Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When kids were allowed in pubs...

• 03-10-2008 2:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭

Do you think that people behaved much better when kids were allowed in to pubs? After being at electric picnic where there's kids all over the place, I'm starting to think that people would be a bit more civilised if kids were in pubs.

I ponder this after a messy night of causing mayhem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Eh, kids are allowed in pubs. Where the hell do you drink?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

After 9 phool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

Absolutely, cheaper than a babysitter and after a few pints they'll be placid as you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

grasshopa wrote: »
    Do you think that people behaved much better when kids were allowed in to pubs? After being at electric picnic where there's kids all over the place, I'm starting to think that people would be a bit more civilised if kids were in pubs.

I know a guy, who knows a guy who talks to Gary Glitter. He says he'd vote for you.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'm starting to think that people would be a bit more civilised if kids were in pubs.

Maybe the gardai should release van-loads of under 10 year olds around Dublin City around 2.30am each weekend night to quell the mayhem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Could work.

No babysitters, and bringing drinks up and down from the bar for their parents and friends all night would make a dent in childhood obesity figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Reminds me of the time I use to go the pub on a push bike with my dad Saturday when they opened til 5. Coming home he would crash so many times and just stop cycling until we fell off and said ' I forgot I was on a bike' or 'where you not cycling' Ah memories :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Personally, I dont think kids should be in pubs. Sunday dinner is fine, but deffo not when the parents are guzzling. Nothin worse than seein the glazed look come into kids eyes when the ma & da are getting locked :(
    Its boring for them, as well as unsafe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Depends. As long as the pub in question has facilities for kids. There's nothing worse than tired bored kids in a pub at 7 or 8pm.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

No thanks.

Imagine a load of kids off their tits on coke and tayto running around the place and crying cause they're tired/coming down.

Don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

personally as a child(under 18 years of age), i would prefer to be in a pub having a quiet pint with my parents, rather than sitting at home trying to control my siblings or worse again, being under a tree, in a field, freezing my bollócks off drinking my 'Dutch'.

Tourism would also benefit, and going on holiday in ireland would be so much nicer, and then instead of dumping your children to a babysitter everynight, you can actually have an enjoyable "family holiday".

Another one of the government's great antics to pretend they're dealing with something when they're just making a situation worse.

Statistics have shown that pubs, suffered (1500 closed in the last seven years), and that ambulance calls for intoxicated teenagers increased significantly after the introduction of the '9pm laws'.

Doesn't matter, I'll just keeping paying people to go to the off-licence so I can get fúcked off my head on yokes and alcohol in a bush, while my parents worry fúckless about me, and i'll just waste my life when I could have actually been doing something productive while drinking - i.e "socialising" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Or people could just realise that not everything has to revolve around drinking.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Nah the feckers are already ruining cosy coupley time in restaurants up and down the country with their constant nasal whinging. They can't take drinking time too.
    With their tiny flailing fists always around crotch height.
    Kids freak me out man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

bringing kids in to pubs are you mad?

first off u pi$$ other pub goers off who want a chat not some toddler screaming and crying. Or crusie missle toddlers (u know the ones that u try and aviod and they still hit into you).

second what a wonderful childhood they would have growing up in a pub (yes yes i know the majority of the time they would be out of the pub) but still some the children would be bored $hitless and constantly complaining to the parents to go.

A pub is not a playground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Or people could just realise that not everything has to revolve around drinking.

It's after drinking that things start revolving.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Not everything has to revolve around snot-nosed sprogs feeding things to crocodiles all over the place either. Expecially not in pubs. Or restaurants. Or other public places of any sort.

It's a Fritzilating idea don't you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It doesn't have to. I just want it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

People goto a pub to chill, talk to their mates, not to be screamed at by some kid.

The 9pm curfew is great.

Having worked in a pub, the parents thought nothing of bringing their kids in a buggy to the pub, and leave at 11pm, completely drunk.
    And no, we couldn't deny them from entering the pub simply cos they had a kid or 6 with them at 9pm.

After the 9pm curfew, they'd bring the kids home, and come back. The place was then more relaxed to drink at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

They're annoying little sh1ts.

What The Syco said - +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I'm not saying i agree, but i think parents would drink less if their kids were with them.

It's not like parents will be bringing their kids with them on nights out, it'd just be that if they're in a pub for whatever reason they don't have to leave.

btw is it technically illegal for a kid to be at theaters, weddings, family occasions, certain restraunts, hotels after 9?

Many hotels (abroad) have family entertainment in the pub area at night, does anyone really have a problem with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Speaking from someone who works in a pub, **** NO! Seriously I don't mind kids all that often its the parents that don't discipline them and tell them to stop running round the ****ing place. Irritating to say the least, because you know in about 5 minutes you'll hear *thump* then crying.... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    Personally, I dont think kids should be in pubs. Sunday dinner is fine, but deffo not when the parents are guzzling. Nothin worse than seein the glazed look come into kids eyes when the ma & da are getting locked :(
    Its boring for them, as well as unsafe
    Ah...so now I know who to sue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

vinylmesh wrote: »
    I'm not saying i agree, but i think parents would drink less if their kids were with them.

It's not like parents will be bringing their kids with them on nights out, it'd just be that if they're in a pub for whatever reason they don't have to leave.
    Yes they would and yes they did. I remember being about 12 and being in pubs and seeing other people's parent nearly passing out they were so hammered. My parents are virtually teetotal so they weren't like that but uncles and aunts certainly were

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

In Germany you can buy alcohol when you're 16. That's the law. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Christ I hate this attitude. Our social organiser on the team in work thinks similiar :( Organising film nights and Q-Zar sessions nobody bothers going to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

ah i remember when i was likle my folks wuld bring me and my little sister 2 the pub on a sunday afternoon, give us a bottle of coke+packett of crisps each, and sit us in the corner.

i ****ing hated it!!!

TBH i hated it because id see people turning from happy people chatting about football to screaming people yelling "your team is ****"

Course when i hit 18 and was able 2 booze too i understood the transition- doesnt change the fact that when i have kids id NEVER let them c me in the state i saw my folks in every sunday night

Prob not what u ment but just my 2 cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

snot-nosed sprogs feeding things to crocodiles all over the place either

i see what u did there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

WooPeeA wrote: »
    In Germany you can buy alcohol when you're 16. That's the law. :rolleyes:

That sounds as if it's compulsory. I like the Germans. Is there an opt-out clause when you need a liver transplant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Christ I hate this attitude. Our social organiser on the team in work thinks similiar :( Organising film nights and Q-Zar sessions nobody bothers going to.

Why bother havin a "social organiser" then? How hard can it be to jsut name a time and pub...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DaveyGem

nevf wrote: »
    rather than sitting at home trying to control my siblings or worse again, being under a tree, in a field, freezing my bollócks off drinking my 'Dutch'.

Don't bring knacker drinking into this, it is an institution in this country...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

kids in clubs better.