Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Films not certified for Ireland/Banned/Censored

• 03-10-2008 3:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭

Recently King of New York was released on Region 2 in a lovely steelbook package. However, there's no Irish rating on it and for years now the Irish ratings have been printed on the disc. Does anyone know what the story is with this ? I'm aware that because it costs distrubutors extra to get an Irish cert on top of paying the BBFC for their cert (the BBFC being a much more transparent and understandable organisation, the IFCO being a complete sham) some distributors may choose not to release a dvd here...

Wikipedia list the film "Baise Moi" has still banned yet I saw it with an Irish cert in Tower records last week...

I'm sure the Passion of the Christ/Bad Santa fiasco has been debated plenty here but what's people's opinions on the IFCO today ? I've got some dvds in the last few weeks from Glasgow,Scotland while I was over there. One odd difference was a 2nd disc of extra features on "The Siege" dvd. The BBFC rated the special features as 18 and the Irish cert is 12. Confusing isn't it ? There's a history channel documentary on suicide bombers which is a bit graphic so I'm assuming that's why the Brits rated it higher. But how the hell is the IFCO so way off mark ?

I heard from someone that used to work for the Film Censors office a few years ago before the name change, and he said that they used to just look at the timecodes on the videos and rate them the same as whatever the cinema release was.

Has anyone any idea of some of the main films not released here, or films that were submitted but banned ? Has there ever been a specific "Irish cut" of a film released here ? Often, the BBFC will suggest to distributors or film makers that they edit or cut certain scenes in order to get their rating, has this ever happened with any release in Ireland ?

EDIT: King of New York has been released here and with an Irish cert. €25 in HMV here versus £14 in Zavvi up the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

dusk til dawn and the snow white with sigorni weaver (spelling) were banned for awhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I don't think Ireland would have enough of an impact on a films revenue to be able to demand a new cut. Film makers would just tell the sensors to feck off. In the states, the cesors office can dictate a films success or failure depending on their rating, so filmmakers generally have to kiss their asses in order not to be screwed over. There's a great documentary about the US censors, btw that I think is called "This film is not yet rated".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I've always found IFCO ratings to be on the money, and I think they're doing a great job considering their resources.

John Kelleher comes across very well in any interviews he has given and I'd largely agree with his stance towards movie classification and censorship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Irish cuts were the norm - basicly it meant a meat cleaver to nudity/sex with some predictably choppy results.

Some well known victims of the axe include a few Abel Ferrera pix, Money Pythons Life of Brian, From Dusk till Dawn, (did Cronenbergs Crash get though?), while films like Dressed to Kill got hacked about (Angie Dickinson gets in the cab and er thats it!).

The stance since Kellerer took charge is pass (maybe with tweaked rating) or ban. Don't edit. Aesthetically this makes sense but the idea of banning is just foolish these days, if only from a practical point of view.

During Seamus Smiths tenure stuff was being banned left right centre - Personal Services (this was overturned, the ban was a laughing stock decision) Showgirls, Bad Lieutenent, Dusk till Dawn, Natural Born Killers, Preaching to the Perverted.

If you want a pretty comprehensive overview check out Kevin Rocketts book.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Who pays for the classification and censorship of films? Is Kelleher a civil servant?

The film companies pay, it used to be by the foot (but I have a feeling thats changed) so a long art house epic would be prohibitively expensive to get classified bearing in mind the limited release it would have.

Kelleher is a civil servant.

http://www.ifco.ie/ifco/ifcoweb.nsf/web/news?opendocument&news=yes&type=graphic

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I've always found IFCO ratings to be on the money, and I think they're doing a great job considering their resources.

John Kelleher comes across very well in any interviews he has given and I'd largely agree with his stance towards movie classification and censorship.

Have to agree. And I find that John Kelleher is a lot more realistic a fair with his certifications than his predecessor Sheamus Smith (yes he spells it with a "h").

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

kraggy wrote: »
    Have to agree. And I find that John Kelleher is a lot more realistic a fair with his certifications than his predecessor Sheamus Smith (yes he spells it with a "h").

I didn't realise there were people on these boards with such opinions in Ireland.

