Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

password manager for poker sites

• 25-09-2008 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭

A problem I have is remember all my passwords. I did a bit of research and theirs tools on the internet that will save and secure all the passwords you use for different login's etc.

Does anyone use these and can they recommend a good cheap one as a option?

Also, pocket fives have a good and simple article at the moment about online security if anyone is interest.

http://www.pocketfives.com/poker-articles/computer-security-for-online-poker-players-3325847

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

I'm a huge fan of opensource, free KeyPass. Been using it for a few years, supports drag and drop and random password generation. Now all my passwords look something like rty9pqiYPWDEWEYhioy097!! Try and guess that one, hijackers!

http://keepass.info/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

i keep a list in a spreadsheet, which is also saved to cd. my partner also knows where it is saved just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

thedini wrote: »
    i keep a list in a spreadsheet, which is also saved to cd. my partner also knows where it is saved just in case.

so if someone gets access to your machine or hardrive they'll have access to all your passwords.... currently do the same myself but not a good idea.

Also, keeping all your passwords the same is just helping the hacker

ozpoker wrote: »
    I'm a huge fan of opensource, free KeyPass. Been using it for a few years, supports drag and drop and random password generation. Now all my passwords look something like rty9pqiYPWDEWEYhioy097!! Try and guess that one, hijackers!

thanks Oz, that was the main site I was looking at too.

Ollieboy wrote: »
    so if someone gets access to your machine or hardrive they'll have access to all your passwords.... currently do the same myself but not a good idea.

i agree not a good idea about keeping them on the computer, nearly all my passwords are different. but u have a greater chance of being knocked down etc than getting robbed and the robber being a hacker. i hope;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Hosef

I find a notebook beside my pc works fine...hacker-proof!

Might not work so well in a shared house though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

keePass has a very good reputation although I haven't used it.

some similar programs are scams though, so look for a 3rd party review before you try anything like this.

thedini wrote: »
    i agree not a good idea about keeping them on the computer, nearly all my passwords are different. but u have a greater chance of being knocked down etc than getting robbed and the robber being a hacker. i hope;)

once on the internet been hack is always possible and there's millions of attacks each day. I would be amazed if you have never had a trojan on your machine and wireless makes it even easier to hack the data been sent.

Hosef wrote: »
    I find a notebook beside my pc works fine...hacker-proof!

Might not work so well in a shared house though

there was a case recently of a players house been brokes into for the above reason. Also, if your house goes on fire, you have loss all those passwords, so having a database encrypted is a perfect solution and you can save it on a harddrive and store it somewhere else saftely.

I know I'm been over the top, but I have had a few problems recently and passwords are easily hack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

there was a case recently of a players house been brokes into for the above reason. Also, if your house goes on fire, you have loss all those passwords, so having a database encrypted is a perfect solution and you can save it on a harddrive and store it somewhere else saftely.

I know I'm been over the top, but I have had a few problems recently and passwords are easily hack.

Unless you tell people you keep a password written on a notepad I'd be amazed someone's house has been broken into for that specfic reason/hope. I'd alot more inclined to believe they broke into the house hoping to get there computer/laptop and hope they either have the password saved somewhere or they have the "auto-remember password" opition ticked.

Once you make sure you can remeber your email password then you will be able to get your passwords.

I just write my passwords on a peice of paper and keep it in a safe place. I'll change my passwords every 3 months or so too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

ozpoker wrote: »

I have been using that for last few months, very handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Also, if your house goes on fire, you have loss all those passwords, so having a database encrypted is a perfect solution and you can save it on a harddrive and store it somewhere else saftely

Or perhaps you could just fill out the forgotten password form? If you can't remember them then losing them is never really going to be an issue when you generate another one :)

Seriously though Ollie about the only thing I can recommend here is....

www.memory-improvement-techniques.com/

Writing down all your passwords for xy & z, be it on papyrus. paper or a PC doesn't really change much. It's just asking for trouble either way.

