Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Airsoft Car Pool ?!?

• 02-10-2008 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

Hello Lads!

The bad thing about the Airsoft sites is that they are extremely bad reachable by public transport, exept taxi. For example I live in Blanchardstown Huntstown. To get to the HRTA you will have to take the UR-bus to Swords Applewood. I'm not quite sure, if there is a bus from Swords to Ballybougal, but I dont't think so. So you will have to get a taxi and that will cost about :eek: 40€ (and return to Swords). I even cant imagine how to get to the Fingal Airsoft by public transport. Is the so. with the same problem? Is the there so. in posession of a car, who is willing to share his free seats in exchange for sharing the costs? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

I think there are a good few people travel to Fingal by public transport. If you ask in their thread in the retailers & sites section you could get more information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

Well to get to fingal you can get the 39 into town and then the train to Drogheda or a bus from bus aras.

But I would love a dedicated car pool, I would be more than happy 5 Euro or so for petrol money ect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

Well ive often offerd lifts in the past and dont mind a detour, but no-one ever takes up the offer which is a shame because I drive an absolute gas guzziler just to get myself there. and I play fingal. unfortunatly my next games/offerd lifts wont be for a couple of weeks due to joblessness and stoopid expensive car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

I would be more than happy 5 Euro or so for petrol money ect....

this would have to be by weight x space :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭hrta

Hello Lads!

The bad thing about the Airsoft sites is that they are extremely bad reachable by public transport, exept taxi. For example I live in Blanchardstown Huntstown. To get to the HRTA you will have to take the UR-bus to Swords Applewood. I'm not quite sure, if there is a bus from Swords to Ballybougal, but I dont't think so. So you will have to get a taxi and that will cost about :eek: 40€ (and return to Swords). I even cant imagine how to get to the Fingal Airsoft by public transport. Is the so. with the same problem? Is the there so. in posession of a car, who is willing to share his free seats in exchange for sharing the costs? :confused:

A taxi from swords is € 14.50, your best bet is a train out to lusk and a taxi from lusk is € 10 to share i think is € 1.50 per head so 4 shareing would be € 16.

fletch... wrote: »
    Well ive often offerd lifts in the past and dont mind a detour, but no-one ever takes up the offer which is a shame because I drive an absolute gas guzziler just to get myself there. and I play fingal. unfortunatly my next games/offerd lifts wont be for a couple of weeks due to joblessness and stoopid expensive car.

Where about where you based? For future reference :D
    If it is convenient I would love to avail of any lifts and so would one of my friends both willing to pay for the convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

This has been mentioned before. A taxi from swords to HRTA should only cost €9! AKA 18 Return. Thats ok, but there was an issue with the taxi drivers charging far too much/taking a roundabout route. In any case I'm nearly positive that that has been fixed by now.

If you ask user hrta(Paul the site operator) he could advise you further.

Also, a train from town to Gormanstown from the city cente is 12 and the lads there will take you up the road to the site 2 mins away.

Hope this helps.

Edit: My slow typing: Yeah, rabbits calculation must be outdated, in any case, see above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭FingalAirsoft

Yeah we can pick people up from Gormanstown as the site is a few minutes drive away, and there is all ways someone heading back your way or into town;)... if not we will drop you back to the train station;):)

Bren

Yeah we can pick people up from Gormanstown as the site is a few minutes drive away, and there is all ways someone heading back your way or into town;)... if not we will drop you back to the train station;):)

Bren

Yeah, you are offering a great service, it's just the train is a bit pricey when combined with the bus and the inconvenience of it. You would see a lot more of me and my friends if there was someone willing to drive down the Navan road

So better for both of us :D

Where about where you based? For future reference :D
    If it is convenient I would love to avail of any lifts and so would one of my friends both willing to pay for the convenience.

Where you based man?
    Im Based in Whitehall but dont mind backtracking to pick a few heads up, can take 4 passingers confortably and load up the boot. Il post here again when im headn up. 18's + only tho (the whole resposability thing and you can be accused of anything these days)

Yeah, you are offering a great service, it's just the train is a bit pricey when combined with the bus and the inconvenience of it. You would see a lot more of me and my friends if there was someone willing to drive down the Navan road

So better for both of us :D

No students rates for the train and bus then?

Bren

Where you based man?
    Im Based in Whitehall but dont mind backtracking to pick a few heads up, can take 4 passingers confortably and load up the boot. Il post here again when im headn up. 18's + only tho (the whole resposability thing and you can be accused of anything these days)

I'm based just outside Cabra, on the Navan Road, but I wouldn't mind meeting you somewhere more suitable. Also over 18

Right, since wer on this topic, im headn up to fingal first thing on Sunday. DisasterIRL is first on the list if you want it, anyone else want to head up to Fingal on Sunday?

