Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boylepoker.com Student Intervarsity Leagues 2008/2009

• 03-10-2008 11:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

1. The Player's Lounge (details below) in association with Boylepoker.com
    2. The purpose of the event: Student Intervarsity League]
    3. Date and Location of event: Every Tuesday starting the 21st of October
    4. Registration and Start time of event. Reg 6.30, cards 7pm
    5. Any prerequisites- students and recent graduates only
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number At the door etc- through PokerSocs
    7. Type of Tournament: No limit Hold'Em Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €17, no re-buys/top-ups
    9. Cost of registration: €3
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 95%, 5% towards league prizes
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much. 5% held back to cover costs of league prizes
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. No
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. n/a
    13. Starting Chips: 3000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. N/A
    15. Blind levels: 7:00 to 7:20 25/50, 7:20 to 7:40, 50/100 7:40 to 8:00, 75/150 8:00 to 8:10, Break, Chip Race 25's, 8:10 to 8:30, 100/200 8:30 to 8:50, 200/400 8:50 to 9:10, 300/600 9:10 to 9:30, 400/800 9:30 to 9:50, 600/1200 9:50 to 10:10, 800/1500 10:10 to 10:20, Break, Chip Race 100's,10:20 to10:40, 1000/2000 10:40 to 11:00,1500/3000 11:00 to11:20, 2000/4000 11:20 to 11:40, 3000/6000
    16. Blind timeframes: 20 mins
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) 10% of field
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: self dealing- final two tables dealt
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: Available on request
    20. Is there a tournament director: Yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.: Tournament director
    22. Are there are cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered NO

We'd like to see all colleges get involved in this- the venue is well served by bus routes. *

For further information, please respond to thread, PM me, or email TPLpoker@gmail.com
    *Free buses may be provided for groups. Please contact for further information.

For further directions type 'The Players Lounge, Dublin' into google maps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 axdiego

sounds like a good idea, me and a few others from DCU will have two teams down, other colleges dont stand a chance.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 rayfitz

Hi guys & gals,

Haven been around these parts all Summer, anywho Ive just graduated from DCU & you may/may not know I was the Pokersoc's chairman there last year. This event is being run by friends of mine from college and I will be acting as TD for the first few weeks to get it up and running.

The main idea is to have a running league for all players (and recent graduates) from the different colleges and at the end of each semester crown an individual champion. I personally think its a good idea and hope to see some support here for this new venture. ;)

Any complaints (it is boards afterall :rolleyes:) /questions fire away!

PS, Teaming up with Boylepoker again so you know its gonna be good :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭e05bf05a

were is it held?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

rayfitz wrote: »
    The main idea is to have a running league for all players (and recent graduates) from the different colleges and at the end of each semester crown an individual champion. I personally think its a good idea and hope to see some support here for this new venture. ;)

Essentially, its a Dublin intervarsity. Not feasible for students elsewhere to travel for a €17 game is it, especially with a % withheld?!

Best of lcuk with it all the same. And fair play to Boyles for getn behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 PlayersLounge

were is it held?

It's in 'The Players Lounge' in Fairview- its a new pub opened up beside croke park. Directions from all Dublin colleges can be got by searching 'Players Lounge, Dublin' in Google maps. Or PM me.

Address is Fairview Strand, Dublin 3. It's quite close to Barcode nightclub/ fairview park. All college pokersocs will be informed with directions/ bus routes in coming days.. but any questions please ask. Looks like it's going to be big- we've already had 3 teams of 5 PM me to confirm they will be participating. I hope all colleges will be represented.

Originally Posted by rayfitz viewpost.gif
    The main idea is to have a running league for all players (and recent graduates) from the different colleges and at the end of each semester crown an individual champion. I personally think its a good idea and hope to see some support here for this new venture. wink.gif
    Essentially, its a Dublin intervarsity. Not feasible for students elsewhere to travel for a €17 game is it, especially with a % withheld?!

Best of lcuk with it all the same. And fair play to Boyles for getn behind it. Today 19:26

Yes- Essentially, week-to-week, it will be Dublin Intervarsitys that we will be looking to attract to the tournament. However, recent grads can represent their colleges if they are working in Dublin. We will also be hosting one-off events for larger buy-ins. details to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ryou4real

Story! NCI boys will be there. Think it's fair to say, we'll have this bad boy wrapped up by Xmas ;) We've one lad that graduated last year...how can he prove he's a "recent graduate"???????? surely everyone can play and us students won't be protected!! :confused:

ryou4real wrote: »
    Story! NCI boys will be there. Think it's fair to say, we'll have this bad boy wrapped up by Xmas ;) We've one lad that graduated last year...how can he prove he's a "recent graduate"???????? surely everyone can play and us students won't be protected!! :confused:

Good to see we've another team from NCI- your our second. In reply to your question about recent grads- if you still have any ID/ proof you were in college...you're good to enter.