Man oh man, one thing that pissed me off the most working customer support was always the ****ers ringing/mailing who couldn't remember their password, it was always the same culprits :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Samba wrote: »

Man oh man, one thing that pissed me off the most working customer support was always the ****ers ringing/mailing who couldn't remember their password, it was always the same culprits :mad:

Have you tried turning Caps Lock off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

LOL

Samba wrote: »
    Or perhaps you could just fill out the forgotten password form? If you can't remember them then losing them is never really going to be an issue when you generate another one :)

Seriously though Ollie about the only thing I can recommend here is....

www.memory-improvement-techniques.com/

Writing down all your passwords for xy & z, be it on papyrus. paper or a PC doesn't really change much. It's just asking for trouble either way.

good memory or not, its just not feasible to remember so many passwords

You've officially been given the evil eye.

LOL

AND YOU! (much better thanks ed)

Unless you tell people you keep a password written on a notepad I'd be amazed someone's house has been broken into for that specfic reason/hope. I'd alot more inclined to believe they broke into the house hoping to get there computer/laptop and hope they either have the password saved somewhere or they have the "auto-remember password" opition ticked.

Once you make sure you can remeber your email password then you will be able to get your passwords.

I just write my passwords on a peice of paper and keep it in a safe place. I'll change my passwords every 3 months or so too.

Sorry, correction they broke in to get access to his pc for passwords and install a trojan.

Keeping password or access to passwords on a email account is not a great idea, as these can be easily hack... just look at the next Vice-President in the states...

My problem is the amount of passwords for different poker sites, forums, banking, networks etc.... The software Oz mention is the perfect fix. I would have about 50 passwords at the moment and I hate having similiar or same passwords on each account.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I'm curious though Ollie where are you going to install keypass?, the moon?

musician wrote: »
    I'm curious though Ollie where are you going to install keypass?, the moon?

Keypass will be install on 2 pc's and a further copy taking on external harddrive which will be store at work etc.

If anything ever happen to me in the future, at least someone will be able to accesss all my accounts, of course if they have the password for Keypass.

I did put some thought into this Brian.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Keypass will be install on 2 pc's and a further copy taking on external harddrive which will be store at work etc.

If anything ever happen to me in the future, at least someone will be able to accesss all my accounts, of course if they have the password for Keypass.

Ah yeah all I'm saying is it's not that different to excel. You can password protect excel too. Any kind of software to store passwords is going to be on your pc more than likely so nothings perfect. Keypass looks good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

Hi Ollie

Interesting thread, I recently installed keepass. Was wondering how ^ this works ( link maybe).

I use my main PC, my laptop, and on rare occasion log in to some accounts via cafe / hotel pc.

I do have external portable drive. Have you explored the portable version and is it easy to sync over various machines /drives.

Can I just copy program file to External drive and laptop.

musician wrote: »
    Ah yeah all I'm saying is it's not that different to excel. You can password protect excel too. Any kind of software to store passwords is going to be on your pc more than likely so nothings perfect. Keypass looks good though.

If someone hacks your machine and get access to the excel file, its easily broken into. Security on excel is a bit of a joke to be honest.

Keypass is written in cryption, so if they get the file, they will need your password to access the cryted data. The banks have cryption on there computurs, so if the laptop gets loss or stolen the info is no good without the correct password. This would be similiar to having cryption on a wireless network.

Hi Ollie

Interesting thread, I recently installed keepass. Was wondering how ^ this works ( link maybe).

I use my main PC, my laptop, and on rare occasion log in to some accounts via cafe / hotel pc.

I do have external portable drive. Have you explored the portable version and is it easy to sync over various machines /drives.

Can I just copy program file to External drive and laptop.

I'm going to start using Keypass, but it appears simple enough so far. They have a forum on the site or FAO etc.

As far as I know, you can install the software on many machines and just copy the database, example to external harddrive/laptop etc, still using the same password and load the database into the data path to be pick up by the keypass software.

Maybe Oz would know.

