Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guitar effects pedals stomp boxes Vs Multi-effects

• 15-10-2008 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

I have recently started playing lead guitar in a band and at the moment my guitar sound isn't great, I am using a Boss Digital delay+Boss overdrive+Jim dunlop Cry baby and the sounds aren't great (I would ideally like to get a John Squire- seahorses-esque sound)... I was thinking of going for the Boss GT-10, but from reading reviews on multi effects pedals apparently they aren't great for playing live!

Just wondering if anyone has used the GT-10 (and liked or disliked it) or if anyone could give me advice on a decent pedal set up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

INBEFORETHEFEYLYA!

I'd steer clear of multi effects, you dont have as much flexibility as with seperate pedals. Also they're pretty big and the quality of the effects normally aint that good IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Eegorbishcan

Cheers Dord, I know what ya mean they are big [EMAIL="f@ckers"]f@ckers[/EMAIL] but I was willing to go with it if it adds to my sound or gives me a decent one.. maybe i'll just work on a few more pedals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Dord wrote: »
    INBEFORETHEFEYLYA!

I'd steer clear of multi effects, you dont have as much flexibility as with seperate pedals. Also they're pretty big and the quality of the effects normally aint that good IMO.

+1. I'd rather have individual pedals, each with their own controls to get my sound. But that's just my 0.02....never liked the whole multi effect jobbies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I have recently started playing lead guitar in a band and at the moment my guitar sound isn't great, I am using a Boss Digital delay+Boss overdrive+Jim dunlop Cry baby and the sounds aren't great

I think you've left out an important part of your sound here. What amp are you using?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I think you've left out an important part of your sound here. What amp are you using?

Excellent point, that may be where the weakness lies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

pffft, amp schmamp... Tone comes from the fingers silly :pac:

But er yeah, some of the multi-fx have fantastic amp models, so it would be good to know what your amp is, and if you're happy with it, before making any suggestions. You could get a whole boatload of effects pedals, but if you dont like the sound of your amp, itd be a waste of money. So in that situation, a modelling FX pedal (PodXT etc) might be the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Tone maybe, but a sh!te amp is gonna sound exactly that no matter what you can do or plug into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

INBEFORETHEFEYLYA!

I disgree.
    As long as you spend good money then the quality of the effects should be fine. Some of the cheaper units are tone suckers and sounds horrible though.
    I find multi effects allow much much more control and flexability over single pedals. You can chain them in any order you want. Also you can control all sorts of parameters that the 3 knobs on your flanger don't allow. You can also get different flavours of the same effect with different models being represented, with a single stomp box you have your 1 sound and a few tweaks.

I used to be a big fan of the stomp box, always bashing those multi effects. Then I actually bought one and got to try it out. I was blown away. Now I can get 2 entirely different sounds with one switch too, instead of trying to press 3 pedals to get my solo tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

good quality effects and good cable and your ok either way

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

INBEFORETHEFEYLYA!

But I like multi-effects pedals :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Ampage! If you have a good amp, which unfortunatly usually requires good money, then I would say that either multi effect pedals or stomp boxes are just a matter of preference. I had a VOX multi effect unit but you couldn't switch off the amp modelling!! WTF, I have a good amp, I just want the effects. Now I use less effects(pedals) and more amp, and a G-Major. I'm confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

i have Pod XT Live and its very good, you can switch off amp modelling with the stomp of a button too so theres no hassle there, and it also makes for a good studio tool as it hooks up to a computer via USB and has lots of features, look at me i sound like im from line 6!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I have jammed with one of these and it was quite to my liking... http://www.bossus.com/gear/productdetails.php?ProductId=534&ParentId=46

But tbh, you'd be better off splashing the cash and getting a propper, pedal board, with seperate pedals.

just a note on multi effects and turning off modelling etc..
    I tried doing this with my GT6 and was less than impressed. Effect quality is still great but the output is not fully clean. I had to apply an EQ and tweak it for ages to cancel out the colour added/removed by the pedal. Then when using the amp's distortion it hasn't got near the same ooomph or peachy tone as going straight in with the guitar, unless I crank the output of the pedal waaaay up, but then the clean sound is too loud, and so on.

So in short, if I want to use the amp, I don't use the pedal, but I mainly use the modelled sounds now. Shame really.

Just be warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

To get a convincing John Squire sound I'd start out with a decent, nicely overdriven valve amp and a decent guitar, with humbuckers preferably. This forms the basis of any Stone Roses song I know of and I'd start there first. If this basic set-up isn't right no amount FX in the signal chain is going to improve it.

The pedals you have aren't bad so if you're not happy with your tone I'd say it's down to guitar or amp. Each of the effects you listed has both an input and output signal buffer so unless you're using miles of poor quality cable they shouldn't be a problem, though changing the wah to true by-pass can improve tone a bit when the wah is not being used.

