Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remember the Training Centre?

• 08-10-2008 9:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭

Anybody recognise this place?

picture.php?albumid=228&pictureid=1073

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

its the college. That building now has rooms for visitors. Heard they are quite nice. You can see the Devils Bit in the background and I think the white building in the background is now Eddie Joe's pub. My favourite pub!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How old is the pic, Clada?

I'm guessing early 1970's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

1970's:eek::eek::eek:

Ya cheeky pup.

September 1985.

In 1985 that building was the forbidden zone, female block.:cool:

The grass area in front is now a landscaped garden (am I correct?)
    Everything else has been built on.

Note the 3 lads with the standard tight fitting adidas gear:D

Here's another one.

The motorbikes are Honda 500N and yes there are 2 box granadas outside the driving school.

picture.php?albumid=228&pictureid=1074

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Wow so old Clada, so old. Did you take these picks when you were down there? ;)

The main building remains but theres now dorms built on either end and at the front coming across towards the drtiving school section. So now the building spreads around the parade ground and down the landscaped garden. Last time I was there they were building some new offices at the back where tactic town used to be, I presume its well finished by now.

And dont ever, ever give me a fright like that again! A man needs warning before seeing hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

I thought ye meant the women block was the training centre, ah the mammaries ahem memories.

The place looks well these days in fairness improving all the time.

I hated the place but loved the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

CLADA wrote: »
    Anybody recognise this place?

picture.php?albumid=228&pictureid=1073

Can ya see members strategically hidden in the hedges outside womens block and the gun turrets on either side of the building - waitin to catch some young fella trying to get in or god forbid OUT:eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Eeh,

Ah remember when it were 3 to a room. Jeez, I have sports pics somewhere from the late 80s-only remembered it when you mentioned cling on adidas gear. I think someone somewhere in there had a nixer selling it. Funny to see the driving school, I did the courses there in 1993 and didn't return to "there" till 2003. Had a lovely spin down on a summer's day but as soon as I passed Roscrea and saw the church steeple in the distance my stomach sank like a stone-like it always did.

That said I wish I could drink now how I drank then....

Last time I was there they were building some new offices at the back where tactic town used to be, I presume its well finished by now.

The new building is finished. In it is (Top Floor) Admin and staff offices, (second floor) library and computer room, (first floor) first aid room and the PCT room, (ground floor) has cafeteria and the shop
    yayamark wrote: »
    I hated the place but loved the craic.

brayblue24 wrote: »
    Eeh,

Ah remember when it were 3 to a room. Jeez, I have sports pics somewhere from the late 80s-only remembered it when you mentioned cling on adidas gear. I think someone somewhere in there had a nixer selling it. Funny to see the driving school, I did the courses there in 1993 and didn't return to "there" till 2003. Had a lovely spin down on a summer's day but as soon as I passed Roscrea and saw the church steeple in the distance my stomach sank like a stone-like it always did.

That said I wish I could drink now how I drank then....

I met a fella down there when I was a student and he was a full time member. This is the conversation:

Me: Ye here for the driving course?
    Him: Yeah had to do it. The Super said either do it or I cant drive
    Me: How long ye in the job? (he looked in his 40's)
    Him: in the job since 1983
    Me: 1983? (asking increduosly) Why didn't ye do the course before?
    Him: Cos I ****in hate this placee!!!!!!!!!! Always have, always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

The comments above are identical to what plenty of fireman think about the DFB training center. There is obviously come sort of genetic hatred of the training institutions of our organisations. A lot of senior fireman refuse point blank to set foot in the " college of flames".

Ah remember when it were 3 to a room. Jeez,

This is going to sound a bit monty pythonish but:

"3 to a room! We would have killed to have 3 to a room"

Check out this pic, there were 8 beds in this room, two against each wall and a wardrobe each:o

The face of the innocent has been obscured to protect his identity:D

picture.php?albumid=228&pictureid=1078

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

CLADA, you wouldn't have any photos of the Gary Sheehan memorial garden that you could post up?

This is going to sound a bit monty pythonish but:

"3 to a room! We would have killed to have 3 to a room"

Check out this pic, there were 8 beds in this room, two against each wall and a wardrobe each:o

The face of the innocent has been obscured to protect his identity:D

Ha ha that room was on the end of my corridor- but it was for class 1 we were class 2!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭opti76

theres a fountain in the front garden now that a certain member ended up in in his speedos the night before his passing out

opti76 wrote: »
    theres a fountain in the front garden now that a certain member ended up in in his speedos the night before his passing out
    I heard a student pee'd in the fountain

or

was he pee'd in it and then fell in

or

he fell in and then pee'd in it

can;t remember but it definitely involved either peeing in it or falling in

TheNog wrote: »
    I heard a student pee'd in the fountain

or

was he pee'd in it and then fell in

or

he fell in and then pee'd in it

can;t remember but it definitely involved either peeing in it or falling in
    well this member launched myself.. ahem himself into it for a bet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Jeez, those sheets look exactly like the ones used in the DF right now. Uncanny resemblence to the beds in the Glen :pac: I guess the gov is gettin value for its money lol :D

Have a look at the bed on the left of the pic.

Every morning the bed had to be stripped and the blankets and sheets folded.
    The blankets had to be folded in such a way that the black stripe was along the crease, they had to be put at the foot of the bed in the following sequence: blanket, sheet, blanket, sheet, blanket and pillow on top with pyjamas.

I shlt you not. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Did anyone ever figure out what those weird noises were you'd hear in the middle of the night in the accommodation blocks. Sounded like taps being used in the rooms. Especially on Thursday nights. Weird.

subtle very subtle deadwood

deadwood wrote: »
    Did anyone ever figure out what those weird noises were you'd hear in the middle of the night in the accommodation blocks. Sounded like taps being used in the rooms. Especially on Thursday nights. Weird.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

deadwood wrote: »

Hmmmmmmmmmm i wonder sunday nights as well or night of a big champions league game.

The ****ing radiators and pipes never stopped banging. The heat in those room was cruel. No wonder so many had flus all year round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

yayamark wrote: »
    Hmmmmmmmmmm i wonder sunday nights as well or night of a big champions league game.

The ****ing radiators and pipes never stopped banging. The heat in those room was cruel. No wonder so many had flus all year round.

Lots were sick, especially on tuesday mornings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

when i (reluctantly) went back for the driving course, my stomach turned as soon as i reached the horse and jockey.

I have vowed, never again to go back there for any reason..

pa990 wrote: »
    when i (reluctantly) went back for the driving course, my stomach turned as soon as i reached the horse and jockey.

I have vowed, never again to go back there for any reason..

How will you pick up your Scott medal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

How will you pick up your Scott medal?

LOL :D

No offence pa990