Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PADDY POWER WINTER FEST.3 TICKET GUARANTEE.PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU TRAVEL.

• 16-10-2008 3:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭

Hi folks,Iwould be greatful if you could let me know if you are playing in this PP SAT ON SUNDAY.It seems we will be short on numbers due to the fact that BLAZIN ACES have their cash league final the same day which i did not know about.
    It looks like we will lose a good few players to this unfortunately.
    Therefor to keep this event alive I need you to PM me or post here if you intend to play.You can also text me or ring me on 0868527081.
    I WILL NOT BE GUARANTEEING THIS EVENT UNLESS I GET AT LEAST 21 RUNNERS.
    Here is a list of our guaranteed platers so far.

1.nicky power.
    2.bops
    3.p storan
    4.george power
    5.richie lawlor
    6.massimo coppolla
    7.james kent
    8.noel drought
    9.una ayres
    10.kevin ayres
    11.percy kingston
    12brian nolan
    13.mick o keeffee
    14.mark lassman
    15.ian nolan.
    16.chris frisby.

7 more required for the guarantee,regards seamus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Hi folks,Iwould be greatful if you could let me know if you are playing in this PP SAT ON SUNDAY.It seems we will be short on numbers due to the fact that BLAZIN ACES have decided to have their cash league final the same day.
    It looks like we will lose a good few players to this unfortunately.
    Therefor to keep this event alive I need you to PM me or post here if you intend to play.You can also text me or ring me on 0868527081.
    I WILL NOT BE GUARANTEEING THIS EVENT UNLESS I GET AT LEAST 23RUNNERS.
    Here is a list of our guaranteed platers so far.

1.nicky power.
    2.bops
    3.p storan
    4.george power
    5.richie lawlor
    6.massimo coppolla
    7.james kent
    8.noel drought
    9.una ayres
    10.kevin ayres
    11.percy kingston
    12brian nolan
    13.mick o keeffee
    14.mark lassman
    15.ian nolan.
    16.chris frisby.

7 more required for the guarantee,regards seamus.

seems fair and prudent to me Seamus, there's a small enough pool of players that will play this event and with the other game also on this date I think your entitled to include a cut off for the guarantee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Not to be a prcik but its complete rubbish to me. Not that i have any intention of playing but if tournament organisers in general can just go withdrawing guarantees a few days before a tournament after advertising it here for the past couple of weeks theres no point in posting it in the first place.

Seems its fine to guarantee it when you know you'll cover it but any chance you might not and the guarantee is bye bye. Better off just running sats with no guarantees if this is going to be the case imo.

Im not writing this to be on the Blazin Aces bandwagon by the way as i have no allegencies to anyone and if they scheduled their league final to clash with your game on purpose i think its being pretty petty to be honest. Hopefully you will get numbers anyway Seamus as it is a very good structure for a sat and deserves to get players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

mdwexford wrote: »

Im not writing this to be on the Blazin Aces bandwagon by the way as i have no allegencies to anyone and if they scheduled their league final to clash with your game on purpose i think its being pretty petty to be honest. Hopefully you will get numbers anyway Seamus as it is a very good structure for a sat and deserves to get players.

Hi Mick,

Just to Clarify, the League Final is up 2 months in Blazin Aces and the players and commitee choose the date and will back me on this as it was on our Newsletter this month, and on the board the past 6 weeks in the club, Unfortunately Seamus switched the game from the Friday to Sunday as it clashed with the Macau game and was not in the loop on the cash league Final in Blazin aces and it is too close for us to change it now as players have been waiting for this event.

We had made sure nothing was on around as our players would be the first to say this not us and our commitee would not stand for it in the club either, as they would like to play both events if scheduled correctly .

In no way did we change or alter dates as the more poker played in Waterford the better for players and clubs tbh.

I hope Both events do well and i hope Seamus hits 4 tickets as it woudl be great to see some Waterford players up representing in Dublin .

