Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do if you found a Mobile Phone?

• 24-09-2008 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Let's just say you're walking and all of a sudden you see a Mobile Phone lying on the ground i don't know it's a Nokia N70. What do you do?

Do you:
    A: Leave it and walk on- The person who lost it might come back for it

B:Take it- I don't know the person so i couldn't care if he/she lost it. Finders Keepers

C: Stay where you are and mind it- If you moved on there's a strong chance someone else might take it so i'll mind it for them, so that i can give it back if they come back looking for it

D: Take the phone but take out the Sim Card-All i want is the phone, the person who lost the phone can keep the sim card

E: Other- Please Explain

I'd actually choose C and Mind it. Forgive me for being a boyscout but i believe in a code a justice where stealing is wrong and i also believe that Karma would strike back and punish me

What would you do? 48 votes

Leave It
    0% 0 votes
    Take It
    2% 1 vote
    Mind It
    16% 8 votes
    Take Phone but leave Sim
    64% 31 votes
    Other
    16% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Pick it up, ring the last called number, arrange to give it back to the owner. It's what I always do and one person was nice enough to have done for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As I have done in the past, I'll take it and wait for it to ring, then arrange for it to be collected from me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Depends on the phone. If it's nice i'll keep it:)

You know why? Because i'm a bastard, that's why. But at least i'm not some idiot who lost their phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

C: Stay where you are and mind it- If you moved on there's a strong chance someone else might take it so i'll mind it for them, so that i can give it back if they come back looking for it

Yup. Especially if it's like 1am in the morning. I'd easily wait a few hours as well. I'd sit down gently beside it, phone a take away from it, who knows, me and that little wee phone might develop a friendship after a while.
    A few days in I'd be famous, there would be people gathering around me, helping me mind that mobile, we could set up a cult as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

seamus wrote: »
    As I have done in the past, I'll take it and wait for it to ring, then arrange for it to be collected from me.

This, but I'd also read every message and look at every picture in it cause I'm a nosy fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hang on to it, wiat until it rings, and then pull something like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5z4Vs26-TI

(Yes, I know, I found it here on boards, but hey... why not?)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Have found phones before. Just waited for the call or looked for a number like Home or whatever and got in contact with the owner to arrange a meet-up and give it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I've found phones and always rang someone from the phone book to return it. There was this one time though...

I lost my phone in town and you know the usual state of the back of the nightlink at that hour, anyway these lads were causin a load of hassel, startin fights and throwing sh!t at people. Anyways they got off and there was a phone sitting there, I went to check the phonebook and the battery died, then the back of the phone popped off, the battery fell out and the sim card went flying through the air, snapped in half and flew out the window...

One of the strangest things I have ever seen on a bus... Needless to say I saw that as a sign from god to keep the phone in my pocket incase I ever saw them again so I could return it to its rightful owner. I put my sim card in it to keep the battery company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Subscribe to a load of those ringtone, psychic text services and then give it back.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Take it with me and arrange to get it back to it's owner. My girlfriend lost her phone before and the chap who found it was kind enough to meet up with us and hand it back.

If you leave it there the next person who comes along might not be so well intentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'd try and get it back to the owner, losing a phone is annoying as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

I once kept a phone I found,

it was in a different country and I found it on a bench in an underground station. The phone was off and I couldn't turn it on to find numbers because of the PIN, so I snarfed it.

Afterwards I felt bad for doing so and thought I should have left it where it was. The rightful owner probably never would have got it back anyway. However in future, if I can't call the owner or their friends I'm leaving it where it was.

I have enough bad karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I found a phone on the train one evening. I held on to it and waited for it to ring. Spoke to the girl who was delighted to hear I held on to it.

Gave it back to her the following day ...

Would hate to lose my own phone, so couldn't imagine taking someone elses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I have lost phones before and its a bloody pain.

I have found phones before and i went through the names and forun "Dad" in the name list, rang the number and told them i found the phone.

Agreed to leave it behind the bar in a pub in town, didnt even ask who it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

toiletduck wrote: »
    Pick it up, ring the last called number, arrange to give it back to the owner. It's what I always do and one person was nice enough to have done for me.

Same here, had a guy do it for me a few months ago, he went out of his way to give it back to me. I'd do the same if I found a phone, a phone is a very personal thing to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

I found a phone at a bus stop one Saturday night. It was a battered old Nokia ... the type with colored LEDs at the corners, and it had seen better days.

The phone was ringing as I passed by, so I picked it up and answered it.
    The person who owned the phone was drunk as a skunk, and kept demanding to know who the fyuk I was, and how the fyuk I had his phone, and what the fyuk I was going to do about it.

I explained, politely, that I had just picked up the phone at the bus-stop, and he was more than welcome to come pick it up.