Was Kelleher responsible for the Passion of the Christ getting a 15a ? I was sort of looking for opinions on the IFCO has a whole as the way the BBFC can be seen as one body but is it fair to say that Kelleher has the final say and basically is THE censor?

Can I ask ye to elaborate on the decisions you think he was "on the ball" with ? Because I've about 500 dvds which have completely different certificates when compared with the BBFC. What do yous think are the difference between Ireland and the UK having seperate censors ?

mike65 wrote: »
    Irish cuts were the norm - basicly it meant a meat cleaver to nudity/sex with some predictably choppy results.

Some well known victims of the axe include a few Abel Ferrera pix, Money Pythons Life of Brian, From Dusk till Dawn, (did Cronenbergs Crash get though?), while films like Dressed to Kill got hacked about (Angie Dickinson gets in the cab and er thats it!).

Mike

I think the controversy around "Crash" was mainly just cooked up by the UK tabloids, reminiscent of the early 80s when they brought about the war on the video nasties. I have Crash on dvd with an 18 cert. Well an Irish 18 cert. sticker over the BBFC sticker

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,012 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I used to think the Irish censors had a nasty habit of just upping 15 UK ratings to 18s over here (when I was younger, and wasn't able to get into the cinema to see the Matrix of course ;)) but yeah Kelleher is doing a fine job. Small changes to the rating system (such as 15a ratings) don't affect older film fans, but at least give parents more say in what their children watch (with the 16 rating reserved for the border between 15s and 18s). And yeah, a lot of the bannings have been overruled, and while I don't agree with his decision on Manhunt 2 (even though I would never play the game, I still don't think it needs to be censored when it has a strictly enforced 18s rating) on the film front he is usually bang on the money. His anti-banning stance which he has talked about in many interviews is really positive: going some way to moving on from a system which once was highly conservative and damaging.

As for films that are still banned, can't be sure but I think there are still a few out there. As you said, I'm pretty sure I've seen Baise Moi around the place (perhaps censored?). Strange to see Meet the Feebles is banned! OK I've heard its fairly explicit, but at the end of the day they're just puppets engaged in 'unpleasant' activities. Must just be one no-one bothered submitting for reclassification. Or maybe they are just afraid parents will pick it up by accident and be in for a little shock. Peter Jackson's probably quite proud.

As far as I know, and I could be wrong, but I reckon that Meet the Feebles hasn't been submitted for clasification in some time. It's not got a very big distribution as it is. As is the case with independantly produced films , the rights to it are usually held not by one group or one studio but by a large group of financers and producers so it can be akward to get it released. Maybe Jackson's ashamed of it or doesn't want it released ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Meet the Feebles is piss poor anyway,cant understand why its so highly regarded among alot of film fans.
    As for the censorship issue,its all laughable.3 or 4 people get to decide whats appropriate viewing for millions of people?Fcuk that.
    If every movie I own was submitted for rating then at least 40% of the movies in my collection wouldnt be there.
    In relation to the different ratings between here and the UK I do remember when Silence of The Lamb was in cinemas here it was 15s but 18s everywhere else.
    Whether it was cut or not I dont know as I was too young to get into see it.
    :mad:

Can I ask ye to elaborate on the decisions you think he was "on the ball" with ? Because I've about 500 dvds which have completely different certificates when compared with the BBFC. What do yous think are the difference between Ireland and the UK having seperate censors ?

I don't see the issue of differing rating as compared with BBFC as a poor reflection on the IFCO. The BBFC is far from infallible, and they operate under different guidelines and grant different certificates.
    I was sort of looking for opinions on the IFCO has a whole as the way the BBFC can be seen as one body but is it fair to say that Kelleher has the final say and basically is THE censor?

The IFCO is far from a one-man organisation, and Kelleher does not independently rate all of the movie releases in Ireland. In addition, Kelleher probably would take issue as being described as a 'censor' - he has always described himself as a classifier, rather than censor. He sees his job as to categorize films by age-bracket, not request cuts or ban films outright. This is reflected by the change from the Irish Film Censors Office to the Irish Film Classification Office.

I don't see the issue of differing rating as compared with BBFC as a poor reflection on the IFCO. The BBFC is far from infallible, and they operate under different guidelines and grant different certificates.

