Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

chop in stars 10 million game lol

• 23-09-2008 1:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭

so they run the numbers with 5 left and shortstack says he needs 80k more, chip leader immeaditly says he will give up $300,000 other guy comes in saying he wants 95 extra (has -45% roi) 3rd guy says he needs 20k to bring him up to 800k so 200k remaining to play for gives him shot a million. short stack says grand so thats only 195k CL has to give up, shortstack then looks for another 30k and gets it. So guy was giving 300k and they take 225k of it and give him back the odd 75k:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

nicnicnic wrote: »
    so they run the numbers with 5 left and shortstack says he needs 80k more, chip leader immeaditly says he will give up $300,000 other guy comes in saying he wants 95 extra (has -45% roi) 3rd guy says he needs 20k to bring him up to 800k so 200k remaining to play for gives him shot a million. short stack says grand so thats only 195k CL has to give up, shortstack then looks for another 30k and gets it. So guy was giving 300k and they take 225k of it and give him back the odd 75k:)

i was :eek::eek::eek: watching that.. some neck on him :)... but im 2nd on p5s lol... shoesrdurrty only has a handful of low stake tourn to his name!. wp shorty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

For nicnicnic ;-)
    a-k-47 wrote: »
    AJKhoosier pulled off a great deal shortstacked...wow

Yeah he done ok out of it...You gotta to love the line he used though lol

dealip4.jpg

AJKHoosier1: mark wants 90
    Markush13: shoes 800k
    AJKHoosier1: then go 20k to cking and 10k to shoes
    AJKHoosier1: or wait
    AJKHoosier1: my math is way off
    AJKHoosier1: lol
    ShoesRDurrty: lol
    ckingusc: lol
    AJKHoosier1: nvm all of that
    ShoesRDurrty: he wont have to give up 300 i dont think
    ShoesRDurrty: itll be a bit less
    AJKHoosier1: all i know is i need 80K+ my chop
    AJKHoosier1: and i will accept
    AJKHoosier1: anything less and i wont
    AJKHoosier1: u guys can work out the rest
    ShoesRDurrty: mark needs 95
    ShoesRDurrty: to get to 960
    Administrator: 625 FPP Qualifier to the $1 Million Turbo Takedown begins in 5 minutes. Register now at T109676398 under the Tourney/All tab.
    ShoesRDurrty: i need 20
    ShoesRDurrty: to get to 800
    ShoesRDurrty: so thats 20+80+95
    ShoesRDurrty: is what he needs to give up
    ShoesRDurrty: 195
    liberace: done
    ShoesRDurrty: host, can you type up the new terms?
    Markush13: ye
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Certainly. One moment.
    AJKHoosier1: hold on guys
    AJKHoosier1: need to discuss w/ backers
    AJKHoosier1: acutally go ahead
    AJKHoosier1: lets see what htis comes out to
    Markush13: gogo
    Administrator: $5.50 PLO8 tourney w/ $1,000 guaranteed begins in TWO minutes. Register now @ T109499987 under the Tourney/All tab.
    StaffBryanS [Host]: ..
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Alright, here we go.
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Again, please... wait until the numbers are all out before typing anything.
    StaffBryanS [Host]: ckingusc: $1,065,432
    StaffBryanS [Host]: liberace: $1,405,249
    StaffBryanS [Host]: AJKHoosier1: $752,542
    StaffBryanS [Host]: ShoesRDurrty: $801,153
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Markush13: $961,718
    StaffBryanS [Host]: $200,000 and the bracelet to the winner.
    AJKHoosier1: not to sound like a total dbag but im #1 in cardplayer opoy and #2 on pocketfives tournament rankings i think that should count for something
    Markush13: ok
    AJKHoosier1: and now i sound like a total dbag
    StaffBryanS [Host]: If you agree to the above numbers, please type 'I accept this deal.'
    ShoesRDurrty: u did get 75k more
    AJKHoosier1: but oh well
    ShoesRDurrty: ill agree to those numbers
    AJKHoosier1: 1.4
    AJKHoosier1: still seems egregious
    liberace: i accept deal
    Markush13: I accept this deal
    ckingusc: i accept
    AJKHoosier1: lib im being told flat out i need a little more
    AJKHoosier1: not completely my call
    Markush13: dude...
    Markush13: a very good deal for you
    ckingusc: but ajk u know imgonna suck out on u
    ckingusc: u didnt calc that
    Markush13: only 524k for 5th
    AJKHoosier1: ive played this stack and these kind of situations more than just about anyone im not trying to be an ahole
    AJKHoosier1: im not planning on getting 5th mark = (
    AJKHoosier1: 30k more from lib
    AJKHoosier1: and im good
    Markush13: i am sure...
    liberace: i would give it up but is it fair to othyers?
    ShoesRDurrty: thats fine i guess
    ckingusc: as long as mine stays, i dont care
    ckingusc: its up to u lib
    AJKHoosier1: ok then 30 more from liberace to me
    Markush13: as u wish.. i agree
    AJKHoosier1: write up the numbers
    liberace: ok
    StaffBryanS [Host]: One more time with the numbers... standby, please.
    StaffBryanS [Host]: liberace: $1,375,249
    StaffBryanS [Host]: AJKHoosier1: $782,542
    StaffBryanS [Host]: ShoesRDurrty: $801,153
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Markush13: $961,718

