Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryder cup - Faldo caught by media with fourball picks?

• 18-09-2008 7:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭

Due to young child was up early this morning and Sky/BBC, etc were reporting that US media caught Faldo carrying around a peice of paper with pairings on it (presumably for tomorrow morning);

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/golf/7622388.stm

The interview I saw with him he responded that the list was for sandwiches at lunch!!

While these things happen and its not really a big deal my worry is that Faldo being Faldo will now change the pairings to prove he didnt slip up. Possible he will go for the most way out pairings ever to confuse the media and the US.

Heres hoping he doesnt as in my view one decisive session for either team on Friday or Saturday will win this thing and lets hope Europe are not 2 or 3 down by lunchtime....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭themullet

Yea I saw that myself this morning. I have to agree with you. I was thinking about it this morning and he will probably go ahead and change the pairings to cover himself. I'm sure these pairings were pretty much the finished article so any changes now would probably be second choice. He looked extremely uncomfortable in the interview though which leads me to believe he was in a bit of shock, unless of course he was telling the truth and the list was the sandwich list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

You just never know with Faldo....

Maybe he uses the players initials as code for various sandwiches and that he is being misunderstood? Maybe we have discovered a code here? MJP (Jiminez) = serena ham and jalapeno peppers? Is LW + SG really, lettuce with salami and gerkins....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

This does not bode well for a positive start from Europe at all. What was he playing at? Did he misplace a scrap of paper with initials on it - side by side? Did he have it laying around a desk in full view of journalists? Either way it was very slack from a captain in my opinion and as you lads say, it probably will be altered now to save face.

Dont get me wrong, im over the whole 'I cant believe he didnt pick Darren' thing and am 100% behind Europe now - all of them, but still that was a bit of a faux pas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Theres a photo if you click the link.

Looks like he used permanent marker on baking paper!
    Next time I reckon he'll be using cardboard and the faintest damn pencil he can find!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

Hers is a link to the photo in the Times today. He has pairings written on both sides of the paper. Also, got a number 4 on the top so that would suggest i would have thought that it was his 4th draft, i would doubt he is picking saturday afternoon's pairs now. So what if they know our pairs, everyone just has to go out and win their match.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/golf/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

The media are just teetering on the edge ready to destroy Faldo, any excuse. I'm enjoying the fact that he is different and entertaining, best of luck to him.

I also think the 'team' seen on the paper is largely irrelevant...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

I like Faldo and don't see why he is getting all the abuse...

He has deflected allot of the pressures from the players by being quite out spoken and being the main face for the team which I think is a bit of a ploy to try and keep the pressure off the team as much as possible.

With regards the pairings being seen so what, it's not really as though you can match players and say he will beat him etc as golf is all about that 18holes and really anyone of the players on either team can beat another over 18holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Faldo probably did it purposely just to throw the media and Azinger a red herring. I read somewhere this week that he'd said he had a few more tricks up his sleeve after sending the team out in threes on monday. Not sure what he would hope to achieve by it anyway. I don't think Faldo would be that careless. If it was carelessness he should probably stay well clear of the celebrity poker circuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Gabbo57

I feel sorry for Faldo, typical british media, just let the man get on with his job goddamn it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Faldo really needs to sort himself out, this is becoming all about his antics and picks. This event is about everybody on the team not some hasbeen egomaniac captain grabbing as much spotlight as he can.

I just hope the lads playing can keep their focus and ignore him, seriously it must be like watching your dad dancing at a family event when you were a teenager for those guys....cringe!!

Gabbo57 wrote: »
    I feel sorry for Faldo, typical british media, just let the man get on with his job goddamn it..

It was the yanks that spotted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Gabbo57

Jaysoose wrote: »
    It was the yanks that spotted it.

I feel sorry for faldo. typical american media, just let the man get on with his job..:rolleyes:

Faldo really needs to sort himself out, this is becoming all about his antics and picks. This event is about everybody on the team not some hasbeen egomaniac captain grabbing as much spotlight as he can.