He started roaring and grunting, and demanding that I bring the phone to him.
    He was in Tallaght, and the phone was in Clontarf.

So ... while he was frothing at the mouth, hurling abuse down the phone ... I formed an opinion and decided on the fairest and most equitable course of action.

I turned the phone off and dropped it in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

If i found a phone turned off, i'd take out the sim and contact the network it belongs to. They can findthe CTN by the sim card number and leave a note on the account that i found the phone. I could also leave it in a nearby network owned shop.

That way when the customer rings the network to do a sim change, they can find their phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

if i was drunk id send a few obscene texts make a few prank phonecalls and then leave it back where i found it....

if i was sober id rumage through the phonebook and find a name like 'home' or 'mam' and then leave it into the garda barracks or somewhere for collection!

you never know! they might be a murderer and if you met them in person to give it back they might knife you or something.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I ticked "other". Id mind the phone for the person but certainly wouldnt hang around all day waitin for the person to come back! Would never keep someones phone its such a personal thing. Ive had 2 phones robbed on me and its awful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

After checking for any drunken bedroom pics, I'd go through the contacts and find a boss or someone known to the owner and send them the pics!

Only messin, I'd rummage through the contacts and find someone to contact the owner and leave my own mobile. Eventually I'd find the owner and return it to them...

The person who lost the phone would ring it anyway after a while. The last thing I'd do is leave it there because with the amount of scum in Dublin, there are few people who would bother to find the owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

trout wrote: »
    The person who owned the phone was drunk as a skunk, and kept demanding to know who the fyuk I was, and how the fyuk I had his phone, and what the fyuk I was going to do about it.

trout wrote: »
    He was in Tallaght

Excellent, I'd have fu*ked it into the nearest stream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If i found a phone turned off, i'd take out the sim and contact the network it belongs to. They can findthe CTN by the sim card number and leave a note on the account that i found the phone. I could also leave it in a nearby network owned shop.

That way when the customer rings the network to do a sim change, they can find their phone.
    It's a nice idea, but would generally only work for bill pay. Most people that I know tend to be on PAYG and who lose a phone or have it robbed just try to ring it and if they can't get it, they write it off and buy a new phone & number.

One mate has changed his number about 5 times in the last 10 years. And twice he didn't even lose the SIM, he was just too lazy to put it into a new phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Shave my balls so that the there's still hair on the underside. Draw smiley faces on each one. Take a few snaps. And then send it to the other half (the owners not mine).....leave an anonymous tip where the owner can find his/her phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

What that guy said...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

seamus wrote: »
    And twice he didn't even lose the SIM, he was just too lazy to put it into a new phone.

Now that's lazy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

I'd take it and look for a number like home, Mam etc and call advising that I found the phone etc etc.

I don't understand why people would steal someone else's phone. I also don't understand how people haven't copped on that if you use a stolen phone then your usage can be tracked by the Gardai; not to mention that as soon as the owner rings their mobile provider they can have the phone blocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i would text ma and tell her i thought da was cheating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Let's just say you're walking and all of a sudden you see a Mobile Phone lying on the ground i don't know it's a Nokia N70. What do you do?

Do you:
    A: Leave it and walk on- The person who lost it might come back for it

B:Take it- I don't know the person so i couldn't care if he/she lost it. Finders Keepers

D: Take the phone but take out the Sim Card-All i want is the phone, the person who lost the phone can keep the sim card

E: Other- Please Explain

I'd actually choose C and Mind it. Forgive me for being a boyscout but i believe in a code a justice where stealing is wrong and i also believe that Karma would strike back and punish me

E:

Search phone book, find entry marked Ma/Mom/The Mother ship/The aul wan/Mammy or whatever and ring them. Get address and post it to there.

Taking pictures of your lad on the phone before posting is optional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Look for 'home' in their phonebook and call there with info on where they can pick it up.

And how much it'll cost them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Found a phone a few years back, thing was fecked must of had a bad fall. So it rang told the person that i found the phone and said id meet them and give it back. Got ten euro and all from her.. Ah karma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

depends on if it's on or not

off - keep it
    on - look for a number and ring them to let them know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Last time I found a phone, I kept it.

Now now, calm down, it wasn't a great phone at the time, it's just that mine at the time was awful. That, and the previous owner had filled the phone to the brim with porn (hundreds of pictures and videos), and had the ringtone set to crazy frog. I think if they're that fickle with their credit, they can afford to lose a phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

I found a phone once because I heard it ringing, answered it, and it turned out it was the owners "dealer", should I say, on the other end. The situation was really pathetic, it was some 16 year old's phone, and the guy I answered to was owed money for drink that he had bought the 16 year old. The "dealer" was really hostile and thought that I was one of the owners mates pretending that the owner had lost his phone, it went on for a little while, 'cause I found it pretty amusing that he said he'd come and find me and kick the ****e out of me, regardless of the facts that he didn't know who I was, what I looked like, or where I was. Eventually I just told the guy I would be at a location waiting for him there with the phone (which he wanted for reimbursement, since the owner owed him), needless to say I wasn't going to be there in reality. After that douche hung up I went through the phone book looking for a name that seemed familiar, found one, and ended up giving it back to the owner.