Neill Kelly
    Big Slick Events

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

i have to disagree with u mick, with the cash league final on in aces it will take atleast 7/8 players away from seamus tournament which is a shame maybe if it was a small guarantee (1000) but its 5,000 so i dont c any harm in him finding out how many players are really interested in this tournament, but i do agree seamus puts on a top class tournament and always looks after the interest of the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Hi Mick,

Just to Clarify, the League Final is up 2 months in Blazin Aces and the players and commitee choose the date and will back me on that it was on the Newsletter this month and on the board the past 6 weeks in the club , Unfortunately seamus switched the game from the Friday to Sunday as it clashed with the Macau game and was not in the loop on the cash league Final in Blazin aces and it is too close for us to change it now as players have been waiting for this event.

We had made sure nothing was on around as our players would be the first to say this not us and our commitee would not stand for it in the club Either as they would like to play both events if scheduled correctly .

In no way did we change or alter dates as the more poker played in Waterford the better for players and clubs tbh.

I hope Both events do well and i hope Seamus hits 4 tickets as it woudl be great to see some Waterford players up representing in Dublin .

Neill Kelly
    Big Slick Events

Yeah thats why i said if Neill, i didnt really think you would do that on purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

nicnicnic wrote: »
    seems fair and prudent to me Seamus, there's a small enough pool of players that will play this event and with the other game also on this date I think your entitled to include a cut off for the guarantee
    A cut off is fine, pretty standard online. But thats doesn't mean that all cut offs are ok.
    players min is a joke, its a €200 game, so 23 players is €4600
    The guarantee is €4950
    So what is suggested is that he they get 23, and only 23 runners, he will add €350 (after taking €460 in reg)

Suggesting this is a guarantee is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

.It seems we will be short on numbers due to the fact that BLAZIN ACES have decided to have their cash league final the same day.

Seamus,

To me that statement infers that Blazin Aces scheduled their cash league final deliberately to clash with your tournament. Nothing could be further from the truth.
    What you should have said was that "we inadvertantly changed our date which now clashes with the long announced Blazin Aces cash league final"

The date of the cash league final was decided about 8 weeks ago & the committee actually discussed the possibility of having it on before Killarney as it might put some extra money in some players pockets for the weekend. However due to unavailable dates Sunday 19th October was selected and this was at least 8 weeks ago.

This date was also published in the monthly newsletter & has also been on the tournament board for the past 8 weeks.

I think an acknowledgement of this fact would be in order Seamus.

David McCarthy, (committee member Blazin Aces)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

may i suggest a solution to the problem,

a UFC style cage fight to the death,

Representing Olympus Seamus, and his tag team partner, the blazing aces hating poker tourament machine Nicky 'the power' Power, and there mascot Bops ( be some scrap with him and the Fox )

and representing Blazing Aces Co owners Dermot Jakey Jacob and everybodys best friend Neill 'alright bud' Kelly along with there mascot....wait for it....... The Fox

with George sitting comfortably on the fence

Abley and un biasedly ( hopefully) officiated by that pillar of the deise poker community Dave Kakak1 Mccarthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭caesars pal

Hi Mick,

Just to Clarify, the League Final is up 2 months in Blazin Aces and the players and commitee choose the date and will back me on this as it was on our Newsletter this month, and on the board the past 6 weeks in the club, Unfortunately Seamus switched the game from the Friday to Sunday as it clashed with the Macau game and was not in the loop on the cash league Final in Blazin aces and it is too close for us to change it now as players have been waiting for this event.

We had made sure nothing was on around as our players would be the first to say this not us and our commitee would not stand for it in the club either, as they would like to play both events if scheduled correctly .

Neill Kelly
    Big Slick Events

I have accused no one of anything neill.

kakak1 wrote: »
    Seamus,

To me that statement infers that Blazin Aces scheduled their cash league final deliberately to clash with your tournament. Nothing could be further from the truth.
    What you should have said was that "we inadvertantly changed our date which now clashes with the long announced Blazin Aces cash league final"

The date of the cash league final was decided about 8 weeks ago & the committee actually discussed the possibility of having it on before Killarney as it might put some extra money in some players pockets for the weekend. However due to unavailable dates Sunday 19th October was selected and this was at least 8 weeks ago.