By the way I wouldn't recommend using the Boss overdrive with the gain set anything past 2/3 on the dial. Instead try setting the level high and the gain low to drive the amp itself.

On MultiFX; Squire was/is a stomp box man himself. Things like wah are important for his sound and I find the wahs on multiFX units to be sh*te. I do use a ME-50 and have tried the GT-8 and a few others. MultiFX aren't bad for modulation FX like flange, chorus and are very handy for tuners and a bit of compression etc. so a combination of a Dunlop wah, Tubescreamer, some kind of fuzz and a multiFX like a ME50 for the rest mightn't be a bad way to go once the guitar/amp bit is sorted.

Check out this page for more info on his gear.
    http://www.pdmcauley.co.uk/guitaristpages/home/SQUIRELIVESETUPindex.html

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

feylya's views on multi-effects pedals:

I'm a very lazy guitarist. Setting up and tearing down should take a minimum of time. Multi-effects need 2 cables and 1 plug. No individual pedals and patch leads to break, no multiple points of failure. When I'm playing, I want to concentrate on the song. I can't do that if I'm tap dancing on 5 pedals to swap sounds. One pedal press to get completely different sounds is very appealing. All I need to remember is what patch number I need, not if I need to choose those three pedals while changing the settings on the pedals between songs. Changing settings on the stage in the dark will lead to mistakes so the sound that I was aiming for will be wrong.

In terms of the sound of the pedals, most people wouldn't be able to tell if you're using single pedals or multi-effects, especially when put it in a band situation. The sounds may not be exactly what the individual pedals may sounds like because it is just an approximate digitisation but the trade off for that is you get more sounds to play with.

The argument about amps is very valid but when you consider that multi-effect pedals are moving towards cab sims, it makes more sense to push it through a PA.

So basically, it depends on what you want. If you want to have your own sound, I'd go for a good amp and pedals to compliment that. If you want to mimic someone else's sound, be it for a covers band or tribute, I'd go for a multi-effects.

The GT-8 is a very complex pedal. I've had one for several years and I still don't know half the features on the thing. There's fantastic songs to be unlocked. www.bossgtcentral.com ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Don1 wrote: »
    Tone maybe, but a sh!te amp is gonna sound exactly that no matter what you can do or plug into it.

Hmmmmm that's another debate in itself but i'd just like to comment that I remember when i was trying out the whole amplified buzz after using acoustics for years i bought a marshall valvestate. I could never get the tone i was after. After scouting the web the general consensus was they were crap amps."Not a real marshall" etc etc....That was when the ould GAS syndrome kicked in. This sounds like ****e...it's not me ...it's the equipment. Time to sell and purchase something else in the ideal and elusive quest for "THE tone". Well i got a buyer for the amp. He came up and when he played the amp i couldn't believe the tones he was coaxing out of this "crappy amp" ....I have seen this many times.
    The story goes when Hendrix played Jeff beck's strat Jeff was gobsmacked at the tones emanating (thanks spellchecker :) from his own guitar.
    Primarily tone is in the fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

I am a multi-effects person myself, but if your after the best tones possible (whatever that actually is) then you probably limit yourself by going the multi-effect route.

Every distortion is slightly different, every phaser is slightly different.. If you go stomp boxes you can choose the ones you like best, if you go multi-effect you get the same companies overdrive/chorus/distortion/phaser and a lot of those may not be the best one for you (err unless you built up a rack of multi-effects which err no dont even go there! :))

I love my valvestate and can get rather tasty sounds from it. I must be a legend so......

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Don1 wrote: »
    I love my valvestate and can get rather tasty sounds from it. I must be a legend so......

:P

Probably :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

I've just invested in the Fractal Audio Axe Fx Ultra and this thing is a monster.
    Great amp models and the amount of editing you can do even to the power amp end of the amps etc is mindblowing, the effects quality are up there with Eventide and such too.

Cliff is making firmware update at the rate of about 1 a month to improve it further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Eegorbishcan

Thanks very much for the comments and advice lads, really appreciate it!! Free backstage passes to you all when I make it big on Grafton street!!

Think I'll hold onto the money I was going to spend on the multi-fx pedal and put it towards a decent Amp.... I'm probably a few pedals short of a complete sound, (maybe a flanger) so I'll stick with the stomp boxes and get a decent pedel board and mess about with that.

The amp I use at home (don't laugh, its a dinasaur!!) is an Aria Pro 2 30 watt jobbie, just for practice... I've used a peavey amp in the rehearsal studio and that sound isn't so bad through that, I just thought it only sounded good because the rest of the instruments (and bad playing!!) blended it in, So might try and get a similar amp for at home... Or do you have any suggestions for decent amps on the market now?

