Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This €200 parking levy..

• 16-10-2008 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭

It's interesting.

I've read that the levy will be placed on the the employee rather than the parking space..however I know of many Garda Stations and Fire Stations that cannot even accomodate one shift; nevermind the full take that the 9-5 officer/civilian rush brings!

How is the Minister going to justifiably charge each Garda/Fireman for those spaces that have no guarantee of getting a space?

Anglesea St in Cork is literally stuffed with cars where no one can actually get out without having four or five other cars moved. Waterford Garda Station is much the same and Henry St station is an absolute joke! I take it that it's the same case in much of Dublin?

I can imagine many civilian staff as well as Garda and Fire Brigade members demanding that they have access to an -actual- guaranteed parking space prior to paying such a levy.

Opinions??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

I think they're going down the road of having parking spaces for allocated employees.That is to say an employee has a space reserved in their name for their sole use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Paulzx

They have absolutely no idea how they are going to enforce this. I listened to the Minister for Lunacy Environment Mr. Gormley on the radio yesterday and he had no info whatsoever on this. All he could say was that it had to be worked out yet.

It is completely unenforceable. If i declare i'm not bringing my car to work anymore who the hell is going to police whether i will or won't. I was quite willing to take all the other pickpocket measure introduced iin the budget but this one has made my blood boil. Yet again the motorist hammered. Those tree hugging spanners in the Green's have contibuted nothing positive to this country since gaining power. Fianna Fail won't be getting a vote off me again purely on their association with the Green Slimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Waterford Garda Station is much the same and Henry St station is an absolute joke! I take it that it's the same case in much of Dublin?

?

I think it does not apply to Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Traumadoc wrote: »
    I think it does not apply to Waterford.
    Wasn't the wording nice and vague to include "urban" workplaces? Maybe you're a Dub, traumadoc, but there are some big towns just beyond Naas there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Based in the SouthEast , but a Dub all the same. Would you feel left out if it only applied to the big smoke?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/budget-2009/news/tds-to-pay-8364200-parking-charge-1499633.html

We'll be working on the detail which will then be included in the Finance Bill," a Revenue spokesperson said. "But there's no question of civil servants not paying."

The €200 tax will hit workers whose employers provide parking in the urban areas of Galway, Limerick, Cork and Dublin and will come into force on January 1, 2009.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

I'd love to see them try implement this in the depot, can you imagine the chaos and bedlam that would ensue as everyone starts parking outside it instead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I'm surprised Waterford is exempted on that list; considering it's amongst AGS' exemptions for members to be allocated regardless of where they hail from!

Doesn't that independent report state the OPW has a 'list' of civil/public service parking that's going to be hit?

Garda HQ is mentioned, as is Cork City Hall which is directly beside Anglesea St - Miju hit the nail on the head. Plenty of lads will be parking in the front of the stations and possibly vistor's yards!

..And let's not get started on the use of a bicycle..

apart from that how do they prove you have a parking spot? OK i know theres a mill cameras about the place but im sure you all get my point.

I've technically a reserved space that I get even after I arrive from the morning parking scramble :) but it aint in my name so how do they say I'm parking there or in any of the other unreserved spots for that matter?

miju wrote: »
    I'd love to see them try implement this in the depot, can you imagine the chaos and bedlam that would ensue as everyone starts parking outside it instead :)
    Imagine what the square would look like!
    BN17531_8~Bicycles-Parked-Next-to-Central-Railway-Station-Malmo-Skane-Sweden-Posters.jpg

nah there'd have to be some bikes parked across the other bikes so they are blocked in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

The details are as yet too be decided, emergency services will be or should be exempt as we MUST be able to get into work quick and at unsociable hours where public transport simple isnt an option.

Besides ultimately arent they just taking money from one pocket and putting it into another?

Now that I think about it. That 50 mile cycle to work would be a refreshing way to recover from those quick changeovers..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Dublin as the Bejing of the west just doesn't sound right. " There are nine million bicycles in Ballymun" hasn't got a ring to it

Note to self. Do not rant about Greens. Do not rant about Greens. Do not rant about Greens. Nope. Just can't do it. Gob****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭opti76

has anyone applied for permission from the super to park outside or in the confines of the station???

were supposed to as it covers your car in case of damage from station furniture.. ie slates from the roof etc... i dont have permission to park outside the station so therefore a space isnt provided for me ..

no 200 yo yos from this boy

opti76 wrote: »
    has anyone applied for permission from the super to park outside or in the confines of the station???

were supposed to as it covers your car in case of damage from station furniture.. ie slates from the roof etc... i dont have permission to park outside the station so therefore a space isnt provided for me ..

no 200 yo yos from this boy

Very true! OPW refused to accept liability for damage to my car so permission was indeed declined!

