Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondeo tdci

• 17-10-2008 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭

Having had a focus tdci for the last few years, I am thinking of changing to a Mondeo. Must say I have been very happy with the focus and now have 130 k on it. I was pleaantly surprised that the dealers were still keen to give me a decent price for my car which is clean and well serviced.
    Any views on the Mondeo and which one is best, their seems to be a premium on the zetec model and for the few extras involved, it does not seem to be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Really depends on what year Mondeo TDCi you are looking at. Ford played around with the engines and specs there for a while.

My understanding:

Post 2004 Mondeo LX had the old TDDi engine (non common rail technology) with only about 100bhp. Very rough and loud engine that was also very sluggish. I think this engine was replaced in early 2006 by the TDCi (common rail technology) which was detuned to 100bhp afaik. Much more refined than the old unit but still slugish for a 2.0 litre. The LX trim is also very basic too. I would avoid to be honest and unless space is a must have I would opt for a MkII Focus TDCi instead of a Mondeo LX.

Mondeo Zetec TDCi came with 115bhp afaik, from late 2004 it had a 6 speed gear box. A 130bhp version of this engine was made but I think Ireland only got it in the Ghia or Executive models. Of course the weapon of choice would be the Mondeo ST TDCi with 2.2 litre and 170bhp.

Best value in these is over in the UK where they had the option of the 130bhp TDCi across the range. These Mondeos are dirt cheap in the UK at this stage and great value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

What Mondeo is the OP interested in?

Is it a new one(Mk 4), a used version of the present one, or the previous model(Mk 3)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Gypo

If you're talking about a MK3, overall they are known as a solid choice of car and not without reason...

bazz26 had a pretty comprehensive post above on the various engines, specs etc.

A few little corrections, the LX TDdi was in fact 90bhp but has 180 lb-ft or torque. So no ball of fire by any means but the torque did make drivable on Irish roads. This engine is also probably one of the most relaible engines of modern times! The 115 TDdi is alot faster and more enjoyable to drive but did suffer from fuel pump problems.

The TDCi did quieten things down abit but its still quite loud, but more importantly it did help improve the engines manners, smoother, more linear power delivery and the 115 is also noticeably better on diesel that the 115 TDdi. The 2.2 is 155bhp and noticeably more torquey than the 2.0 - fine engine!

The TDCi engines in general did however have their problems in the beginning with injectors and a few other bits. Try and buy as late a one you can afford and you'll be fine.

The 6 speed gearbox I wouldn't be too worried about getting as it's too long geared for most Irish roads imo. 70Mph = 18000 Rpm and thus it will be harder on diesel unless you do alot of motorway driving at 60+ Mph.

The main spec difference between the LX and Zetec when the MK3 was introduced was alloys, electric mirrors / rear windows, leather steering wheel / gear knob and a metallic center console. There are however alot of English spec Mondeos on Irish roads, these will be slightly better specced overall.

Some things to look out for apart from the problems mentioned are, dual mass fly wheels ( a rattling sound at idle not unlike a clutch release bearing), bushings etc (It's on Irish roads :D), rust on the bottom inside of doors. I can't remember anything else right know. A google will surely throw up some more.

I'd say defo go for it, a 04 or newer 115 or 130 5 speed with Zetec or better trim would be my choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Thanks for the valuable info lads, the car I am looking at is the lx tdci 115 2.0bhp and is an 05. It is a one owner car and has around 60k on it. It has been dealer serviced. I did look at the Zetec but they appear to be asking me for a premium of around 2k , for cruise control, electric mirrors and a bit more stylish dash, seems a bit much.
    I would like to buy a top spec with leather etc, but there does not seem to be many available in Irish forecourts.

The two you are looking at sound like UK spec Mondeos as afaik the LX was never offered here with 115bhp in 2005. Also cruise control wasn't available on the Zetec until at least 2006, again to my best knowledge. Strangely leather heated seats were standard on our Ghia model here but optional on UK models. 05 Irish cars should have the speedo in kph too.

