Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I.C.E Contacts Numbers. Can we do the same for Organ Donors.

• 17-10-2008 4:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭

Are all Emergency Service Personell aware of the I.C.E. idea?

I only became aware of it a Community Alert meeting last year and never heard of it before. It's a simple idea but a good one.

Not everyone carries a wallet or purse. Even fewer carry i.d.

Everyone carries a mobile (except Nog on duty!)

You put the phone number and/or address of a person to contact in case of emergency. List their details under ICE on your mobile contacts so ambulance, fire or gardai know who to contact if you're in bother by simply looking under ICE. This can be used to establish cases of medical allergies, diabetes, next of kin etc.

So simple, even a Guard could do it!

This leads me to another idea.
    I notice there has been a new drive to promote Organ Donor Cards. I believe there is also talk of changing the protocol so it's presumed a person is a donor unless they carry a card to state otherwise.

Does anyone know if a similar idea to the ICE idea exists for Organ Donors? (If not copyright, Deadwood inc.)

Do e.s. personnel check phones for ICE numbers or are you even aware of the idea?

Maybe An Garda Siochana could take a proactive role in this area by having a box to tick on PULSE to show a person is a donor.
    This could be done on Age Cards, Passports, Firearm certs, PSV applications, motor tax renewals etc.

*The poll above was a last minute thing. I forgot to put an option:
    "Yes I'm aware of it and have checked a mobile for an ICE number"
    Maybe users could post their experiences. Thanks.

Ever heard of the ICE System? 17 votes

Yes, but never checked for it.
    0%
    No.
    70%
    onewebEruTheNogTarakiwaJay112erookerry4samdeadwoodWallflower1980donvito99deiseffColinwhite 12 votes
    No, but will promote it from now on.
    5%
    i-digress 1 vote
    Deadwood, you're a genius with your donor ideas, I hope you get rich as a result.
    5%
    Satan Polaroid 1 vote
    Yes I'm aware of it and have checked a mobile for an ICE number
    17%
    metmaneroodeadwood 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I was told about I.C.E when doing a mountain skills and nav course recently. Very important seeing as if you are out with a group who don't know you or your friends, family etc, and you have an accident. At least they can then check your mobile and find an emergency contact number. Great idea imo, should be promoted more and I'd hope ES personnel know of it.

Only ONE little problem. 52 year old Sgt. Jeremiah O' Shaughnessy Sheehy based in Ballybollock comes across someone unconcious on Main St(the only street). Calls ambulance. They arrive. He is asked to see if the the person has I.C.E on their phone.

Problem: He can't unlock it, and when he does he accidentally access's the phones settings and somehow changes the language setting. Cue him giving up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

eroo wrote: »
    Problem: He can't unlock it, and when he does he accidentally access's the phones settings and somehow changes the language setting. Cue him giving up! :D
    Good point eroo, well spotted you young technophile, you!
    I would hope someone who didn't know where or how to look on a phone for names would seek instruction from the nearest 12 year old.

deadwood wrote: »
    Good point eroo, well spotted you young technophile, you!
    I would hope someone who didn't know where or how to look on a phone for names would seek instruction from the nearest 12 year old.

Yes, because 12 year olds hang around pubs at throwing out time and have an uncanny ability to be around whenever there is an emergency!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

No.
    deadwood wrote: »
    *The poll above was a last minute thing. I forgot to put an option:
    "Yes I'm aware of it and have checked a mobile for an ICE number"

fixed that for ye
    Yes, because 12 year olds hang around pubs at throwing out time and have an uncanny ability to be around whenever there is an emergency!:pac:

they do around where I work!!!!

it is a great idea and should be promoted widely even on the new upcoming Garda epsiodes in November

Never had the need to do it but I already have it in mine, kids and g/f phones. Folks are also aware of it my station too.

Maybe they should look at promoting it early on in the Garda College?

Why not every college and school.
    I know the credit unions had a poster campaign but i've never seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭wreckless

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055289014&highlight=ICE

how do we go about getting all the mergency services to bring this up in their meetings? I can ask at station level and email the chief, maybe they raise at the Chief Fire Officer Association or something. As for Ambulance services and Gardai, im not sure. Maybe we should contact the ministers for defense and Environment?

Hi wreckless,
    I'm sure it'd be fairly easy to circulate the idea within the Gardai. One HQ circular would take care of that. (An internal email would be seen as witchcraft.)

I know the Credit Union sponsored poster campaign reached some schools and stations.

Credit to you for raising this issue months ago - I missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

No.
    You know this is a great idea that not a lot of people do actually know about ... I just bought a new mobile and it has a separate section in the contacts section for 'teams' where I.C.E. is perfect for ... I never leave the mobile off my possession, even when jogging the mobile is in it's pouch in my hands ... and in fairness, this new mobile just needs to be slid open to unlock and has an image of a telephone on it that just needs to be pressed to access the numbers ( and they say these new phones are hard to understand :rolleyes: ) ...

as i said, great idea, and even an article typed up and sent into local newspapers outlining the idea would be no harm either

kerry4sam wrote: »
    as i said, great idea, and even an article typed up and sent into local newspapers outlining the idea would be no harm either
    Good idea.