The IFCO is far from a one-man organisation, and Kelleher does not independently rate all of the movie releases in Ireland. In addition, Kelleher probably would take issue as being described as a 'censor' - he has always described himself as a classifier, rather than censor. He sees his job as to categorize films by age-bracket, not request cuts or ban films outright. This is reflected by the change from the Irish Film Censors Office to the Irish Film Classification Office.

Is classifier even a word ?
    Anyway, he's still the censor. There's still stuff that's censored here. Look at the BFFC's site, there's films which are cut for various reasons and then these UK cut/censored versions of films are the films that are presented to the IFCO. The Matrix for example has 10 seconds cut for headbutts. Films with nunchakus are often censored by the BBFC. One could argue that the IFCO is almost like a sub-division of the BBFC .

Can I raise the topic of hardcore pornography ? It's been available legally in the UK since about 2000 when the BBFC created a special "R18" certificate. Yes , it's a bit lousy having to use pornography to try and get a point across but there ye go...

Kelleher is still operating under the same Act that was made in the '80s that his predecessor used. I'd hardly say that the BBFC is a perfect organisation, there's plenty that I disagree with. However, between the IFCO here and the MPAA in the United States of America I'd say that the BBFC is much more fairer system. Look at their site, they've every film that's been certified catalogued. They've guidelines as to what each age limit means and what kind of material is allowed.

Can I ask your opinion on the Passion of the Christ getting a 15A certificate ? And then them creating a 16 cert a year later when Bad Santa proved what a bad idea it was..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

They're basically ok at the 18 category nowadays. I don't neccessarily agree with banning porn or Manhunt 2 or anything but I don't really care.

My main problem with them is that it's way too easy to get a 16/18 rating here. I hate having to pay student prices. :(

I think a lot more could be allowed at 15A. There are films out there that are genuinely worth protecting children from and stuff like Knocked Up and Step Brothers just aren't among them. The way films are classified right now basically cheapens the whole system and makes it hard for parents to take it seriously. They could at least introduce a 16 rating for DVDs, but I think that would involve a change in legistlation so I guess it's probably not gonna happen any time soon.

Is classifier even a word ?
    Classifier
    –noun
    1. a person or thing that classifies.
    Anyway, he's still the censor. There's still stuff that's censored here.
    Not by title, he's not. He has said himself that his job isn't banning adults from seeing movies (once they hold up to deceny laws), but rather to classify films to give families, parents and all movie goers an idea of the nature films on release in the country. What is the last film that didn't make it past the IFCO?
    Look at the BFFC's site, there's films which are cut for various reasons and then these UK cut/censored versions of films are the films that are presented to the IFCO. The Matrix for example has 10 seconds cut for headbutts. Films with nunchakus are often censored by the BBFC. One could argue that the IFCO is almost like a sub-division of the BBFC .

The IFCO and BBFC are two entirely separate organizations. If a film's distributer decides to submit a UK cut of a film to the IFCO for classification, that is the prerogative of the distributer. The IFCO is not interested in what cuts have been made at the behest of the BBFC, and does not and should not bear responsibility for these. Again, they are completely separate and independent organisations.
    Can I raise the topic of hardcore pornography ? It's been available legally in the UK since about 2000 when the BBFC created a special "R18" certificate. Yes , it's a bit lousy having to use pornography to try and get a point across but there ye go...

While the IFCO is under the Ministry for Justice, John Kelleher is not the Minister for Justice. The topic of hardcore pornography is not really under his remit. The statute book currently forbids the sale/distribution of it, and John Kelleher is not the man who decides that.
    However, between the IFCO here and the MPAA in the United States of America I'd say that the BBFC is much more fairer system. Look at their site, they've every film that's been certified catalogued.

The BBFC online resources are second-to-none, I agree. However, they are working with much larger resources than the IFCO. The IFCO online information has come on leaps and bounds, and currently displays descriptions for every recently released film (an example). I believe they are also in the process of bringing their entire database online.
    They've guidelines as to what each age limit means and what kind of material is allowed.

So do the IFCO
    Can I ask your opinion on the Passion of the Christ getting a 15A certificate ? And then them creating a 16 cert a year later when Bad Santa proved what a bad idea it was..

