Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you consider Immigrants as being Irish...?

• 08-10-2008 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭

Well this one annoys me sometimes, I just dont know, Do you consider people born and raised in Ireland to immigrant parents to be Irish or whatever their parents nationality is?

By that i mean they were born in an Irish hospital, lived ALL their life in Ireland and went to irish schools etc. etc.

Personally i think they should be called Irish or Irish of "Whatever" Descent.

What does everyone else think?

What do you think? 94 votes

Yes they're as Irish as anyone else born in the country
    0% 0 votes
    No They're foreign no matter how long they live in ireland
    42% 40 votes
    atari jaguar
    57% 54 votes
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Yes no matter where they go Irish immigrants will always be considered Irish.

What really annoys me is Americans whose Great-Great Grandparents came from here call themselves Irsh in an attempt to claim some kind of identity for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

If they were born here and lived here all their lives then ye they're Irish, if they moved over here 3 years ago and got an Irish passport then I wouldn't consider them Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

I think they should be called 'schmiznobots'.

Or we could just stop categorising people into perfect little boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I'm watching this topic and any no votes will be taken as a direct insult to my daughter :mad:

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

It depends on whether they can play soccer or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

you didnt really get what i meant, i meant immigrants COMING to ireland from the likes of Europe and North Africa etc.
    Would the Immigrants children provided they were born and raised and live all their lives in Ireland be considered Irish in your eyes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I blame the normans, or was it the vikings.

can you quit all the bull****, its not funny and never will be.

now go keep yor mah occupied, im trying to type and she wont get away from me(Dirty b1tch she is :p)

(Wow just noticed this is my 200th post....

and what a great one it is :pac:)

Now back on topic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Depends. If they integrate into Irish society, go to Irish schools and consider themselves Irish, then they're Irish.

If they don't integrate, don't mix with Irish and still speak predominantly in the language of their parents, then I'm don't consider them Irish and they most likely don't either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Does it really matter what little patch of turf you were born on. Relax lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

can you quit all the bull****, its not funny and never will be.

That's a blatant lie. It's hilarious.

And, yes, if you're born in Ireland and grow up here then you're Irish. Hell - in my mind if you grow up here you're Irish no matter where you're born.

I want more black, asian and hispanic Irish people. God knows we need some lookers (both men and women!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭hot2def

i was born overseas and moved here when I was three, I don't remember anywhere else, and I am now 27.

I get little 18 year old durts telling me I am not irish all the time, but I have a passport that says different and I have lived here longer than them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

go to Irish schools

If they live in Ireland then what other schools would they go to? Jaysus - it'd be a far auld commute to get to an English school every morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

It depends on the individual and what they identify with themselves. Most kids who have grown up here talk with our slang, go through the same education system,etc. I would consider them Irish. But if they would rather be identified by their parents' nationality, who am I to tell them differently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

hot2def wrote: »
    i was born overseas and moved here when I was three, I don't remember anywhere else, and I am now 27.

I get little 18 year old durts telling me I am not irish all the time, but I have a passport that says different and I have lived here longer than them...

True if you have an irish passport your Irish. Although try liken being an irish citizen to a president of the united states. The more irish there is in him the happier we are even if it is 3%.

Look at it from this perspective; your siblings emigrates to USA. They snub their family in ireland and you never hear from them again they never come home and they speak with an american accent and vote in USA and have kids, and have no intention of ever returning. They have embraced the american culture and will retire in Florida. They haven't kept any irish culture and only ambition. Are they still irish or irish american or american.
    Whats an american.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

its not funny and never will be.

yor mah

ClioV6 wrote: »

sorry wasnt clear enough in what i said....

It is FUNNY but only when a sex-eh person like me says it :pac:

not ye olde typical butt ugly AH poster (you know who you are :D)

anyways
    back to what we were talking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

There are many variables.

If they were not born here, but have spent a large portion of time here and gained citizenship, I wouldn't consider them Irish. Take my friend's father for example. He was born in England but has spent actually more of his life in Ireland than England - However, he still has his southern English accent and his quirky English humour. So to me, he's still English.

Now - If someone is born here, but to foreign parents - it would depend on how they are brought up. Now of course, they are going to be of Irish Nationality.. But sometimes, the culture of the parents may rub off on the children and they may not embrace Irish culture. If that was the case, I would probably associate them with their parents nationality.

If they embraced Ireland, picked up the slang/culture and so forth - Then I'd associate them as Irish.

You have to ask yourself - If they went away to another country and someone heard them speak and interact - What nationality would they consider them?

So in closing, I didn't select either answer because the OP's question was too black/white for a question that has many possible answers.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If they live in Ireland then what other schools would they go to? Jaysus -

In some parts of the UK the immigrant population is so large that they have set up their own schools for their own children! they can almost live their entire lives without interacting with the "natives".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No, but I consider the children of immigrants born here to be Irish.

, go to Irish schools and consider themselves Irish, then they're Irish.

well...

That cuts out about 95% of the population for starters ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Feckin blow-ins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Even if the child of immigrants is born here then they are no longer automatically Irish so I dont get this thread. Did we not vote to stop this practice several years ago ? I certainly did.

Furthermore if they are raised by there parents then they are not immersed in the Irish culture as pretty much most of but not all of the foreigners keep to themselves except for work reasons. So they are not immersed in the Irish way of life and therefore they are not Irish in my eyes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

How about born in Ireland emigrants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Well essentially I'm from Dundalk 'cos I was born there, but I lived in Monaghan 'til I was four. I then moved to Dublin and I consider myself a Dubliner. Does the same thing not apply to countries? Someone born of two Italians in Ireland, who lives their lives here, are educated here and go to school here as far as I'm concerned is Irish.

