Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right fella, wrong country.

• 18-10-2008 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Just want a bit of advice on what people would do in this situation: i`ve been travelling for the past 7 months and spent some time in a large city over here and met a local guy who i REALLY, REALLY, REALLY like. He`s kind, interesting, creative, HILARIOUS, intelligent, handsome, no b**** about him, no games, open, mature but doesn`t take himself too seriously, a great listener and a great talker...blah blah blah, ye get the picture...at the moment, he`s perfection in my eyes and he`s the first person in years that i`ve really, really clicked with. No awkward silences, great conversation even if we are talking in pigeon Spanglish...

..BUT i am travelling, this is the point of me being here and i have to leave this place to go on and see the rest of the continent. I`ve only got about 4 months left, the money is vanishing quickly and i`ve another 3 countries to see. I told him i`d see him next year when i return to this city but i really won`t have much time to spend with him before i fly home to Ireland. This is a pain in the backside, frankly. It`s always been the plan to visit ALL of South America and the next 3 countries are going to be the higlight of the trip, scenary and culture wise BUT this means leaving this fella and this is someone i could honestly see myself with down the line. I know when i leave this city, i`m just going to miss him, probably spoiling the rest of my travels to some degree. I`m in another country for 2 weeks at the moment and already i miss him.

We`ve both had our hearts completely smashed to pieces in the past, mine more recently, which has made us both much more cautious. I definitely wasn`t looking for a relationship and was enjoying the single life, i`m very independent, travelling alone and the same goes for himself...but we have this real connection. We both said from the start that it was just a bit of fun and realistically nothing could ever come of it but we`ve had conversations about how we can`t believe we met eachother now of all times and how bleedin` inconvenient it is that we`re from different countries.There`s no denying that we like eachother alot, regardless of how inconvenient it is. He tells me he hasn`t met anyone he really likes since breaking up with his ex 2 years ago `till he met me and so i want to know, what would everyone else do if they might have perhaps met their "soulmate" in a country thousands of miles from their own?

I`m a romantic but i`m also a realist...i`m here to see South America, not to meet the man of my dreams but i am going to miss him alot when i leave and i won`t get much time with him when i fly out of here nex year. It`s not everyday you meet someone who blows you out of the water like this but should i say, feck it, plenty more fish or should i try and make something happen? If i was to stay, what would i do? My Spanish is not good enough yet to get a job or make local friends...i`d be here just for him (although i do love this particular city). As i said, i`m very independent and would need my own life besides from him, of course.....oh what should i do? I`ve nothing keeping me in Ireland and i am willing to follow my heart and take a gamble if i knew it would work out. Money is an issue too. Very confused. I really like this guy...do i sound crazy? ARGH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Dwn Wth Vwls

Can you speed up your trip? Spend a little less time in each place, and get back to him faster so that you have more time to spend with him. That might be the best compromise, because if you didn't finish seeing South America you'd probably regret it at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭gaybitch

Could he travel with you?

If not: Could you go home after the four months (which will fly by as you visit the next few countries) and do a TEFL course, and then go back to the city you're in now to see him? If it works out then, then it works out but you still wouldn't have messed up your plans to travel. You'd have a source of income with the teaching, and you'd get to see him again. If there's nothing holding you in Ireland, why not take an extended holiday to South America next year and see how it goes with him?

Despite the connection, doesn't seem like you know him well enough to drop all your travels to be with him. You can always keep in contact via email, skype and msn anyway... then give it a proper go next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭ciano6

If it is of any consolation to you, the first time that I was in South America, my friend met a local girl in Buenos Aires on the first night of a six month trip. They met up later in the trip and are now happily married and living in England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭the glass woman

Don't cut short your travel plans. At the moment things are wonderful with him because you are on holidays, and its not 'real life' as such. Go ahead with the rest of your plans or you may never have that opportunity again. And if this guy really is 'the one', and if you really do have a connection, then you'll have no problem picking things up when you see him next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

So you're from Ireland and he's from South America?
    Unless one of you decides to move countries permanently its not gonna work out!
    That saying a lot of people have managed to keep up long distance relationships and managed end up getting and living happily married.
    But one of you will have to move. Either you move over to live with him. Or he moved over to live with you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yep, all the advice i kind of knew anyway but just needed people to give me a bit of a kick up the backside and tell me what they'd do. Gonna head off and see de rest of the continent and come back next year and see what de craic. Thanks guys!