AJKHoosier1: ok fine agree
    liberace: i agree
    StaffBryanS [Host]: In the middle: the bracelet and $200,000
    ShoesRDurrty: agree
    ckingusc: i agree
    Markush13: i agree
    StaffBryanS [Host]: We have a deal.
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Congratulations to each of you!
    Administrator: APPT-Auckland: 800+R FPP turbo to Sep 28th Qualifier starts in 5 minutes. To register see T109456855 under the APPT/FPP Satellites tab.
    AJKHoosier1: gla
    AJKHoosier1: gg congrats etc
    Markush13: gg
    StaffBryanS [Host]: We'll re-start the tournament now... best of luck to each of you.
    liberace: gg
    ShoesRDurrty: gg guys, lol nice deal ajk
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Dealer! Cards, please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

but think about the guy was giving up 300k hoosier is doing all the biz so realises he is just giving the guy back 105k and decides he wants 30 extra from the 105 and gives back 75k, other guy is saying nothing he has given it up and they give him 75k back:confused: whats that all about

They all suck at maths! (Or math before i get corrected ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭yeah-buddy

hes a right gimp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Talking to your backers is a good line, ill use that if im ever in a similar situation. It would be funny to get out a mobile at a live event and play the good cop bad cop routine!

I've had numerous people ring me while chops were being negotiated for advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

omg that hand was ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,170 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Yeah it would be funny live. Keep eyeballing them for fear and then when you see you've reached the limit, just tell the guy on the phone to stuff it, and agree to the deal. :pac:

just thinking this way of chopping on chips is definitely flawed and way skewed in favour of the big stack, when the numbers were run if they all accepted it the big stack was guaranteed 1.61 million and a shot at another 200k which is more then the original first prize of 1.775 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

ElkY 21st? Different Elky? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I negotiated a chop when one of the parties had to walk off to his backer every couple of seconds.

Yeah Lloyd but his backer probably had loads of experience in doing deals etc., etc., in big games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,235 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

just thinking this way of chopping on chips is definitely flawed and way skewed in favour of the big stack, when the numbers were run if they all accepted it the big stack was guaranteed 1.61 million and a shot at another 200k which is more then the original first prize of 1.775 million.

You're right its hugely flawed.
    Mostly because it only considers the last paid place and the total prizepool. The actualy prizes for each place make a hge difference. I think the best way for doing these deals is just banging it into an ICM calculator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭mickc

from 2+2

ShoesRDurrty cashed for $801,153 in this. got in via a reload freeroll. he tried to unreg and couldnt.

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/61/mtt-community/ft-sweat-wcoop-main-event-satty-271715/
    This is some freeroll for ppl who reloaded during July for the 2x bonus.

Coming in 3/9, top 5 get seats to wcoop ME.

no obs/or player chat allowed but wish me luck!!

sn = ShoesRDurrty
    thanks guys. prolly just gonna unreg and play the $215 6max, $530 and $1050 holdem events.
    hmmm looks like i wont be able to unreg....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

Some story the freeroll guy - and he's not even going out to celebrate because he's 'got a mid-term in the morning'!!!!!! :eek:

Think 800k would see me mentally unable to do any exam for at least a year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I can't believe the maount of money these guys discard, they should have accountants by thier sides when playing these FT.

800k is a legenary spin up but didn't moneymaker qualify online when he won the worlds series, that was the ultimate

YULETIRED wrote: »
    I can't believe the maount of money these guys discard, they should have accountants by thier sides when playing these FT.

800k is a legenary spin up but didn't moneymaker qualify online when he won the worlds series, that was the ultimate
    And raymer,
    prob Hachem and Gold too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Mellor wrote: »
    And raymer,
    prob Hachem and Gold too

Hachem paid in himself,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Does anyone have the ICM calcs of this??

I hear they're done in MTTc somewhere but I couldn't find them and can't be bothered to do it myself, anyone done it?? I'd like to see what the numbers were, pretty nice negotiations by AJK IMO.

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    Hachem paid in himself,

Yeah, he's not good enough to qualify online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Yeah, he's not good enough to qualify online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

If it was me he was trying to get more off i would have typed 'Nah, deal off. LETS GAMBOLLLLLLLL!"

CORRECT!!!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

too right! What a douchebag hahaha, "I'm second on pocketfives... etc etc". Wow, great for you, I've a foot long Johnson, I want 45k more! I was once on the Cosby show I want an extra 100k!

I know what my answer to him would have been.

DeV.

