Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legal Studies WIT!

• 09-10-2008 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

Can anyone offer any info into the course? Whats involved? What its like? How it compares to similiar courses? Would you recommend it? Career Propspects? Etc! Thanks in advance:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Kidd-o

well you are lucky im board...

http://www2.wit.ie/StudyatWIT/UndergraduateCourses/Humanities/

Well what do you want to do a Higher Cert? or Honors Degree?

I'm doing a Higher Cert and i friggen love it, i have a 21hr week,

we do 6 modules,

IT
    Crime and Tort
    Irish Legal Systems
    Contract and Labour Law
    Communications
    Company law...

Each of those (except IT) are broken into 2 sections

Crime AND Tort

ILS is broken into, the Legal system (courts) and the other is constitution

Contact AND labour Law

Communications is split into Communications and Legal Comms

Company is split into company and Comercial Law

If you do business it'd be helpful but not at all nessessary, (i didnt do it like)

I cant actually compare it to anything else except my leaving and a PLC in science.

Alot of people in the courses continue to become Solicitors, Gardai, judges, legal secretaries, Banks and building socities...

In 2nd year you choose electives, see the above link for that stuff...

but yes i recomend it, highly... What do you want to be?

The course has how ever an 80% fail rate... but thats avoided if people show up... seriously there are people in my course that havent met some lecturers and were 6 weeks in)

Hope ive helped...

Kris

PS... god im bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭SilverSparkle

So since semester one has ended are you still enjoying your course.
    Im thinking of switching to this course in September and am wondering is it still grabbing your attention?

Well there are mixed feelings about it tbh, i love the course, its not even that difficult just requires developing a longer attention span lol!!
    However others in the course have left or are leaving cause they just dont like it... we''re down to 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

6 eh ? I did that course (or it's equivilent at the time back in '95) and there were about 30 in the year with very few drop outs. Most went on to finish the degree which I guess showed it was a popular course at the time. I'm currently organising a reunion from it and I can tell you that none stayed in law. Finance, pensions, IT but not law.

hmmm not one, that pretty interesting...

law cant be that bad ;)

Well let me qualify that a little bit, the reunion is just of my friends from the year, none of which went in to law. I understand some of the class continued with their legal studies and in turn went on to become qualified solicitors. However, I'd say we're talking a very small bunch and at the end of the day, the degree didn't really advance them in that quest as they still had to sit the entrance exams for Blackhall place (FE1's). All the degree gives you is an exemption from the peliminary exam (which any degree would give you). Obviously a degree in legal studies would make studying for the FE1's a bit easier (that prep would take a further year in say Griffith College) but by the time you get your FE1's out of the way you've been studying for five years and then your up against law graduates from Trinity, UCD et al for your apprenticship. If I was hiring graduates it's easier to go for traditional law graduates from university than those who came in the long way around via say WIT, ie. if they were that strong, why didn't they do a pure law degree in university in the first place ?

So it can be done (a career in law) but I suppose many graduates didn't have the appetite, time, perseverence, money too stick at it and ended up in other areas of business. Although there's very little practical application of my degree in my job now I'm still glad I did a degree in humanities and ten years on I'm not sure what other course I would have enjoyed or got more out of.

well if ya want something you're sure as hell gonna put in the blood, sweat and tears, i know what your sayin about the whole uni thing,

i gotta get my degree in wit, do my FE1s, when thats done, itll be work and kings inn by night to be a barristor, then another 10 years practicing until i can apply to become a judge...

the next 16 years are gonna be a barrel of laughs...

Not sure FE1's are necessary for becomming a barrister, I think that's purely the solicitor route. A description of the process is outlined here

http://www.courts.ie/Courts.ie/Library3.nsf/pagecurrent/56BFCA7D7F3F6E5D80256DA900417447

You may want to check if the WIT degree is considered a 'law degree' for the purpose of gaining entrance to the Kings Inn.

Anyhoo, best of luck, there might be an economy worth working in by the time you've left WIT :)

lol. no i want to be a solicitor, as a route to being a judge, and im more likely to become a judge as a barrister so ill be both... its ok, the wit degree is ok for kings inn, bit of a mail a few weeks ago... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 wellrover

do any of ye know what d crimnal justice course is like?

one of the lads i know is doin it, he loves it but theres alot of reading.

thats about all i can tell ya sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Mini

hi guys,

sorry for the thread hi jack but does any one know if they have decided to do the degree course in legal studies at night yet?

There are a few of us from my part time who would love to go back and complete it part time.

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Ashlinggnilsia

Is the anyone here apply for or thinking of apply for the One year add-on course Honours Degree in legal studies with Business 2010/2011, or does anyone no say how popular that will be?

Im in C.I.T at the moment but have done a bit of Law in my course and have since realised how much I like it and I had no clue I would. I will have my ordinary degree this time next year and well basically I want to do that one year add on sept next year....I emailed the head of arts in WIT and he said I may be considered depending on my results so basically work my ass off and get a distinction in my degree and I may have a chance but im sure the amount of people who will want to do that course will also make a difference .... i.e. I know WIT students will get first preference and the only way i even have a chance is if there is space in the class and i do good obv.