This date was also published in the monthly newsletter & has also been on the tournament board for the past 8 weeks.

I think an acknowledgement of this fact would be in order Seamus.

David McCarthy, (committee member Blazin Aces)

Dave,I did,nt know nor hear anything about the cash league final on sun 19th so what acknowledgement are you looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

My post was to Mick Doran to clear up the matter, as he had stated in his post and i have quoted that post .

Neill

richie id let u watch with me but with your weight the fence would break lol:D:D

Seamus,

Fair is fair but I do think the following quote from you does infer that Blazin Aces changed their date to clash with yours

"BLAZIN ACES have decided to have their cash league final the same day."

What happened is you decided to have your tournament on the same date as Blazin Aces cash final.

I think it is necessary for you to acknowledge that that is not the case

Mellor wrote: »
    A cut off is fine, pretty standard online. But thats doesn't mean that all cut offs are ok.
    The guarantee is €4950
    So what is suggested is that he they get 23, and only 23 runners, he will add €350 (after taking €460 in reg)

not that i appreciate your post but i have changed that to 21 runners.
    dont have time to do the maths on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

gigetheman wrote: »

richie id let u watch with me but with your weight the fence would break lol:D:D

Your a clever one george

Did you ask kelly were you allowed to post on here, tut tut not checking up with your owner

kakak1 wrote: »
    Seamus,

Fair is fair but I do think the following quote from you does infer that Blazin Aces changed their date to clash with yours

"BLAZIN ACES have decided to have their cash league final the same day."

]

I have changed the OP so i hope every thing is in order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭taliban

give the man a break lads.hes intitled to pull out of this guarantee, hes been guaranteen tournments and not getting enough to cover the costs long enough... as for accusing blazing aces of any wrong doing ,i recived a call from seamus today to see if i was in the cash league final just to see what kind of numbers he might have for sunday and from the way he was talking he knew all about the cash league final but didnt realise the amount of players involved so come on lads dont be jumping on the lads back and coming to conclusions

mdwexford wrote: »
    Not to be a prcik but its complete rubbish to me. Not that i have any intention of playing but if tournament organisers in general can just go withdrawing guarantees a few days before a tournament after advertising it here for the past couple of weeks theres no point in posting it in the first place.

Seems its fine to guarantee it when you know you'll cover it but any chance you might not and the guarantee is bye bye. Better off just running sats with no guarantees if this is going to be the case imo.

u need help

gigetheman wrote: »

george ritchie is not allowed to sit on fences any more i think it has something to do with a court apperence over his sexual desires

I have changed the OP so i hope every thing is in order.

Seamus,

That more than covers it, well done. I hope you get your numbers & in fact I intended playing when it was scheduled for the Friday.

David

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Why not play the sat on the Monday?
    Or Saturday?

I'll play if its on any other day but Sunday.

(cash league starts at 6.30) if I get knocked out Ill play Sat..What time is the sat starting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Mellor wrote: »
    The guarantee is €4950

Reg doens't come into it, He's hardly making a profit if he net;s €110.

As long as its not hidden it doesn;t matter how small the guarantee is.
    also as logn as it's withdrawn more than 3 days before Ive no problem with it tbh. its not a charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 NUL150

well said all seems fair enough to me , seamus is not running a chairty and fair play for trying to get a decent game in waterford at end of the day these clashes effect no one only the players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

may i suggest a solution to the problem,

a UFC style cage fight to the death,

Representing Olympus Seamus, and his tag team partner, the blazing aces hating poker tourament machine Nicky 'the power' Power, and there mascot Bops ( be some scrap with him and the Fox )

and representing Blazing Aces Co owners Dermot Jakey Jacob and everybodys best friend Neill 'alright bud' Kelly along with there mascot....wait for it....... The Fox

Abley and un biasedly ( hopefully) officiated by that pillar of the deise poker community Dave Kakak1 Mccarthy

i know i havn't been in the loop for a while but would really appreciate the oppurtunity to further my commentary career with this gig , what do you say ritchie we pitch this to the relevant ppl.

probably won't get a pg rating but would certainly make for interesting viewing.

sham looking like a few corkonians are coming for the bloodbath. at the moment high probabilities are big al , martin his nephew, chris ladbrokes knuckles and i.