Any other questions- fire away lads. Thanks

I know that other team from NCI... not up to much. we'll take them handy enough!! isn't that right Kilo??? What's the standard like in other colleges?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 ahsavageman

Hi all- new to this! From NCI myself. Don't know that other team. We have a team of 5, wil check out this tournament the first week anyway. Is it just pub tables you's have?

Also, is that the pub in Fairview that used to be the Fairview Inn? :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

Is this a team event only or can individuals just come along?

Hi all- new to this! From NCI myself. Don't know that other team. We have a team of 5, wil check out this tournament the first week anyway. Is it just pub tables you's have?

Also, is that the pub in Fairview that used to be the Fairview Inn? confused.gifconfused.gifconfused.gif

1) Nope- we have brand new poker tables, chips etc...
    2) Yes that's the pub. Completely refurbished sportsbar now- everything in it is brand new. Wait until you see it now. Great Venue.

Is this a team event only or can individuals just come along?

Yes, individuals can come along of course. It think it will mainly be individuals- it just seems a couple of mates from a few of the colleges have joined together to have a stab at winning team prizes.

Cheers for the questions, We'd be happy to answer any more you have. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Sorry to derail thread bit, but to the NCI boys, whats story with poker soc there? Just joined for part time course and am a keen player. Can pm me if ya prefer not to add info to thread. Also this sounds interesting. Will see if can get team from UCD (my old stomping grounds) or maybe join a NCI one (my new stomping ground). ah the choices lol

bigslick wrote: »
    Sorry to derail thread bit, but to the NCI boys, whats story with poker soc there? Just joined for part time course and am a keen player. Can pm me if ya prefer not to add info to thread. Also this sounds interesting. Will see if can get team from UCD (my old stomping grounds) or maybe join a NCI one (my new stomping ground). ah the choices lol

NCI PokerSoc isn't up 2 much!! I'm only goin into 2nd yr now so I dunno about previous years. We usually just meet up ourselves and play bout 2/3 times a week... never really bothered with NCI pokersoc!!

Seems like there's a decent bit of interest in this... the banter between colleges could be good like!!! :)

Also, is that the pub in Fairview that used to be the Fairview Inn? confused.gifconfused.gifconfused.gif

2) Yes that's the pub. Completely refurbished sportsbar now- everything in it is brand new. Wait until you see it now. Great Venue.

ahhhh... i know it well, live in Marino meself. i seen all the Ireland B players down there last night...rumour has it Roy Keane owns that bar??

Nope, not Roy Keane. It is somebody Sunderland related alright, but its a player. Anyway, this is a bit off topic... so if you wouldn't mind sticking to touney/ league Q's ;)

One other thing to note lads/ lasses... teams should consist of FOUR members, not 5. THanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

I would but I'm not travelling to the northside for what in all likelihood is going to be a 20 runner €17 game.

TommyGunne wrote: »
    I would but I'm not travelling to the northside for what in all likelihood is going to be a 20 runner €17 game.

ooohhhhhhhhhh!! "The northside" ewwwwieeee... :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

CAN YOU BE MORE SPECIFIC ABOUT WHO CAN PLAY
    I AM DOING A COURSE IN A COLEGE AT NIGHT, SO CAN I PLAY
    DEREK

CAN YOU BE MORE SPECIFIC ABOUT WHO CAN PLAY
    I AM DOING A COURSE IN A COLEGE AT NIGHT, SO CAN I PLAY
    DEREK

Hi Derek, anyone who is a student. any type of student- part time/ full time/ recent graduates (up to three years).

Hope to see you there! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Spuca

Im in second year now, i've thrown my TCD connections to the wind, and i wanna take this for all the lads who misspelt UCD on their forms.

Any of you who know me pm me and lets make matching hoodies to nail the competition with. Trip sevens elite for life!:cool:

Seriously, can i get a four man team?:confused:

Spuca wrote: »
    Im in second year now, i've thrown my TCD connections to the wind, and i wanna take this for all the lads who misspelt UCD on their forms.

Any of you who know me pm me and lets make matching hoodies to nail the competition with. Trip sevens elite for life!:cool:

Seriously, can i get a four man team?:confused:
    No need to have a team..sure come down yourself.