Why not just get the Gardai who do Road Safety talks in schools to make I.C.E. part of their talk?

I do this. In fairness, they are pretty aware of it in my area.

They love it when a young hip man like meslf does a bit of txtspk, to show how down with the kids I am, innit.:cool:

I emailed the Irish Kidney Association today and received this prompt and helpful reply. As you will see, adding a Donors consent to an I.C.E. contact is not as straightforward as I would have thought.

I hope Colin doesn't mind me posting his email here, but it might be helpful. If nothing else, to promote the carrying of donor cards to posters here.

I have edited it slightly to save space.

Deadwood (inserted by me),

Thank you very much for your communication this afternoon regarding the above topic. It is always heartening to come into contact with people who have given the whole area of organ donation some thought. I am already familiar with the concept of I.C.E and I have it set up on both my mobiles as I think that it is a simple yet fantastically practical idea. You raise an interesting idea when connecting it to Organ
    Donation.

As you are aware, we have an opt-in system in Ireland whereby people actively choose organ donation and approval for organ retrieval is sought from the next of kin.
    This is where the Donor Card comes into play. The card in itself is not a legal document. It is more a
    commitment on the part of the holder. The key is getting your card signed by your next of kin. The need to obtain their signature is the stimulus to get the holder to discuss their wishes with their next of kin. Should you become a potential donor, with your next of kin aware
    of your wishes, it makes their decision whether to consent to organ donation much easier. They are not left trying to second-guess what you would have wanted to happen. In a time of great distress, it gives them
    a sense of comfort knowing for sure that they are carrying out your wishes.

I would be interested to hear how you suggest someone's wish to be an organ donor can be recorded in their mobile phone. My initial reaction is that it would be impossible to verify that an entry in the phone was
    made by the owner. I would have thought that the surgeons in a hospital are not going to retrieve organs on the basis of something inputted in a mobile phone. In countries where they have opt out or presumed consent in their legislation, normal practice is still to ask the next of kin for consent.

As a bit of an aside, in looking at presumed consent, Spain is often taken as the example to prove that it is the way to go as they have it in their legislation. The reality is that Spain actually has higher rates of refusal than Ireland. The reason that they have such good
    rates of organ donation and transplantation is more to do with the clinical practice that they have adopted in their hospitals - donor co-ordinators in every hospital to manage all potential donors and their next of kin for example. The so called 'Spanish Model' is being
    examined and adopted by many countries around the world, the UK being one of them this year. The 'guru' in Spain is a Rafael Matesanz and he has been quoted on many occasions stating clearly that a change in
    legislation will not improve the situation in a country in relation to rates of organ donation. He insists that it is a change in clinical practice that is necessary.

As it stands at present in Ireland, deceased donor organs are only retrieved from people who are declared brain stem dead. In practical terms, this means that they need to be in an ICU on a life support
    machine. Their brain is declared dead but the machine can keep the blood flowing around the body and thus maintain the organs so that they are suitable for retrieval. That said, there is quite a small window of
    opportunity, time-wise, for retrieving organs. The heart and lungs have the shortest period of viability.

As I said, you have clearly given organ donation some thought and I would very much appreciate hearing your thoughts and suggestions in more detail. Also, if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. I am not medically qualified and if I cannot get you an answer, I would certainly try to point you in the right direction.

Enjoy the Bank Holiday Weekend.

Regards,

Colin.

Colin White

National Transplant & Dialysis Games Manager

Chairman - European Transplant & Dialysis Games, Dublin 2010.
    To get a DONOR CARD: Free text the word DONOR to 50050
    Irish Kidney Association
    Donor House
    Block 43A
    Park West
    Dublin 12
    Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Deadwood, you're a genius with your donor ideas, I hope you get rich as a result.
    I am an organ donor and always carry the card in my wallet.

Never heard of the ICE thing though, but will promote it from now on.

Good work Deadwood!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭inspector71

good idea,
    just put an ICE in my phone, hopefully i'l never need it and it was a waste of time though...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭deiseff

No.
    ICE is a great idea in the majority. The only small problem is i have a lock on my phone to stop unwanted people using my phone and so does my crew and must of the lads i know. You'll need a password to get access to the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

No.
    deiseff wrote: »
    ICE is a great idea in the majority. The only small problem is i have a lock on my phone to stop unwanted people using my phone and so does my crew and must of the lads i know. You'll need a password to get access to the phone.

This also means if you lose it the finder / Gardai wont be able to get it back to you.

No.
    This also means if you lose it the finder / Gardai wont be able to get it back to you.

And certain people cant see what i dont want them to see. A phone can easly be replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

No.
    deiseff wrote: »
    And certain people cant see what i dont want them to see. A phone can easly be replaced.

I have no desire to see your 'private' pictures ;)

No.
    I have no desire to see your 'private' pictures ;)

Ah ya sure, you are a garda after all. It could be your promotion!!