new iPod because they no longer like the colour of their old one. All we can hope for is that it's a shorter recession than the last one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Thanks for my costume.

Feck that go as a Quinnsworth Yellow Pack Can of Beans. Or Maurice whatshisname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Genuine question.

Get a nasty cheap suit and pull out the pockets leaving them hanging out empty and go to the party and when anyone asks what you came as? - say a Wall Street Broker!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭coco85

/throws hands up in despair :rolleyes:

I find your attitude somewhat distasteful.... There will be hardship, and I'm not talking about those who can no longer go on 6 holidays a year or buy a new iPod because they no longer like the colour of their old one. All we can hope for is that it's a shorter recession than the last one.

Agreed.... your post just illustrates your immaturity. How can you possibly be excited about the prospect of thousands of people losing their jobs, self employed peoples businesses going to the ground, families not being able to pay their mortgages etc.

These are real problems everyone you and i know face. A bit more consideration for people who this recession is actually effecting would be greatly appreciated... this recession is not just hitting those who overspent during the 'good times' but also those who worked hard and lived within their means during the good days.

Enjoy reading about the countrys miserable situation in the newspapers... sad people like you obviously get 'excited' reading doom and gloom articles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

RonMexico wrote: »
    Feck that go as a Quinnsworth Yellow Pack Can of Beans. Or Maurice whatshisname.
    His name is quiet aptly 'Maurice Pratt'

Get a nasty cheap suit and pull out the pockets leaving them hanging out empty and go to the party and when anyone asks what you came as? - say a Wall Street Broker!:D

also bailer twine in your shoes instead of laces