Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl I like-What to do?

• 02-10-2008 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭

I met a girl on holiday last year-and became friends. She asked me to walk her home one night but I never made a move.

I call down to her every 2-3 weeks and she comes up and stays with me. Its grand but the more I see her the more I like her

She always drops in comments like – Ill have to keep your mother sweet etc. Even her own mother thinks shes getting a new son in law. Also you know peoples comfort zone Im always in that . The more I think about it we act like bf and gf but are not. When I go down she has dinner ready and always makes my breakfast etc.

But she has never made a move but on a night out she asked me to sit on her lap etc one night I dodnt know where to look! and was saying to my mother ill have to teach him manners joking etc.

We went out to dinner on Saturday and often catch her looking at me

It’s a strange one and Im getting mixed messages I was going to text her yesterday but did not think it appropriate

I could just ask her face to face but id die If she said no and do not want it top affect friendship

I was going to get flowers sent to her and signed by an admirer but don’t know is that a bit over the top

A girl I was going out for a while always thought there was chemistry between us .

When I called in to my mother with her she even said to me after how long we were going out even though Ive never said this she jsut picked up body language I suppose.

Advice would be great
    Noel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Kaldorn

C'mon man what more signals do you need,she wants you big time,i cant belieive you havent made a a move yet.if she rejects you which she wont you can resume your friendship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Hi Noel,

I have a story you might find interesting. A good many years ago, I met a lovely girl that I clicked with immediately through work. Now, at the time, she was much older then me at an age where every year made a significant difference, and she was, to boot, incredibly attractive. Let's just say, for me, it wasn't the proudest period of my life and so, perhaps naturally for some people, I began treating everything as unrequited feeling through my own inadequacy, even if in hindsight I was being totally irrational. She used to talk to me a lot, both in person and through text and email, etc, and drop a great deal of hints, some of them discreet, some of them amazingly obvious. This all happened over a period of a year or so amidst a decent amount of a social interaction, a much greater one then I'm outlining here, but you get the drift. It all reached a head when we were at a party together (not the first, but this is the most important one), she dragged me on my lonesome to various rooms, lonely locations, where we talked and got increasingly closer, before I would consistantly manage to limp out something like 'Well, I guess I better get back to the party....', fearful that I was somehow reading the signs wrong and about to ruin our friendship. I've been to all those places you've described; the walk home at 4am, being invited inside, and far worse, yet I refused to believe it was genuine. It eventually ended with a dreadful phone call in which we practically declared our love for each other but circumstances meant it was too late for us to be together. I had a few girlfriends since but I never really forgot her, and I always felt a little twinge of heartbreak whenever I heard her name mentioned, come up in conversation (often a topic amongst the lads, how I managed to pass that one up), or even simply thinking about it.

Now I'm happy to say 5 years later and we're now together, we happened to meet randomly and within minutes it was just.....like things had never changed. We even had the whole dramatic beating of fists on my chest and 'Whyyyy....whyyyy didn't you know, I tried so hard to make you notice me!' routine. Never pass up a good thing when it's right there for you to take. Before you know it it'll be too late and it just might consume you forever...:) I just hate when I see these 'Does she like me?' threads because most of them, after the first few sentences it's clear to even the most sociall dysfunctional, longest haired nerd that yes....she does like you. Do it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭noel123ie

thanks so much.....

Ya shes gave her no to a guy that is a friend of mine at party last weekend and asked me should she reply to his text for a date

I was not sure what to do but now ill tell her not to meet him I reckon

Noel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Pakage of King

The scourge of the nice guy !!

Either you are going to get in there or someone else will Noel !!

Go For It....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I have to agree, Out of interest Noel what age are you? See I remember in my teens etc. being rejected is like the end of the world. Now in 20's even though I'm in a LT relationship I Wouldn't care less If a girl shot me down theres no harm in asking.

you just have to say to yourself whats the worst thing that can happen if you ask her to the cinema/drink/whatever. I'm not saying that you profess your unrevloting love for her or anything!

Best of Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Congrats Noel, you have a gf.

ziedth wrote: »
    I have to agree, Out of interest Noel what age are you? See I remember in my teens etc. being rejected is like the end of the world. Now in 20's even though I'm in a LT relationship I Wouldn't care less If a girl shot me down theres no harm in asking.

you just have to say to yourself whats the worst thing that can happen if you ask her to the cinema/drink/whatever. I'm not saying that you profess your unrevloting love for her or anything!

Best of Luck

thanks im 34 no not worried about getting the bullet

Ill give it a go anyways

Noel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Burial

noel123ie wrote: »
    I could just ask her face to face but id die If she said no and do not want it top affect friendship

This is what I don't get. People dream of more, yet don't want to affect what they have already. You can't have both. Just ask yourself which would you rather? Besides if your both friends, and you casually say you like her and not with flowers, a band and a chocolates declaring your love for her all those years.

thanks ill give it a go and get back to ye..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

noel123ie wrote: »
    thanks ill give it a go and get back to ye..

Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Sugar Drunk

at 34 your perspective of this particular situation sounds a LOT younger ....how did this situation come about - you are going down to her every few weeks, texting flirting eg ewhat Bf & GF do yet nothing sexual has happened ? :eek:

get in there now! seriously man tell her how you feel. Otherwise you will always wonder and you will be gutted when she goes off with another fella. It sounds like shes dropping some very heavy hints so make a move you could end up v happy

at 34 your perspective of this particular situation sounds a LOT younger ....how did this situation come about - you are going down to her every few weeks, texting flirting eg ewhat Bf & GF do yet nothing sexual has happened ? :eek:

get in there now! seriously man tell her how you feel. Otherwise you will always wonder and you will be gutted when she goes off with another fella. It sounds like shes dropping some very heavy hints so make a move you could end up v happy

really dont get what you mean about perspective thing...

we met on holiday and are friends since i go to kerry every 2-3 weeks and she comes up shes always dropping hints though alright and we do come across as a couple

thanks for advice
    noel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I feel for you Noel. I am slow to react to my feelings too and I am in my late 20's. As it happens there is someone I like right now too. Haven't met her mammy or anything yet, hell I still ahve to get her out for drinks. Just shows you how much balls I have to grow.:o
    Sounds like you are on to a winner. Try asking her how she feels about you playfully. Do you think I a cute? How cute? Really? Look into her eyes and ;)

You sound like the classic nice guy. Try the above it won't seem out of character on you and let us know how you get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Shes giving you more signals than Vodafone! Go for it.

heading down to kerry this weekend so here goes...

thanks all heading down saturday fingers crossed

sorry did not think 1st post went through

noel

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Bring a dozen roses Noel, wine her, dine her, make it a weekend she'll remember.
    Don't forget the condoms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Sugar Drunk

what I mean is that from the way you posted about her you sounded a lot younger kind like a crush where you were too shy to ask her out. It seems to everyone that you are coming across as a couple so it makes sense to jump in and ask her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

just kiss her. i got my girlfriend by just doing that although there had been a lot of sexual tension there beforehand but not nearly as much as there is with you and this girl.
    you'll more than likely spend the rest of your life kicking yourself if you don't.

have fun!