You can also use remote sites to keep your passwords. Problem with these is who as access to it. It would be the perfect solution for anyone.

Also, unprotect connections to wireless machines or internet cafes is asking for trouble. I've gone to a machines after someone else used it and have been able to jump straight into the email accounts etc.

It won't be long before hacker's go to the WSOP or EPT and cleans out a heap of players accounts by hacking the hotel wireless network, hence gaining access to there accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭spectre

Some serious paranoia being displayed here. Any run-of-the-mill firewall software is your first and foremost line of defense against hackers and pretty much all you need. Apart from that, as long as your machine isn't physically accessible to anyone but you, there should be no cause for concern.

If you're uber paranoid, there are people you can employ to try to break into your system, they then plug your leaks etc. Not cheap though. Recommended for nosebleed level players

Keypass is written in cryption, so if they get the file, they will need your password to access the cryted data. The banks have cryption on there computurs, so if the laptop gets loss or stolen the info is no good without the correct password. This would be similiar to having cryption on a wireless network.
    Also, unprotect connections to wireless machines or internet cafes is asking for trouble. I've gone to a machines after someone else used it and have been able to jump straight into the email accounts etc.

While I'm sure you're well meaning, perhaps you're not the best person to be giving specific technical advice.

RoundTower wrote: »
    While I'm sure you're well meaning, perhaps you're not the best person to be giving specific technical advice.

maybe you could explain it better please. I'm sure my terms are incorrect, but I'm trying to get the point across why this is a good idea for most people. I never said I was a techie, hence the reason I asked the question

I have very good reasons to asked these questions which I dont want to explain, but stand anti-virus and firewalls are not enough if someone wants access to your data.

if you have a good "standard" browser, antivirus and firewall (you can get all these for free), don't let other people learn your passwords, and don't download anything stupid then yes, you are protected against 99.9%+ of possible attacks.

I don't know what else you could mean by saying this is "not enough". If you don't have any more details you shouldn't be scaremongering.

Did you mean anything by "Keypass is written in cryption" or did it just sound good? I can't make any sense of this sentence, but it certainly sounds impressive.

if you have a good "standard" browser, antivirus and firewall (you can get all these for free), don't let other people learn your passwords, and don't download anything stupid then yes, you are protected against 99.9%+ of possible attacks.

I don't know what else you could mean by saying this is "not enough". If you don't have any more details you shouldn't be scaremongering.

Did you mean anything by "Keypass is written in cryption" or did it just sound good? I can't make any sense of this sentence, but it certainly sounds impressive.

Well we'll have to disagree on the percentages. If any hacker wants access to your machine a lot of the standard firewalls wont stop it. Also, most firewalls are flawed, hence why microsoft keep releasing updates to improve them.

I start this thread to see what tools people use for keeping passwords, I never went out to scaremonger, but educate people why it is important. If you disagree with these reasons, than fair enough, but your wrong. You should always try to increase your security with any tool available. But as already mention, this thread was about keeping all my passwords secured and hard for any hacker to crack. I'm not sure if you know how hackers work, but I'm guessing from you post you don't.

Anyway, as for KeePass, maybe the following paragraph will explain better what it does for you. Taken from there own site and explains encryption better than my earlier posts:

KeePass is a free open source password manager, which helps you to manage your passwords in a secure way. You can put all your passwords in one database, which is locked with one master key or a key file. So you only have to remember one single master password or select the key file to unlock the whole database. The databases are encrypted using the best and most secure encryption algorithms currently known (AES and Twofish).

So if your finish trying to put me down, can we move on? I wasn't looking for a technical debate about Keepass or encryption/ or firewalls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

spectre wrote: »
    Some serious paranoia being displayed here. Any run-of-the-mill firewall software is your first and foremost line of defense against hackers and pretty much all you need. Apart from that, as long as your machine isn't physically accessible to anyone but you, there should be no cause for concern.

