Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Irish Share Index (ISEQ) Crashes

• 29-09-2008 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭

The ISEQ is down 11% as i type.

Ireland is really being pounded by this crisis more than most showing how vulnerable we are.

http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=%5EISEQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Ireland is really being pounded by this crisis more than most showing how vulnerable we are.

I haven't seen a pounding that bad since the video of yore Ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Oh ****.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

9.62 now. It will change a few times today. Its bad enough that the press do the scaremongering, please dont help them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

We're being punished by the Germans and French for voting No to Nice. True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Ah here, recession session lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

this crisis

What the hell is a crisis any more?

No one died from this (yet? I'll keep an eye at the top floor windows at bank centre & the IFSC as I'm going home) so I don't think such a word is really warrented.

From what I can see, it's mostly the Irish banks that are losing share price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

economics forum that way
    >

huge ****ing after hours recession thread that way <

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭20goto10

Vulnerable? Ignorant more like it. I'd be surprised if it had anything to do with Irish banks. People see bad news in B&B and Fortis and go oh bugger lets sell all our AIB shares...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

20goto10 wrote: »
    Vulnerable? Ignorant more like it. I'd be surprised if it had anything to do with Irish banks. People see bad news in B&B and Fortis and go oh bugger lets sell all our AIB shares...:rolleyes:

Ignorance is bliss isn't it:pac:

Down over 12.5% now.

An absolute wipe out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Abortions for some, miniature American flags for others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Who is Isaac Index?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

jebuz wrote: »
    Who is Isaac Index?

Oh, don't tell me, he's the guy who invented the index, right? At the end of books?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Who is Isaac Index?

Is that not the dead fella that played chef in South park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I once fell by 11%. Twas only a graze.

Wait until the ISEQ falls 100%. Then you'll know trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Down over 12.5% now.

An absolute wipe out.

A wipe out would be 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Booo hooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

First cousin of Dow Jones from Ballyhaunis, used to always play footsie with the girls in school.

Jaysus, how is Dow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Jaysus, how is Dow?

Up and down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

My only problem with this is could we not just get it all over with!?!?!?! It's like watching someone die a very very slow death!

Darragh29 wrote: »
    My only problem with this is could we not just get it all over with!?!?!?! It's like watching someone die a very very slow death!

I think we all ought to take stock of the situation.
    The more insight we share, the better.
    I know you can't bear to put up with this bull...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I think Isaac index is actually a women who only got the surname after she got married.

Her maiden name was Hunt i believe:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Recession me BOLLIX. I had to get to work at the weekend and the traffic around the Blanch Shopping Centre was mental. You'd swear it was already Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

kyub wrote: »
    Recession me BOLLIX. I had to get to work at the weekend and the traffic around the Blanch Shopping Centre was mental. You'd swear it was already Christmas.

Didn't you get the memo? They moved Christmas forward six weeks and added another three weeks at the end, along with a second day of present giving, to shore up the economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Isacc is a cheap whore, going down faster than Yore Ma. Shes lost two-thirds of her value since Feb 2007.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

kyub wrote: »
    Recession me BOLLIX.

Not growing as much as it used to?. You're getting old.

Didn't you get the memo? They moved Christmas forward six weeks and added another three weeks at the end, along with a second day of present giving, to shore up the economy.

RTE just broke the news that Christmas is being cancelled for this year, due to the cut backs...

No Late Late Toy Show??

Maybe it'll become 'The Late Late St Vincent De Paul donated Toy Show'.

'Now, here's little Mary showing us her headless Barbie. Aww, I bet that hat would have looked so nice on her head...'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yay it's up to 13% now. That's good right? Is the recession over? I want to buy a tele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Labour Welcome Crashing ISEQ - The Star exclusive

Labour Finance Whinelady Joan Burton has welcomed the crashing Irish Stock Exchange, noting that it is one of the most equality-driven measures in years. "The government must be congratulated for fostering this collapse, which mostly hurts the wealthy, as it makes society more equal", moaned the whiney old cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Damn those short sellers pushing the market down ;)

So much for banning short selling.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    No Late Late Toy Show??

Maybe it'll become 'The Late Late St Vincent De Paul donated Toy Show'.

'Now, here's little Mary showing us her headless Barbie. Aww, I bet that hat would have looked so nice on her head...'

Yes, instead of turkey this Christmas a government spokesperson has suggested to RTE News that consumers instead consider buying a family pack of Pot Noodles for dinner on Christmas Day and instead of buying presents in the traditional manner, that the head of each household perhaps buy some crayons and circulate amongst family members to allow your family to spend Christmas Day colouring in the boxes on household bills, for example Eircom and the ESB.

I don't know what a tracker mortgage is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I don't know what a tracker mortgage is.

Yeah, good man:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wagon wrote: »
    Ah here, recession session lads :D
    Had one on Saturday night. I believe youtube has the video footage.
    It ended up being down 10%. Stop panicking and start spending.

Yes, instead of turkey this Christmas a government spokesperson has suggested to RTE News that consumers instead consider buying a family pack of Pot Noodles for dinner on Christmas Day and instead of buying presents in the traditional manner, that the head of each household perhaps buy some crayons and circulate amongst family members to allow your family to spend Christmas Day colouring in the boxes on household bills, for example Eircom and the ESB.

Turkey & Stuffing flavoured Koka Noodles FTW!!!

At last, someone who can tell us how all this started...!!!

http://www.thesignsofthetimes.net/videos/news/2008/20080924financialcrisis.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Terry wrote: »
    Had one on Saturday night. I believe youtube has the video footage.
    It ended up being down 10%. Stop panicking and start spending.

Links to videos?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Nehaxak wrote: »
    We're being punished by the Germans and French for voting No to Nice. True story.
    They are taking back to roads aswell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 poxy

http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=%5EISEQ

Im a millionaire so I dont give a f!ck - about any of you:pac:

poxy wrote: »
    Im a millionaire so I dont give a f!ck - about any of you:pac:

Hi Bertie !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 poxy