The guitar I'm using at the moment is a Les Paul custom which I'm pretty happy with the clean sound on it but I'm probably gonna get a tele or an SG to give a bit of variance on the sounds to help create a better sound..... But.... I won't even ask for advice on that, as thats even more subjective than pedal sounds!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

i was going to say that!!!:D

The amp I use at home (don't laugh, its a dinasaur!!) is an Aria Pro 2 30 watt jobbie, just for practice... I've used a peavey amp in the rehearsal studio and that sound isn't so bad through that, I just thought it only sounded good because the rest of the instruments (and bad playing!!) blended it in, So might try and get a similar amp for at home... Or do you have any suggestions for decent amps on the market now?

What Peavey model are you using?

If you want my advice on the amp at home side of things I'd say look at some of the 5W vlave amps out there at the moment. There's plenty of cool ones at decent prices like the Harley Benton GA5. One of the lads posted about a Blackstar 5W head that, on paper, looks like it will sound great!!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Well, you can take a look at the amps that John Squire used here. You can get the Mesa Mark III amps used fairly easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Well, you can take a look at the amps that John Squire used here. You can get the Mesa Mark III amps used fairly easily.
    Yeah, the Mark IIIs usually go for around €750-1000 on the used market. No trouble getting one there's plenty around.

Have to say, i'd no idea he used so much Boogie stuff over the years, all the Marks and Quads....interesting :)

Yeah, the Mark IIIs usually go for around €750-1000 on the used market. No trouble getting one there's plenty around.

Have to say, i'd no idea he used so much Boogie stuff over the years, all the Marks and Quads....interesting :)

Yeah, I was surprised by that too.
    I had a picture of him being a vintage Fender Silverface, Marshall and Vox kinda guy, or at least that what the Stone Roses records sounded like to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 jamesm5744

Hi there, the GT10 is a great tool but the key is to spend time tweaking. Also keep the gain low, use the eq's to nail 'your' sound and you'd be suprised how good it'll sound. The modulation fx are fantastic and the amp models are good once you dont saturate them like most people have a tendency to do. They then give out say it sounds digital, of course it does! I have tones of boutique effects and amps and they do sound great but believe me the lads at Roland know they're ****:D Also I believe a tube amp is vital, a well tweaked GT 10 into a fender twin and you wont go too far wrong. If you want to go the pedal route the same rule applies, keep the gain low and let your guitar tone breathe without squashing your playing dynamics and feel. Try the Radial tone bone, xotic fx, Mesa V twin or the new Blackstar dual pedal. Each one when tweaked to suit your style, guitar and amp are fantastic IMHO. Hope this helps ya, good luck;)

The GT-10 is a great unit, just most people dont spend the time to tweak them to their liking. Another common mistake is to use too much distortion, digital distortion is what it is afterall! Use the GT-10 with a tube amp and with a bit of time you'll get some really great sounds, bita craic too going through all the options. The EQ is really usefull and pay attention to the fx chain, best of luck!

Hmmmmm that's another debate in itself but i'd just like to comment that I remember when i was trying out the whole amplified buzz after using acoustics for years i bought a marshall valvestate. I could never get the tone i was after. After scouting the web the general consensus was they were crap amps."Not a real marshall" etc etc....That was when the ould GAS syndrome kicked in. This sounds like ****e...it's not me ...it's the equipment. Time to sell and purchase something else in the ideal and elusive quest for "THE tone". Well i got a buyer for the amp. He came up and when he played the amp i couldn't believe the tones he was coaxing out of this "crappy amp" ....I have seen this many times.
    The story goes when Hendrix played Jeff beck's strat Jeff was gobsmacked at the tones emanating (thanks spellchecker :) from his own guitar.

Yip your dead right, a guitarists voice and personality is in his fingers.........however, you have to have good gear to make what your fingers are doing speak properly. Most modern amps have a certain voice, so whether you put a vintage 335 through them of a Ibanez you get a imprint on your sound, no matter how hard you tweak. How I know real 'tone' is when you can hear the wood in the the guitar, the 'air' in a hollowbody or the 'snap' of maple on a nice strat. It a very hard thing to explain but when you get it it hits you like a tone of ****! If you play really distorted metal of something then its slightly different, what them lads are really looking for is clarity and articulation at high gain. This is a technical balance of eq and tricky for amp manufacturers to achieve but its not 'tone'. Real tone allows dynamics, articulation and the players feel shine through, ala Larry Carlton or Robben Ford but when your talking dual rectifier territory is all about a huge sound with the bottom end 'flub', easier said than done but thats the only sound I hear from most Metal guitarists, asides form Ritchie Blackmore;). Anyhow, is great craic (and damn expensive) finding 'your' sound but in the end in all about the notes you play and how and when you play them!! All the best...