I think that's a tad harsh Jaysoose... He is being portrayed as someone who has done something horrific and I don't get it at all. if he is an egomaniac he has every right to be, it seems maybe I'm old or people are forgetting just how awesome and popular he once was.....

Jampotjim is right about him deflecting the pressure cleverly.

quote]

I think that's a tad harsh Jaysoose... He is being portrayed as someone who has done something horrific and I don't get it at all. if he is an egomaniac he has every right to be, it seems maybe I'm old or people are forgetting just how awesome and popular he once was.....

Faldo has always been one of the strongest promoters of European golf and junior golf around UK & Ireland and deserves a hell of allot more respect than he is getting from both the media and the supposed fans...

He has been one of the strongest ryder cup players ever for Europe and knows the pressure on the lads so is trying to grab as much of the spotlight as possible so they can get on with what they do best and that is playing golf..

Faldo is meticulous in everything he does from the simplest shots to how he prepares for tournaments etc so I don't think he is letting things get out of hand and I would imagine each player knows exactly why Faldo is putting himself out there.

We are going to have to agree to disagree, he has acted like a twat since he got the job and his picks and current actions are baffling in the extreme. If europe win then fantastic but i have a nasty feeling we are in for a shoeing off the yanks here as their captain seems to be more focused on leading his team and not standing in the front of a camera with a piece of paper with the pairings written in size 72 font on it.

If he wants to be an egomaniac he should do it on his own time (like azinger) and just lead the TEAM... its team Europe not team Faldo after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

I asume the yanks don't know what order they are being sent out in. Surely he can keep the pairings and just mix up the order they go out..

We are going to have to agree to disagree, he has acted like a twat since he got the job and his picks and current actions are baffling in the extreme. If europe win then fantastic but i have a nasty feeling we are in for a shoeing off the yanks here as their captain seems to be more focused on leading his team and not standing in the front of a camera with a piece of paper with the pairings written in size 72 font on it.

If he wants to be an egomaniac he should do it on his own time (like azinger) and just lead the TEAM... its team Europe not team Faldo after all.

I think Casey deserved his pick as he is a solid player who I feel will be a strong points scorer for Europe...

Ok I think Clarke deserved to be picked over Poulter but get over it, Poulter is a very good player who won't let anything get him down which is a very very good trait to have when playing in the ryder cup..

Jaysoos - That's fair enough but I do agree with you about his picks and some things are disappointing. Overall I'm surprised just how much zinger is getting away with with his previous comments about Faldo and his stirring up of the crowds etc, media manipulation and so on. He will be quite happy to brew up another Brookline crowd so long as they win.... Rather than hoping Faldo is the best captain ever, most of the media is waiting to pounce upon failure. Then it will be Faldo getting it in the ear solely...

I don't think we need to have a negative slant on either team though as that's where the whole event is heading and it will destroy it. Animosity in golf is just against all traditions in the game and there is nothing better than watching an honest battle fought out with a healthy respect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Interesting to note all the positive comments coming from the players towards Faldo in the press today. Maybe they've got to say nice things? Still, maybe he is making a good impression.

Does anyone else not get the feeling that this note business isn't a bit of mind games on faldo's part?

jampotjim wrote: »

I think Casey deserved his pick as he is a solid player who I feel will be a strong points scorer for Europe...

Ok I think Clarke deserved to be picked over Poulter but get over it, Poulter is a very good player who won't let anything get him down which is a very very good trait to have when playing in the ryder cup..

Im sorry is there another Ian poulter playing golf i dont know about? he may not let himself get down but i wouldnt bet 50p on him making a 6 footer of any importance.

Jaysoos - That's fair enough but I do agree with you about his picks and some things are disappointing. Overall I'm surprised just how much zinger is getting away with with his previous comments about Faldo and his stirring up of the crowds etc, media manipulation and so on. He will be quite happy to brew up another Brookline crowd so long as they win.... Rather than hoping Faldo is the best captain ever, most of the media is waiting to pounce upon failure. Then it will be Faldo getting it in the ear solely...

I don't think we need to have a negative slant on either team though as that's where the whole event is heading and it will destroy it. Animosity in golf is just against all traditions in the game and there is nothing better than watching an honest battle fought out with a healthy respect....