I haven't seen the Passion of the Christ, though I am aware that it contains scenes of graphic violence. If I were a parent of a 15 year old, I would have no problem with them seeing it unattended. As a parent, I would have serious reservations taking a child younger than 13 or 14 to see it.

I fail to see the issue regarding the 16s cert.

Can I ask your opinion on the IFCO, as I'm a little unsure as to where you stand and why. Do you believe that they are too strict? Too lenient? Too inconsistent? What ratings do you take issue with, and why?

I fail to see the issue regarding the 16s cert.

Can I ask your opinion on the IFCO, as I'm a little unsure as to where you stand and why. Do you believe that they are too strict? Too lenient? Too inconsistent? What ratings do you take issue with, and why?

The 16 cert issue came about after Bad Santa was rated 15A.

Parents saw a film at Xmas and were told that they had to go in with their kids because it was 15A. I've worked in a cinema and I've seen the number of people that go up to cinema counters and quite simply say "what's on". So this particular Xmas (2004 I believe) parents beought little Jack and Mary to see this film about Santa, well it's sort of about Santa. Of course the film's got some fairly explicit language, there's a reference to anal sex in it and a few other not-very-moral incidients that this "Santa" character's involved in. It's not really worthy of an 18's cert so of course it got the 15A cert which was more or less brought in for the benefit of the Passion of the Christ ( you could argue wether or not it was because the cert itself came in months before the film was released but it was common knowledge that Gibson's film would have religious fanatics flocking to see it and that it was extremely violent). Of course then when the parents realised that the film was in fact not family friendly festive entertainment they complained. Joe Duffy's phones were off the hook, cinema managers got a right bollocking from the parents and letters were written. I think the IFCO got about 10 complaints.

Soon after, the 16 certificate showed up.

My opinion on the IFCO is sort of a mixture of what you said there. They're too inconsistent basically. I'm not at home at the minute but I'm pretty sure that I've a good few dvds which have radically different certs when compared with the BBFC. I'll try and have a look at some when I get back to back up my opinions/statements.

Here's one for now : the BBFC quite clearly states that dvd extras must be submitted and rated. Fair enough. I think it's rubbish because that then drives the cost of dvds up because the distributor has to pay for the extras to be certified and then passes the cost on to the customer. Anyway, as I said in my first post "The Siege" was rated 15 both here and in the UK. The extra disc in the recent "Definitive Edition" dvd was rated 18 in the UK (I'm assuming because of the history channel's documentary on suicide bombers, which as a side note plays like a naff piece of propaganda for the the Israelis). Over here this disc has a 12 cert on it.

Being that Ireland is indeed a seperate country of course, something which at times I'm quite proud of (to not be a part of the UK). Copyright with regards distribution deals have little to do with countries and more to do with "territories". So when some distributor , say from the USA, obtains the rights to a film for the UK they get the rights to Ireland as well. But then they have to pay twice to have it certified. And for what purpose ?
    Why wasn't The Passion of the Christ rated 18's like it was in the UK ?
    Something to do with Kelleher's religion ? Maybe, maybe not....

The 50Cents film ( I can't remember the name of it thankfully and I do not wish to go searching for it) was given a 16 cert. I nearly lost my job for selling tickets to parents who were bring their children in to see the film! They'd go up to the counter buy the two tickets and then when a manager saw some parents bring little 13yr old Johnny in to see his favourite rapper's latest film they were refused entry.

Over the years the BBFC has consulted many groups with regards their ratings, they've held meetings with psychiatrists and pyschologists to gain a better understanding of how a film may or may not affect an audience. Some of it is of course rubbish, Straw Dogs was banned/cut with 1 rape scene in it because it appeared that the character enjoyed it and then it was passed when a second rape scene clearly showed that the character was horrified and did not enjoy it...

And on the subject of hardcore pornography ... It's not available here. That is , and excuse me for being graphic, visual entertainment for the purpose of sexual arousal which contains the folliwing: erect penis', penetraion of the penis into the vagina and anus, ejaculation from the penis, graphic depiction of the vagina opening.
    There's a few films which might slip in the odd semi-errect penis or penetration - Basie Moi is available as is 9 Songs and the lover's guide serious is available uncut and with penetration. The thing is, the IFCO just does not reveal itself and explain it's decisions as much as the BBFC does. In their FAQ section there's this little passage:
    Or, closer to home, we classified 'Veronica Guerin' as 15PG, with a consumer 'caution'on its advertising that referred to violence. The film received an '18' cert in the UK, but we were satisfied that it could be given a lower cert in Ireland because of familiarity with the story.