Here is a Ghia TDCi for reasonable money but I'd be very interested to hear the story about why the engine needed replacing after only 24k miles. :eek:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Ford/Mondeo/TDCI-Ghia/1195814/

A cheap Zetec too:
    http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Ford/Mondeo/2.0-TDCI/890497/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Firstly, kudos to Bazz and Gypo (the guy with 1 p!) for the informative posts.
    I think they nailed all aspects of the mondeo between them.

From an owners perspective, I have an 05 zetec tdci with 130bhp, which was a uk car originally. Before I bought this, I had test-driven the 115bhp model, and by accident came across my current car. The 130 hp model is worth the extra, imo. Overtaking is a very rapid and safe affair, I regularly get 52-53 mpg, and in 40k miles of ownership so far, the car has not missed a beat.
    The 130bhp one has a 6 speed gearbox as standard, the highest one makes for relaxed economical driving on motorways.
    The only gripe I have with it is a very sharp clutch, but you'll get used to it in a few days. The first few days I had mine, I stalled it regularly.

These posts have given me plenty of food for thought, thanks to the two Gypo's !! for your experiences. Bazz you turned up two nice ghias , not sure if either has leather seats. The second one, black seems good value and as I am trading I will contact him and see if he will trade,first one is private and will probably not want a trade in.
    Have often sold privately in the past , as I do keep my cars well, however it may be difficult to sell with high mileage in the present climate. Will keep you informed.

Even though the second hand market is pretty dead at the moment if you are not under pressure and have time on your side I would try and sell the Focus privately. There is always a market for cheap diesel cars, along as it is priced realistically and well looked after then I think it will sell. Nothing ventured, nothing gained as they say.

This will open up alot more avenues to you buying the Mondeo, as a cash constomer you will be in a more powerful position to haggle hard and it will also open up the option of going to the UK for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Hi

some good information in the above posts there.

I have an 03 tdci zetec which i have had for six months now. I did have an 02 LS TDi which I wrote off and i defo prefer the TDCi zetec. the xtra bit of power is very evident. I agree with gyppo too, the clutch is very sharp and grabby and takes a few days to get on with. no problems with the injectors yet but i will be keeping my eye on it. good torque too if you do any towing.

I would have the zetec over the LX, i paid a bit more myself over an Lx and while the differences are only minor i think i am glad that i went for the zetec

Rang the seller of the black car advertised on carzone, but to date have got voicemail on three numbers and no call back. Have however decided to buy the highter spec model whether here or in uk and perhaps will advertise my own car for sale.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dave st

theres a mondeo st for sale on carzone its 2006 and they wud take a focus as a trade in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I have just bought one on ebay in the UK. Am going to collect it on saturday.

2l TDCI LX 2002 with 40000 miles. Service history, and few extras. Sterling has dropped so my offer of 2900 stg is about 3500 euro. VRT and ferry brings it up to just over 5 grand euro.

Look at this.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320317448803&ssPageName=ADME:X:BOCOR:GB:1123#ebayphotohosting

Any comment or observations are welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭oddone

2l TDCI LX 2002 with 40000 miles. Service history, and few extras. Sterling has dropped so my offer of 2900 stg is about 3500 euro. VRT and ferry brings it up to just over 5 grand euro.

Look at this.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320317448803&ssPageName=ADME:X:BOCOR:GB:1123#ebayphotohosting

Looks a smasher.
    I am on the lookout for a Mondeo also but a few years newer perhaps.

Will you get to inspect it in person or get a test drive
    before you purchase?

Sorry I don't have much experience of ebay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Yes you can inspect it. If I find its not as he claims then I get a bus and he gets a black eye. Ebay dont have a problem IF it has been misrepresented. It LOOKS very straight, the seller has 100% feedback, a history of selling cars and bikes and seems to have been forthcoming about imperfections. I requested and he supplied close up photos of imperfections so I am happy it will be ok.

