Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Heavyweight Championship

• 09-10-2008 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭

Just opening this for discussion on the upcoming Heavyweight title fights:

IBF+WBO: Wladimir Klitschko vs Alexander Povetkin in December
    WBC: Samuel Peter vs Vitali Klitschko this weekend october 11th
    WBA: Nikolai Valuev vs TBA (most likely Evander Holyfeild!!!) in December
    Honestly, its being considered: http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=16324

So ahead of this weekend:

If Peter wins does he face mandatories and hand picked voluntaries or go after unification?
    If Klitschko wins what does he do? Obvioulsy he wont be looking for unification or a long reign. I have a funny feeling he'll challenge Haye :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Valuev v Holyfield? Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Holyfield has been offered the fight and we know he's mad for a title shot so he will take it. i hoe he gets it and calls it a day but we know he'll want to unify the titles then!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Holyfield should be put down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

For his age, he is in great shape. But he's hardly anything like the Evander of old. He should just put his boots away and call it a day. He's accomplished everything a man can accomplish in boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Come back Lennox Lewis. The heavyweight division has dropped to such a low standard that you look like the greatest heavyweight ever right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Vitali is back and would beat the rest, lewis aswell, he wont fight his brother so i dont know where it will all go!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

Well, Holyfield's still got to prove something to himself.
    He was refused a boxing licence years ago somewhere ....

But Im not too surprised, and he still a good contender.

I think Samuel peter will take the place as top heavyweight, Vitali is a long time out of a ring, and you can only speculate as to what his performance will be like.

Povetkin is up there too, and will beat Wlad Klitsko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Gib Srae

I actually fancy Peter tonight but for one thing: his weight.

How fast a routine does he hope to establish at 253 pounds.

He is heavier than his opponent which in my opinion is bad news for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

the fact that vitali can come back after 4 years and destoy peter shows that:
    A) lennox lewis was the best heavyweight of our generation
    b) this generation of heavyweights is awfull.

this should stop the lennox critcs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I thought Vitali would mention Valuev alright: http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=16382

By the way is Valuev the "proper WBA champion" or just the interim if Chagaev is champ in recess.

Vitali must face Juan Carlos Gomez in a mandatory in 90 days and Valuev has a voluntary defence in December. Didnt think Vitali planned on being that active but I hope he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

Arent the Klitscko's so bloody boring to watch though ,.....Sam Peter was dreadful .
    Peter would have cme out of that fight with a little more respect if he went all out and got KO'ed himself.
    You cant damage your reputation any more than quitting before you are beaten.

Heartless Samuel Peter..... I know if I was given the chance at wearing a green belt ,I would be fight to the brink of death for it. And 95% of poor,hungry hopefuls would do the same.

peter dosent deserve a future in boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    Arent the Klitscko's so bloody boring to watch though ,.....Sam Peter was dreadful .
    Peter would have cme out of that fight with a little more respect if he went all out and got KO'ed himself.
    You cant damage your reputation any more than quitting before you are beaten.

Heartless Samuel Peter..... I know if I was given the chance at wearing a green belt ,I would be fight to the brink of death for it. And 95% of poor,hungry hopefuls would do the same.

peter dosent deserve a future in boxing.

exactly odd-job. with a rousing speech like that i think you are just what this country needs to get back on its feet:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

exactly odd-job. with a rousing speech like that i think you are just what this country needs to get back on its feet:D

I agree with Nacho Libre. ODD-JOB for Taoiseach.

Povetkin is injured and Wlad is looking for a replacement. Valuev not an option this year and Toney looks the best option.
    http://www.eastsideboxing.com/news.php?p=17644&more=1

So does this still count as his mandatory? if not it will probably result in him getting stripped of the title down the line for bigger fights or bigger fights been put back to keep the belt.

Wlad is fighting Rahman on December 13th
    http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=6070&cat=boxer

and apparently Valuev-Holyfield is very close for the 20th December.
    http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=499&cat=boxer

Prizefighter

8 heavyweights battle it out for the prize of $500,000 and a shot at a world heavyweight title.

Holyfield vs Bowe
    Seldon vs Toney
    Golota vs Mercer
    McCall vs Golota

(Rahman and Maskaev on standby)

* $250,000 for runner up
    $100,000 for losing semi finalists
    $50,000 for losing quarter finalists

Winner takes $500,000 and gets a world heavyweight title shot. Win lose or draw the fighter must retire after this fight and gets a further $500,000 for doing so and gaurantees not to box on. The rest of the fighters get one last fight in their hometown if they wish. The opponent shall be selected from a list of journeymen. After this funds will be allocated for training in a field of the fighters choice. Coaching, officiating, media/commentating, public speaking etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Holyfield vs Bowe
    Seldon vs Toney
    Golota vs Mercer
    McCall vs Golota

Jaysus, what have you got against poor Andy ?
    At least give him a break between fights !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

srry wrong thread

megadodge wrote: »
    Jaysus, what have you got against poor Andy ?
    At least give him a break between fights !

Hahaha, cant remember who else I has in mind. Sure throw Rahman in if he loses against Wlad.