I suppose that's the sole reasoning behind the IFCO existing.... Just to change certain ratings with regards Ireland's religion and possibly it's history (Michael Collins got a special 12RA rating I think upon release).
    But it's something that still doesn't sit right with me.

Maybe I'm wrong and they should be commended for trying reveal themselves more and be more open , and I do acknowledge that they've changed the name but it still a semi-state body. The BBFC is an independant body.

I'm not in love with the BBFC , they're not without their failings.....

Have a read of this:

http://www.fiawol.demon.co.uk/FAC/femejac.htm

Hilarious discussion point I must say.

Anyone with an interest in the BBFC and its machinations should visit http://www.melonfarmers.co.uk/ Exhausting but very interesting.

Mike

mike65 wrote: »
    Hilarious discussion point I must say.

Anyone with an interest in the BBFC and its machinations should visit http://www.melonfarmers.co.uk/ Exhausting but very interesting.

Mike

Eh yeah , the discussion's turned a bit odd....
    I'm not too comfortable myself getting into heavyweight stuff like this on a saturday night on a forum.... Anyway yes, I've seen melonfarmers.

That's a great post.

Lets look at the issue of Bad Santa.. I've seen the film, and it is very much as the title describes: a Bad Santa. He drinks, smokes, swears and womanizes. It's certainly not a kids film, certainly not a Jingle All The Way-style wholesome piece of family entertainment.

However, it's also not an obscene, perverting, morally bankrupt film either. It's a comedy, and the drinking, swearing, smoking and womanizing is presented in this context, and it is (for the most part) tame. There is also a moral center to the film.

So, I'd hope we can agree that while this film is by no means a General film, neither is it a hard 18s. A 15A seems entirely reasonable to me.

To apportion blame, it's important to define exactly what a 15A certificate is though. It means that those who are 15 or over may enjoy the movie without parental consent. Those under 15, must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. If a parent takes a child under 15 to see a 15As film, it is their responsibility to ensure it it suitable for them. There are both general guidelines for the certificate and film-by-film guidelines available on the IFCO website. The IFCO did not grant Bad Santa a General certificate, or even a PG. It was 15A. Parents should not treat it the same as a PG, because it is not the same.

I was out of the country at the time of release, so I didn't hear about the Joe Duffy-led uprising. I'm not surprised though. Too many parents are too ignorant of the entertainment that their child consumes - be it TV, cinema or videogames - and they're quick to blame everybody but themselves. However, the IFCO is not the nation's parents, and in a case like Bad Santa, the buck stops entirely with the parent if they choose to bring an under-15 to a screening.

I used to work in a videogame retailer, and it would drive me up the wall at the amount of ignorant parents coming in to pick up the latest Grand Theft Auto for their 7 year old.
    My opinion on the IFCO is sort of a mixture of what you said there. They're too inconsistent basically. I'm not at home at the minute but I'm pretty sure that I've a good few dvds which have radically different certs when compared with the BBFC. I'll try and have a look at some when I get back to back up my opinions/statements.

I can't shake the impression that you hold BBFC to be the yardstick. In my experience (I live in the UK, currently), they can be just as wide of the mark at times. The Dark Knight was granted a 12A (15A here), which I feel is probably a little low, considering the dark tone and one or two scenes (The Joker's magic trick?). There is no 'right' or 'wrong' certificate for each film, and as it's basically a matter of judgement, there will inevitably be differences and inconsistencies between rating boards.
    Being that Ireland is indeed a seperate country of course, something which at times I'm quite proud of (to not be a part of the UK). Copyright with regards distribution deals have little to do with countries and more to do with "territories". So when some distributor , say from the USA, obtains the rights to a film for the UK they get the rights to Ireland as well. But then they have to pay twice to have it certified. And for what purpose ?
    Why wasn't The Passion of the Christ rated 18's like it was in the UK ?
    Something to do with Kelleher's religion ? Maybe, maybe not....