Waiting with baited breath for the next installment of mud slinging which is the soap opera of south east poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i know i havn't been in the loop for a while but would really appreciate the oppurtunity to further my commentary career with this gig , what do you say ritchie we pitch this to the relevant ppl.

probably won't get a pg rating but would certainly make for interesting viewing.

sham looking like a few corkonians are coming for the bloodbath. at the moment high probabilities are big al , martin his nephew, chris ladbrokes knuckles and i.

Waiting with baited breath for the next installment of mud slinging which is the soap opera of south east poker.

ignore my last post, the dead money has been replaced by people with extra dead money for the cash tables too - result imo :p

Thanks lads,this event is going ahead.dont be late.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

mdwexford and theirishmob banned for 7 days. I don't care who started it or the history, just keep the animosity and crap off the forum please. If it happens again it will be a longer ban.

You have both been here long enough to know the rules, please respect them.

Now back on topic please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

5starpool wrote: »
    mdwexford and theirishmob banned for 7 days. I don't care who started it or the history, just keep the animosity and crap off the forum please. If it happens again it will be a longer ban.

You have both been here long enough to know the rules, please respect them.

Now back on topic please.

Just to update ye all - they played HU for Rolls last night and after 18 BI's THEIRISHMOB was victorious - it was a well fought battle, with both feeling the pressure considering that their honour and their entire BR's were at stake

...I wonder what he's gonna do with the $36.04

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 jayteezim

back to the point- from what i've heard the game is ON with the guarantee. should be good. see u all tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

i might play this..where abouts is the casino in town?

^^bumpity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 min rase

if your coming across the bridge in waterford,take a left at the traffic lights.drive straight up the quays and take the left at the tower hotel.drive straight for approx 500 yds until you see a garage facing the peoples park. the casino is situated in a complex behind the garage.

min rase wrote: »
    if your coming across the bridge in waterford,take a left at the traffic lights.drive straight up the quays and take the left at the tower hotel.drive straight for approx 500 yds until you see a garage facing the peoples park. the casino is situated in a complex behind the garage.

cheers bud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ROONEYED BY 2/3

cuterob wrote: »
    cheers bud

Is this game definitely on need to know a.s.a.p ?

"GOING AHEAD
    Thanks lads,this event is going ahead.dont be late"

quoted from the owner it seems on page 2 of this thread..so yes its going ahead

cuterob wrote: »
    "GOING AHEAD
    Thanks lads,this event is going ahead.dont be late"

quoted from the owner it seems on page 2 of this thread..so yes its going ahead
    tanks looking forward to it. cheers.

looking forward to this should be a good game :D

i'll be there more than likely adding value as i'm a donk at donkaments

great game and structure but i'm on life tilt officially

7 left with 3 tickets.. my aces versus queens for a 100k pot and chip lead and the queens 4 flush me..story of my ****ing life with satts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheRock

Any news on who got the tickets lads?

TheRock wrote: »
    Any news on who got the tickets lads?

I GOT ONE MICK ROSSITER AND ANOTHER GENT FROM WEXFORD.

GREAT CLUB enjoyed the night tanks to sheamus who put on a great tourney lasted just under 10 hours with 25 players great standerd of play
    and very well run club.

Tanks keith - club royale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Luckbox

Well done to the winners and thanks to all who took part especially those who travelled a long way.

I wish you the best of luck in dublin lads.thanks again,seamus.

I GOT ONE MICK ROSSITER AND ANOTHER GENT FROM WEXFORD.

GREAT CLUB enjoyed the night tanks to sheamus who put on a great tourney lasted just under 10 hours with 25 players great standerd of play
    and very well run club.

Tanks keith - club royale.

keith that you from naas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 jayteezim

thanks seamus. good game. good luck to those in dublin next week