Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords Incident

• 30-09-2008 11:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhqlsngbgbau/

From what I've been hearing a good job by locals, negotiators and ERU. A stun deployed for distraction and they managed to restrain the individual before any fatal injury could be inflicted.

Lives saved don't make news like lives lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Good effort all round and well done to those involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ya spotted that on the site earlier on. Must see what the firearms experts over on indymedia say! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Res...isting...urge...to...state....the...ob...v....ious.....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

deadwood wrote: »

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Good result but I have heard what really happened!!!!

Ha ha not gonna say though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

TheNog wrote: »
    Good result but I have heard what really happened!!!!

Ha ha not gonna say though

That doesn't surprise me, there's usually several different versions of an incident like this floating around.
    You're as well off saying nothing, it may be an inaccurate version and there may be court proceedings pending.

CLADA wrote: »
    A stun deployed for distraction
    What, like "that shirt looks awful with those shoes"?

CLADA wrote: »
    That doesn't surprise me, there's usually several different versions of an incident like this floating around.
    You're as well off saying nothing, it may be an inaccurate version and there may be court proceedings pending.

absolutely agree. think that was one of the first things on the charter we had asked to be put on
    What, like "that shirt looks awful with those shoes"?

your in flying form today. ye had me near crying with laughter with some of the posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

"The Garda Ombudsman has been contacted. "

Good use of resources, time and money there. Has he even bloody complained? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

Good use of resources, time and money there. Has he even bloody complained? :rolleyes:

When the extent of the victim's injuries became clear the matter was referred by the Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy to the Garda Ombudsman.

The agency, which investigates complaints against Garda members and all loss of life and serious injury involving gardaí, is conducting a preliminary investigation into the matter. The injured man is said to have been in a distressed state and there is no suggestion his wound was anything other than self-inflicted.

Irishtimes.com

dredre wrote: »
    When the extent of the victim's injuries became clear the matter was referred by the Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy to the Garda Ombudsman.

The agency, which investigates complaints against Garda members and all loss of life and serious injury involving gardaí, is conducting a preliminary investigation into the matter. The injured man is said to have been in a distressed state and there is no suggestion his wound was anything other than self-inflicted.

Irishtimes.com

I realise where and when the Ombudsman investigates. My point was that there is better ways to deploy personel and spend government money.

I'd prefer GSOC to get involved tbh cos at least if everything was done correctly then GSOC can say so. Removes the possible cloak and daggers comments on the media.

If something went wrong then at least it can be looked at and fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

I agree. Not only does the right thing have to be done but it has to be seen to be done. Not just in the Guards either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Are you suggesting that ill or distressed people should be allowed hurt themselves? Or that the emergency services should be indifferent in resolving matters?

At least they didn't "receive certain information", eh? It's all about the spin, Karl.

Victor wrote: »
    Are you suggesting that ill or distressed people should be allowed hurt themselves? Or that the emergency services should be indifferent in resolving matters?
    Not one bit Glad this matter came to a succesful conclusion. I apologise if I appeared to have been making a joke of this mans predicament.

I was referring to other threads in this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭m4j

In relation to this incident I wonder does anyone know about the negotiating team, how they are trained or deployed. Interesting area of which I would love to know more, also the Critical Incident Team, Members were at one time being trained (2days 550 euros course) in CISD, from a personal stand those doing the training and the fee charged were questionable to say the least. I understand that the Garda now know this also but wonder what training experience and background etc these teams come from?

I can't imagine it was an easy situation for any member and hope all were ok including this poor man

In relation to this incident I wonder does anyone know about the negotiating team, how they are trained or deployed. Interesting area of which I would love to know more, also the Critical Incident Team, Members were at one time being trained (2days 550 euros course) in CISD, from a personal stand those doing the training and the fee charged were questionable to say the least. I understand that the Garda now know this also but wonder what training experience and background etc these teams come from?

