Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to do a stake-out

• 26-09-2008 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭

There is a house by me, owned by an old lady who is in hospital which is being ransacked every night. I think I know the guy, a loon who lives up the road. I have phoned the Gardai, who while nice and helpful have said they are too thinly stretched to keep a constant eye. He does the damage within a five minute period so by the time the Gardai arrive it is too late.

Tonight Mathew, I am going to be Dick Tracy. I intend to park in the dark with a video camera to catch him in the act. Has anyone ever done this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Forget about the house and the weirdo, if you are going to follow someone around at night with a video camera make sure its a woman....or a couple having sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Binoculars...check
    Coffee...check
    Donuts...Double check

Go Time:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Your video evidence is unlikely to be accepted in court.

Replace the camcorder with a brick & go for instant justice.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

engrish? wrote: »
    , I am going to be Dick Tracy.

I would of went with Peter Parker myself..

Start follwing spiders around, see if anything happens

Just Imagine the possibilties...

Your friendly pervy neighborhood Spider Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Unless your camera comes with night vision capabilities I doubt it will show anything up. Why don't you go to the station and insist that someone go out for one night, stay in the house perhaps? Go to the sargent or whatever officer is in charge and complain, that's how you get things done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

big b wrote: »

I find your ideas interesting and would like to subscribe to your newsletter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Or better still get a fcuking life!!!!!!!! and let folk get on with what makes them happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

Spoke to a Garda who said it should do, enough to implicate and prosecute for previous damage.

I think its coffee and donuts ftw.

The process though, do I sneak up when he is at it? Have another fella to sit along with me. Were not looking for vigilante justice, as nice as it could feel, we just want the f&cker prosecuted.

Unless your camera comes with night vision capabilities I doubt it will show anything up.

Have one. Have a camera with a flash. Also have a video camera with a light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Aldi have night vision "goggles" next week - I kid you not.

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/58_7078.htm

Oh Snyper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Definitely have someone with you. Record the evidence and when the
    guy comes out, pin him to the ground and ring the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

not yet wrote: »
    Or better still get a fcuking life!!!!!!!! and let folk get on with what makes them happy.

^ Has obviously been staked out :P

Cos that will never give you away.

A better idea would probably be to go up and smash up his house while he is out smashin up her house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I for one welcome our new vigilante overlord...

And I dont think you are allowed to spy on people like that unless you are:
    -> in a wheelchair
    -> a fat cop
    -> pedobear

But good luck anyways, I'm sure you'll need it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

buy a Michal Myers mask, grab a steak knife and scare the bejasus out of yer man when he approaches. funny AND productive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Well then you'll get good film of the robber as he approaches you and then beats you up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I for one welcome our new vigilante overlord...

You have just lost yourself a vote in the running for Boards President.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

2 lb. beef round steak, 3/4" thick (or 2 lbs. sirloin tip steak)
    2 tbsp. oil
    3 tbsp. chopped onion
    1 c. bar-b-que sauce
    1/2 c. water

Cut meat into 6 serving pieces. In large skillet or Dutch oven, brown meat in oil over medium heat. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover tightly; cook on top of stove or in 325 degree oven 1 1/2 hours or until meat is tender.

beautiful steak ;D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Ditch the car. Too obvious, I tend to go for the night vision of goggles and a nice wheelie bin...

2 lb. beef round steak, 3/4" thick (or 2 lbs. sirloin tip steak)
    2 tbsp. oil
    3 tbsp. chopped onion
    1 c. bar-b-que sauce
    1/2 c. water

Cut meat into 6 serving pieces. In large skillet or Dutch oven, brown meat in oil over medium heat. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover tightly; cook on top of stove or in 325 degree oven 1 1/2 hours or until meat is tender.

beautiful steak ;D

If only we had a button to ridicule this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

If only we had a button to ridicule this post.

I know right! i actually agree with you 100% :D

Well then you'll get good film of the robber as he approaches you and then beats you up....

Ah he is only a small fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

There is a house by me, owned by an old lady who is in hospital which is being ransacked every night. I think I know the guy, a loon who lives up the road. I have phoned the Gardai, who while nice and helpful have said they are too thinly stretched to keep a constant eye. He does the damage within a five minute period so by the time the Gardai arrive it is too late.

Tonight Mathew, I am going to be Dick Tracy. I intend to park in the dark with a video camera to catch him in the act. Has anyone ever done this?

Id admire the initiative..... I for one support your new league of justice and require your services to establish who own the dog that keeps ****ting outside our gate .... I am of course assuming it is in fact dog ****:( ...perhaps I assume too much ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Just ask Jigsaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

not yet wrote: »
    Such as raiding peoples homes while they are in hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Make sure you have enough stakes, rope, ants and honey.

Catch the guy, stake him out in the back garden of the house, apply honey liberally, release ants. Preferably bitey ones.

Should put him off doing it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Aldi have night vision "goggles" next week - I kid you not.

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/58_7078.htm

oh god YES