Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DJ Soc

• 06-10-2008 10:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

Was thinking of setting up a DJ Soc. Anyone interested, or even interested in setting it up with me? Have few ideas what we could do. Any suggestions welcome too, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭DecentBee

Uh, isn't there already an electronic music soc? They used to do DJing tutorials and whatnot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

I joined the electronic music society last year and it pretty much fell apart half-way through the year because the main man, Damo Kay i think his name was, dropped out of DCU.
    We were promised the moon and the stars of tutorials from top djs, trips away etc etc but I think there was only 1 tutorial and then I never heard anything again.
    You should try and find out from the others who were running it last year if they are still keeping it going and if not you could revive it yourself which would be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Art_Wolf

Yeah I woudl say try to revive it - you would at least have a couple of turntables to work with ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

Ye. But would it make more sence to set up my own soc, so we could get funding? Or what you think? Anyone wanna give me a hand? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Art_Wolf

Well if the electronic music soc *are* dead it would be better to bring it back - you would then have an established soc to work with - and its respective contacts and bank account etc.

If the soc are not dead then it would be recommended to try and get them to run the events/try and get on committee and run them.

This is cause it can be an issue when trying to start up a soc who's activites are already covered by another - there is precedence but it is at times the more difficult road to travel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

cabla wrote: »
    Ye. But would it make more sence to set up my own soc, so we could get funding? Or what you think? Anyone wanna give me a hand? lol

Hey Dude Alan here, i am the chair of the societies and publications committee,as far as i know electronic music are still "alive" but however they don't seem to be active. If they dont have a table tomorrow at the C+S day it is fairly safe to say they arnt.

But, as they were active at least last year they are not "dead", as societies are only deemed to be "dead" after 18 months without activity. So theoretically they are still there. You would be better reviving them.

PM with your email address if you are interested in doing this.

Cheers,

Al

Thanks Alan, just PM'd you.

Art-Wolf, whats the craic with the bank account. I havn't a clue how clubs can afford things. I know they get funding, but music soc is quite big, and dividing it up might be tough, no?

Cus you know yourself, DJ gear aint cheap, and im sure tutors aint cheap too. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Hey Dude Alan here, i am the chair of the societies and publications committee...
    He's really tall too so he gives good advice...

As for funding, well Music Soc and Electronic Soc are two totally different entities so when they apply for funding they do it separately hence it wouldn't be an issue. Art_Wolf is right regarding reviving a dead soc versus setting up your own, at least that way you have an established name to start working from and all the annoying work like setting up a bank account and constitution is taken care of already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

The DJ Soc is simply there to enable the few who do DJ in DCU to compete under this banner against the other 3rd level institutions in DJ heats and other competitions.

If you had an old pair of deckks at home or wanted help with reason, abelton or FL Studios, well dont except anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭ding_dong

ive messed around with Fruity loops before but never got the hang of it >_>

Good luck regardless :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Pris

Howya Cabla,

I'm doing a postgrad course in DCU this year and was looking for DJ soc to join. The techno and electro soc was advertised but there was no one there on socs day.
    I've done some basic sound editing, working on radio mostly, and CDJs, I have no vinyl knowledge at all but would like to fix that. I'd be well up for getting involved if you're still on for reviving the soc?

Pris I pmd you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 mrs.vandoorn

there was a random guy there on clubs and socs day wit the electronic music soc ! gave me a flyer 4 21s and took my email never heard anything back :( i wanna get involved but dont know how like ! any ideas ??:confused:

Hmmm thats weird. Cus im pretty sure its gone, talking to clubs people too. All going to plan there should be mass email about it on friday or thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 mrs.vandoorn

naivety gave him 3euro aswell :mad: i want my money ! bad man takin advantage of us lil freshers