Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ASP Batons

• 07-10-2008 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

Hello all,

Was talking to an ASP instructor recently who informed me that once i have passed the ASP course with the 21 inch baton, i was entitled to go to the stores in Dublin and upgrade to the 26 inch ASP by just handing my originial one over. Have any members done this?

Have any members changed the ASP holder provided by the job for another brand?

Are any of you using the wrist strap?

Just curious on your opinions.

Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

ScubaDave wrote: »
    Hello all,

Was talking to an ASP instructor recently who informed me that once i have passed the ASP course with the 21 inch baton, i was entitled to go to the stores in Dublin and upgrade to the 26 inch ASP by just handing my originial one over. Have any members done this?

Have any members changed the ASP holder provided by the job for another brand?

Are any of you using the wrist strap?

Just curious on your opinions.

Dave

No problem changing ASP in stores, 26inch is very annoying on belt though. Have changed holder and i find lanyard that screws on at cap good - dont know the jobs official policy on adding things to ASP though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

It very much depends on who you talk to in the stores, some are giving out 26" ASPs & some aren't. It seems to be pot luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

I assume you have to throw something on paper and that you can't just show up and change it?

Anyone I know who changed it just went up & got a straight swap, no paper required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

city4life wrote: »
    have the sidebreak holder myself and a different cap, makes it easier to pull out of the holder. the holder we got are muck anyway. i assume the job will say its not official issue, despite being made by asp for their baton....

Theres no problem using the sidebreak holster as they have been issued to some sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭m4j

Sorry for intruding, I bought for home protection the sixteen inch ASP many years ago from an army supply shop in the UK (by Post), I am aware that this is no problem to have once left at home, I now would not mind buying another ASP as the old one is not great, its handy to have and is easy to use should we every encounter a break in (it also adds peace of mind in certain respects), I also like it as kept out of sight etc etc. Is it still possible for me to purchase one myself or is there now an issue with buying same here in Ireland.

Sorry again for moving off topic any insight would be welcome.

Many thanks:)

m4j wrote: »
    I now would not mind buying another ASP as the old one is not great,

Not encouraging you to incriminate yourself, but are you saying you've worn it out :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Sorry for intruding, I bought for home protection the sixteen inch ASP many years ago from an army supply shop in the UK
    The size doesn't matter. It's all in the swing.;)

You raise an interesting issue about reasonable force etc. People have samurai swords as "ornaments".

I often hear of people wanting to obtain/renew firearms for "protection" which isn't allowed, but is common enough. Probably a topic for a new thread.

Hi Clada,

No never would I or even consider it I am not that type of person nor would I ever feel the need to be in such a position to consider something like that. (sorry Clada I thought you said taken it outside, apologies, Ha Ha I am an egit)

It was a very old one I got many years ago that was kept at my wifes side of the bed when I worked shifts a number of years ago now. my question was an innocent one purely out of interest in relation to the fact that the ASP is easy to store in the side sheilf in the bedroom and at one time was readily available to purchase. We have never had reason to be concerned in relation to break ins but you never can tell and peace of mind is important in this day and age.

Sorry for any confusion and if it is now illigal I will not and do not want a new one.

Warm regards

Deadwood that is an interesting topic, we had a neighbour who displayed samurai swords on their bedroom window still (I know Classy people) but I often wondered if such was in fact legal, here I am worried about the legalities of a sixteen inch piece of steal yet there is a baseball bat lying on the floor in the spare room used for hitting balls for the dog. I also note that you can buy a keyring called a kubaton (the real one with the spikes) that is so vicious looking yet appears to be legal as its a key ring? How many head the balls have this type of thing out there that members may come into contact with.

Sorry again Clada about my last post, completly missed the point:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Does the old holder still hold the 26inch baton? Tempted to change as you may have worked out!

They'll give you a new scabbard with the 26" ASP.

The sidebreak is a good scabbard, the 21" scabbard will accept the 26" baton, but you'd probably be more comfortable with a 26" one.

ASP do two different end caps and the lanyard cap. The grip cap & the leverage cap are both of a bigger diameter than the handle, so it's harder to be pulled from your hand & if dropped it'll roll in a circle rather than away from you. The lanyard cap is the same size as the end cap on the baton, but it's got the cord running through it. They're all good quality & it's a matter of personal preference. The lanyard cap is the only one that will fit in the issue scabbard though.

Sorry again Clada about my last post, completly missed the point:o

No problem m4j, it's an old garda trick, say one thing and mean another;).

You made a good point there about the baseball bat, the average home is full of everyday items that can be used as weapons.

No offence but you have to consider the wisdom of having an ASP at your wifes side of the bed for protection. Would she use it? Would she be able to use it?

If not, a weapon like that could be turned on you very quickly.

In the unlikely event (putting your mind at ease:D) that you ever heard strange noises in your home at night, an "intruders on" call always gets an immediate response, and djtechnics1210 has a new 26" ASP he's just itching to use;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

No problem changing ASP in stores, 26inch is very annoying on belt though. Have changed holder and i find lanyard that screws on at cap good - dont know the jobs official policy on adding things to ASP though.

Went to change but didnt in the end. Kept the original holder as the ones they are giving now seem to be better than the original ones (that had an iron grip on the asp).

Be warned, adding or changing existing items reduces your cover from prosecutions and injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

CLADA wrote: »
    In the unlikely event (putting your mind at ease:D) that you ever heard strange noises in your home at night, an "intruders on" call always gets an immediate response, and djtechnics1210 has a new 26" ASP he's just itching to use;)

By the time i got the ASP out of the official issue holster id say the court case would be over and all, those ones on issue are brutal. But i'll go never the less and use calm words to call out the intruders!!!;):D

Thank you Clada your a star,

You are dead right though in regards to whether or not my wife could use it, I caught a man trying to take my car one night, while calling the Gardai I managed to hold onto him (sadly without the ASP but a very leagally held fist) they arrived as always very quickly and removed the man to the station, after which I went back in the house to find my wife still holding the phone in shock, it is strange how some people react. however, on saying this she did chase off lads trying to get over a neighbours wall one night (honestly we do live in a nice area), but you can never tell how someone will react. I do hope the chances of it happening with the dog in the house etc are slim (touching wood and blessing myself)

djtechnics1210, if I do ever find myself in that position I promise I will hold them while you try out the 26ince baton if you want:D. Its best to be warmed up first. I do hope however you get the answers your looking for and apologies again for taking away from your original post.

Many thanks