Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home Insurance

• 03-10-2008 9:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭

HI!! i don't know where to put this so mods feel free to move.

I just bought a new guitar. It's a gibson so It was relatively expensive. Do i need to individually insure it or is it covered in contents?

Thanks all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

LeahBaby wrote: »

I just bought a new guitar. It's a gibson so It was relatively expensive. Do i need to individually insure it or is it covered in contents?

Thanks all!

When I was doing my contents insurance I was told that if an item is in excess of 2000 it needs to be individually declared.

Maybe ring your insurer?

Also, that's one way to beat the redundancy blues!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Dinter wrote: »
    When I was doing my contents insurance I was told that if an item is in excess of 2000 it needs to be individually declared.

Ring your insurer?

Would it need to be valued? It's worth about 2500 so would i have to insure it for 3000 to get the value from it?

I think your proof of purchase would be sufficient. It was for me. I just added anything I had and if I need to claim I have to produce receipts etc then.

Still I'd say it depends on your insurer.

I think your proof of purchase would be sufficient. It was for me. I just added anything I had and if I need to claim I have to produce receipts etc then.

Still I'd say it depends on your insurer.

Thanks I'll ring them today. Can't be too careful with my new baby!

You should bury it in your back garden and draw a treasure map that you can tear into a dozen pieces and scatter around your house. That way even if a burglar gets his hands on a couple of pieces of map your guitar will be safe.

Sooo fun.. Even if he found it and dug it up he'd find the hardcase was empty except for snakes(fresh iff the set of snakes on a plane).

Then they'd strangle him and dance while I played delieverence on the guitar from my bedroom window..

*I have just smoked a joint*

Maybe ring your insurer?

Also, that's one way to beat the redundancy blues!!

<<just got made redundant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

If you want, I'll mind it for you... :D

Really?

Snakes too?

Yup, I'll use the snakes to play the guitar.
    Plecs are for losers.

Not true.

At a party I played a few songs, lost me plec.

Uncle decides to take over and play with a 2p.

Never been so mad in my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Yup, I'll use the snakes to play the guitar.
    Plecs are for losers.

Guitars are for losers...real presidential candidates plays snakes with plecs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Where do you live again.......!!!!

Oh!! and your work hours would be appriciated.

not yet wrote: »
    Where do you live again.......!!!!

Oh!! and your work hours would be appriciated.

I work 7.30-4.30 ... but my german shepherds guards the snkaes...

When getting your insurance quote don't forget to mention the giant boulder you've got wedged at the top of the stairs ready to roll down on tresspassers, the numerous hidden pitfalls and spear traps in the living room, the gang of murderous pymies with blowguns that hang out in the kitchen and also that you're thinking of having Eircom phonewatch installed.

All those will help get your quote reduced.

When getting your insurance quote don't forget to mention the giant boulder you've got wedged at the top of the stairs ready to roll down on tresspassers, the numerous hidden pitfalls and spear traps in the living room, the gang of murderous pymies with blowguns that hang out in the kitchen and also that you're thinking of having Eircom phonewatch installed.

All those will help get your quote reduced.

and I was left home alone when my parents went to florida?

I work 7.30-4.30

I thought you were sacked?

yes,i just want to rub it in

I wouldn't mind getting sacked from a job that wanted me in at 7.30am.

That's the middle of the night. :eek:

I was made redundant..

Not like you'd know the difference...

****in porridge

I wouldn't mind getting sacked from a job that wanted me in at 7.30am.

That's the middle of the night. :eek:

And i live 45 mins away..
    Up at 5.30!!

I was made redundant..

Not like you'd know the difference...

****in porridge

Thats just sugar coating it. Its okay, I do that all the time.

For example I am not a rapist, I am a Surprise Sex Engineer

Thanks all!

Yeah as Dinter said there is generally a guideline amount that means you have to insure such items individually. Ring your insurer missy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Guitars, Plecs, Snakes, German Shepherds, Giant boulders, playing guitar with snakes, playing snakes with plecs.... Excellent Friday morning thread lads

Anything to add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Thanks all!

