Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C B S Wexford

• 18-09-2008 8:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

Hi, my son wants to go to the CBS in Wexford, and I wanted to know is it a good school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

How do you measure whether somewhere is a good school? Points? Activities? Opertunites? Theres no one way of measuring it all.

Having said that, i go to st peters, in 6th year atm, and i think its really good, im heading for upper 500 points, and i have so many friends, literally everyone in the year, theres no bullying(in our year anyway), just good craic, the school has shaped me pretty much, i went with ferns youth to lourdes because of it, best expirience ever, im a meitheal leader which is fairly good also, all thesse things shape a person, and thats what i love about peters, its all rounded, academic, social, sport, or whatever is wanted tbh, plus prob the best facilities in the country!

But having said that, i know a good few from cbs aswell, and theyre grand lads, sound etc etc, they seem to like cbs aswell, so i cant measure for you is it good or not, that depends on the person and their abilities i guess, totalyl depends on the person, i would say though, to obiously have their own opinion, but try go where most of his friends are going too, even though, he will most likely make new ones anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

I went to the CBS secondary (finished over 4 years ago though ) and it's not bad. Not brilliant though, it's more of a good laugh than anything else.. Which is not what you're sending him to school for obviously.

There's some great teachers in there that really work hard with what they have in there, like Phillip Quirke, Mick Waddell, Mr doyle etc..

But from what I hear the peters is the better school..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭OutOfPosition

funkyflea wrote: »
    I went to the CBS secondary (finished over 4 years ago though ) and it's not bad. Not brilliant though, it's more of a good laugh than anything else.. Which is not what you're sending him to school for obviously.

There's some great teachers in there that really work hard with what they have in there, like Phillip Quirke, Mick Waddell, Mr doyle etc..

But from what I hear the peters is the better school..

but you know what they say about the peters;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

I gave grinds to a chap last year who went to CBS. From what he said it seems like a grand place. Not being from here, I don't know all that much about it (I've only been in wexford a little over 4 years) other than what this particular student told me. I've never heard anything bad about the place though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

tbh op, the best thing to do would put him down for both schools(if you havent already) and when he is in 6th class, ask him what he wants, givee him some of the choice, ask where some friends are going, and ask the 6th class teacher which school she thinks would suit him better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

funkyflea wrote: »

I did my leaving there in 1981 and I had those 3 teach me :eek: i thought they were ould lads at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭smodgley

i went there (cbs) years ago,looking back id say was a very very good school.
    left in 79 chicked out of doin leaving hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭smodgley

mick was a great teacher bito temper thou lololololol
    quirke was good too ohh and tony boland rip,