But surely you can't be in favor of the UK's BBFC having final say on what can and cant be released in Ireland? I do take your point about distributers having to pay twice in order to release the movie in the two territories, but the cost is far from prohibitive and in all truth nominal over the shelf-life of a film (in terms of box-office and DVD takings). The solution to this problem is not to give the BBFC dominion over our release slate, but perhaps there is some merit to a pan-European ratings initiative.
    And on the subject of hardcore pornography ... It's not available here. That is , and excuse me for being graphic, visual entertainment for the purpose of sexual arousal which contains the folliwing: erect penis', penetraion of the penis into the vagina and anus, ejaculation from the penis, graphic depiction of the vagina opening.

The IFCO can only rate what is put in front of them, and their judgements must be in line with legislation. The IFCO's own views towards pornography doesn't really come into it - they legally can't certify indecent or obscene movies. As you say, movies with artistic merit, like 9 Songs and Baise-Moi, have been passed - but these are quite different to the hardcore pornography that is currently banned.
    The thing is, the IFCO just does not reveal itself and explain it's decisions as much as the BBFC does./quote]

The BBFC have excellent online resources explaining their decisions, but the IFCO are catching up. Here is an example of an information page on a new release. It gives a breakdown of the content, as well as comments specific to that film.
    I suppose that's the sole reasoning behind the IFCO existing.... Just to change certain ratings with regards Ireland's religion and possibly it's history (Michael Collins got a special 12RA rating I think upon release).
    But it's something that still doesn't sit right with me.

I think this is probably the nub of our disagreement.

As you see it, the IFCO merely takes the BBFC ratings and changes them.
    As I see it, they receive a movie and judge it independently of the BBFC - often they arrive at the same rating, sometimes not.

As you see it, the IFCO's primary concern is with religious values, with secondary concerns for history and culture.
    As I see it, the IFCO weighs up cultural and historical concerns equally, and the religious attitudes of the Director of Classifcation don't come into it.

That's a funny read about female ejaculation. The BBFC gets very technical when it comes to pornography. I believe their definition of an erect penis as being 'north of Cornwall'.

Here's a map.
    england-cornwall.gif

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,012 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

An interesting discussion alright (slightly more in depth than expected :pac:) but you both make a good point when it comes to parents. If they truly want to protect their children from material such as Bad Santa (which is tame enough, but probably not something I'd want an 8 year old kid to see) they should research the film beforehand. The film classifier therefore has a pretty tough job: no matter what attempts they make to inform people about content, many still ignore ratings etc.. only to complain later when they feel their child has been 'morally corrupted'.

Again to drag video games into a film discussion, but it is a ratings area I hear discussed more than film. If a game (or DVD) has an 18s rating slapped on the box, should the parent not check it out before buying it? Most game retailers will stop underage people buying it (a few who don't of course, but that is the retailers fault). But when parents buy a game or DVD over 18s they don't need to be told the rating. So instead they should check the box: look at any DVD, film poster, game box: there are clear content warnings (sex, violence, language, drugs etc...) which should kind of steer them in the right direction. They should look at this stuff before going crying to Joe Duffy: it is their responsibility if they want to filter their child's media intake.

I think IFCO are doing a good job in this respect: for a typical film, the ratings can now be seen clearly on posters, in newspapers, at the cinema itself and even a final warning before the film starts. Can they make it any more obvious? They do a good job at letting people know whats going on. But if people keep ignoring the warnings, the censor is still going to get flak for his hard work. As their role seems to be more to inform than 'protect' these days, they really can't be held responsible for the laziness of people who don't bother checking what they are about to watch.

Not to disparage anyone, but we live in an age of clueless and inattentive parenting. The guy down the DVD shop shouldn't have to be alert but needs to be as you can be sure ma and da are paying little attention to what thier kids are slipping in the machine. Mind you as I type this 12 year olds are watching beheadings on youtube or where-ever.

Mike

That's a great post.

Lets look at the issue of Bad Santa.. I've seen the film, and it is very much as the title describes: a Bad Santa. He drinks, smokes, swears and womanizes. It's certainly not a kids film, certainly not a Jingle All The Way-style wholesome piece of family entertainment.

However, it's also not an obscene, perverting, morally bankrupt film either. It's a comedy, and the drinking, swearing, smoking and womanizing is presented in this context, and it is (for the most part) tame. There is also a moral center to the film.