DeVore wrote: »
    too right! What a douchebag hahaha, "I'm second on pocketfives... etc etc". Wow, great for you, I've a foot long Johnson, I want 45k more! I was once on the Cosby show I want an extra 100k!

I know what my answer to him would have been.

DeV.

Whatcha talking about Willis?

EDCDBFBA935A662152D5403BC1BA50.jpg

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

"AJKHoosier1: not to sound like a total dbag but im #1 in cardplayer opoy and #2 on pocketfives tournament rankings i think that should count for something"

Yeah, that and a dollar will get you a Coke.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Can't find the chipcounts at the time, but on 2+2 someone posted an ICM calc during the deal:

linky
    icm is 1350/1105/950/860/720

Couldn't post ICM earlier for some reason.
    The one above is a bit different because it has the 200k out, depending where you take it from changes the ICM

63731.jpg

considering the original offer was
    StaffBryanS [Host]: liberace: $1,600,249
    StaffBryanS [Host]: Markush13: $866,718
    StaffBryanS [Host]: ShoesRDurrty: $781,153
    StaffBryanS [Host]: AJKHoosier1: $672,542

With 200k + bracelet to play for

Its safe to say that Host Brian messed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Stars don't base their chops on ICM, they do it in a straight chip chop AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

Ste05 wrote: »
    Does anyone have the ICM calcs of this??

I hear they're done in MTTc somewhere but I couldn't find them and can't be bothered to do it myself, anyone done it?? I'd like to see what the numbers were, pretty nice negotiations by AJK IMO.

Player        Stack   Percent   ICM      Deal    Share  Total Deal  Diff
    Markush13     7077641   13.0%   951371   961718  26066    987784    36413
    ShoesRDurrty  5272571    9.7%   861514   801153  19418    820571   -40943
    AJKHoosier1   4174833    7.7%   799466   782542  15376    797918    -1548
    liberace     24570827   45.2%  1401995  1375249  90492   1465741    63746
    ckingusc     13209128   24.3%  1171750  1065432  48648   1114080   -57670

Markush13 and liberace were the true winners from this deal. AJKHoosier's negotiations just brought his share almost up to par.

Yeah, this is the case. Straight chops overvalue the big stacks. Something to remember when you do your own deals.

Which is stupid, because a chip chop can give the big stacks more than first place. Esp 5 handed.
    ozpoker wrote: »
    Player        Stack   Percent   ICM      Deal    Share  Total Deal  Diff
    Markush13     7077641   13.0%   951371   961718  26066    987784   -36413
    ShoesRDurrty  5272571    9.7%   861514   801153  19418    820571    40943
    AJKHoosier1   4174833    7.7%   799466   782542  15376    797918     1548
    liberace     24570827   45.2%  1401995  1375249  90492   1465741   -63746
    ckingusc     13209128   24.3%  1171750  1065432  48648   1114080    57670

ckingusc and ShoesRDurrty were the true winners from this deal. AJKHoosier's negotiations just brought his share up to par.

Oz, What do the last four columns mean?
    If I understand them correct, then ShoesRDurty and cking did worse.

I would of said liberace did the best. He lost 25k from his ICM, to play on for 200k, he should of had the biggest drop, cking lost more than this

Mellor wrote: »
    Which is stupid, because a chip chop can give the big stacks more than first place. Esp 5 handed.

Oz, What do the last four columns mean?
    If I understand them correct, then ShoesRDurty and cking did worse.

I would of said liberace did the best. He lost 25k from his ICM, to play on for 200k, he should of had the biggest drop, cking lost more than this

Oops. Right. liberace and Markush did the best at the expense of the other 3. I subtracted the wrong way. I'll edit the post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

excuse my ignorance, whats ICM stand for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,751 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

zuroph wrote: »
    excuse my ignorance, whats ICM stand for?

Independent Chip Modelling.
    Given you have X chips, other people have ABYZ chips and the payout is $a, $b, $c, how much are your chips worth?
    Best understood by messing about with an ICM calculator like the following.

http://www.reviewpokerrooms.com/poker-games/general/tournament-equity.html

Edit : Google will get you better ICM calculators than the linked one, with more placings etc.

Oz/Mellor

I think the screenshot i took above was a couple of hands after the deal was struck (original one i had was too small). There was no major action other than blind stealing so some players may be +/- 300k or so chips from when deal was struck. Will affect the actual ICM calculations a bit

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Oz/Mellor

I think the screenshot i took above was a couple of hands after the deal was struck (original one i had was too small). There was no major action other than blind stealing so some players may be +/- 300k or so chips from when deal was struck. Will affect the actual ICM calculations a bit

Do you have the actual chip counts at deal time? If so, I can update the table to see how they all did.

ozpoker wrote: »
    Do you have the actual chip counts at deal time? If so, I can update the table to see how they all did.

Not sure Oz. In work now and i might have deleted it (it took a screenshot of my 2 monitors and i couldnt make it out) I'll take a look when i get home