Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tribal Warfare "Ultimate Force" Results.

• 21-09-2008 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭

Tribal Warfare 3 - "Ultimate Force" Card
    Main Event
    1 Alan Hannon - Combat Sports Center vs Martin Begley - Red Dragon MMA Lightweight A Alan Hannon Round 2 Side Choke
    Tribal Warfare Featherweight Title Match
    2 Tim Murphy - Point Blank vs Jonny Dooey - Taylor's Town Fighting Academy Featherweight A Tim Murphy Round 1 TKO
    3 Tom Haddock - Point Blank vs Marius Lapenas - Maynooth Shootfighters Middleweight A Marius Lapenas Round 1 Guillotine
    Tribal Warfare Shield
    5 Kevin Moran - Point Blank/SEAMA vs Ray Dowd - Top Pro Kilkenny Welterweight A Kevin Moran Round 3 TKO
    6 Tom Kelly - Point Blank vs Michael Timmins - Top Pro Kilkenny Light Welterweight B Tom Kelly Round 2 TKO
    7 Ben Davis - Point Blank vs Ger Coady - Top Pro Kilkenny Featherweight B Benjamin Davis Round 1 KO
    Undercard
    8 Andreas Lovbrand - Hilti NHB vs Neill Seery - Ryano MMA Bantamweight A Andreas Lovbrand Round 3 Injury
    9 Dave King - Point Blank vs Johan Wedenius - Pancrase Heavyweight B Dave King Round 2
    10 Paul Aylemer - Combat Sports Center vs Kevin Carney - Red Dragon MMA Featherweight B Kevin Carney Decision
    11 Premeslaw Paluch - Point Blank vs Tadius - Indie Super Middle B Premeslaw Paluch No Show
    12 Rob Freeman - Spartan MMA vs Myles Price - Top Pro Kilkenny Lightweight B Myles Price Decision
    13 James Heelan - Combat Sports Center vs Matthew Boyle - Spartan MMA Light Welterweight C Matthew Boyle Decision
    14 Kiran Singh - Point Blank vs [/b] Brian Kenny - Rush Fighting Academy Featherweight D Kiran Singh Round 1 RNC

Big thanks to all the fighters (with the exception of Tadass of course who didn't show up or notify anyone that he had chickened out), the coaches and all the supporters who made it the great show that it was.

Very special thanks to my girlfriend Michelle for doing so much to help with the event.
    Thanks to the following folks as well for their invaluable contributions -
    Sean, Gary and Diarmuid for their help putting up the cage (6 hours it took!)
    Dave Greally, Lech, Marek, Bertie, Dominick and Jack for keeping our venue secure.
    Rory D for being the meanest MC TW has had.
    Tom for his amazing light show.
    Dave for capturing it all on film.
    Steve for helping Shell out and making sure all the fighters were suitably rewarded.
    Rory and Mike for getting the fighters ready to rock
    Mark O'Toole for prepping the Galway fighters.
    Sean for looking after the cage Door.
    Chris for his flash photography
    Sue for doing a bang up job on her first time as Fight Doctor.
    Darragh for keeping time and a million other little things to help out.
    John, Shane and Dave for judging it straight down the middle all night long.
    And most of all the Galway fans for turning out in such numbers and allowing us to keep bringing Ultimate Fighting to the West.

We're back on the 28th of March for Tribal Warfare "The Next Generation"

Video and pictures from the event will be available on www.tribalwarfare.ie as soon as I get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

Really excellent event. Aside from the fights which were top notch the production values of the entrance ramp and lights were excellent. Loved the new cage, wire is better than netting for the clinch and I think the shape suited the venue. The show was fast paced with fans never left waiting for the action to continue.

Fight of the day for me was Andreas v Neil. I had underestimated Andreas and he was fantastic in the first, Neil came out strong in the second and the third was shaping up to be a real show stopper. Lots of striking from standing through the guard from both men but the highlight of this was an amazing Superman punch from Neil. To Andreas' credit he looked unfazed and kept working. Awesome fight Hope Neil's knee is okay and that I can see that fight again.

Thanks to Mark for having me ringside. Keep up the good work.