So, I'd hope we can agree that while this film is by no means a General film, neither is it a hard 18s. A 15A seems entirely reasonable to me.

To apportion blame, it's important to define exactly what a 15A certificate is though. It means that those who are 15 or over may enjoy the movie without parental consent. Those under 15, must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. If a parent takes a child under 15 to see a 15As film, it is their responsibility to ensure it it suitable for them. There are both general guidelines for the certificate and film-by-film guidelines available on the IFCO website. The IFCO did not grant Bad Santa a General certificate, or even a PG. It was 15A. Parents should not treat it the same as a PG, because it is not the same.

I was out of the country at the time of release, so I didn't hear about the Joe Duffy-led uprising. I'm not surprised though. Too many parents are too ignorant of the entertainment that their child consumes - be it TV, cinema or videogames - and they're quick to blame everybody but themselves. However, the IFCO is not the nation's parents, and in a case like Bad Santa, the buck stops entirely with the parent if they choose to bring an under-15 to a screening.

I used to work in a videogame retailer, and it would drive me up the wall at the amount of ignorant parents coming in to pick up the latest Grand Theft Auto for their 7 year old.

I can't shake the impression that you hold BBFC to be the yardstick. In my experience (I live in the UK, currently), they can be just as wide of the mark at times. The Dark Knight was granted a 12A (15A here), which I feel is probably a little low, considering the dark tone and one or two scenes (The Joker's magic trick?). There is no 'right' or 'wrong' certificate for each film, and as it's basically a matter of judgement, there will inevitably be differences and inconsistencies between rating boards.

But surely you can't be in favor of the UK's BBFC having final say on what can and cant be released in Ireland? I do take your point about distributers having to pay twice in order to release the movie in the two territories, but the cost is far from prohibitive and in all truth nominal over the shelf-life of a film (in terms of box-office and DVD takings). The solution to this problem is not to give the BBFC dominion over our release slate, but perhaps there is some merit to a pan-European ratings initiative.

The IFCO can only rate what is put in front of them, and their judgements must be in line with legislation. The IFCO's own views towards pornography doesn't really come into it - they legally can't certify indecent or obscene movies. As you say, movies with artistic merit, like 9 Songs and Baise-Moi, have been passed - but these are quite different to the hardcore pornography that is currently banned.
    The thing is, the IFCO just does not reveal itself and explain it's decisions as much as the BBFC does./quote]

The BBFC have excellent online resources explaining their decisions, but the IFCO are catching up. Here is an example of an information page on a new release. It gives a breakdown of the content, as well as comments specific to that film.

I think this is probably the nub of our disagreement.

As you see it, the IFCO merely takes the BBFC ratings and changes them.
    As I see it, they receive a movie and judge it independently of the BBFC - often they arrive at the same rating, sometimes not.

As you see it, the IFCO's primary concern is with religious values, with secondary concerns for history and culture.
    As I see it, the IFCO weighs up cultural and historical concerns equally, and the religious attitudes of the Director of Classifcation don't come into it.

That's a funny read about female ejaculation. The BBFC gets very technical when it comes to pornography. I believe their definition of an erect penis as being 'north of Cornwall'.

Here's a map.
    england-cornwall.gif

Yep I think Bad Sant getting a 15 is fair.
    15A ? No, I don't think that this certificate should exist.

I agree with you on the Dark Knight issue, Can I lead this discussion into a new area? What role and how much influence do yous think that the distributors have with regards certification ? Darkn Knight gets a 15 in the UK less tickets are sold. Dark Knight gets a 12A plenty more tickets sold. I tell you , with these "Accompanied" certs it makes the job at the box office so so difficult. If anyone has ever had to make the decision to ask for identification while working in a newsagents serving a pack of fags, then the job is even hard at the cinema checkout . You'll have a group of friends come up . Maybe some look 16, maybe they are. But then there's friends that barely look 15, maybe they are 15, maybe they're 16 but as you and I and everyone else knows different teenagers look different ages!

I tell ya, I see where you're coming from and I agree...
    But, fact is as I said , when a distributor gets the rights for film , they get the rights for this "region" ie. UK and Ireland.... And sometimes the IFCO is a bit dubious with regards their ratings...