If you're uber paranoid, there are people you can employ to try to break into your system, they then plug your leaks etc. Not cheap though. Recommended for nosebleed level players

But on sites that equate your account name to your screenname, all a hacker needs is the password to your account to clean it out and secure P2Ps from your network of friends posing as you. That's why a long, random password is the best defense. And that's where utilities like KeyPass come in. They generate and remember these long random strings for you so you don't have to.
    Ollieboy wrote:
    As far as I know, you can install the software on many machines and just copy the database, example to external harddrive/laptop etc, still using the same password and load the database into the data path to be pick up by the keypass software.

Maybe Oz would know.

I just keep a copy of KeyPass and my current database on a USB key. You can tie the decryption to a single piece of hardware (like the USB Key) so that both the master password and the keyfile are needed to open the database. It won't keep a serious attempt at your money (employing break-ins and trojans and such) but it does keep the brute force hackers at bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I use passwordsafe. Sounds like it does much the same as Keypass.

Also, most firewalls are flawed, hence why microsoft keep releasing updates to improve them.

writing something like this when you clearly don't know much about the issue is scaremongering. do you even know what a firewall is?
    But as already mention, this thread was about keeping all my passwords secured and hard for any hacker to crack. I'm not sure if you know how hackers work, but I'm guessing from you post you don't.

Then get KeePass, that's the gist of the good advice in this thread. I'm not a security expert but I do have a degree in computer science and I did work in IT so I know roughly 1000 times as much as you about it.

One of the bad things about this forum is the attention and respect people giving bad poker advice, no need to let it spread to other types of advice. Ask in one of the other forums if you actually want good technical advice about keeping your passwords secure.

writing something like this when you clearly don't know much about the issue is scaremongering. do you even know what a firewall is?

Then get KeePass, that's the gist of the good advice in this thread. I'm not a security expert but I do have a degree in computer science and I did work in IT so I know roughly 1000 times as much as you about it.

One of the bad things about this forum is the attention and respect people giving bad poker advice, no need to let it spread to other types of advice. Ask in one of the other forums if you actually want good technical advice about keeping your passwords secure.

Well if you don’t like the thread then don’t reply. Maybe you have a science degree, but I've own and ran a successful software company, so what does that say about me. Oh yeh mine’s bigger than yours. Grow up for **** sake.

did you use cryption in your successful software company? or was it flawed and you had to get the updates from microsoft?

Jaysus lads relax. I currently work in IT. Does that make mine bigger than both of yours?

The only real point to using something like keypass imo is it is handy and if someone is sitting at your machine they won't be able to open it without knowing the password.

If, on the other hand, someone hacks into your machine and uses a key logger to monitor you as you open and use keypass then they will probably be able to access it easily enough. The point is though that the chances of this happening if you are using a firewall and virus checker are pretty slim. Now maybe keypass protects against that. I don't know but it would not be the main reason why I would use something like that.

I've said this before but the built in firewall in windows is perfectly adequate unless your pc looks after the nuclear launch codes. Windows updates have nothing to do with firewalls in general as there are many different firewalls out there that have no links to MS. They all do the same thing. They control outgoing and incoming traffic to and from your pc. The important thing here is incoming traffic. Most of the time you'll allow a progam you are aware of to send outgoing traffic but you rarely want to allow incoming traffic.

For virus checking I use AVG Free and it does a fine job of scanning my email and files I download. It even now scans links on web pages to make sure the link being pointed to is safe.

The upshot for is that I would use a password manager as a handy tool to store all my password in one place for easy reference not to keep them from prying eyes as if prying eyes get into my pc I'm probably fecked anyway.

AVG is O.k but has a lower detection rate in comparison to

Avira

It's got annoying add pop ups when you update your file definition but it's one of, if not the most, efficient free AV software available.

I tried to find the article I read a while back where extensive comparative tests were carried.

Back on the subject, pretty much what Muso said.

This comparrison? Avira is referred to AntiVir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

If you forget your password it takes like 20 seconds to click on "lost password?" and get it sent to your email. Log in, change password to something you'll remember then delete email, and delete it from trash.

Can't really get any more secure than that.