You can't insure guitars here in Ireland. Other countries maybe.

Basically they'll only insure classical instruments or instruments not used for Rock or Pop music as they think that they're more prone to damage.
    Even so, the insurance costs a good bit & you'll need to get a proper valuation on the instrument from a reliable source.

I believe you can get some stuff covered (up to a certain amt) with your home insurance.

TBH, the best thing is to keep it in a secure place, record the serial number, take some good quality pictures and keep the receipt.

Thats just sugar coating it. Its okay, I do that all the time.

<<< remote control engineer

*also like suprise sex*

*obviously kidding*

*obviously*

Dord wrote: »
    You can't insure guitars here in Ireland. Other countries maybe.

Basically they'll only insure classical instruments or instruments not used for Rock or Pop music as they think that they're more prone to damage.
    Even so, the insurance costs a good bit & you'll need to get a proper valuation on the instrument from a reliable source.

I believe you can get some stuff covered (up to a certain amt) with your home insurance.

TBH, the best thing is to keep it in a secure place, record the serial number, take some good quality pictures and keep the receipt.

Darn Pop music ruining it for everyone...

Thanks Dord

As Peig Sawyers often said, "cold, violent hands equals a warm heart".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Anything to add.

Nothing at all. Just impressed that a thread about home insurance went from home insurance to visions of snakes strangling burglars while deliverance was being blasted out a bedroom window in 7 posts.

*also like suprise sex*

*obviously kidding*

*obviously*

I'll take my chances,
    PM'd for date :D

noblestee wrote: »
    Nothing at all. Just impressed that a thread about home insurance went from home insurance to visions of snakes strangling burglars while deliverance was being blasted out a bedroom window in 7 posts.

Kinda gal I am!

I'll take my chances,

Turd Ferguson banned for being as sleazy as Gary Glitter.

Oppps wrong thread :pac:

I'll take my chances,

i meant giving not recieving ;)

BTW turd,

Did you know there is a town in romania called turdo?

You could be president?

Eff boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,228 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

BTW turd,

Did you know there is a town in romania called turdo?

You could be president?

Eff boards!

He only wants to play with yer Gibson :eek:

i meant giving not recieving ;)
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    He only wants to play with yer Gibson :eek:

And I, his..

Whatever that means.

You giving and me taking? Wow, its like a romance made in some Eastern Block country....

In Soviet Russia, girl fucks you!!

You giving and me taking? Wow, its like a romance made in some Eastern Block country....

In Soviet Russia, girl fucks you!!

As in Portlaoise.

Same ratio of people though.

Picture the new GTA

Portlaoise eh, I may head out there.

If it has as much surprise sex as you let on I think I may have found my new home...

Portlaoise eh, I may head out there.

If it has as much surprise sex as you let on I think I may have found my new home...

And has a huge homebase

What about an army suplus for all your long knives and tatty balaclava needs?

Heatons next door.

Wow, so if we build a huge big wall around Portlaoise so that nobody could get out (hypothetically of course) then ye would be able to survive with all of the shops and services ye have.

Thats good to know...

Wow, so if we build a huge big wall around Portlaoise so that nobody could get out (hypothetically of course) then ye would be able to survive with all of the shops and services ye have.

Thats good to know...

turdopia?

turdopia?

Yes, yes. I am the President of Turdopia.
    If you're looking to be the first lady I'm afraid you'll need to go to the back of the line.

Yes, yes. I am the President of Turdopia.
    If you're looking to be the first lady I'm afraid you'll need to go to the back of the line.

*Looks for line*

Oh...I guess all those sexy models have left...

*sobs*
    :(:o:(:o:(:o:(:o:(:o:(

Oh...I guess all those sexy models have left...

*sobs*
    :(:o:(:o:(:o:(:o:(:o:(

*sobs for that cruel remark*
    :(

I didnt mean you, I meant the others...
    upsetting you on that one was just a bonus!!!

I didnt mean you, I meant the others...
    upsetting you on that one was just a bonus!!!

Must kill president..