Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**Match RD 2** Tuesday,OCT 14 @22:00 in St Judes - Glenwood Rovers v Boardeaux

• 12-10-2008 8:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭

same time, same venue, different opposition, who we have played against before and lost 3-2. we then played them in the last game and we beat them 3-0, to stop them winning the league. an older team from what i remember, a bunch of lads tho who can play a bit and will be strong.

a few of them have played a a high level in the past, so the wont be bad and the drew 4-4 last week, so they seem to know where the net is. last 10.00 game for about 2 months thank f*ck. Im out for this one, im away with work in Germany, only booked it Friday as it was unexpected for me.

i still dont know who is in or out of the squad so Des/Mick feel free to edit this. we still have 25 players, which is far too big and it means that players will not get games.

1 Daryl -
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin -
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael -
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark -
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader -
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie -
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules -

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

i still dont know who is in or out of the squad so Des/Mick feel free to edit this. we still have 25 players, which is far too big and it means that players will not get games.

1 Daryl -
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin -
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael -
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark -
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader -
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - YES
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules -

I'm wondering the same as Ed...how many in the finalised squad?

...and any lift goin, Dan/Art?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 sockdolage

Myself and Pad are in.
    1 Daryl -
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin -
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael -
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - In
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - In
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - In
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I'm in. ****ing ten o clock kick offs. What a pain in the hole.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

1 Daryl -
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin -
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael -
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - In
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - In
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - In
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules -

I'm in

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

My rehab plan is going well (there's a noticeable lack of methadone though :)) but this is too early. I could play a part if it was necessary but with the size of the squad it's not necessary and it'd be serving both myself and the team better by taking the time to get it right before coming back. I'm in Athens next week on work but will be available for the Bar Real game the week after on the 28th October, which is the game I've been targetting all along.

1 Daryl -
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin -
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael -
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - In
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - In
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - In
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules - No

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

I am in..

1 Daryl -
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin - Yes
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael - Yes
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - Yes
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - Yes
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - Yes
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules - No

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

1 Daryl - Yes
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin - Yes
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael - Yes
    7 Simon -
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - Yes
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - Yes
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - Yes
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules - No

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

In. Plus can give a lift martin if you need it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

1 Daryl - Yes
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin - Yes
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael - Yes
    7 Simon - Yes
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - Yes
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - Yes
    20 Dave -
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - Yes
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules - No

LOTP wrote: »
    In. Plus can give a lift martin if you need it

Cheers Peter! Same spot, same time?

Maybe meet at nine this time. no point in being too early

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

1 Daryl - Yes
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin - Yes
    4 Ed - NO (Work)
    5 Dan -
    6 Michael - Yes
    7 Simon - Yes
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly -
    11 Lepo -
    12 Larry -
    13 Derek -
    14 Peter -
    15 Gav -
    16 Mark - Yes
    17 Conor -
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - Yes
    20 Dave - Yes
    21 Art -
    22 Eddie - Yes
    23 Ciaran -
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules - No

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

1 Daryl - Yes
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin - Yes
    4 Ed - NO (Away with Work)
    5 Dan - Yes
    6 Michael - Yes
    7 Simon - Yes
    8 Keith -Yes
    9 Cathal -
    10 Mick McEvilly - Yes
    11 Lepo -Yes
    12 Larry - Yes
    13 Derek -NO (AWAY)
    14 Peter -YES
    15 Gav -YES
    16 Mark - Yes
    17 Conor - NO
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - Yes
    20 Dave - Yes
    21 Art - Yes
    22 Eddie - Yes
    23 Ciaran - Yes
    24 Karl -
    25 Jules - No

full squad so far bar Jules and myself. i assume the gaffer is still in france and aint text anybody yet, tho everybody should know we have a game.

Yeh 9 is cool Peter. Des away for this one? You nervous Michael? :D

Nunu wrote: »
    I'm wondering the same as Ed...how many in the finalised squad?

...and any lift goin, Dan/Art?

text art tomorrow, i am away, though i assume no problem around 9.15 again, same goes for the larry.

IM JUST SENDINDG A FEW TEXTS NOW TO MAKE SURE EVERYBODY KNOWS ABOUT IT.

Jules, is Karl in?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Yeh 9 is cool Peter. Des away for this one? You nervous Michael? :D

I think he's back for it, no nerves either way, I am unbeaten as an assistant manager!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

emc2 wrote: »
    I think he's back for it, no nerves either way, I am unbeaten as an assistant manager!

And at least if things go wrong you can blame the boss for not letting you pick the team:D

anybody heard from Des:eek:.

is he home? jerseys/balls etc!!!??? i assume that des has this all under control :)

best of luck tonight lads, ye better do the business.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jersies only again, so bring shorts and socks.

I was away in France and only back online now.

1 Daryl - Yes
    2 Clayton -
    3 Martin - Yes
    4 Ed - NO (Away with Work)
    5 Dan - Yes
    6 Michael - Yes
    7 Simon - Yes
    8 Keith -Yes

9 Cathal - Yes
    10 Mick McEvilly - Yes
    11 Lepo -Yes
    12 Larry - Yes

13 Derek -NO (AWAY)
    14 Peter -YES
    15 Gav -YES
    16 Mark - Yes

17 Conor - NO
    18 Robbie -
    19 Peader - Yes
    20 Dave - Yes
    21 Art - Yes
    22 Eddie - Yes

23 Ciaran - No
    24 Karl - No
    25 Jules - No

jez, the players that are missing (excluding myself:p) are all big losses.

ciaran has to pull out cos of work, he is a journalist and is up the walls with the irish game tomorrow.

