Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supermarket Security in Overdrive.

• 18-10-2008 11:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

Maybe it has been discussed somewhere on boards before, if it has please direct me there.
    What I'd like to discuss is an issue with a supermarket chain (probably best not to name them) This supermarket chain place visable security tags on certain items, items like condoms, durex vibrator gadgets, alcohol and 4 stone bags of potatoes, these security tags have to be removed by a staff member at the tills.
    Who the fck is going to stick a 4 stone bag of potatoes in their pocket and try to leave without paying.
    Your thoughts please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Is the heat coming on?

What did you steal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Their security tag scanner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

You can buy spuds in ann summers now:confused:

Who am i to judge:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

2 stroke wrote: »
    Who the fck is going to stick a 4 stone bag of potatoes in their pocket and try to leave without paying.
    Your thoughts please.

The first person that sees a bag with no security tag on it.

Tbh, I rarely shop there any more. I had to visit today though, to pick up some mesages for an elderly relative. I don't like being treated as a potential thief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I don't like being treated as a potential thief.

Well that's a ****ing pity then, because you are.

The first person that sees a bag with no security tag on it.
    Its a pity the thanks function doesn't work in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I remember seeing a guy i knew was dodgey walking out of a supermarket with a microwave. I thought he had just bought one.

Turns out the tag wasn't fixed properly and he walked out without paying for the microwave.

Tbh, I rarely shop there any more. I had to visit today though, to pick up some mesages for an elderly relative. I don't like being treated as a potential thief.

Your nan sent you to the shop for lube and jimmy hats?? That's a bit mad......and then you tried to rob a security tag but left it because it was stuck to a bag of spuds?? This is going down hill really ****ing fast......did you get arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Anything that can be stolen will be stolen.
    Otherwise, a lot of people put the bag on the bottom part of the shopping trolley - checkout staff cannot see it, security cannot know if the customer paid for it.

It does, maybe you had your thanks function removed.

Its a pity the thanks function doesn't work in here.

O.k. I thought it didnt work. 'Tis while since I've been here.

It does, maybe you had your thanks function removed.

It probably didn't have a security tag.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Your thoughts please.

If you put the 4 stone bag off spuds in a "faraday cage" the scanner portals wouldn't pick them up and you could walk straight out with them :D :pac::pac::pac:

You can buy spuds in ann summers now:confused:

Who am i to judge:)
    Do ann summers sell alcohol?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If we learned anything from the famine it's to put security tags on potatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Was it a bit of a kip the area/ supermarket you were shopping in??

Were the customers dressed in their pyjamas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Were there bars on the windows? Always a dead giveaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

and vicky pollard look a likes serving behind the tills...

Hi Quality. Been a while since i've seen you. Hope you have your bag packed.

Quality wrote: »
    Was it a bit of a kip the area/ supermarket you were shopping in??

Were the customers dressed in their pyjamas?
    I'm talking about real potatoes not chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Perhaps they're worried about people sticking vibrators in the potatoes?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

:) I walked into a shop and set off all the alarms once! :eek: no one even looked up :rolleyes: I could have walked out with the till under my arm :cool:

Your thoughts please.

A bored jobsworth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

This supermarket chain place visable security tags on certain items, items like condoms, durex vibrator gadgets,
    With a nick like yours I guess herself would be more in need of the latter than the former!!:pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Actually the reason they're on the spuds is because they're quite simple to rob.

Most people put the spuds in on top of the bars over the trolley castors to save space on the trolley while doing the shopping. Usually the checkout person never thinks to look there (or the person buying them never puts them on the conveyor) so they just walked out with them. Used to see it happen the whole time when I worked in Dunnes.

I actually prefer that the likes of condoms and that are in those protective glass cases in Tescos, means no little scobe with nothing better to do might have tampered with them.

Plus from a theft point of view lube/condoms etc are quite small and quite expensive so would be easy and a definate target to steal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Shop elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

OP I don't know why you have a problem with this. The fact of the matter is there are people in life who thieve. You can't always tell who the thief is. I've been working nearly 7 years for a chain of shops in the city centre and I've always been amazed by the types who come in and try to walk out without paying for something.

I've seen normal looking mammies come in with their prams and use it as a place to hide the goods.
    I've seen lots of 'scumbag's come in and blatantly try and walk off with stuff.
    I've seen very well dressed businessmen, suits and briefcase come in and steal.

While you may be an upstanding sort of bloke why should businesses leave themselves open to thieving just because it offends you? After all, the more that's stolen, you have to pay for it in the end anyway via extra security scanners, security guards etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Maybe it has been discussed somewhere on boards before, if it has please direct me there.
    What I'd like to discuss is an issue with a supermarket chain (probably best not to name them) This supermarket chain place visable security tags on certain items, items like condoms, durex vibrator gadgets, alcohol and 4 stone bags of potatoes, these security tags have to be removed by a staff member at the tills.
    Your thoughts please.

You're dumb

What the OP is referring to are E_Tags or RFID in the trade They operate at a frequency of 13.56 MHZ and will eventually overtake the UPC code. The only thing holding them back is the cost which is why you will not see them on many articles under €10 in value.

