Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle tracks

• 01-10-2008 8:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭

Forgive my ignorance if this is common knowledge but I just stumbled accross this page and thought it might be handy to stick up here.

http://www.dto.ie/mapindex.html

The cycling policy on the website is an interesting read as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

It's a nice map. The "birds eye" view is the most detailed aerial coverage I've seen of Dublin yet.

In a lot of cases, the markings on the maps don't relate to any actual "cycle tracks" on the ground though.

"These maps are not a representation of the quality of or safety along these routes, cycling is conducted at an individuals risk." Heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I love the images of the "cycle tracks". Here's the "cycle track" picture they include for Dun Laoghaire:

survK.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

Wish i'd the time/patience to build a spiteful, heavy as hell, lowrider bike with snowplow-like attachment and ride it full pelt into those tables when cafe owner was sitting there! It's bad enough cars parking in cycle lanes, but the guards really should be doing something about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I use that track in dun laoghaire the odd time, people are always looking in disgust at you as though you are in the wrong. Then some do see the signs and reef the kids off it, I am never going fast though.

Sandyford Ind estate has a cycle track now, cars are permanently parked up on it, they have traffic wardens in sandyford, but seems they only go after unpaid parking. The gardai could make a killing up there, at least 10 cars at a time, and only minutes from their whitescross moneymaking spot.

I am not sure but those chairs left in the cycletrack might be classed as litter so you might be able to take them. I would walk off with one anyway just to get then bastards out, when questioned say you are with the corpo. I used to actually work with a signage company employed via the corpo taking illegal posters down. Lots of stuff in town is technically litter, like many sandwich boards, we used to toss them in skips all the time, people out screaming at us, passers by and owners saying they would call the gardai, to which we would reply "grand, are you turning yourself in for littering?, I can be a witness"