I'll leave you with this: Whats the point in classification backed by legalities when sure, you can get even more extreme material on the internet ? Is the BBFC and IFCO not a bit out of step with technology today ? The laws that they act under are 20+ years old. Well the video recordings acts are anyways, and they were created after some dodgy editorials from UK tabloids.

Yep I think Bad Sant getting a 15 is fair.
    15A ? No, I don't think that this certificate should exist.

What is your stance on censorship in general?

I would largely be in line with the IFCO's approach, which I quote from the website:
    Our approach to classifying cinema films and video/DVDs is guided by three main principles:

We believe that adults (i.e. persons over 18) should be free, within the law, to choose what they wish to view
    We have a duty to protect children and young persons from harm
    We strongly encourage and promote the exercise of parental responsibility

With a 15A rating, the IFCO is saying that this film probably isn't suitable for a young audience, but it offers the parent the chance to use their own discretion. It's an approach that I wholeheartedly agree with, and it's a real shame that a portion of these parents don't have the interest in their child's well-being to make it work as well as it should.

I agree with you on the Dark Knight issue, Can I lead this discussion into a new area? What role and how much influence do yous think that the distributors have with regards certification ? Darkn Knight gets a 15 in the UK less tickets are sold. Dark Knight gets a 12A plenty more tickets sold.

Realistically, how much influence can they exert? The BBFC or IFCO incur no financial penalty for rating a film 15 instead of 12s. There's obviously an incentive for the distributor in terms of box office receipts, but that has no bearing on the ratings board.

Both the IFCO and BBFC have clearly defined guidelines when it comes to what a 12 and what a 15 rated film is, so studios obviously shoot for a rating in the editing room before the film is submitted.
    I tell you , with these "Accompanied" certs it makes the job at the box office so so difficult. If anyone has ever had to make the decision to ask for identification while working in a newsagents serving a pack of fags, then the job is even hard at the cinema checkout . You'll have a group of friends come up . Maybe some look 16, maybe they are. But then there's friends that barely look 15, maybe they are 15, maybe they're 16 but as you and I and everyone else knows different teenagers look different ages!

Perhaps the biggest problem is that most kids under 18 wont have a form of photo ID anyway. It's a tough situation, and there's no easy solution.

I tell ya, I see where you're coming from and I agree...
    But, fact is as I said , when a distributor gets the rights for film , they get the rights for this "region" ie. UK and Ireland.... And sometimes the IFCO is a bit dubious with regards their ratings...

The IFCO is not there to make the job easier for movie distributors, or be a replica of the BBFC. Their remit is to serve the Irish movie-goer - and often this means giving films different ratings to the BBFC.
    I'll leave you with this: Whats the point in classification backed by legalities when sure, you can get even more extreme material on the internet ?

I'm not sure of the merit of this argument. I mean, the internet is a haven for practically every form of illegality under the sun. That should not render the enforcement of laws redundant. In terms of legal online film distribution, I presume that they will need to be certified by the IFCO just like any cinema or DVD release.
    Is the BBFC and IFCO not a bit out of step with technology today ? The laws that they act under are 20+ years old. Well the video recordings acts are anyways, and they were created after some dodgy editorials from UK tabloids.

I think the BBFC in particular, but also the IFCO, are very good at adapting to advancing technology. Their aforementioned online services are very good, and, after some teething problems, they've began to tackle the video-game issue in an even-handed manner. The laws which they operate under seem broad enough to allow for flexibility, and as shown by the fall-out of the video-nasty scandals, there is also an appetite to legislate when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

"As I was going to St. Ives,
    I met a man with seven wives...
    Get the camera! Yee-hah!"

The other "standard" I've heard mentioned in the UK is the Mull Of Kintyre test, though it's not clear whether it's still used.
    Kintyre.PNG

PS: According to IMDB, Ai No Corrida is still banned in Ireland. I saw it in the UK, and while it's an incredibly powerful examination of obsessive lust, it ends with a scene that no man ever wants to see. :eek:

PPS: on IMDB you can access a list of films apparently banned in Ireland, here. Um... The Life Of Brian, banned? Showgirls? Natural Born Killers... Brief Encounter? Must be films that were initially banned, but not any more.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray