Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I need some help

• 03-10-2008 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

I'm in a bit of a situation at the moment and really need some advice. I've recently started a course somewhere, Its only been a month but I'm getting on grand, its very interesting and all that. Its been held in a multi-purpose building, theres loads of people coming and going for various different reasons. The other day I saw someone who used to live around my area - proper skanger, mad lad, gangster - whatever, in the building. To say he was pleased to see me is the furthest possible away from the truth. He was throwing the dirtiest looks I've ever seen. He and his mates are/where having a 'war' with some lads around my area - its fairly serious - these people are pure and utter scum, and wouldn't think twice about sticking a knife in you.

The next day he brought some of his friends down and the four of them where staring at me constantly - we're talking major intimidation here. I left fairly quickly and that was that. The thing is I reckon I'll be jumped on pretty soon by the these scumbags just because they recognise me from around there old area. I've nothing to do with whatever there little feud is about - I'm looking to get on and do something with my life and this course was one of the steps in doing this. I have to reiterate that these people wouldn't give a second thought to kicking you to death if they knew they could get away with it.

What should/can I do? I could just drop out of the course - but thats like giving these scum a one up and I really don't want that out of principle and desire to finish the course. I don't even think I can goto the Guards, I haven't been threatened by them - so there's no laws been broken. I could just take a beating, hope thats it and get on with it - but that would obviously be painful - possibly even life debilitating - I don't know how far these thugs would go. I feel fairly lost right now, I really don't want to be associated with this part of society - I'm being dragged in over something I have nothing to do with.

Has anyone any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

Hey,

I'm sensing the gravity of the situation here and I'm not sure that I can offer the greatest of advice. Anyway, I think that you should try to make it appear that they are not 'getting' to you. I mean, don't look scared when you see them around. Just take a look at them, remain calm, and get on with your own thing. I have been in difficult situations before and a big trigger to something bad happening is if the aggressor senses fear in the victim.

I certainly wouldn't leave the course anyway.

Kevin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

This could be totally wrong, so ill throw it out and as you're the one who really knows him and the scene its your judgement call..

go up to him, say "i can see you're pissed off having me around here for some reason, i got no beef with you, i've got x weeks left on my course and i'll be out of you're face"

do it in the building where he cant/prob wont go for you.. then after that you can gauge from his reaction whether he can accept it or he REALLY wants you gone.. then make the judgement call

it could be that he's doing something that he just doesnt want anyone from his neighbourhood knowing about... that could be anywhere from seeing a counsellor(embarrasment on his part), to casing the joint to rob it(you're in his way)... whats he doing there? Have you no idea why he doesnt want you around so much??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Is it a day course or a night course?

If it's a day course, there will surely be a lot of other people around - students, lecturers, staff, possibly even security, depending on where you are. If this is the case I'd approach your lecturer and explain the situation without any histrionics. Just let them know that you're feeling a bit uncomfortable and see what they suggest.

If it's a night class, talk to some other people in your class (not about this). Find out if any others get the same bus as you, or if you're driving, see if anyone needs a lift in your direction - that way you'll have company leaving the building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Please tell the porter/receptionist/security guard - just give them a brief lowdown & mention you feel threatened.

Do they (the scumbags) have any business being in the place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi again,

I see where your all coming from and if these people where decent folk, all your approaches would work. The thing is they aren't. After talking to some of my friends i've decided to try and get a transfer into the same course in a different location, its not the ideal situation but I don't want to have to watch my back everyday just because some scum see me as an easy target and a way to make them selfs look 'harder' or what ever they call it these days. I'm glad I posted my problem here, just putting it in words made me realise a solution, even if its not the best - but its better then been put in hospital over nothing. Thanks again.