Fin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Found one before. went into the contacts list, found mum or home or something and rang it, explained that i'd found the phone and asked them to pass on a message to whoever lost it.

I was working in a shop at the time so told them that i'd hold it there for them.

owner got the phone back, so big woop for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I found a phone on the Dart one time.

It dropped out of a blokes bag who was after being wearing the face off some young one. I only noticed it on the seat at the stop after he got off.

Anyway, he rang it and asked to to wait at the stop for him, I told him I was on my way to an interview, but I'd be back at the stop in two hours. He said cool, he'd be there.

So while I was sitting in the room waiting to go into my interview, I started reading the texts in the phone. Sent and Received. Turned out the bloke had two girls on the go, one his girlfriend, the other his bit on the side. The bit on the side was getting the "sexiest" messages, and only that morning he'd been dropped to the Dart station by her, so he could meet his girlfriend. It must have been his girlfriend on the train with him. She looked like a lovely girl too, really nice looking in that "girl next door" kind of way. It was obvious from the texts that the girlfriend didn't know about the bit on the side, but the bit on the side DID know about the girlfriend, and they'd been texting during the train journey.

I was very nearly tempted to text her and tell her all about the slime ball and the thrash he was seeing on the side, but I didn't.

Instead, I turned the phone off and kept it for myself. My sister had the same model, but hers was broken. I deleted everything off it, and gave it to her.

Snapped the Sim Card and fecked it in the bin.

Karma's a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Nice story but why didn't you ring the barstuds two girlfriends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

If it was a Nokia I'd either feck it in the bin or give it to someone who uses Nokia phones. The N70 is a pretty good phone, yeah?

Seriously though, I'd just find home/mum/dad/xxxsXcbi0tchxxx in the phonebook and call them to arrange to give it back.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What janeybabe wrote. Look up the contacts and ring the obvious ones. have done that twice now.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Find the owner or something like that! If they give up hope and ring the netwrok then the phone is just disabled and basically useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

I'd take it and try get it back to the owner.

I lost my phone at Electric Picnic this year, on the last night too. Tried the lost and found a few times but no luck. Rang it when I got home but it was off so no luck there either.

I was resigned to it being gone forever, lashed rain the night I lost it so I assumed it was broken or stolen. Was sitting at home with the girlfriend a week or so later and her mobile rings from my number. Some chap from Belfast found it and it took him a while to find a charger. He posted it down and boom, faith in humanity restored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Aw that's nice! Two girls I know both lost their phones at EP and neither were as fortunate as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I'm from Tallaght, I don't 'Find' Phones...I Take them.

• I was out with a girl a few weeks ago who found a phone and just kept it, all delighted at having a new phone. Didn't even occur to her to hand it in or try to find the owner, or even leave it where it was. I was shocked - my opinion of her went really downhill. I don't expect everyone to make the effort to find the owner, but don't just steal it ffs. Hand it in to the bar staff or leave it where it is in case the person comes back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

id pick it up and try contact the owner. what goes around, comes around.

if its turned off, then i would either keep it or bin it.

ah you'd have to do anything you could to get it back to the owner, how flippin annoying is it to lose a phone? best practice is to look for mam/dad/home or speed dial number 2. Why would you steal something that's not yours? ah f*ck people do annoy me at times! nice to see that most here would hand it in...

i've never not gotten a phone back (i've lost many between me and mr whoops) will always give a small gift to person for their niceness. My sis in law lost her phone at ****** and thought that was the end of that, my hubby had texted her a few times, not knowing that she'd lost it and a couple of days later we got a call to say some guy had picked it up but he had no phone with him and there was no credit in the phone to text back so he had to wait til he got home so he could ring the number. how nice. and the best thing was, he was all apologies that he hadn't got in touch sooner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I lost my phone once on a bus. I tried ringing it but it was off. Tried for a few days after it but it was still off. A out two weeks later my gf got a call fromy sister at three in the morning to see if I was with her. She wanted to know WTF I was at text pictures of my cock. Turns out some scumbag found it and started to harass the first number ing pbonebook, my sister amanda. A quick visit to a vodafone shop got the number cancelled and the phone blocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

but i'd check it for porn first. :D

oh and some people have a contact called ICE (in case of emergency) stored in their phone, so i'd try that too.