Actually...in the interests of Fairness...League points for TEAMS will not start week one (this coming Tuesday). This should allow everyone time to get a team together at the first week's tourney. Fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭swat1902

What kind of proof do I need to bring to show I`m a recent graduate?

I graduated 2 years ago but I doubt I have any old student cards lying around.

Best of luck with this event.

Cheers,

Jim

swat1902 wrote: »

What kind of proof do I need to bring to show I`m a recent graduate?

I graduated 2 years ago but I doubt I have any old student cards lying around.

Best of luck with this event.

Cheers,

Jim

Anything at all will do...an old letter/ results/ anything to show you were in college.

We could even have you sign in to your old college email / portal page.

TommyGunne wrote: »

lets hope not. we've had a lot of interest so far, and not everyone that plays poker is on boards.ie anyway- so any interest on here is a bonus. The €20 buy-in (including reg) is a reasonable price when you consider its just for students and it's every week.

It's different to any other tournament in that there'll be good banter/ rivalry between all the colleges and it's a fantastic venue also.

However, we know its not for everyone- the best of luck to you in the tournaments you do decide to play in and your more than welcome anytime if you change your mind and want to check it out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Spuca

No need to have a team..sure come down yourself.

Actually...in the interests of Fairness...League points for TEAMS will not start week one (this coming Tuesday). This should allow everyone time to get a team together at the first week's tourney. Fair?

Fair enough!

Anyone who knows who i am and wants to join the winning team gimme a pm. Lookin forward to demolition on tuesday.:P

Spuca wrote: »
    Fair enough!

Anyone who knows who i am and wants to join the winning team gimme a pm. Lookin forward to demolition on tuesday.:P

which college you in? if you're stuck- we'll hook you up on Tuesday anyway... but sure the individual prize is just as good! ;)

Listen skins,

I'm in this for ME. i'll take that prizepool abd individual league points every week. If my team happen to win too, grand.. I'd prefer my name in lights rather than my team's though...!!:D

Was just walking by and that place looks like some venue!!!Was just wourndering if the poker clashes with champions league matches does it mean u can either only watch the match or play poker,or else u keep hav'n 2leave ur place to get a loook at the score

There'll be plenty of TV's with matches shown live in the playing area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 KingKeano

Hey, Whats the exact details of the event? Is it a team event or is every person for themselves. I'm from DCU and I havent heard of this event until I was talking to Ray. Could you be specific what type of event it is and is it an intervarsity event.

KingKeano wrote: »
    Hey, Whats the exact details of the event? Is it a team event or is every person for themselves. I'm from DCU and I havent heard of this event until I was talking to Ray. Could you be specific what type of event it is and is it an intervarsity event.

Read the first page FGS :mad: Its called the Student INTERVARSITY leagues.. typical DCU student :rolleyes:

Hi KingKeano,

The exact details are the first post of this thread, but in answer to the above Q's....

It is both an individual AND team event. i.e every person gets individual league points and if they are on a team (of 4), we add all the individual league points together to get team points. It's not essential to be on a team though. At the end of the semester we will crown an individual champion and a winning team.

In addition, there is the prizepool to be won as usual every week.

An email was sent to all colleges/ pokersocs giving details of the event- hopefully they will pass on this info to all that are interested.

And yes- it's an intervarsity event. hold 'em- no limit, freezeout.

Any other Q's...fire away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 KingKeano

Cheers,
    I'm on the DCU committee this year, and we haven't heard anything about it as yet, but I will try promote it tomorrow and send it around in a weekly e-mail with the thread next week. We'll be more than willing to take part as you all know yourself, we're the home of Champions and our name is already on than trophy.
    Cya tuesday, hopefully you'll have the match!!!

Regards

P.S. Love the blind structure!!!!

Cheers,
    I'm on the DCU committee this year, and we haven't heard anything about it as yet, but I will try promote it tomorrow and send it around in a weekly e-mail with the thread next week. We'll be more than willing to take part as you all know yourself, we're the home of Champions and our name is already on than trophy.
    Cya tuesday, hopefully you'll have the match!!!

Regards

P.S. Love the blind structure!!!!

ya gotta love it alright ;)

That's fighting talk from DCU... I wonder what the other colleges will have to say about that?

We'll defo have the match on Tuesday- don't worry about that- we'll have both matches on lots of TVs.

A mail was sent to the DCU PokerSoc committee so I'm not sure why you didn't receive it. Anyway, hope to see lots of you there tomorrow for what should be the start of a great League! :)

Ross