Shane, The

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Neil got a knee injury? How was the bout going before that? I was gutted to miss this show but really gutted to miss that fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mccaffertyt

any result from the k-1 fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

re k1 fight-called off as john's opponent was out injured.

In my opinion barry, neill was winning the fight, andreas was driving forward a lot but all the work was coming from neill, also i think if a fight ends like this in the last round it should go to a judges scorecard, andreas would prefer to have won like that rather than his opponent been injured,

i spoke to others in attendance who felt andreas was on top, as striking is my background and grappling is there's then you can see how we viewed the fights differently..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I had Andreas winning Round 1, some very nice takedowns but was afraid he was dropping his hands too much and I figured Neil would KO him. Close round but Andreas edged ahead imo.

Neil came out in the second looking a little desperate to get revenge, and did. Took Andreas down and landed some tasty, tasty shots. Then Andreas did the fastest stand up ever and reversed Neil.

Round 3 was shaping up to be cool, but Andreas hurt Neil's medial ligaments in his knee with a takedown and it was all she wrote. Terrible way for a cracking match to end. Hope Neil isn't too badly hurt and can get back soon.

From Spartan MMA - big thanks to James, Ger and Fearghal from Combat Sports for a close match up with Matt. Thanks to Myles and his team from Kilkenny Top Pro for their match up with Rob.

Of course, big kudos to Mark who's always willing to give young Spartans a chance in his shows. Tribal Warfare feels like a second home to us.

I've only one thing to say about the whole show - BOOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

cowzerp wrote: »
    re k1 fight-called off as john's opponent was out injured.

In my opinion barry, neill was winning the fight, andreas was driving forward a lot but all the work was coming from neill, also i think if a fight ends like this in the last round it should go to a judges scorecard, andreas would prefer to have won like that rather than his opponent been injured,

i spoke to others in attendance who felt andreas was on top, as striking is my background and grappling is there's then you can see how we viewed the fights differently..

Got a sneaky recording of the fight from R2, and Mark's given me permission to upload to youtube, so hopefully I'll get it up tonight. Of course, Mark's complete, better recording will be up soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

any result from the k-1 fight
    I didn't leave it off the listing to keep it secret Tommy!
    Would we ever see Cathal against you? Or is he too heavy.

As regards Andreas and Neill I had them the same as Colm, a round each. I too worried about Andreas's low guard, but we will never know what the third round would have brought, stolen by the whims of fate.

We don't have a rule that says it should go to the scorecards in the event of the injury, there may be others that do, so it was called as it should have been, though neither fighter wanted it that way, you can't exactly change the rules based on a fight's promise or the fighters' feelings.

Hopefully we will get a chance to see that one again it was off the hook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Cool, you better not edit it!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭fergal_d

congrats Mark and every one that helped put the event together... It was one of the best live events ive been at so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

If Alan is not still concussed he’ll be disappointed that nobody is talking about his fight so…

Alan vs Martin Begley was awesome, good guys showed great heart. The first round was at an incredible pace, not sure what way the judges called it as it was really back and forth. Alan got hit with two big knees but was landing some heavy shots himself as well. He really came good in the second round though, controlled the action before getting the choke. I thought he was going to do against Greg a few months back and unfortunately it didn’t go our way but Alan has come back stronger than ever. Fair play dude!

I didn’t see most of the fights but fair play to Mark, another great show by all accounts. I was gutted for Premeslaw, who’s opponent was a no show, that’s a really sh^tty thing to happen, especially after all the training he had done and after having a tough time making weight. Anybody hear any excuse from the guy yet?

Tim_Murphy wrote: »
    I didn’t see most of the fights but fair play to Mark, another great show by all accounts. I was gutted for Premeslaw, who’s opponent was a no show, that’s a really sh^tty thing to happen, especially after all the training he had done and after having a tough time making weight. Anybody hear any excuse from the guy yet?

I doubt we will hear an excuse. Nobody contacted me in relation to him on Saturday, so I can't imagine they will be doing it now when its completely irrelevant. I don't have a number for the "fighter" Tadass, though I could probably get it for his coach Marius, though why would I want to? I will never book either of them to fight in TW again, and I would strongly encourage other promoters to do the same, would you want what happened to Premo to happen to one of your fighters?

