Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Satellite for the Paddy Power Irish Winter Festival Main Event.

• 25-09-2008 12:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Tuesday 21st October.

€100 + €10 "No Limit" Hold'em.

1 x €100 Rebuy or Top-up.

Starting Stack : 3,500.

Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Clock : 20/25 minutes.

Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

1 Ticket for every €1,650 collected.

The Main Event will be held in the Citywest Hotel on Saturday 25th October. Entry is €1,500 + €150.

The Structure.

25 - 50 - 0 - 20 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

20 minute break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 25 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

10 minute break

500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300
    2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500

There will be no cash alternative allowed. Tickets will be given out on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

Just a reminder that the Satellite is this Tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭wendelsailor

Are there many people thinking of heading into this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Are there many people thinking of heading into this?

Think I'll give it a pop tonight. Don't fancy a late one on Friday in Citywest particularly if I'm gonna play the ME anyway.

John/Alex - any idea on numbers yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

PiperT wrote: »
    Think I'll give it a pop tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I was speaking with Alex last night. He said they had received alot of interest for the satellite and he was hopeful that he might get 4 tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ROONEYED BY 2/3

I was speaking with Alex last night. He said they had received alot of interest for the satellite and he was hopeful that he might get 4 tickets.

ILL MAKE THIS IM SURE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭DPablo

ILL MAKE THIS IM SURE

think I'll give it a go.
    See you there Keith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

39 Runners, 36 rebuys/addons. Finished at 0400. 4 tickets generated with €900 for 5th. After playing 6 handed for about an hour, deal was done to split the €900 for 5th into €450 for 5th and 6th. Mark (AKQJT) and another fellow got the €450. The tickets were won by Mark (tall American), Alan, young curly haired chap (didn't catch his name), and myself (being the designated card rack for the night).

Onward to Citywest! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

ozpoker wrote: »
    39 Runners, 36 rebuys/addons. Finished at 0400. 4 tickets generated with €900 for 5th. After playing 6 handed for about an hour, deal was done to split the €900 for 5th into €450 for 5th and 6th. Mark (AKQJT) and another fellow got the €450. The tickets were won by Mark (tall American), Alan, young curly haired chap (didn't catch his name), and myself (being the designated card rack for the night).

Onward to Citywest! :)

Nice one Oz! The worm has turned I heard!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Wow good turn out for this, congrats Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Nice on Oz, see you on Saturday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

WP oz! best of luck in citywest!!

any online sats left for this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

pp are running sattelite tomorrow for this think its $125 buy in
    with 2 feeders tonight $14+1 buy in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 mikser

I've got to work a normal enough set of hours and while I would have loved to play last night, I figured it would be a 4am job. Just can't be done by people like me - I think the clubs lose out big time on numbers for this reason. Anyone else feel the same. Needs a quicker structure and over by 2am latest.

I do play regularly enough at the SE at weekends, notably bigger tournaments. Play a fair bit in London and don't have the same problem there.

mikser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

mikser wrote: »
    I've got to work a normal enough set of hours and while I would have loved to play last night, I figured it would be a 4am job. Just can't be done by people like me - I think the clubs lose out big time on numbers for this reason. Anyone else feel the same. Needs a quicker structure and over by 2am latest.

I do play regularly enough at the SE at weekends, notably bigger tournaments. Play a fair bit in London and don't have the same problem there.

mikser
    Whats the rake in LONDON like mate, is it transparent , do they advertise it on the plane and the M25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

mikser

Sorry to go off the thread topic but the sate is over so here goes....so is it qualifying or the SE is your gripe?

6 tickets in the Last Chance Saloon Grand Final last night.
    http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/irishwinterfestival/last-chance-saloon.php
    we've added a load of extra feeders too

Finished at around 1.30 am. No travel.
    Have you got internet/computer?

Thanks for that robinblinds ... good pointer. I will be playing on Saturday, but would have liked a live sat in SE last night, just didn't suit.

BTW think SE is a great set-up and the lads running it do a very good job.

In rel to satellite, just pointing out that there's another market out there that can' t play that late mid-week, but could make a difference to the clubs if it could be won over and accommodated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

True mikser...a lot of ppl like a live game for a bit of banter mid week, me included. However, and in fairness to the SE, the only way to offer a good structure with a reasonable buy in for a €1500 buy in live tourney was more or less exactly what they offered last night.

I think that showed with four tickets being generated.

Can't argue with the numbers .... and I get and take the point.

My argument is from an amateur's perspective - obviously I am happy to compromise the correct structure for an evening that fits a working schedule.

So be it ... genuinely glad they got the numbers.

Maybe they need a turbo event for the likes of me (might be on me own).

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Can't argue with the numbers .... and I get and take the point.

My argument is from an amateur's perspective - obviously I am happy to compromise the correct structure for an evening that fits a working schedule.

So be it ... genuinely glad they got the numbers.

Maybe they need a turbo event for the likes of me (might be on me own).

Pub tournaments cater for that audience largely. For every person a casino attracts by having crapshoots, they will lose at least one in my opinion and it won't sustain itself. A lot of people will ask for longer structures or go somewhere that has them. 6 of one tbh.