I can't imagine it was an easy situation for any member and hope all were ok including this poor man

m4j wrote: »
    In relation to this incident I wonder does anyone know about the negotiating team, how they are trained or deployed.

Taken from Kent Police, the training course aims to provide students with the necessary skills to competently negotiate (act as No 1 or No 2) in suicide intervention, firearms containment and call-out operations, domestic and criminal siege/barricade incidents and other incidents where required and authorised.

In addition the course will provide students with the necessary skills to support nationally trained hostage negotiators (by performing all other relevant roles within a negotiating cell) in dealing with the full range of incidents requiring negotiator deployment.

Course content
    Active listening theory and application
    Police negotiation techniques
    Negotiation methodology
    Human rights
    Firearms awareness
    Diversity and culture in the negotiation context
    Emotionally disturbed individuals in the negotiation context
    Kidnap awareness
    Technical awareness
    Practical scenarios

Im reminded of an old story here. New mule fresh out of Templemore and full of good intentions and Psych training is dealing with a lad standing on the steps of the Liffey. This mule and DFB are there promising this guy the earth and the moon, cups of tea and big hugs, etc to get him back from the edge for about an hour. A big thick old Sergeant comes along, stands there for a few minutes then walks over while shouting "Get your ass up here before I drag you back to the cells by the ears". Lad scurries up apologising and begging the lads not to tell his mammy. :D

And before enyone goes mad, he was drunk and no more suicidal than Mr Happy.

Metman, your a star thank you for this I will go through it with interest.

Karl, thats a great story sometimes a good kick in the hole is all thats required.

Great Joke sent to me today, member or not it is funny and not posted to cause offence or to take away from this discussion. Deadwood you will love this..

A Galwayman, Dublinman and Kerryman apply to
    > join the Gardai.
    > >>>
    > >>> The Galwayman does his interview which goes
    > fine. The last
    > >>> question he is asked is "Who killed Jesus
    > Christ?" to which he
    > >>> replies Pontious Pilate.
    > >>> "Very good" says the superintendent,
    > "you can start on traffic
    > >>> duty".
    > >>>
    > >>> The Dublinman does his interview which also
    > goes fine and he
    > >>> answers the question about who killed Jesus
    > Christ and is assigned
    > >>> to traffic duty.
    > >>>
    > >>> The Kerryman goes in for his interview which
    > goes fine and he is
    > >>> asked who killed Jesus Christ. "I
    > don't know" he answers.
    > >>>
    > >>> The superintendent tells him to go to the
    > library across the yard
    > >>> and begin checking the bible.On the way he
    > meets the Galwayman and
    > >>> the Dublinman who already have their traffic
    > uniforms on and are
    > >>> taking to the streets.
    > >>>
    > >>> "What are you up to?" the Kerryman
    > asks.
    > >>> They both reply that they are already starting
    > on traffic duty.
    > >>>
    > >>> "Traffic duty?!" says the Kerryman,
    > "Jayzus, I've been assigned to
    > >>> a murder case!!!"

No probs. Your negotiators are usually fairly calm types that can maintain a pink and fluffy exterior under extreme stress (Clada might suggest my personality type might mean I'm not be suited to this role :p).

In fairness to the guys and gals doing this, I wouldn't fancy their job. Lot of additional stress, lot of additional questions to be answered when it goes wrong. Hats off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

The only negotatior (sp) i know is a d/sgt. I think its mostly kept to at least that rank. Also there doesnt seem to be many trained down my way as he had to travel about 80 miles for an actual incident.

This is of course my only info on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

yayamark wrote: »
    The only negotatior (sp) i know is a d/sgt. I think its mostly kept to at least that rank. Also there doesnt seem to be many trained down my way as he had to travel about 80 miles for an actual incident.

This is of course my only info on it.

There's at least one super I know of who is regularly called out as a negotiator. I seem to recall he was called out from the west to get to other locations quickly. Ah, now I remember: he was called down for that incident in Tipperary last year...he was a negotiator in a certain high profile incident now more than several years ago and has twice been promoted subsequently.