However this was in 2004..And I'm sure Garda HQ's cars weren't covered, either. Magic turnaround perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

i think i'll leave my car in with the 41's .. noone will spot it there, unless they are looking for spare parts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

A couple of weeks ago one of my colleagues car was damaged when a Section 41 was being taken out by the owner. The owner drove off and said nothin to anyone but we tracked him, like the hound dog he was

TheNog wrote: »
    A couple of weeks ago one of my colleagues car was damaged when a Section 41 was being taken out by the owner. The owner drove off and said nothin to anyone but we tracked him, like the hound dog he was
    I left a note under his windscreen wiper, I swear. Ye just over reacted. Why don't ye go after the real criminals!

Parking Levy Details Announced with RTE Link - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055422351&highlight=budget+2009

Even though many members are going to receive a reduced rate due to our shift patterns it still begs the question - The OPW has refused to grant formal parking permission to many public servants as they fear being liable for damage caused to their cars whilst parked there..particularly in Garda Stations in dodgy areas where a lot of cars are damaged annually. This has been refused to me in the past..so will they now be obliged to grant said permission in exchange for this levy? :D

Come to think of it - The parking around my station is inside the city limits however is primarily residential. And now that I think about it the parking on the public roadside is free..!

Hmm..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

In my station id say it works out that each member would own a quarter of a parking space.... does this mean i only have to pay 50 euro!!!!!!!!

50 euros..plus the fact you do shift work which will bring it down some more..and the fact that you share it with the other units..so if anything they should -pay- you as a reward for finding a space at work ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Maybe we could try and get the super to buy the station party bicycles and then claim back the tax incentive from the budget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The details are as yet too be decided, emergency services will be or should be exempt as we MUST be able to get into work quick and at unsociable hours where public transport simple isnt an option.

Besides ultimately arent they just taking money from one pocket and putting it into another?

Thats how it is with the Defence Forces, ae you guys exempt toll charges for the same reasons?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭FyFyTa

Just a thought !

As emergency services, we are posted to our stations, so if I am hit for €200 for being posted inside the "zone", and a buddy I joined up with is stationed in Swords or Dun Laoire, and escape the €200 "Fine", surly that's a case for discrimination.... as I said just a thought !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:cool::cool::cool::cool:

Are you suggesting that Gardai in city stations apply for a "parking levy allowance" ? ;)

yep, we will get it about the same time that we get the long asked for, city allowance :rolleyes:

[quote=FyFyTa;57962377]Just a thought![/quote]
    Just when I thought it was safe to get back inthe water!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Its as simple as this, I don't drive any more if I am asked. What are the greens actully doing in power? They have done nothing positive except attack motorists.

msg11 wrote: »
    Its as simple as this, I don't drive any more if I am asked. What are the greens actully doing in power? They have done nothing positive except attack motorists.

Correction, they are just the latest party in power to attack motorists. Why prey tell, after paying a few hundred on tax, another few hundred on insurance, god knows how much on petrol (which is taxed) only to sit in traffic every day while the bus goes down its own special lane not displaying tax, not paying insurance and not even making a profit????

Dont even get me started on public parking....

Correction, they are just the latest party in power to attack motorists. Why prey tell, after paying a few hundred on tax, another few hundred on insurance, god knows how much on petrol (which is taxed) only to sit in traffic every day while the bus goes down its own special lane not displaying tax, not paying insurance and not even making a profit????

Dont even get me started on public parking....

Forgot too add in, never on time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Why shouldn't guards have to pay for their private cars when they park outside work like everyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Why shouldn't guards have to pay for their private cars when they park outside work like everyone else?

Because they don't get a "designated parking space" Because they work shifts maybe?? :confused:

Well.....we're guards!:D

Because we work holidays and hours where public transport is not possible perhaps? Or because we get called in for various reasons where "Sorry waiting for the next bus" isnt a viable excuse?

Think please, think

Because we work holidays and hours where public transport is not possible perhaps? Or because we get called in for various reasons where "Sorry waiting for the next bus" isnt a viable excuse?

Think please, think

A lot of other people are in that situation too. Outside of the emergency services. The whole idea should be just dumped, they will be bringing in licenses for computers next, mark my words.

msg11 wrote: »
    A lot of other people are in that situation too. Outside of the emergency services. The whole idea should be just dumped, they will be bringing in licenses for computers next, mark my words.

Agreed.

What other professions in the city centre though? I cant get a breakfast roll on Christmas day or a bus, I know that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,284 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Think please, think

The first one isnt really a great excuse, parking is free at unsociable hours and holidays in public spaces (anywhere I've lived anyways)

Well thats fair enough, so when I park up in a free space can I be exempt from being clamped after 7am? Perhaps get a special 'bring my car home' break at 7am?

"now, which designated parking space am I sharing?"

7fe4fd3a86ddebbb117970fa4415fd11player.jpg