I honestly dont want to come off as a miserable get that is waiting for faldo to fail so i can jump on him, i just think he should get on with leading the team and stop the messing.

Come on EUROPE......

I may have got carried away a bit on that point but I don't think it's Ians fault about Darren and I'm really hoping he plays well and makes a couple of points. Don't particuarly like him but I don't want him to fall flat on his face either and am hoping the event carries him as I 'think' he will thrive on it. That and he has a point to prove.

Good post research Jaysoos!! I can't even see where I said that comment - I hope it's not edited cleverly! ;) If ever I became taoiseach, there would be someone from here working it out and going ..."Hang on, this clown liked Faldo, Scandalous man he is, Tribunal for Sionnachster" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Im sorry is there another Ian poulter playing golf i dont know about? he may not let himself get down but i wouldnt bet 50p on him making a 6 footer of any importance.

Seem to remember him holing a 15 footer on the 18th green in a pretty important tournament a couple of months back...

madds wrote: »

Seem to remember him holing a 15 footer on the 18th green in a pretty important tournament a couple of months back...

Wow second place by a distance...poults has balls of steel!:P

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Wow second place by a distance...poults has balls of steel!:P

'That' putt made him one off the lead and the leader in the clubhouse. If you can't accept it was a significant moment then, well.....

Jaysoos - I just realised that what you have quoted me as saying up above (post No.21) about Poulter was said by someone else but my name is attached to it somehow...... Misquoted, could be worse, I agree with the point!

I was wondering why I hadn't recalled saying it!! :rolleyes:

Licksy wrote: »

'That' putt made him one off the lead and the leader in the clubhouse. If you can't accept it was a significant moment then, well.....

Significant moment ? ..Yes, in the big scheme of things ... No.

I personally hope Poulter plays out of his skin and makes me look silly, cant see it.

If westwood could answer one question without a camera or reporter around......"Lee who would you prefer as a fourball/foursomes partner...Poulter or Clarke? we all know what his answer would be 10 times out of ten!

Darren Clarke

Jaysoos - I just realised that what you have quoted me as saying up above about Poulter was said by someone else but my name is attached to it somehow...... Misquoted, could be worse, i agree with the point!

I was wondering why I hadn't recalled saying it!! :rolleyes:

Sorry bout that buddy think i quoted the wrong guy in my poulter rage!:D

Licksy wrote: »

Significant moment ? ..Yes, in the big scheme of things ... No.

I personally hope Poulter plays out of his skin and makes me look silly, cant see it.

If westwood could answer one question without a camera or reporter around......"Lee who would you prefer as a fourball/foursomes partner...Poulter or Clarke? we all know what his answer would be 10 times out of ten!

Darren Clarke

I agree that Clarke should have got it but he didn't so get over it and support Poulter as he is there flying the flag for Europe!

Sorry bout that buddy think i quoted the wrong guy in my poulter rage!:D

No worries.... But just to make up for it I want you to type the following 10 times for all to see....

"I'm Poults biggest fan and he is there on merit"

You know you want to...... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Really dont see the fuss about Faldo 'giving away' his fourball pairings, its not like its gonna give USA that much of an advantage by knowing them before hand, I mean they could go out in any order!!....and I know that Faldo isnt my favourite person at the minute but the slaughtering he got today by some rag newspaper over such a trivial matter as this was laughable...really just filling up column inches, they made him out to be Mister Bean...idiot journalism, get behind the team and stop moaning :mad:

Poulter, of course, will hole the winning putt :eek:

I hope three things happen this weekend.....

1. faldo stops acting the clown
    2. Poulter plays like he says he can
    3. Europe Win a thriller and we all get to watch it unfold.

come on dazzler.

No worries.... But just to make up for it I want you to type the following 10 times for all to see....

"I'm Poults biggest fan and he is there on merit"

You know you want to...... :cool:

I cant...i just cant....the minute he went to america and missed out on the last oppurtunity to qualify automatically done it for me. If he had qualified then there is no doubt darren clarke would be there aswell and the team would be even stronger..He missed the cut in america to boot.