Any word from Clay?

Heh.

It was the same the last few seasons with our Keeper too. Goalkeepers seem to have an aversion to posting on this boards. :pac:

He said last week he'd be there, and he hasn't let me know otherwise.

karl and mark late withdrawals...

f*ck me, we are missing 7 players tonight that would be pushing for a starting 11...

lets hope the lads that come in take their chance tonight....

just got a text saying lost 2-0. back down to earth with a bump, very disappointing result. how did the game go?

it was always going to be tough considering the players who were missing.

what was the team?

In fairness Ed, its not fair to the players tonight to put the result down to missing players. We all played well and it could have been a different game had a few things gone our way.

To say things could have been different had players been there isnt helpful imo

Simple equation:

To challenge for the league we need a fit central midfield.

As far as I can see Mark is the only player missing who plays there and is fit enough to do so? With Conor's withdrawal i think we're right back where we were at the end of last season. That team tonight were ****. Yet we just couldn't cut it in the middle (myself included) and they dominated in there. Back down to earth with a bump indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I understand the point Peter and my assessment of the game tonight was that the problem was more to do with shape than individual performances. That said, a large number of changes always unsettles a team and that's true regardless of the quality of the players involved.

I also thought there were a lot of good performances and we were really pushing for a goal for the last quarter - as Dan said the heads never dropped and there's a lot to be said for that.

I fully agree with Des' points that we were sitting too deep in the 2nd half. With their defence also sitting very deep it led to a very stretched game. On the surface you could say that our midfield was overrun (and in truth we have rarely conceded a goal straight down the middle like their 2nd), but that's only looking at half of the picture and is unfair to the centre midfielders, am saying this now to show I was being objective when it was me in there. Every man has a 15-20 yard zone around him he can protect and put pressure on. If the defence is playing flat and deep, those zones are overlapping a lot and are are not pushing up putting pressure on the centre. Likewise, wingers need to attack wide and defend narrow. If the winger defends the same line he attacks on, half of his protection zone is over the touch line - by tucking in he's doing his midfielders a favour by taking care of some of their zone for them. Net result of our shape tonight was the 2 men in the middle ended up trying to marshal a space that was far too big, so it's not necessarily a reflection on them.

I enjoyed my 10 minute cameo but the result finished off a bad day cos after a few minutes on the threadmill earlier it was clear the pressure problem in th legs is still there - may a little less than before the surgery, but pretty much a size 12 kick in the gonads for it still to be there. Hopefully the doc will tell me there's some way around it, but my fear is I'm stuck with this for good. So I'm guess I gotta just suck it up and work to a plan that involves keeping up the non-impact cardio work and pop my hardcore anti-inflammatories before each game and see how it goes. With the pills the legs were actually grand in the match and I feel sharper than before (gimme a while to get the touch back tho' :p), so guess getting the head up and getting stuck back into it is the way to go.

Same goes for the team I guess - this is one game I don't think it'll be fruitful to dwell on too long - we just learn that we need to concentrate on the shape and try to implement the tactics the manager lays out a bit closer next time and keep the same level of spirit going. They're a smart team, but we'll get them next time round.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

I fully agree with Des' points that we were sitting too deep in the 2nd half. With their defence also sitting very deep it led to a very stretched game.

Yeah I fully agree with this. In the latter part of the second half, we were sitting so deep that even when me and Art did get the ball up front, Eddie was the only real support we had and therefore it was difficult to really get at them, which is what we should have been doing because they were very slow at the back. I know that the lack of an offside rule means that our centre halves need to sit deep if they are to man mark but at that stage when we were 2 down we should have been going for it.

Either way, I thought we were very unlucky tonight, some things just didn't go for us. There were 3 different shots I followed up on that their keeper was spilling but he'd get lucky enough to just turn the ball away from the incoming blue shirt. It's often these breaks in the ball that decide close games like tonight and in fairness they were very experienced and capable of hanging onto a lead. I think it's fair to say though that we'll learn a hell of a lot more about ourselves from this game than our opening fixture.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Simple equation:

To challenge for the league we need a fit central midfield.

we still have this.

loosing conor is a massive loss no doubt, him and mark had built up a great partnership. missing both last night after they had been dominating games for the past 6 weeks would weaken any team. Loosing Ian on top of that makes it even worse. however, we do have Derek to come back in and he can do a great job there for us....

just an update his status. Derek is in the same boat that i was in at the start of the year, he has been sent away with work and is not in Ireland at the moment. he cannot commit anything over the next 6 weeks, but should make maybe 3 games. after that, he should be around for the remainder of the term. so hopefully he will make 10/12 of the remaining 16 games. we also have Ciaran who was missing last night who plays both CM and up front for his Saturday team and can more than do an adequate job in there. and of course we still have our other options from last season..

peter, the point im making is simple and is exactly what Jules said. we wanted to set out our stall early and get a settled team and formation,giving lads a chance to make a position their own and give some new members a chance to challenge them. we had to make 5 changes last night both in terms of positional and personell and this can unsettle any team. to do this in only our second game was disappointing, but totally unavoidable.