Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My first ever deer.

• 28-09-2008 4:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭

Went out this morning for a stalk, very quiet, but luckily I managed to get this fella. Necked him at about 70 yards. Absolutely delighted with myself.
    Thanks to JWShooter for getting me in on him and showing me what to do after the shot. F***er took some pleasure in watching me dragging him back to the jeep!! And he's only a little pricket! God help me when I shoot his daddy!:D

dscf0006xf3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

Congratulations, great feeling isn't it! Just wait till you have to drag a 100kilo stag down from the mountains :eek:

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Well done man, yet to get my first one:(
    By the way, i know where you got the name from with that hat on ye:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Well done man, yet to get my first one:(
    By the way, i know where you got the name from with that hat on ye:D:D

Be vewy, vewy quiet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Well done E.Fudd more to come for you.

If the hat fits............................................:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Congrats E.Fudd on your first hope you get many more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

E. Fudd wrote: »
    Went out this morning for a stalk, very quiet, but luckily I managed to get this fella. Necked him at about 70 yards. Absolutely delighted with myself.
    Thanks to JWShooter for getting me in on him and showing me what to do after the shot. F***er took some pleasure in watching me dragging him back to the jeep!! And he's only a little pricket! God help me when I shoot his daddy!:D

dscf0006xf3.jpg
    there was a road 50 meters the other way :D ..you may give up the fags they could hear you puffing in the glenmalure lodge .good shot clean kill and a nice animal for the table .

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

jaffa20, mountain and dublinmadyoke banned until I unwind this crap.

Please, in future, do not respond to posts like that. Just hit the report post button and myself or one of the other mods will turn up and sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Ok i apologise for debating on the ethics of hunting. I have no objection to those who hunt for meat and not pleasure (without eating their catch) in a controlled and legal way with quotas in place. I was just slightly disgusted by the OP's picture as others were too. The deer seemed so young and the OP seemed to take more pleasure in the act than the catch which perhaps is not true. In any case, best of luck and sorry if my comments were offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭yank_in_eire

Congratulations mate! Nice shooting.
    I still remember my first deer like it was yesterday -there's nothing like that feeling. Looks like you should have some nice meat for the table as well.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Having read the thread properly now, jaffa20 unbanned.

Everybody, please tread carefully and be civil towards each other.

If we need to split out the hunting debate into another thread, PM me and I'll do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

i know where you got the name from with that hat on ye:D:D

I don't know what your on about there sunshine....

What type of deer is that, would it taste good??

elmar.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

feckin knew one of ye's would slag the hat! only realised I had it on arseways when I got home and looked at the picture! Cheers for all the comments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

lightening wrote: »
    I don't know what your on about there sunshine....

What type of deer is that, would it taste good??

Sika pricket methinks, someone will correct me if I'm wrong. Should be quite delicious. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

Good job Elmer - Happy days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

Nice pricket E.Fudd, ive yet to get to shoot a sika

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

Nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Congratulations Mr. Fudd, more power to you.

Some excellent table fare. Savour the moment.

Nice work JW.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

well done hope you have a great season...nice pricket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Nice shooting, still waiting for my first one......