They offer heaps of advantages over the UPC, ie you can stocktake a whole shop in a fraction of the time. You can scan several items at once, IE a complete shopping trolley without even removing anything from the trolley. They have a less chance of error, unlike barcodes that can "stretch" They can also be concealed.

They make are an excellent shoplifting deterrant however shop lifters are getting smart and placing items in a bags or pockets made from RFID shielding material and can walk straight past the portals with out setting off alarms.

Disadvantages are privacy concerns. most of the new generation E_tags will not switch off and can transmit your purchasing habits where you go. Already there are advertising companies that are taking advantage of this and are advertising products on digital screens picked up from sensors of iwhen a person is walks past.

A few advertisements from IBM premoting this technology for supermarkets.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eob532iEpqk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDyqhcy1L-0&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

If you put the 4 stone bag off spuds in a "faraday cage" the scanner portals wouldn't pick them up and you could walk straight out with them :D :pac::pac::pac:

or ye could just cut the tag off? its just a hessian/plastic bag after all :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I rob sweets from tescos

not really

Wossack wrote: »
    or ye could just cut the tag off? its just a hessian/plastic bag after all :o
    You could do that now but the next generation tags are so tiny that could be in the spuds. :eek: Chips in the chips :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You could do that now but the next generation tags are so tiny that could be in the spuds. :eek: Chips in the chips :D

Sweet jesus, do you ever give up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

You can already get ones that small {NSFW}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Run to da hills, the conspiracy theory forum is this way --> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=576

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

I worked in the fruit and veg in Tesco, I had to put stickers on the spuds that said "security tagged" on them but of course they really werent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

exiot wrote: »
    I worked in the fruit and veg in Tesco, I had to put stickers on the spuds that said "security tagged" on them but of course they really werent

lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 fumpidge

Stephen wrote: »
    Run to da hills, the conspiracy theory forum is this way --> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=576
    RTTH is correct, I have worked in stock taking. e-tagging is the way forward and they are getting smaller, more powerful with more in the industry adapting to them. http://centreforcompetitiveness.wordpress.com/2007/08/14/radio-frequency-identification-rfid/

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

fumpidge wrote: »
    RTTH is correct, I have worked in stock taking. e-tagging is the way forward and they are getting smaller and more powerful.

But more importantly cheaper.

You should consider taking up work experience with Tesco in their stock taking department . :rolleyes:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/4211591.stm (BTW this article is almost 4 years old)
    BOFH_139 wrote: »
    You can already get ones that small {NSFW}
    Thats the "Verichip" developed by Digital Angel, they are dated by about 10 years. The Baja Beach Club in Barcelona has been using them for four years as for membership access for their VIP lounge.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/3697940.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I'm not denying that the technology exists, I'm saying that you're always banging on about this, ANPR and other similar things. Perhaps you should take it to the conspiracy theory forum where people actually give a 5hit about it.

Doesn't Mark and Spensers already use them on some of their products?

Might be in the UK but i remember hearing about people complaining when they found out that the tag doesn't switch off after it leaves the store. Though the same people happily hand over their tesco clubcard each visit and don't realise how much data is mined from them.

I'm not denying that the technology exists, I'm saying that you're always banging on about this, ANPR and other similar things. Perhaps you should take it to the conspiracy theory forum where people actually give a 5hit about it.
    The topic of this thread is "Supermarket Security in overdrive" which is about the OP's concern about e_taggging a 4 stone sack of potatoes. What are you doing here if you have an issue about this subject being discussed.? :rolleyes: You should also learn to destinguish the difference between conspiracy and fact. What is being discussed on this thread is fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Ah, the loyalty card conspiracy theorist, I wondered when one would show up. They don't need a loyalty card to track what you're buying, they can do that anyway. The points are tracked by the card number anyway (in the old style clubcards, Boots clubcard seems fairly sophisticated..)

Supermarkets get absolutely fleeced, I work in a Dunnes that has one, if you're not planning on robbing them, why complain?

Ah, the loyalty card conspiracy theorist, I wondered when one would show up.

Its not a conspiracy. Its well know in retail that supermarkets data mine this to see trends among their age groups.

Same as the mobile industry. When you registor a phone for credit they want to see your age group and sex. Then they can use that information with your choices of their products to see trends.

Its not a conspiracy. Its well know in retail that supermarkets data mine this to see trends among their age groups.

Same as the mobile industry. When you registor a phone for credit they want to see your age group and sex. Then they can use that information with your choices of their products to see trends.
    They also want to bombard you with 3rd party spam & cr*p once they get hold of your email address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

they carefully monitor what stuff you buy. and then they send you advertising for the kind of products you have never bought

who ever thought of it is a pure ****ing genius. and it means that loyalty cards are basically a waste of time unless you do all your shoppings elsewhere and stock up on loads and loads of tinned food at the shop you have the loyalty card with and hope they start sending you discounts for stuff you usually buy in the other shop

I hadn't thought of the possibility of a customer "accidently" walking out with a bag of potatoes. However I recon more than 90% of people are honest, the rest won't be stopped from stealing using security tags. I discussed this subject to a few friends today, one told the story of a little old lady hauled into the office suspected of not paying for an item. When her reciept was compared to her purchasses it turned out she had been short changed by the till operator.