Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

P226 Holster

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Lads,
    For those with pistol holsters; are CQC holsters such as the following any good?
    http://ebaybanned.com/product_info.php?cPath=62_40&products_id=1649

If not can you recommend a good holster for a P226? I'm not gone on drop leg holsters, how do users find them?

Get the serpa and a STIRKE paddle as a drop leg. Cant go wrong. I have one myself.

I will say that my one sometimes doesnt seat the 226 properly but thats more down to me as a user than to the product.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭MacAonghusa

Get the serpa and a STIRKE paddle as a drop leg. Cant go wrong. I have one myself.

I will say that my one sometimes doesnt seat the 226 properly but thats more down to me as a user than to the product.

Thx, I'll check it out.

Edit: Hivemind187 This the sort of thing you mean?
    http://ebaybanned.com/product_info.php?cPath=62_40&products_id=1021

Edit 2: pasted wrong link, same as VTECs below.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

+1 on the serpa, its the best holster i've ever used, fobus included.,
    this is the drop leg panel you need,.

http://ebaybanned.com/product_info.php?cPath=62_40&products_id=1021

Modular%20Drop%20Leg%20Platform%202.jpg

Thanks lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i bought this yoke
    its re al mil spec fits perfectly works perfectly
    buy one

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055381565

if you like drop leg thenthe one vtec is showing you is good but i find the fobus easier to run with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭NakedHedgehog

Agreed on the Blackhawk CQC Serpa. I've had mine (genuine Blackhawk- not replica) for the past 3 years and love it to bits.

In fact it's so good that my choice of sidearm will be directly influenced by whether or not there is a CQC holster for it.

(Note: the below is for the real-deal Blackhawk holster and not for the replica - I am not sure what comes with the replica or if it works the same as the BHI version).

It's extremely versatile and adaptable. It's very quick drawing and since your trigger finger releases the "catch" you're ready to fire right away.

It comes with:
    - a paddle which you can clip on and off your trousers and belt in about two seconds or fit more firmly on your first-line's belt
    - a belt adaptor which you can loop a belt through

In additon you have the drop-leg mount, if that's your thing - or the STRIKE CQC panel adaptor (http://www.optactical.com/blstcqcpl.html) which allows you to clip your holster onto your PALS webbing at any angle.

On top of all of that the holster's angle itself can be tilted forward or backward to suit your drawing style and position. It's a very clever piece of kit.

Personally I have tried all three mounting methods and have come full circle to the belt. I've got it attached (with the paddle since it's more comfortable imo) to my first-line belt - quick to draw, can crawl if necessary and doesn't interfere with my movements, which I found the drop leg to do a bit.

To be honest though, I'm not sure why you'd buy the replica version if for five dollars more you can buy the real Blackhawk version and give money to those that actually came up with it and have a good quality holster designed for real soldiers and the punishment they'd give it -- rather than some knock-off group stealing good ideas and probably of less quality than the CQC.

Tigger wrote: »
    i bought this yoke
    its re al mil spec fits perfectly works perfectly
    buy one

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055381565

if you like drop leg thenthe one vtec is showing you is good but i find the fobus easier to run with

Those Fobus holsters are brilliant, i have a glock one myself. but one of the bad things is when you have to wear it on the belt and have a bandolier or bulky vest on nad it gets in the way, also the fact that the gun locks into it and ya need to give it a good pull out, especially if the holsters new., if im packing light i'll usually wear the fobus on my side though.,

Out of curiosity, why not just use the CQC on your belt instead?

you can do, but i find its more comfy on the leg. then you the space to have a dump pouch etc on your belt., its whatever is comfy for an individual i suppose.,

vtec wrote: »
    Those Fobus holsters are brilliant, i have a glock one myself. but one of the bad things is when you have to wear it on the belt and have a bandolier or bulky vest on nad it gets in the way, also the fact that the gun locks into it and ya need to give it a good pull out, especially if the holsters new., if im packing light i'll usually wear the fobus on my side though.,

op said he dosent like drop leg

also i frind a glock fine in a drop leg but hate the sig in one

too heavy

Thanks for all the replies lads, much appreciated! Gives me something to think about.

NakedHedgehog: would you recommend the panel adaptor?
    I like the idea of being able to switch the gun to the front of my chest rig when the mood suits.

Where do ye lads mount your spare mag? The pouch on the drop leg system doesn't seem too practical.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Would like to recommend the Serpa as well, i got the real one after buying the usp version from ebaybanned and having troubles with the fit but loving the design and feel of the Serpa.