Yeah, just sorted out my finances so I am game ball, if you are. Thanks a million for the offer, you have saved me no end of hassle and frustration....I...I love you!:p:D. Shall I pm you about meeting time and location?

Aw shucks haha! ye sure pm me pickn up place ect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

Hey Fletch, I would love to take you up on that offer.

PM on it's way!

3 seets gone, one left for fingal on sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭HarryHirsch

I'm in, if you tell me, where do you come along for a pick up.:D

Can you make your up The Navan road, you know the sports grounds there beside Kinvara? doin a pickup there at 9 at the bustop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭PEP_C

I played regularly up at Predator Combat Games in County Down. Should anyone want to try it, please signify your interest with a pm. I'll get back in touch with you when ever I am going up.

I am based on the Northside of Dublin.

thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭HarryHirsch

Thanks, I can get there by bus. The 39 gets along there. See ya on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭airsoftdes

if anyone needs a lift to fingal on sundays i come from rathfarham area a mate of mine charges 20-25 per head depends on numbers going {fuel and toll etc} and drop and collect its cheaper than train and taxis:)

airsoftdes wrote: »
    if anyone needs a lift to fingal on sundays i come from rathfarham area a mate of mine charges 20-25 per head depends on numbers going {fuel and toll etc} and drop and collect its cheaper than train and taxis:)

No offense mate but I would advise anybody who is traveling to The Orchard to not avail of this offer:mad::mad: as that is just pure profiteering!! Take the train to Gormanstown from Conolly, Tara or Pearse Street (12euro return) and I'll pick you guys up at the train station!;);)

Bren.

not even 20 euro used in petrol and if even a 6 euro toll:mad::mad::mad::mad:

No Thank You!!!!

Bren

he charges 20 per head he does not play just a lift the train is 12 euro but to get to train station is a bitch bus dont start till about 9 and 2 euro on bus so 12 + 4 =16euros and the train is a bitch coming home if ya miss the train at half 5ish waiting 2 hours 4 next one and ya have to rush off at last game so 20 euro is a small price and he is in it for the profit end of things anyway c u tomorrow guys cant wait:):):):):)

You must be joking, a small price to pay, the whole idea is to catch people heading to the area, so rightly they are using very little extra petrol, but they are helping you out, so you compensate them for there niceness. if you wanted to go there for that price you could get a taxi! Between 4 people it might even be cheaper. As for the highlighted area above, it's roughly a 20 minute journey or further out of the city 40 minutes.

actually a taxi from rathfarnham to airport is 40 so to fingal id say 80 to 100 euros and its only an extra 4 euro per person and as i said he gets up drops us down and collect would you do that for free or charge and it is so much hander than train and bus but if ya get train the guys at fingal prob collect you der dead sound

Now 80-100 divided by four is 20-25, which is what was quoted. And I was never suggesting free of charge I was just saying that the rate stated was far to high.

but thats what i was saying 20 per head me and two others is what he wants

What are yous all fckn nuts????
    Dont ever pay that amount of cash especially to that tosser.
    Give me a PM if yous want a lift - chances are ile be headn to Fingal but that guy asken for them prices is talkn trough his arse.

Ha, I was trying not to be harsh but thank you for that, nicely said! He is profiteering, as said by bren, clearly shown by the fact that a taxi driver would charge as much

Well lets put it this way, my 7 seater tractor cost about 100 squids to fill, drinks like a scoby down an allyway, and ive allways offerd complete strangers that ive never met before to pick them up. But that guy is just talkn rubish, that just totally blows me away - if someones lookn for a lift then pm me or the regulars or somethin, dont ever be taken advantage of.:mad:

LMAO:D:D:D:D

Basically he's running a taxi without the license:mad: and would not have the insurance to cover you guys, not in the spirit of this thread which is to car pool..... not car fool!

Bren

That's me!

Thanks a million once again, most enjoyable journey, pure gent.:P:D

That's me!

Thanks a million once again, most enjoyable journey, pure gent.:P:D

I have to say you could not meet a nicer guy;)

Bren

I have to say you could not meet a nicer guy;)

Bren

Also has a good taste in music, although I'm not sure bren will back me up on this:P

Ah thanks guys!!! we all gottsa look after eachother ye know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You can warn people without resorting to personal abuse. Which is an automatic 1 week ban.

Lads, this thread is a great idea but if it's not kept civil I'll have no trouble locking the thing.