They may also enjoy their own culture and that's great. To me they are Irish - of Italian descent. Much like I'm half Irish, half Scottish, though I'm sure if I looked into it I'd be one fifth English, Scottish, Irish, Welsh, and possibly Japanese.

Point is. Does it really matter. You are what you believe you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

Dr. Loon wrote: »

Point is. Does it really matter. You are what you believe you are.

Yeah, there is definitely a bit of an Irish obsession with "where you are from"... Dublin.. Kerry, Galway.. Irish .. not Irish.. etc..

Great way for people from one place, with parents from the same place, to exclude other people...

Like one of my parents is not from Dublin.. so I have been told I am not a proper Dub....,

Thats at one end of the scale... on the other ..

Quote "You are what you believe you are" , is probably open to some sillyness. Around here.. that would mean about 33% of people are from "YourMa"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

OP, you fuked up the thread by asking about immigrants in the thread title, then in the first post you obviously mean the children of immigrants. So, the result of the poll will not answer the question you meant to ask.

I'd say an awful lot of 'us' are the -children of immigrants, if you go back far enough.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

snyper wrote: »
    It depends on whether they can play soccer or not.
    True, that would make them English.

The genetic makeup of a person has very little to do with their national identity, imho. Immigrant children will be as Irish as Mick Lally, regardless of their appearance. I do think we need to slow or halt the number of immigrants coming into the country or the country won't be able to absorb the population. The last thing we want is ghettoisation.

I am proud of the way we have taken on massive numbers of immigrants over the last few years without riots in the streets, however, not many countries you could say that about.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Well the state doesn't. My mate's kid, born in the Gaeltacht, is not allowed call himself Irish. His mother's country won't allow him have her nationality either. Of course, if he turns out to be able to kick a ball they'll all change their tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

Depends. If they integrate into Irish society, go to Irish schools and consider themselves Irish, then they're Irish.

If they don't integrate, don't mix with Irish and still speak predominantly in the language of their parents, then I'm don't consider them Irish and they most likely don't either.

You've hit the nail on the head. Bravo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

What is it to be Irish (or any other nationality) anyway? To be able to drink 20 gazillion pints and not pass out? To be able to play Hurling or Gaelic football? To be late as possible for pre-organised meetings (i.e 'fashionably late')? To be able to play the fiddle?

The quicker the we get rid of this backwards thinking the quicker we will be able to progress forward as a country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I do not.

And I often have a laugh with the Polish lads at work when I call them the "new Irish". They go fookin mental, and insist that they are Polish and always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Your thread title is completely different to the poll question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

ireland has a way of intergrating people -it did it to the english -anyone who lives in ireland for any number of years soon forgets his own nationality and starts to think he or she is irish----i have to go back three generations to find my irish grand parents --but the moment i land in ireland i become irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

This is my opinion also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Define "immigrant". Basically every one of us is an immigrant from somewhere if you go far enough back in history. Some people seem to think that migration in general is a recent phenomenon, but again go back in history a little while and you'll discover that people back then were a lot more mobile than you might have thought, and it was also a lot easier too (passports and the idea of a formal notion of nationality are also a relatively recent phenomenon).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

I think its up to the person themselves. If they consider themselves Irish then fair enough. If they want to keep the culture and language of their parents countries then their not Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You have to have drank at least 10,000 cups of tea and eat more than 200 fine big feeds of bacon and cabbage to consider yourself Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

grahamo wrote: »
    I think its up to the person themselves. If they consider themselves Irish then fair enough. If they want to keep the culture and language of their parents countries then their not Irish.
    I want to be Chinese, so if I believe it's true, then it is? Are the 10th generation Americans that call themselves Irish really Irish just because they say so??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

Depend on if they understand the rules of GAA. If they don't, they're not true Irish!

Pete macarthy broadcaster and writer of two irish bestselling books he was born in warington of irish parents tells of a conversation he had with a irish scientist, who like him believes that anyone who has irish blood in them ,when they come to ireland .has a gene that recognizes its home---i know i am off the thread but had to pass it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

It would depend on their attitude tbh. If they want to embrace living in a Western European country with all the rights, freedoms, privileges and responsibilities that entails then they're more than welcome to call themselves Irish and I'd think of them of such.

If however they'd rather remain in a way of life that embraces mysogyny, insularity, repression, religious stupidity and indolence then they can go home.

I don't regard itinerant workers as anything other than hailing from their country of origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭el_bandita

caoibhin wrote: »
    And I often have a laugh with the Polish lads at work when I call them the "new Irish". They go fookin mental, and insist that they are Polish and always will be.

I bet their children will think otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

If i move to England, France of the States in the morning and live their for 50 years then i am still Irish.

If you are born in Ireland, then you are Irish.

If in England, English. If in Nigeria, Nigerian.

Not hard to grasp really.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Dragan wrote: »
    If i move to England, France of the States in the morning and live their for 50 years then i am still Irish.

If you are born in Ireland, then you are Irish.

If in England, English. If in Nigeria, Nigerian.

Not hard to grasp really.

Pretty simplistic, although I appreciate it as a vain effort to fob Chris de Burgh off on the Argies.

brilliant --dragon--i now know i am lancashire/irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

el_bandita wrote: »
    I bet their children will think otherwise.

I don't think they'd appreciate being called "new" Irish also. Labels them as different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

Well this one annoys me sometimes, I just dont know, Do you consider people born and raised in Ireland to immigrant parents to be Irish or whatever their parents nationality is?

By that i mean they were born in an Irish hospital, lived ALL their life in Ireland and went to irish schools etc. etc.

Personally i think they should be called Irish or Irish of "Whatever" Descent.

What does everyone else think?

Yes I would say yes obviously.
    and I would hope that those kids see themselves as Irihs or Irishe and something else ratehr than something else.