Alan and Martin unquestionably off the hook. It was worth promoting the show just to have such a good seat for that fight! I tried to score the first round and I couldn't make a decision, it was very, very close. The second round was just as exciting, and fair deuce to Alan for finishing it. My hat's off to both of you, definitely ready for the UK and beyond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mccaffertyt

I didn't leave it off the listing to keep it secret Tommy!
    Would we ever see Cathal against you? Or is he too heavy

No worries was jus interested to see the result, at the min i'm fighting at 72kg and think cathal usualy fights around the 80kilo mark so unless i eat all the pies or cathal hits the starvation diet i don't think it'll be likely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Great show, Us Kilkenny guys had a great time despite the complete demolishing in the shield challenge!! Thanks for having us up Mark.

Any pics from the show yet?

I will have pics/videos up on the site as soon as I get them, that maybe a week to ten days, but could be more. I will post here once they go up though.

Thanks to you Kilkenny nutters for coming up, you are a great addition to any show. Not to mention the tequila I never would have drunk if you guys didn't force me :)
    I'd love to have you back in March if you guys are interested, thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Ah you secretly love the tequilla, you were right to leave when you did though!!! it just got more frequent as the night went on!!

We'd be more than happy to come up again Mark. some of us still have to pull out a win on your show!!

One of the best things about MMA: No hard feelings after a fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭bella1

thanks mark had a really good night
    neils is getting his knee looked at today
    lets hope its ok,i agree with you 1 round each
    thanks from TEAM RYANO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 sonoflife

Tribal Warfare was great! I didnt see most of the fights, and i cant remember my own... I had lots of compliments from people, which im greatfull for, but!, if you ask me, Allon the Cannon and Martin the heat deserve the compliments, as i said, i never seen many other fights, but they were Lions! One Love!

Welcome to the board Ben!
    I agree that the Cannon and the Heat were awesome, Seery and Lovbrand is getting more nods here, that might be because more people know them, the main event is no less deserving of kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

Welcome to the board Ben!
    I agree that the Cannon and the Heat were awesome, Seery and Lovbrand is getting more nods here, that might be because more people know them, the main event is no less deserving of kudos.

both equally as good imo, great to see both lads out with smiles on there faces afterwards too!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 sonoflife

Judomad wrote: »
    both equally as good imo, great to see both lads out with smiles on there faces afterwards too!!!

Yep! You cant hold a grudge.... I mean look at when tito faught ken shamrock, an was totally disrespecting him, afterwards even tho tito won he looked more the fool than ken wid his bust up face, and now barely anyone respects tito!.... Respect boys!..... Anyhow forget ufc, TRIBAL WARFARE 3 ULTIMATE FORCE! When we gonna c the fights an pics on the net!(hint,hint Mark!):rolleyes:

I don't have the nod to release pictures to the net (apart form the one I stuck up on the website) yet, the photos are still available to buy from the photographer http://www.chrisdowlingphoto.ie/

As for videos, I spoke with the camera man on Friday and he was planning to spend the weekend at it and let me know by COB today what he reckoned would be his delivery date. So when I know, you guys will too.

Sorry for the delay, but it will happen, tell your friends :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Mick T

I don't have the nod to release pictures to the net (apart form the one I stuck up on the website) yet, the photos are still available to buy from the photographer http://www.chrisdowlingphoto.ie/

As for videos, I spoke with the camera man on Friday and he was planning to spend the weekend at it and let me know by COB today what he reckoned would be his delivery date. So when I know, you guys will too.

Sorry for the delay, but it will happen, tell your friends :)[/quote

well mark, did he get back to ya then?
    id like ta see these fights
    thanks
    mick

Mick T wrote: »

Sorry for the delay, but it will happen, tell your friends :)

well mark, did he get back to ya then?
    id like ta see these fights
    thanks
    mick

This just in - http://pointblankgym.com/News_View.aspx?Articleid=58

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Mick T

cheers mark il check the rest of them out when your finished revamping the sitethanksmick