The problem with bringing in cars is the VRT. Mine, a 2002, will cost 1600 euro. If you get a 2004/5/6, then you will really get shafted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭aquascrotum

I've an 04 TDCi 130bhp LX (though for some reason with part Zetec trim, part Zetec S trim) with the 6-speed box, UK model.
    The 130bhp one has a 6 speed gearbox as standard

Not true - a mate had 2 Zetec S 130's with a 5spd box. There are a lot of 130's out there, the majority of which have the 5spd box. The 6th gear is an additional ratio - 1-5 are effectively the same as the standard 5spd box.

I'd definitely disagree with the poster who said the 6th ratio wasn't of much use on Irish roads - with the torque on tap you can quite comfortably drive in top at anything from 50mph/80kph and she'll pull away all the way through. Overtakingwise, I find the ratios well spread so that at any speed over 40mph your in a powerband in 4th or 5th, tbh it's a joy to pull away in 4th from about 1900rpm and she'll almost redline before you have time to change up.

I get 55mpg easily on mine, mixed commute of motorway driving and m50 crawl. If you manage to drive her canny (I've experimented a few times) you can get 65mpg out of it - thats over 700miles to a tank. I'd definitely recommend one....I'm selling mine for anyone who's interested!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Look at this.

It could just be the picture but the wing and bonnet seem a different shad of silver, and that panel gap looks a bit off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

Have a mondeo lx TDDI 2001, and i must say, the finest beast ive ever had!

It have 125k miles on her now and although i suppose a bit on the truck sounding side, i love it:D

52 mpg avg and its never given any trouble. Friend of mine threw a litre or 2 of petrol into it going back 6 months ago - she just spat it out (well, the mechanic did, but all was cool!)

If its a heavy, reliable car, with great mpg and a boot you could fit several dead bodies into, search our a good condition 2001 - 2004 mondeo!

hi there wot kind of mondeo u after? i know of a 2006 st for sale and a 2003 executive model both cars have a lot of spec

hi wot kind of mondeo are u after?i know of 2 a 2006 mondeo st and a 2003 mondeo executive both rare and nice cars

Yes you can inspect it. If I find its not as he claims then I get a bus and he gets a black eye. Ebay dont have a problem IF it has been misrepresented. It LOOKS very straight, the seller has 100% feedback, a history of selling cars and bikes and seems to have been forthcoming about imperfections. I requested and he supplied close up photos of imperfections so I am happy it will be ok.

The problem with bringing in cars is the VRT. Mine, a 2002, will cost 1600 euro. If you get a 2004/5/6, then you will really get shafted.

1600 sound decent.

Thanks for the reply.

Well I've looked into it and going by the rev commisioners site
    you could find an '06 reg like so:

http://users.autoexposure.co.uk/thornburycarcentre/search.cfm?Mode=0&Account=AETA72577&Make=FORD&Model=MONDEO&submit=Search

which equates to roughly 7500 euro + €5111 (estimated VRT from rev commisoners website) = 12611

as compared to:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Mondeo/TDCI-GHI/200843190609907/advert

for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I recently acquired an '02 Zetec 115bhp, think it's 'TDDI' (not too sure about the different engine spec tbh). So far so good :D

Lovely yoke to drive.

oddone wrote: »
    1600 sound decent.

Thanks for the reply.

Well I've looked into it and going by the rev commisioners site
    you could find an '06 reg like so:

http://users.autoexposure.co.uk/thornburycarcentre/search.cfm?Mode=0&Account=AETA72577&Make=FORD&Model=MONDEO&submit=Search

which equates to roughly 7500 euro + €5111 (estimated VRT from rev commisoners website) = 12611

as compared to:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Mondeo/TDCI-GHI/200843190609907/advert

for example.

Some good choices here too:
    http://www.autoquake.com/cars/make-ford/model-mondeo

bazz26 wrote: »

Great cheers.

Are they reliable / trustworthy?

I'm very wary of these car supermarket types.

Would appreciate if anyone can share some first hand experience
    of Autoquake.