Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Building a computer desk

Options
  • 22-09-2008 2:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭

Need to build a desk which will hold a couple of PC's and some networking equipment.

It's going to be 82" in length and 20" in width.

What material should I use for the sheet? I want it to be cheap but strong.

I was thinking of getting coloured chipboard.

I would like to just have a post at each corner (2" x 2"?). Would this be enough or would I need to put another post or two in the centre?

Cheers for any help.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭MathsManiac

I'm not a pro, but a fairly competent DIY person, and I've done both nice-looking built-ins and cheap-and-cheerful functional stuff.

I would NOT recommend what you've suggested, as the joints between the legs and the top are not likely to hold if they come under any great strain, and the thing will probably bow down in the middle from the weight of the equipment.

Here's what I suggest, assuming this is purely functional and you don't much care what it looks like: You'll probably have to buy a full sheet of board, which is 8 ft by 4 ft, so I suggest you make the whole lot out of the one sheet, as in the attached crappy diagram. I suggest a sheet of plain mdf. (Paint it if you want.)
    desk.GIF

If the top and end pieces are 20 inches wide, then you should have enough left out of the sheet to make the back support about 8 inches deep, but the bigger you could make it the better (i.e. if you really only needed 19" for the desk...)