I love the versatility, the standard drop leg unit is really practical and comfy where as you can easily change to a belt mounted or molle mounted with simple cheap adapters.

Yeah, the STRIKE panel adaptor works pretty well. It's easy and quick to attach/detach and holds the holster in place firmly. Plus with PALS webbing and this thing you can put it anywhere on your vest.

I keep my spare mags in pouches attached to my (MOLLE) chestrig.

Yeah, the STRIKE panel adaptor works pretty well. It's easy and quick to attach/detach and holds the holster in place firmly. Plus with PALS webbing and this thing you can put it anywhere on your vest.
    I keep my spare mags in pouches attached to my (MOLLE) chestrig.

Thanks. This is basically what i'm going for, it'd be handy for certain scenarios.

tn_100_0893.jpg

Yup - that'll work fine with the CQC. Since there's no "tugging" you wont be pulling your vest around either. You can fine tune the angle as well.

Go for it! You wont regret it.

You can get one of these from RSOV pretty cheap., the Serpa holster just screws onto it and then its attaches to a molle platform.,

tag_010712137756244858bf0846b31.jpg

http://www.rsov.com/index.php?target=products&product_id=2131

http://www.rsov.com/index.php?target=products&product_id=2130

Yup - that'll work fine with the CQC. Since there's no "tugging" you wont be pulling your vest around either. You can fine tune the angle as well.
    Go for it! You wont regret it.

Think I will, thanks.
    You can get one of these from RSOV pretty cheap., the Serpa holster just screws onto it and then its attaches to a molle platform.,
    http://www.rsov.com/index.php?target=products&product_id=2131
    http://www.rsov.com/index.php?target=products&product_id=2130

Don't suppose you know the dimensions of the platform? The molle space on my vest is very limited, I think these might be too big. Thx for the suggestion though.

I havent a clue man,.ive seen them though and they dont look all that big., judge it by the size of the 2 molle straps on there and you can tell its failrly compact.,

Ok, thanks. I'll have to measure my vest anyway, it think it's a fairly small molle area.

The platform is about 3x3 (PALS loops wide and long). It would fit where you want to mount your holster. It's okay, but I'd still go for the STRIKE thing. I've tried both and didn't like the panel much at all.

It doesn't latch as tightly to your vest so it moves around too much and drags down from the weight of the P226 as well.

Edit: They really did copy absolutely everything SERPA CQC related, didn't they?!

The platform is about 3x3 (PALS loops wide and long). It would fit where you want to mount your holster. It's okay, but I'd still go for the STRIKE thing. I've tried both and didn't like the panel much at all.

It doesn't latch as tightly to your vest so it moves around too much and drags down from the weight of the P226 as well.

Edit: They really did copy absolutely everything SERPA CQC related, didn't they?!

The molle platform I have is only 3 loops high with a zipped pocket underneath so I can't afford to have anything hang loose. I'll go with the plastic thingy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Keggers

I was looking at buying a holster with the P226 in mind as well does anyone have any idea what this: http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=388 is like?

i hate mine

hate it

Keggers wrote: »
    I was looking at buying a holster with the P226 in mind as well does anyone have any idea what this: http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=388 is like?

"takes virtually all pistols in black or olive green"

What if your gun is silver? :)

Someone mentioned before that "universal" holsters aren't great but it's fully adjustable so should suit. Though the P226 does seem bulky compared to others i've tried. :confused:

Tigger wrote: »
    i hate mine

hate it

Why?

I hate them too., their really bulky and move around a lot on your leg. they also dont hold the gun nearly as well as their supposed to., cant beat a "gun specific" holster.,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

i got a real cqc for a tm (with metal) 226 -- fits like a glove. i attached it to a ebaybanned leg platform and it fitted perfectly.

i also got a foliage green holster for a m9 from a company called ecop and it fits perfectly as well.

I was never big on leg platforms...

what about this one?: http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=385

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

Id go with a fobus, from my experience of "universal" holsters id stay clear and get a holster specific for your gun. I havent used one of those ones from ebaybanned but ive ran around skirmishing with a glock in a fobus and its as secure as it needs to be.

Keggers, if you're not in to leg platforms, why get one?

Really, honestly, hand on heart - the Blackhawk CQC Serpa is the best holster I have ever come across.
    If you're getting a P226, why not get it?

It can do EVERYTHING you want it do. Leg mount, PALS webbing mount, belt mount. Anything. There really is no use getting crappy universal holsters if you know you're getting a P226.